In a Vase on Monday. Pink and Orange.

June is a very pink month in the garden, I have lots of pink roses and how pretty they look in a vase. Even the ones that are hanging their heads looking overblown and blowsy sum up June for me.

I used the climbing ‘New Dawn’ which I have everywhere as it is very easy from cuttings. The two unruly weeping pears , Pyrus salicifolia ‘Pendula’ in my front garden have roses weaving through them and I have used bits of two of these;  ‘Veilchenblau’ and the pale pink ‘Félicité Perpétue’ . Perpetua and her slave, Felicity were third century martyrs  who suffered the gory deaths so much enjoyed by early Christian martyrs.

Rosa ‘Veilchenblau’

For extra fragrance I have popped in a few pinks and there is a distinct smell of cloves coming from them.

My house is also  fragrant at the moment as I am enjoying vases of sweet peas in every room.
As an antidote to all this pink I have an orange vase this week. I never used to like orange flowers but now I can’t think why,  I love them.  I am appalled by Orange Presidents and Orangemen; the sinister DUP who our unappealing Prime Minister wants to cosy up to in order to hang on to power. But that is no reason to let beautiful orange flowers  be tainted with bigotry and self-serving malevolence.


I have had this Alstroemeria so long that I can’t remember its name. I like it very much apart from its floppy habit.

On the bottom left you can see the double orange poppy, Papaver rupifragum which seeds all round the garden.

I always think the Latin name for Californian Poppy; Eschsholzia californica has too many consonants but it is very pretty and easy. A few packets of seed sprinkled around and you have it forever.

I used just one rose, my lovely ‘Grace’ which is a David Austin rose and one I would never be without. On the right of the above photo you can see Bupleurum longifolium ‘Bronze Beauty’. It is an unusual plant with sprays of copper-coloured flowers.  I save seed every year so that I can pop this everywhere.

Umbellifers are very fashionable and we all love frothy white  Ammi and Orlaya. But I am very fond of yellow flowered ones too. I have used two different ones here, Lovage, Levisticum officinale and Parsnip, Pastinaca sativa flowers. I always leave a few parsnips to go to seed because I love the flowers.


The alstroemerias have a purple tinge so I used a few sprays of purple Geranium psilostemon. As an after thought I popped a bit of Bronze Fennel in to pick up the dark stripes on the alstroemeria flowers. I also used some flowers from a bronze Heuchera.

In a Vase on Monday is  of course, hosted by the inimitable Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Pink and Orange.

  1. I like your orange vase and all the others. It is so nice that your can scent your whole house with flowers.

  2. Cathy says:

    Oh you have Bupleurum longifolium ‘Bronze Beauty’!! I ordered plugs from SR but in the end they couldn’t get the stock – so tried it from seed, with no germination success… 😦 Certainly wouldn’t mind some spare seed, and suggestions for better germination if you would so kind… pretty please. Your roses climbing into trees sound delicious 🙂 And I especially love the second jug, which shows off the contents perfectly. Thanks for sharing all your goodies, Chloris

    • Chloris says:

      Perhaps your seed wasn’t fresh. I have read that it can be slow to germinate but mine took less than 2 weeks. Don’ t bury the seeds too deep. I will send you some and if they don’ t germinate I will send you some young plants.

      • Cathy says:

        I was disappointed not to have the plants from Sarah Raven so will readily welcome more seeds from you and try again as it looks a most attractive plant – thanks 🙂

  3. Oh I wish I could grow sweet peas here! Yours are lovely!

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Wow! Three vases this week and all gorgeous. Like you, I now love orange in the garden and especially like it in your vase.

  5. Sam says:

    Both very pretty vases but especially the orange one. I agree with your feelings about orange presidents and parties as opposed to orange flowers. Orange goes very well with purple or blue (one of my favourite colour combinations, but not in the political sense!) and your jug shows this of beautifully. I’m intrigued by the lovage and parsnip flowers. Lots of veg and herbs have pretty flowers, I think.

  6. I have found orange in the garden causes a lot of conflicted feelings, I love the vase and the commentary. The bronzes look especially wonderful mixed in. I sometimes mix pink and orange just to be perverse, though I actually like it – and I wish I could breathe the fragrant air in your house and garden.

