Some Like It Hot.

And I do, I really love it, but for gardeners it means endless watering. It takes its toll on a girl.


Even though it is very hot, the Pianist is not being idle, as you can see, whilst Chloris wilts, he is on the mower. Mind you, as I keep telling him,  he is lucky really; it is a nice, restful, sitting-down job.

Before I can sit down there are a few midsummer  treasures to enjoy and share with you. The secret garden, which was last year’s project, is looking good now the roses and clematis have grown. Rosa ‘Phyllis Bide’ has been flowering for several weeks on the arches.

 

The rose in the front is ‘Lady Emma Hamilton’ which is a repeat flowering rose and a gorgeous colour.

Rosa ‘Lady Emma Hamilton’

The clematis have done really well and are covering the trellis.

Clematis ‘Madame Julia Correvon’

Clematis ‘Tie Dye’

Clematis viticella ‘Purpurea Plena Elegans’ and Clematis florida ‘Sieboldii’

Clematis ‘Pagoda’

I have already mentioned my passion for roses and although some have finished they have passed the baton to  later flowering ones including these two lovely ramblers. ‘Francis E Lester’ is climbing up an old plum tree and ‘Blush Rambler’ is blushing as she is obliged to climb the frilly pink knicker cherry tree.

Rosa ‘Francis E. lester’

 

Rosa ‘Blush Rambler’

 

The next two are nameless as they were already here and looking very sickly and spindly. It is amazing what a bit of a prune and a good feed can do. The first one has the healthy, blueish leaves of Rosa alba. I think it could be Rosa alba ‘Celestial’ as it it has the most wonderful fragrance.

 

Round the garden there a lots of other flowers which are delighting me at the moment.  Here are a few. I love campanulas and this double one is gorgeous.

Campanula persicifolia ‘Pride of Exmouth’

I love santolinas  too and this is a nice compact one.

Santolina rosmarinifolia ‘Lemon Fizz’

Anthemis tinctoria ‘Sauce Hollandaise’ looks edible with Bupleurum rotundifolius ‘Bronze’.

Anthemis tinctoria ‘Sauce Hollandaise’ with Bupleurum rotundifolium ‘Bronze’

I love bronze flowers and behind this group I have the bronze foxglove, Digitalis parviflora.

Digitalis parviflora

And in pots there are some nice splashes of colour.  The coleus is a nice bronzey colour and looks good with the acer.

The dainty little pelargonium in the front of the next shot is the tricky Pelargonium ‘Ardens’, this is the first time that I have got it through the winter.

 

I have lots of pots which I will show you another day but I will finish with the wonderfully fragrant Dianthus ‘Rainbow Loveliness’. Next year I shall have this in pots everywhere and all my friends will get a pot too. It smells fantastic.

Dianthus ‘Rainbow Loveliness’

But now, let’s join Hector and the Pianist in the shade. A hammock is the only place to be when the temperature soars.

Note. For people new to my blog, the first picture isn’t actually me. It is my disreputable scarecrow who clearly lives a life of dissipation when I am not looking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Some Like It Hot.

  1. Gillian says:

    I didn’t for one minute think that first picture was you! It’s the same in our garden… lovely husband sits on the mower whilst I take my usual weeding, planting, watering role with my head in the border.

    • Chloris says:

      I’m looking not unlike my scarecrow right now with endless watering. The promised rain today didn’t come to anything. Did you get any rain?

  2. March Picker says:

    Such a great selection of clematis! I too am a fan of the bronzy-toned flowers. I’m not a fan of the heat, however, thus we have found our cool home in the Pacific Northwest.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you. I couldn’t cope with all year round heat but our heatwaves are so short-lived here that I want to get out there and soak it all up like a lizard.

