Six on Saturday. Potted Pleasures.

July has been a bit of a washout. But I’m not complaining because I’ve been spared hours of watering in my newly planted garden. Still, I am trying to warm myself up with some fiery colours. Last week, I was in the red and this week I have some more reds and warm oranges in pots.

Petunia exserta

My first one is beautiful Petunia exserta which I grew for the first time several years ago and wrote about on my blog. This year I am growing it again as it is a favourite of mine and it has a story; I love a plant with a story. This species petunia is so rare in its native homeland; the ancient and isolated pampas grassland of the Serras de Sedesta in Southern Brazil that it is almost extinct, like the Dodo. In fact maybe it already is extinct in the wild and growing it just like having a Dodo in the garden. It was only discovered in 1987 and in 2007 there were only 14 true Petunia exserta plants in the wild. Of course, there are the usual pressures of loss of habitat and climate change, but the other problem for this dear little petunia is that it hybridises with the wild white Petunia axillaris which is one of the parents of our modern petunias. Actually, I have found seed companies which list Petunia axillaris and next year I think I might try it, as it is intensely fragrant and will climb if given support. Obviously I won’t grow it alongside Petunia exserta. Mayan and Inca people believed that the scent of petunias warded off dangerous underground monsters and spirits, so that is handy. Petunia exserta is not fragrant as it is pollinated by hummingbirds and that is why it is bright red, so that it will attract them in spite of being tucked away in shady nooks on rocks. The flowers are star-shaped and the name exserta means projecting or thrust out and it refers to the extended stamens and stigma. I love it. It is easy from seed, I just sow it thinly in the pots it’s going to live in, so I don’t have to bother pricking it out.

Petunia exserta

Next I have a common or garden hippeastrum which we all grow at Christmas and for some reason incorrectly call ‘Amaryllis‘. I am not sure of the name of this one; it’s possibly ‘Red Lion’, but it is such an intense red. I like the way it blooms on a short stalk; they usually have such impractical giraffe necks. I have found that when I get these bulbs to re-flower they always do it in summer.

Hippeastrum

I have lots of red pelargoniums in pots which I have accumulated over the years; most of them with long forgotten names. But I always recognise Pelargonium ‘Paul Crampel’ because of its huge bright red flowers. This is a zonal pelargonium which took the world by storm when it was introduced in 1860. Nobody had ever seen such vigorous, bushy pelargoniums with such huge intensely scarlet flowers. It sold for a guinea each, which was a huge sum; about £110 in today’s money. This pelargonium became a familiar sight as it was planted outside Buckingham Palace for many years. Today, it has perhaps been superseded by ‘Moulin Rouge’ which is even better, but I like a bit of history with my plants. This is just a young plant from a cutting earlier this year but it will grow into a substantial plant.

Rosebud pelargoniums also create a bit of nostalgia, especially Pelargonium ‘Apple Blossom Rosebud’ which appeared in 1870 and was a favourite of Queen Victoria.

Pelargonium ‘Apple Blossom Rosebud

The Rosebud pelargonium was not created by some sort of Frankenstein genetic manipulation, it appeared as a spontaneous mutation in 1850. As you can imagine it was popular for buttonholes with its tight heads of double flowers. I also have Pelargonium ‘Scarlet Rambler’ which is a rosebud pelargonium from 1870. Both these rosebuds grow to about 60 cm. ‘ Apple Blossom Rosebud” kept on growing and bloomed all winter in the conservatory. ‘I chopped ‘Scarlet Rambler’ down and kept it in the shed, so I am lucky it survived. This winter it will come into the conservatory. I don’t know why it’s called ‘Rambler’ because it is an upright one and doesn’t ramble with me.

Pelargonium ‘Scarlet Rambler’

Mimulus auranticus has lovely orange, tubular flowers. I find it has confusingly been renamed Diplacus auranticus which I might have trouble remembering. But still, I refuse to call it Sticky Monkey Flower, even though it is sticky. This lovely plant is smothered in flowers throughout the summer. It comes from California where it is pollinated by two sorts of flies which have extremely long tongues which can reach down its long tubular throat. I don’t know whether we have any flies with long tongues here, but I take cuttings. This plant has to be kept frost free and quite dry in winter.

