In a Vase on Monday. Ginger.

I am joining in with Cathy‘s popular meme to show an arrangement of flowers from the garden on a Monday. There is such an abundance of lovely things to choose from in June that even I feel I can spare a few blooms from the garden. As there are so many pastels about at the moment I have gone for something a bit more zingy. Ginger, marmalade, you can call it what you like, but actually it is orange. I used to hate orange flowers but now I can’t get enough of them. Several people have been showing a lovely orange Geum lately: ‘Totally Tangerine’.  I wish I had it. My lovely terracotta Geum ‘Flames of Passion’ is over or I would have included it.
IMG_9354
I have used three roses here: ‘Buff Beauty’, ‘Grace’ and the pale peach one is the dear little buttonhole rose, ‘Perle d’or’.

The other flowers are Alstroemeria, and an orange Eccremocarpus which is taking over my greenhouse, I don’t know where it came from, I didn’t plant it. There is Phygelius with little terracotta trumpets in there. The evening primrose is a child of my original Oenothera versicolor ‘Sunset Boulevard’ which was orange. This one is yellow with an orange centre. There are some Heuchera flowers from Heuchera ‘Marmalade and a last lingering little spray of Epimedium.  I popped in a couple of flowers of the orange poppy, Papaver rupifragum which is pretty but a bit of a weed; it comes up everywhere.

There are two grasses, one is the amazing Stipa gigantea which is looking gorgeous at the moment, specially when it is shimmering in the sun. The other is the quaking grass, Briza media  ‘Limouzi’ which I love. The seed heads look like puffy oats.

The foliage is Physocarpus opulifolius ‘Diablo’, Heuchera ‘Marmalade’ and bronze fennel.

IMG_9359

The vase is a Chinese ginger jar which I thought appropriate to the colour theme.
Please do go over to ramblinginthegarden and see what Cathy and everyone else has in a Vase on Monday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Ginger.

  1. Cathy says:

    Gorgeous colours, and the theme as well as the colour goes so well with the ginger vase. It is nice to see something other than pastel pinks, you’re right. Lovely!

  2. croftgarden says:

    What a vibrant vase. Orange is always a difficult colour but the contrasting hues seem to calm down the vibrancy whilst retaining the warmth.

    • Chloris says:

      I love orange with toffe colour and cinnamon, I first started using it because I wanted to plant something which looked good with my Acer griseum. And I love peach and apricot roses.

      • croftgarden says:

        I’m still uncertain about using orange in the garden, except for pot marigolds! Mind you I don’t like pink and my garden seems full of it at present!

  3. Debra says:

    Gingers can be tough to coorordinate but you made it look easy. Love the vase.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Debra, marmalade, ginger, red; they are colours that I love to use. I have a red haired son so I think it’s a lovely colour on people or plants.

      • Debra says:

        =) I have been adding more oranges into my plantings lately. There are so many interesting shades and they add a kind of tropical feel.

  4. Robbie says:

    Stunning!! I LOVE orange flowers,too. I also love red + I have read that they are hard to incoroprate into the garden. They do attract attention, but I love them,too. They say to use them for focal points, hmmm…I don’t have a large space,but do try to put them near doorways or walkways. I love the vase and how you called it “ginger marmalade”…it does remind me of that!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Robbie, I can see that you love strong colours by the irises on your latest post. I think there is no problem as long as you keep orange and red away from pink.

  5. Christina says:

    The perfect flowers for the vase. you put so many flowers in but it doesn’t look overcrowded. I didn’t used to like orange either but the colour works here so I have quite a lot of orange in the garden now.

  6. Annette says:

    I love it! Features one of my favourite colours…I almost smuggled Totally Tangerine in my luggage but there wasn’t enough room, so I shall have to wait until my friends bring me one in autumn.Wouldn’t it be nice to have a small garden just with the colours of the setting sun?

    • Chloris says:

      Setting sun colours, what a lovely way to describe it; it sounds so much better than orange! A few years ago nobody would have bought a plant the colour of Totally Tangerine and now it is so popular. I think it’s great that people are no longer afraid of bold colours.
      If I had a small garden I wouldn’t t plant it with pastel colours; sunset shades would be beautiful.

  7. AnnetteM says:

    Stunning vase – I love the colours. I find myself going for much brighter things these days – my summer garden is going to look a bit like a fairground at night – all reds, oranges and yellows. I have thrown in a bit of blue to calm things down.

    • Chloris says:

      Great I like a bit of colour. We’ ve spent so many years with pastel colour schemes, it’s great that people are no longer afraid of strong colour.