  3. So amazing what grows in your garden – I doubt anyone in the US has heard of bronze Foxglove, it is lovely as are the Roses, Clematis, Dianthus and everything else. I think the Pianist needs some more sun. And the scarecrow a bit less. Hoping it rains gently for you. While we have had plenty of rain the latest temperature was ‘it feels like 104 F’

  4. snowbird says:

    That last pic has me smiling! I was laughing at your doppleganger, that’s exactly how I look and feel, I fall apart in the sun, makes me wonder why I end up in hot countries every winter! Your bench is lovely, the spider’s web in it is wonderful and I liked the lavender hedges either side, they must smell lovely when you are sitting there. Tie dye is gorgeous, almost iris-like and rainbow loveliness is fascinating. As for a bronze foxglove…struth…who knew???xxx

    • Chloris says:

      The scarecrow and I are in a race to see who can deteriorate the fastest. I think she needs to go into rehab, she looks permanently inebriated. I am raddled but at least I am sober.
      I am glad you like my bench, I designed it myself.
      The bronze foxglove is easy from seed.

  5. Kris P says:

    I’ve sworn to add no more roses to the few left here but, if I ever come across ‘Lady Edith Hamilton,’ I’ll break my word in an instant. I fall in love with that rose all over again every time I see it. I love the bronze coleus with the Acer and the Diascia too. Your foxglove reminds me of the Digitalis ferruginea I was able to coax into bloom in my former garden – I haven’t seen it sold locally in years. After your open garden event and all that watering, Scarecrow Chloris looks like she needs a trip to the spa – maybe she’ll allow you to tag along while the Pianist picks up water-duty.

    • Chloris says:

      It is ‘Lady Emma Hamilton’, named after Nelson’s mistress. It has lovely foliage and a fruity fragrance. I used to grow Digitalis ferruginea too but I don’t have it now. At least I don’t think I do, I must go and look. They are easy from seed.

  6. germac4 says:

    What a gorgeous garden…..and it looks even better from Canberra (Australia) where we are having a very dreary winter’s day. I’m taking notes of things to plant for next summer, your Lady Emma Hamilton Rose is stunning, I love that colour, and the clematis are wonderful too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you. It is strange to think of winter on a hot sunny day. But it is nice to dream of roses. I can highly recommend Lady Emma Hamilton, she is a very elegant lady.

  7. ‘Lady Emma’ sure is beautiful, as are your Clematis varieties. That Dianthus is unique! I don’t remember seeing that variety before. Nice that it’s wonderfully fragrant, too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth. The dianthus is easy from seed and the scent is just gorgeous. A pot under the window fills the room with fragrance. It is sweet without being cloying.

  8. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable post and lovely pictures. It’s been too hot for me. xx

  9. Christina says:

    I do like bronze foliage and flowers but they are not so appreciated here when everything is gold or brown during the summer. I would really like the foxglove though, did you grow them from seed? I’ve tried several times and never had any germinate. I rather think it might depend on the freshness of the seed so I should try again. I love your spider’s web seat, and the new secret garden is a delight.

    • Chloris says:

      I can see why bronze wouldn’t be so popular there. Someone once asked me if my bronze carex was dead. I think your bronze foxglove seeds weren’t fresh. It is easy from seed.
      I am glad you like my seat, I designed it myself to match my spider’s web gate.

  10. I do not know Digitalis parviflora, so you have taught me something new again. I hope it will grow in a bit of shade…I will try to find it when I get home. I don’t mind a bit of heat myself, but I’m at a meeting in Palm Springs, California, where it was 121 F yesterday and even the swimming pool is too warm to enjoy. The pianist, clever man that he is, has the right idea. Hector looks tempted to join him.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes Digitalis parviflora is happy in the shade like all foxgloves. It is easy from seed but takes 2 years to flower.
      121F sounds unbearable. It’s nearly 50 c. I’ve never experienced anything like that.
      Hector does try to put his bottom in the hammock, he likes to do whatever we are doing.

  11. Bodger says:

    Well done, your Clematis are enviable and C. florida ‘Sieboldii’ is the first that I would grow, if my sand allowed. My version of your Pianist is busy fixing a hose on an auto reel to the side of the house, since the weather has been dry as a chip and I look like your scarecrow from lugging cans of water. He can wash his car if he’s quick, if I ever finish my job.

    • Chloris says:

      We were promised rain today, but that was a bad joke. A few drops and then it was over. If watering was an olympic sport you and I would be gold medallists.

  12. Lovely garden and what a marvelous dianthus! Not sure if I can locate it here in the states, but I’ll give it a try.

  13. Brian Skeys says:

    Frances E. Lester is a beautifully simple scented rose. The secret garden and its clematis are looking very impressive. Chloris looks as if she has been on the G&T!