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Roses, sweet peas and that orange arrangement–wow, gorgeous! Your house must smell wonderfully. Seeing your orange poppy reminds me of a similar one I had years ago that would self-sow, but got shaded out and was lost. I miss it.

    • Chloris says:

      I never have to plant the orange poppy, it puts itself wherever it wants. The sweetpeas are wonderfully fragrant, there is nothing quite like it.

  8. Looks like everyone thinks the orange vase is a hit and I agree. Wonder why we’ve all changed our mind about orange? Believe it or not, I just bought an orange dress for summer. Sounds hideous, I know, but it’s really cute.

    • Chloris says:

      It is strange how we all change taste at the same time. It doesn’ t seem long ago since everything was pastel with silver foliage. I bet your orange dress is lovely.

  9. Kris P says:

    There’s no end to the bounty of your June garden! My own paltry rose collection looks sad by comparison to the effervescent display you have on hand. It’s funny but I also found myself looking at the orange blooms in my garden with something of a jaundiced eye earlier this year given the color’s association with the orange person occupying our White House but then I decided it was unfair to view flowers and fools through the same lens.

  10. Alison C says:

    I love the orange and purple, the vase is so warm and unusual. The orange poppies looks so delicate and pretty, I’d be happy to have that seeding around. Roses and pinks, who could ask for anything more?

  11. Orange is the new pink ? perhaps in the gardening world at least. I love it. Funniliy enough I have never once made any political links to it. I love it for its complimentary effect to all shades of blue and purple. your roses look lovely Chloris.

  12. Cathy says:

    What a wonderful array of vases, and the scent must be fabukous too. I love orange, in fact I don’t think there is a colour I would not welcome into my garden. That Alstroemeria is lovely. 🙂

  13. The Roses seem especially beautiful this year. I too have Felicite perpetue but rather than thinking of them as blooming Christian Martyrs (Perpetua and Felicitas) I translate the name as ‘Always Happy’.

  14. snowbird says:

    All absolutely fabulous! Talking of martyrs, I stumbled across Margaret Clitheroe’s hand in York…what a story.
    I am appalled by Orange Presidents and Orangemen; the sinister DUP who our unappealing Prime Minister wants to cosy up to in order to hang on to power. I am applauding you!!! Well said!!! xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Indeed, Margaret Clitheroe got squashed to death didn’t she? Really the savagery of our forbears is beyond belief.
      And our unappealing P.M. gets more unappealing by the day. But orange flowers are a delight.

  15. Christina says:

    You have my favourite rose Liz; I love ‘Veilchenblau’, mine has been rather subdued this year; I don’t think it likes it as hot as it is now. All the pinkness is lovely in a vase but it is your orange themed vase that really excites me. It is so easy to have prejudices for certain colours, I used to hate orange and red but now I like them more than most of the pastel shades, I think that is due to the bright light here. I like your umbellifers; I’ve grown dill this year and I like it more than the Ami’s.

    • Chloris says:

      Veilchenblau is a gorgeous colour. I love bright colours too specially as the summer advances and pastels become insipid under a stronger sun.

  16. I like orange flowers no matter what or who they are mixed with.

  17. Magnifiques bouquets ! La pluie a permis une floraison abondante 😉 Le jardin est comme j’aime : coloré et foisonnant 🙂

  18. Wow! Three vases this week and all gorgeous. like it in your vase.

  19. Bodger says:

    Thanks Chloris, I didn’t know that Perpetua and Felicity met with sticky ends. I agree with your views on political oranges but in a vase with the lovage, they are arresting. Have you tried Leonotis leonurus? Fabulous balls of auburn, on six foot spires, grown as annuals. Zilch from seed this year, will try again when my courage is up. Bronze fennel has woven a swaying presence all through my red and yellow borders and sprigs of leaves make salmon mayonnaise as pretty as a flower arrangement.

    • Chloris says:

      I collect tales of early Christian martyrs, they came to such endlessly inventive grisly ends, specially the women.
      I have grown Leonitis leonurus and I love it. I’ m not sure why, I haven’t grown it for years.

  20. As always gorgeous arrangements and a good story, I do love a good story!

    • Chloris says:

      Thanks Gill. I love a good story too, specially about the grisly ends of early Christian martyrs. At least these two kept all their body parts.

Leave a Reply