  8. Beautiful flowers, very high energy feel!! A stunning arrangement!

  9. Flighty says:

    It looks lovely and warm, ideal for a dull day. xx

    • Chloris says:

      Thanks , Flighty, it has been a bit dull and dreary . It couldn’ t make up its mind whether to rain or not. I’ ve been ducking and diving all day.

  10. mrsdaffodil says:

    Gorgeous bouquet. Alstroemeria is such a good cut flower: I’m just now trying to establish it in my garden.

  11. Chloris says:

    Thank you. Alstroemeria are lovely for cutting and if you get the right spot for them they spread very quickly .

  12. Kris P says:

    You’ve got a beautiful selection of flowers, Chloris, and the vase you selected is perfect for it. I used to avoid orange in my garden as well. I had little or nothing in that color in my former garden but my current one is loaded with it. Whether that’s due to the increased popularity of the color in garden centers, how the color glows in my current sunny garden, or a change in my personal taste is hard to say. All I know is, after seeing your orange Alstroemeria, I think I need to find one in that color for my own garden…

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you.You have a lovely Alstroemeria in your garden too Kris. You are right strong colours suit your sunny climate.
      I tried to leave a comment on your blog about your lovely vase but it disappeared. I wonder if it went into your spam?

  13. A lovely mix of flowers there, set off beautifully, with your ginger jar. Perfect! It is unusual seeing colours like this so early in the summer – pastels and cool colours usually predominate, leaving these hot, fiery colours for later. However, if they flower now, why not? I use these colours in the garden, in conjunction with chocolate shades, but they haven’t got going yet.

    • Chloris says:

      Chocolate, another colour I love to use. My favourite being the chocolate Cosmos atrosanguineus which actually smells of chocolate.. I’ ve no doubt that you grow this as you love fragrant flowers so much.

  14. Sarah says:

    A lovely collection of zingy flowers. Definitely something that would put a spring in your step and a smile on your face when you see it each morning!

  15. Chloris says:

    Yes it has been dull and wet today, the sort of day when it’ s good to look at your flowers in the comfort of the home without rain dripping down your neck. These colours suited my mood today.

  16. Julie says:

    I love your orange flowers Chloris. I tend to think of these as the colours of mid to late summer – it is surprising how many flowers you found that worked with the theme today. You are lucky to have stipa gigantea – I have tried to establish it for the last two years in my garden but it has not made it through the winter.

  17. Chloris says:

    Thank you Julie. I’ ve grown Stipa gigantea for years, I’ ve never had any problem with frost with it. I love it, it is wonderful when the sun is shining. If I get any babies from it appearing next year I will give you one.

  18. pbmgarden says:

    Gorgeous arrangement Chloris. So many different flowers working together in a beautiful palette, as Annette says, like the setting sun. Susie

  19. Chloris says:

    Thank you Susie, you too, have used sunset colours today in your lovely arrangement.

  20. Anna says:

    Oh that’s made me feel warm Chloris on what’s a grey and damp morning. Funny how our thoughts about colour can change. I used to have a thing about yellow.

  21. I also love orange flowers: Tithonia, butterflyweed, marigolds … Lovely arrangement, I think Christopher Lloyd would approve!

  22. Alain says:

    I makes for a beautiful arrangement. The ginger jar goes so well with the flowers you chose.

  23. Great gingery tones, lovely!.D.

  24. Chloris says:

    Thank you Dorris.
    I just found your comment in spam. A couple of weeks ago this happened to me. Half the comments I wrote ended up in people’ s spam. It seems to be sorted now. I hope.

  25. Cathy says:

    And I have just found your last week’s vase, Chloris, so apologise profusely for not admiring it before now. I was just thinking today that it will be nice to have colours like these for a vase, much as I like my pinks, but apart from the geums there is nothing (and certainly no yellow or orange roses!) yet although there are some nasturtiums just starting. I have failed miserably with alstromeria in this garden so it is lovely to see yours and a great selection of complementary flowers and foliage. Thank you for joining in and please don’t think I was ignoring you! ps hurrah for redheads! I used to threaten to set Younger Daughter up on a blind date with a ‘redhead’ as the potential for readheaded children was her worst nightmare! I find this discrimination quite odd, as I am sure you and your son do 🙂

  26. Chloris says:

    I think Alstroemeria are quite hard to get established, specially if the tubers have been out of the ground for any time. If they decide that they like you they really take off. They are great for picking as they last for ages in water. I don’ t know which this one is because it was a gift from a friend who had a big patch of it in her garden. It is very strong growing.
    I didn’ t think that you were ignoring me Cathy, it is sometimes difficult to keep up with all the blogs you read. I sometimes find that I have missed posts.

Leave a Reply