    • Chloris says:

      I love Francis E Lester, it always looks so healthy and as you say, it smells wonderful.
      Chloris is an embarrassment, I’ll give her a makeover next year and perhaps I had better send her into rehab.

  14. Lots of lovely things here to make me smile, thank you. Your secret garden is looking beautiful, you must be very pleased. (I have a thing about the bronze (‘are you dead yet?’) carex – much nicer and healthier looking are C.testacea and Chionochloa rubra😉.)

  15. Pauline says:

    Your secret garden is looking lovely, the roses are beautiful and the perfume must be wonderful in that area. Exmouth is just down the road from us, just 15 minutes away, on the coast, I ought to try and source the Campanula with that name.

  16. Steve says:

    Your Rosa ‘Phyllis Bide’ is looking great. This is an understated rose and should be grown more often.

  17. I like the look of that hammock! The flowers on Clematis ‘Pagoda’ are shaped very much like those of ‘Betty Corning’, but a different color. I wonder if they would grow well together. Speaking of color, I love that of ‘Lady Emma Hamilton’.

    • Chloris says:

      I do actually grow Pagoda with Betty Corning but they don’t bloom at the same time. Betty has finished now.
      Lady Emma Hamilton is a beautiful rose with a delicious scent and healthy glossy foliage.

  18. rusty duck says:

    What a difference a couple of days makes.. I’m now looking out at rain wanting to get back out there. Researching bathroom fittings is utterly boring in comparison. Still, the garden needs it.
    As well as taps I’m also after a clematis that is relatively short growing and doesn’t mind a bit of shade. Preferably white. Any thoughts?

  19. Peter/Outlaw says:

    You do look a bit weary in the first picture but your garden looks fantastic as always. Must seek out more ‘Rainbow Loveliness’ as that fragrance is fantastic. There are some in the ground in my garden where I seldom go to enjoy their scent. Your idea of growing them in pots where they can be closer to one’s nose has inspired me to do the same!

    • Chloris says:

      I didn’ t realise the dianthus smelt so wonderful until a friend told me to put the pots under the window and next to the table where we sit. Wow! It’ s gorgeous. Next year I want pots of it everywhere.

  20. smallsunnygarden says:

    So much beauty! All of you clearly deserve some time relaxing in the shade… even the scarecrow! I do love your dianthus – must keep it in mind though they are a bit fidgety to keep looking nice here. Celestial is wonderful…

  21. Cathy says:

    Oh your clematis and roses in particular are looking wonderful Chloris – and what a success your secret garden is proving to be! Did you grow that pretty dianthus from seed and why is it white if is called Rainbow Loveliness?

  22. Where to start? I love that delphinium rose combo, in fact all the roses are lush, the digitalis is delicious (sorry) and the double campanula one for The List. As for Hector, well please put him in the post to me straightaway.

  23. bittster says:

    The secret garden has come along in big way, I love the clematis! -roses as well, it’s amazing what some decent care will o for a ‘sickly’ rose.
    I hope you’ve done well enough in the heat and continued to get a few things done here and there, here we’ve had some perfect garden temperatures and work has actually been done for once.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you. Heat waves never last long here so it is a wonderful excuse to laze about and do nothing. It’s back to normal now. We even had some welcome rain.

  24. So many wonderful clematis Chloris. And roses and we’ll everything. Hammock looks the place to be!

  25. Jolie collection de clématites 😉 et oui, je crois qu’il a fait très chaud un peu partout

    • Chloris says:

      J’adore les clématites, surtout les viticellas. Nous serons en Normandie la semaine prochaine, j’espère qu’il fait toujours chaud chez toi.

  26. I’ve earmarked that dianthus as a definite for next year! Looks as good as it no doubt smells! I do like the bronze combination – so unusual! Does the scarecrow reflect how you were feeling?!!

    • Chloris says:

      Oh yes, that should certainly be on your list Ali. Easy from seed and an absolutely heavenly scent.
      Yes, all that watering made me feel just like the scarecrow looks. We have had some lovely rain now though.

Leave a Reply