Diplacus auranticus

The orange flowered Thunbergia alata (or Black-Eyed Susie if you must,) flowers all summer long. I have it in a pot growing up the trellis in my secret garden. I wish I had planted it in the ground now, as it grows huge. It is usually treated as an annual but I put it in a pot because it can be perennial if it’s kept frost free. This is a fast growing climber which is easy from seed. You can get it in the more traditional yellow with a black eye or white or even pink. I love this orange one because it really glows.

Thunbergia alata ‘Orange Beauty
Thunbergia alata ‘Orange Beauty’

Oh dear, that seems to be seven plants, but I only included Pelargonium ‘Rosebud Apple Blossom’ to show you Queen Victoria’s favourite, so let’s not count it.

As usual Six on Saturday is hosted by Jim at Garden Ruminations who always has interesting plants to show us. And of course, here you’ll find links to keen gardeners round the world who share their seasonal beauties.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Six on Saturday. Potted Pleasures.

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    A very impressive ‘seven’ with all you added history for them I really like the Thunbergia alata.

    • Chloris says:

      Seven maybe, but we’re not counting Pelargonium ‘Apple Blossom Rosebud’. Forget you saw it. Yes, the orange Thunbergia alata is gorgeous.

  2. The Petunia exserta has a very interesting history. It’s nice to see you are keeping it going.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, the petunia’s history makes it special. The fact that nobody knew about it until just 36 years ago is amazing. Thank goodness, it was found just in time to rescue it.

  3. topdock says:

    What marvelous botanical history you have shared with us! I will always think of it as I smell the petunias. I now no why I have a feeling of peace as I pass by them.

  4. Noelle says:

    That Thunbergia is indeed a real picture.

  5. Cathy says:

    Lovely flowers again. The Black-Eyed Susan in particular is a wonderful specimen! (I have to call it by its common name simply because my sister is called Susan 😉)

  6. Kris P says:

    This post reminds me of how much I missed your posts when you went silent for a stretch. I love the backstory of the petunia and, even though I’ve never cared much for that genus, I’d consider growing it to make the hummingbirds happy. I recently posted on the hot colors in my actually hot summer garden but yours are more vivid. I’ve been trying to naturalize Hippeastrums in my garden for the past few years – I accomplished that easily in my former garden but it’s been hit and miss in this one, probably due to the drier conditions.

    • Chloris says:

      What a nice thing to say Kris. Even if you don’t like petunias, you might like this one. I know it is available over there because Amelia, the Shrub Queen grew it in her Florida garden a few years ago. How lovely to be able to grow hippeastrums in the garden.

  7. Sarah Rajkotwala - Author & Spiritual Teacher says:

    Love your petunia story, well done in keeping them growing. I love your Mimulus, they grow well in my garden, but are slow growing. Great pelargoniums. 🌸🌼

  8. fredgardener says:

    Warm and flamboyant colours are on the menu this week!
    My favourite is this pretty petunia! I didn’t know it before.

    • Chloris says:

      Hot colours seem right at this time of the year, pastels are for June when the light is different. The petunia is certainly worth growing.

  9. Pauline says:

    I learn something new every time I visit your blog, many thanks! I like the colour of your Thunbergia, different from the norm, I might be tempted to have a go at growing it!

    • Chloris says:

      I am glad you feel you learn something from my blog Pauline.. The Pianist says I am a plant nerd; the trainspotter of the plant world. Better plants than trains, I say. Yes ,this thunbergia is a beauty.

  10. Spicy pots! I had the P. exserta for several years after seeing yours. I am also curious about the axillaris and look forward to seeing it. I was researching flowers today and ran across two new ones to try – have you had these? Orlaya or Bupleurum? They are supposed to be winter cut flowers here.

    • Chloris says:

      I remember you growing Petunia exserta Amy. I would like to try P. axillaris because it us supposed to be intensely fragrant and I love white flowers. Yes, I love umbellifers and I have grown both of these. Which Bupleurum are you going to grow? I used to have Bupleurum fruticosum which is a shrub. I have aso tried Bupleurum rotundifolium and Bupleurum falcatum.

      • B. rotundifolium is what I can find here. I can’t recall ever noticing fragrance in a Petunia – that should be interesting. I succumbed to end of season sales and bought Dahlias and green glads…I should have some mad winter vases.

      • Chloris says:

        I also used to grow one called Bupleurum longifolium which had copper coloured flowers which looked a bit like tiny astrantias. Look forward to seeing your dahlias. Everyone needs dahlias.

