Wordless Wednesday. 19.03.14

Clematis armandii

Clematis armandii

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. 19.03.14

  1. AnnetteM says:

    Is it a clematis? I have one that I just put in last year that looks similar (from pictures) but the new growth isn’t red.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes Annette, it is Clematis armandii. The white one is ‘ Snowdrift’. You can also get a pink-tinged one called ‘Apple Blossom’

      • AnnetteM says:

        I think it is the same as mine then, but my label just says Armandii. I look forward to it flowering as I put it in just after last year. Yours looks lovely.

  2. How beautiful! This Clematis has been on my want list for sometime. I have been afraid that it might get too cold here. Yours looks wonderful! The large leathery foliage on these are fantastic. Great shot!

    • Chloris says:

      I must admit it is not reliably hardy when the weather gets very cold. This is my third; the first two died in very cold winters. I don’t believe I can’t grow something until I have killed it three times. So third time lucky, I hope.

  3. Is that early? Looking exquisite.D.

  4. Julie says:

    Your garden must be awash with scent, beautiful.

  5. Robbie says:

    just beautiful:-)

  6. I have been after one for some time, now, to grow over my pergola, alongside some other scented climbers. I did have one – “Apple Blossom” – but I’m afraid I lost it. I definitely need to replace it! Yours is looking lovely with loads of buds just waiting!

    • Chloris says:

      It is doing well this year with such a mild winter. I have to admit I have lost two Clematis armandii over the years when we have had really cold winters. It is worth persevering with though, it is gorgeous.

  7. Anna says:

    A beauty Chloris. I bought one for my parent’s garden many moons ago and was able to appreciate it at close quarters when I went to see my mum recently 🙂

  8. Chloris says:

    It is lovely and very quick growing.

  9. rusty duck says:

    I’ve lost them too before now. Perhaps I might have more success down here. Gorgeous scent!

  10. Such an early bloomer for Clematis!

  11. Chloris says:

    Yes I love the early blooming Clematis. There are several smaller flowered ones which are gorgeous at the moment too. They are varieties of Clematis cirrhosa.

  12. Annette says:

    Mine has just arrived in the post today, Chloris – will plant it this afternoon 🙂

  13. Chloris says:

    Great! You will enjoy the lovely fragrant flowers next year. It is surprisingly fast growing.

  14. Cathy says:

    I missed a lot of posts last week when I was away – this clematis is gorgeous, Chloris. I have tried it before but it succumbed to the cold or frost or something – but the energies in the garden are very different now and I’m sure it would succeed if I tried again.

    • Chloris says:

      This is my third attempt to grow it Cathy, it succumbed twice to extreme cold. I hope it is a bit more sheltered in this position. If I lose this one I will give up.

Leave a comment