In a Vase on Monday. Zingy Zinnias.

Many of my annuals got eaten by slugs at the seedling stage this year whilst I was in Italy. But the zinnias managed to avoid their depredations. Slugs adore them, so they were given special protection. And it was worth all the care lavished on them. Because for the first time I have zillions of zingy zinnias. Well, not zillions, but enough to stuff a vase with.

DSC_0244
I grew mixed colours because I couldn’t decide which I liked best and the colours are all so bright and jolly that I thought I would go for a kaleidoscope effect. Some are large, some are small, but they are all lovely.
DSC_0236
DSC_0233
I put them in my Corsican pottery vase, which brings back memories of a golden holiday in the sun. These flowers aren’t made for tasteful pastel coloured vases.
DSC_0231
DSC_0238
DSC_0234
As everybody knows ‘In a Vase on Monday’ is hosted by the inimitable Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden. Do pop over there and see what Cathy and all the other vase fillers have been up today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Zingy Zinnias.

  1. No one can be down when admiring a handful of zinnias, that’s for sure!

  2. Cathy says:

    Please don’t gloat when you see my vase with only THREE (yes, its shameful!) zinnias – I was so pleased to have achieved that small token with the promise of more, but there is no way I can compete with your zinginess… 😦 Mine haven’t had a problem with slugs though and I wonder what your special protection was? Do tell us which varieties you grew and which grew best too. Thanks for sharing

  3. Chloris says:

    I certainly can’ t gloat when I see the abundance of flowers you have grown from seed this year Cathy. Most of my annuals were a complete disaster, eaten by slugs. I took special care of these and learnt from my mistakes with them last year. First slugs love them, so I used a few pellets. I don’ t use these generally, but I put the seedlings on a high shelf in the greenhouse away from wild life. They hate root disturbance so I sowed them in coir modules. They need sunshine and lots of water. I also realised that one packet of seeds would never provide me with enough plants, so I grew several, all mixed packets. I can’ t remember the names I’ m afraid.

  4. Oh, wow, what a feast for the eyes. The cobalt blue vase is a perfect foil for the dazzling array of colours. Do you grow your zinnias in pots or in the ground?

  5. Chloris says:

    I started them off in coir modules because they hate root disturbance. I find that they benefit from lots of watering too and of course sunshine which they have had plenty of this summer..

  6. Christina says:

    I grew Zinnias for the first time last year too and I have no idea why I’ve never grown them before. They produce so many flowers. Love your blue vase, it’s just perfect for them.

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Your richly colored zinnias look right at home in the lovely Corsican pottery. Beautiful and cheerful. Zinnias are about the only thing I grow from seeds. They love the heat.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Susie. Indeed zinnias love the sun and they don’ t work well here if we get a bad summer. They have loved this summer’ s warmth.

  8. Kaleidoscopic indeed! I love these but reading the other comments realise I may never be able to grow zinnias successfully in Scotland, given the need for heat and light, so I shall just enjoy yours from afar.

  9. Simply beautiful and I love the rainbow effect. I think you should paint a picture of that! The vase was a perfect selection.

  10. Wow wow wow. I love these Chloris. Fab shot of colour to feast the eyes

  11. Eliza Waters says:

    I love zinnias and your ‘zingy’ vase this week is quite a pleasure to see, Chloris!

  12. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Your multi colored zinnias are beautiful. The whole arrangement is cheerful!

  13. Kris P says:

    I love all the variation in your zinnias. I planted plugs all of the same type, which was a mistake as they lack the panache of your wonderful mix.

  14. Great and really beautiful bouquets !!! Stunning colors, waow !!!

  15. Cathy says:

    Fabulous! You are right, the strong blue colour of the vase goes perfectly with the vibrant zinnias. I have also got a couple of survivors from slug attacks just starting to flower, but not as zingy colours as these!

    • Chloris says:

      I think it is a good idea to grow mixed packets and then you get all the rainbow colours. As I didn’ t get many plants last year, I sowed several packets this year.

  16. Just what I needed on this grim morning, thanks they are beautiful!

  17. snowbird says:

    A plague on all slugs! Goodness, what a sight, they are absolutely gorgeous. How lovely they look in that blue jug.xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Actually, I think my problem is snails as much as slugs, so a plague on all molluscs. Zinnias are the cheeriest of flowers, have you ever grown them?

  18. Zinnias do tend to be zingy. Plus they withstand dry conditions better than many annuals.

  19. Chloris says:

    Zinnias are very zingy and I am into alliteration at the moment. They need lots of sun which we don’t always get, but this year they are very happy.

  20. Beautywhizz says:

    The blue vase complementing the flowers, lovely colours.

Leave a comment