      • That sounds wonderful. So far I am only seeing green flowers. I hope these Dahlias work. Dahlias in Florida have strange parameters.

  11. A lovely selection. I’m not sure what I do wrong with Thunbergia – they never really take off for some reason. They thrive in my mother-in-law’s garden though.

  12. The Pelargoniums are beautiful. And that ‘Orange Beauty’ Thunbergia…wow! It really does glow! Beautiful photos, too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth. My photos are never anything like your beauties as I am no photographer. But you can see the glowing colour of the Thunbergia, it is a beauty.

  13. pbmgarden says:

    I love your bits of history of the plants. Beautiful Hippeastrum. My sisters have them flowering in garden beds each summer, planted by a previous owner of their house. They overwinter and put on quite a show in summer. I’ve had sporadic luck getting them to bloom again .

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Susie. I would love to grow hippeastrums in the garden, that must be a sight.

      • pbmgarden says:

        It is beautiful to see the hippeastrums. They have at least 3 dozen blooms at a time. One summer I was lucky enough to visit when they were blooming and I came home with about a dozen cut flowers. Luxurious.

  14. Like the others I love the tales associated with certain plants. That mimulus is a beauty!

    • Chloris says:

      I always enjoy plants with a nice story attached. Yes, the mimulus has come into its own this summer, it was looking most unwell over winter and I thought I was going to lose it.

  15. What a lovely collection of red and orange/yellow flowers!

  16. HeyJude says:

    What a lovely informative post, I love learning about the history of plants. And no-0ne ever counts the SOS (well I don’t). Orange Beauty is deserving of its name. I must grow some more next year. I have tried a blue Ipomoea this year and it is yet to produce any flowers! The common bindweed on the other hand…

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jude. Yes, the Orange Beauty is fabulous. I think the blue Ipomoea needs plenty of sun to do well, unlike common bindweed which does well however cruelly you treat it.

  17. Catherine says:

    Happy to see seven – especially the final image – No 7. The Thunbergia growing on your trellis is stunning. I’m trying to think of the ideal spot where I could try growing it here. Your red pelargoniums are beautiful. I lost all of mine last winter, and the replacement plants have been abysmal.

    • Chloris says:

      I used to grow Thunbergia alata up a tripod of bamboo canes but if you can give it a trellis it really takes off. Pelargoniums need more sun than we can provide them with this summer in the UK.

      • Catherine says:

        I missed your reply. Thank you! You’re right about the pelargoniums. I’ve grown them to use as a massed potted display at my front door for years and they’ve grown so well – this is the first year they’ve failed.

  18. Your Thunbergia looks wonderful. Makes mine look so plain in comparison. I had no idea you could over-winter it, so thanks for that tip. I too love your interesting plant back stories. I wish I could remember such things!

  19. Apple Blossom is one of my favourites. I was visiting a garden today and they had some in the conservatory. So pretty.

  20. tonytomeo says:

    Mimulus aurantiacus had been in full bloom for a while. It tends to bloom more uniformly after exceptionally rainy winters such as last winter. It is one of those wildflowers that makes me appreciate wildflowers in other regions more. Outside of cultivation, it gets quite shabby and greasy looking. I sometimes feel compelled to cut some of it back after bloom, to promote denser and more vigorous growth.

    • Chloris says:

      I’d love to see it growing wild. Is it always orange?

      • tonytomeo says:

        It is always orange in the wild. It is not a bright orange, but sort of a pastel orange, like the color of circus peanuts. Cultivars that are only rarely available from nurseries are generally richer orange, peachy pink, yellow or orangish red. Richer red and creamy white may be even more rare. It is prettier in cultivation, or on the edges of roads where it occasionally gets cut down. Otherwise, it gets scrubby and combustible, which is a good reason to dislike it around here.

  21. gaiainaction says:

    Love all your bright coloured flowers, these petunias to are amazing. Lovely photos!

  22. Cathy says:

    It so lovely to having your entertaining and informative posts again, Chloris! 👍😊. The thunbergia is stunning, and is something I must try again – I agree this orange version is the most attractive

  23. snowbird says:

    I did enjoy hearing the history of some of these plants. I loved petunia exserta and that gorgeous rosebud pelargonium.xxx

Leave a comment