In a Vase on Monday. January Jewels.

I picked some of my treasures for a little vase today to join in with Cathy’s meme which involves filling a vase with flowers from the garden each Monday.
IMG_2497
On a dull day like today it perhaps looks better with the flash which gives it a black background. The next photo is without the flash.
IMG_2502
I used catkins from the common hazel, Corylus avellana in the hedge. I also used some of the dainty catkins from one of my birch trees, Betula utilis. The lovely marbled leaves are from Arum italicum ‘Marmoratum’. I used two different skimmias. One is the green Skimmia x confusa ‘Kew Green’ and the other is the red Skimmia japonica ‘Rubella”
For fragrance I have used Lonicera x purpusii ‘Winter Beauty’ and a little stem of my precious Chimonanthus praecox which has an indescribably delicious scent.

IMG_2530

I have also picked a little piece of the pink Daphne bhlolua ‘Jacquline Postill’. Again the fraagrance is absoultuely wonderful.

IMG_2515
Next to the Daphne is the pale lemon Coronilla valentina subs. glauca ‘Citrina’ which is a bit of a mouthful but I didn’t make it up. I grow this in a pot for safety. I am not convinced that it is perfectly hardy so it goes into the greenhouse in winter. It smells delicious too. Above the Coronilla is a tiny pink blossom from the winter flowering Prunus x subhirtella ‘Autumnalis Rosea’ which I would never be without.

The flowers are one rather ragged Iris unguicularis, I didn’t realize that a slug had been at it until I saw the photograph. I am a bit embarrassed about it, but I don’t have time to pick another one and start all over again with the photographs. For arrangements it is best to pick these in bud then you can watch them unfurl in water. I have picked one white Helleborus orientalis. This has quite a small flower which suited my arrangement better than the larger ones. There are a couple of snowdrops, some variety of Galanthus elwesii, I am not sure which, and surprisingly a Summer Snowflake, Leucojum aestivum.
IMG_2513
I have also picked a couple of the lovely little Cyclamen coum which have been flowering away since before Christmas. None of my other ones are out yet.
IMG_2521
The little jug is from my Shelley ‘Wild Flowers’ tea set.
Do go over Ramblinginthegarden and see what Cathy has found to put in a vase on Monday. You can have a look at all the other arrangements and why not join? It is geat fun and quite a challenge in the middle of winter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. January Jewels.

  1. Chloris what a perfectly beautiful arrangement that matches the pitcher. I love all the beauty from your garden in this posy. How I wish there were flowers instead of cold and snow right now…

  2. Tina says:

    So much from your garden mid- winter and beautiful too. I liked both the with and without flash photos, but the flash photo sets the vase and flowers so well ; quite eye catching.

  3. Christina says:

    What treasures indeed Liz, they really are like little jewels to be enjoyed up close rather than lost in the garden. The iris doesnt last long in a vase but it doesn’ t last much longer in the ground.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes I agree the Iris doesn’t last long but I love to pick buds of it and watch them unfurl in a vase. In fact on a cold day the very best way to enjoy winter flowers is in a vase. This little jugful is giving me a lot of pleasure .

  4. Robbie says:

    wow…I have snow + below zero temps….amazing! Beautiful:-) no flowers for a vase here but a lot of snow!

    • Chloris says:

      Oh dear, I hope your snow will go soon. It is awful to have no flowers to enjoy. We don’ t get much here, none so far this winter. But there is still a lot of winter to come. I know some people love it, but not me. I hate a monochrome world, however sparkly.

      • Robbie says:

        I wrote about you today on my blog:-) I thought you would like the USA mockorange bush (Philadelphus lewisii) Lewis’s mock-orange….Your comment made me ponder today about our grass obsession + also wanted to thank you for the award. You know me, I don’t do things like everyone else-lol..
        It was below zero most of the day but with the wind chill it was -30-cold…brrrrr…I am ready for green but thinking about my mockorange made me see white flowers-better white for me today-lol

  5. Peter/Outlaw says:

    January jewels indeed! Winter bloomers are such a delight and their fragrances are some of the sweetest in the garden. I can almost smell your beautiful arrangement from here.

