Wordless Wednesday . October Treasures..

Albucca abyssinica, Calceolaria 'Sultan', Nerine sarniensis.

Albuca abyssinica, Calceolaria ‘Sultan’, Nerine sarniensis.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Wordless Wednesday . October Treasures..

  1. Annette says:

    Stunning, especially the flamboyant Sultan – thanks for introducing me to him. 🙂

  2. Especially love the albuca!

  3. rusty duck says:

    Albuca is a new one on me, is it yellow?

    • Chloris says:

      This Albuca is green and yellow. I also have Albuca shawii which flowers earlier. It is easy from seed and has yellow flowers. I think it is a bit hardier than this. I grew Albuca nelsonii from seed too. It took several years to build up an enormous bulb and then had a very tall spike with green and white flowers. These bulbs come from South Africa. I love their bell shaped flowers.

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Love your beautiful reds today. I had to look up each of these–all very nice.

  5. Christina says:

    What a fabulous red!

  6. Robbie says:

    I always learn about a new flower when I stop by…endless your knowledge! beauitful:-)

  7. Anna says:

    Wow – such vivid colours Chloris! I can envisage the calceolaria being renamed as ‘Hot Lips’.

  8. snowbird says:

    How beautiful, all of them, and don’t they sit prettily together. You do have some wonderful plants.xxx

  9. A glowing post, Chloris!

  10. Nice, bright color combination! It made me smile. 🙂

  11. Kris P says:

    A pretty combination. Albuca is new to me as well – I’ve never seen it here, although other bulbs from southern Africa are common.

  12. Chloris says:

    Well Albuca would be hardy for you. No worries about keeping them warm in winter. I recommend them. Do try Albuca shawii, it is delightful. You can grow it from seed and it will flower the second year.

  13. Sultans and spiders? Your wild side is showing!

  14. Cathy says:

    Love the nerine!

  15. bittster says:

    Cool combo! I love the rich bright red with the greens. This spring I may try and copy in some way -by accident I had some red and chartreuse and really liked it!

  16. I love the ruby red color on the Calceolaria. Looks a bit like jewelweed, but also a bit like lady slipper orchids. These three plants are all new to me.

    • Chloris says:

      The Calceolaria is supposed to be hardy but I think it will stay in the greenhouse for the coming winter. The red Nerine and the Albuca are definitely tender.

  17. Beautiful but I really love the flower that looks like a little pouch. Very cool!

  18. Chloris says:

    The Calceolaria does have nice little pouches, it was a recent impulse buy . I’ m told that it is hardy but I don’ t quite believe it.

Leave a comment