  6. pbmgarden says:

    What an uplifting sight to see all your little treasures combined in the pretty jug. The fragrance must be lovely as well. Susie

  7. Debra says:

    Just perfect. So pretty to see but the fragrance must be divine. I sometimes think that scent is one of the best parts about gardening.

  8. Kris P says:

    It’s very pretty Chloris and the jug picks up the flower colors perfectly. Too bad I can only imagine the fragrance. It’s funny how things show up on camera that you don’t see “live,” isn’t it? It happens to me all the time. Of course, I don’t think I would have noticed anything had nibbled at the Iris if you hadn’t mentioned it…

  9. Cathy says:

    Mmm, the fragrance must indeed be wonderful and what a lovely selection of little jewels you have found – perfect for bringing inside to remind you of the garden the you have unavoidably had to neglect while you were poorly. It must have been a real joy to wander round selecting them all – and the Shelly jug is ideal for showing them off. Thank you for sharing them all, Chloris.

    • Chloris says:

      Indeed from January on it is exciting looking round to see what new treasures have appeared. It is specially delightful when the long -awaited Hamamelis start to flower.

  10. As Cathy says, Mmm…..it looks as good as it must smell! What a wonderful selection of blooms and at this time of year! I did recognise many of them, as some of my favourite winter flowering shrubs. Inspiration, without a doubt! And so pretty against the black background!

  11. Julie says:

    Oh I am envious, your arrangement is so pretty and to have such wonderful choices in your garden. The perfume must be heavenly too.

  12. Chloris: lovely arrangements and you always choose the most complementary containers., such as the pitcher.

  13. snowbird says:

    How lovely to have a vase full of dainty scented jewels! I haven’t seen a snowdrop yet….apart from yours. The vase really sets that charming display off very well.xxx

  14. I’m pretending I can smell that Daphne.

  15. jenhumm116 says:

    Such an amazing group of treasures. Just lovely!

  16. Oh, now that is gorgeous. Sigh. There’s something so perfect and graceful about arrangements in tea porcelain. Simply gorgeous!

  17. Cathy says:

    It’s great to get a taste of what you can see in your garden through your vase Chloris. You have so many lovely little blossoms in there and I just wish I could smell it too! A Summer Snowflake in January? Wonderful!

    • Chloris says:

      It is amazing how many of the winter flowering blooms are fragrant. I suppose it is to tempt the bees out of their hives on sunny days. The summer snowflakes are baffling me too. The Spring ones, Leucojum vernum are nowhere near flowering.

  18. gardenfancyblog says:

    I can’t believe how many flowers you have blooming there — thanks for sharing them with us! -Beth

  19. Beautiful! You have so much blooming! :o)

  20. Annette says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to be able to pick such a bouquet on a day in early January! Only goes to show what a good plantswoman you are because it all begins with the choices we make (and the climate which seems rather benign in your corner of the world) – my Lonicera is flowering too and maybe I should pay a visit to the Chimonanthus.

  21. Chloris says:

    Thank you Annette. I do recommend Chimonanthus. The flowers are like shiny wax claws and they smell wonderful. It needs a sunny spot to flower well.

  22. Anna says:

    Oh Chloris that arrangement must be so pleasing to the nose as well as being most attractive to the eye. I thought it was a leucojum in the vase but am amazed as to how early it is. It certainly isn’t living up to the name of summer snowflake!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Anna. It does smell divine. I don’ t understand why the summer snowflakes are out. I have quite a few out, although on shorter stems than usual.

  23. johnvic8 says:

    Am trying not to be jealous of all you have blooming now. Quite lovely arrangement.

  24. You have done brilliantly with that arrangement. I wish I had half those plants blooming in my garden. Serves me right for being a good time guy and focussing on summer! Lovely post, cheered me up no end. Dan

  25. Chloris says:

    Thank you, I always enjoy your posts very much. I love winter flowering plants and foliage and coloured stems too.

  26. NOw that is fascinating. I think I have most of these plants out in my garden but the impact of bringing them in and putting them together in the way you have done is stunning. I tend to restrict myself to bringing in the occasional bit of hamamelis but I think I should be more ambitious having seen what you can do! Lovely.

    • Chloris says:

      When the weather is too cold to linger outside it is a joy to bring in what Vita Sackville West used to call a ‘ tuzzy muzzy’ of fragrant flowers.

Leave a Reply

