In a Vase on Monday. Party Dress.


My tree peony bloom is wearing a party dress of the finest, shimmering silk. As there are more than twenty blooms this year I have picked one for a vase. I feel I should polish the table, get out the silver and dress up in my best dress to entertain her. She is sitting in a hand-blown Victorian vase.

Keeping her company and a perfect match, I have a bloom or two of the late flowering Magnolia liliflora ‘Nigra’.

This magnolia has now formed a mature tree. It comes from a layered piece of one in my previous garden. Layering is the best method of propagating magnolias.

Another perfect match is the Clematis mantana Warwickshire Rose’.

Clematis montana ‘Warwickshire Rose’

The other two pink flowers are aquilegia  vulgaris and a pink Spanish bluebell which I cannot get rid of so I have decided to enjoy them. The blue ones are even worse, threading themselves through the beds in the front garden.

There is no sun today to show the colours in the best light, but I picked the flowers yesterday and took a couple of photos outside.


In another vase I have picked these flowers as I have an abundance at the moment. I never realised they are fragrant. Do you recognise what they are?

‘In a Vase on Monday’ is hosted by Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden. There is a growing band of people who look forward to enjoying a vase on Monday so do have a look at what they have to show us today. I still have not had chance to catch up with my blogging friends, but I look forward to seeing what every one has been doing in the gardens later today.
One more look at my tree peony.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Party Dress.

  1. Christina says:

    Very special. You found the perfect accompaniments. How long will she last in a vase?

  2. I love your color combination and especially the peonies. No, I don’t know what is in the second vase and will be interested to find out.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you,. The flowers in the second vase are from the Horse Chestnut tree, Aesculus hippocastrum. I think they look a bit like orchids.

  3. Cathy says:

    You mean there is a plant you don’t know the name of…shame on you Chloris! Teehee, only joking 😉 Your peony would have a good friend in my tulip, as they are from the same colour palette – and do say how long your magnolia lasts in a vase because I wondered about my dark one but wasn’t sure about using it in a vase. Your blooms work so well together in their vase – thanks for choosing and sharing

    • Chloris says:

      Well, I do know the name of course. wanted to see if anyone recognised the flowers. I think they look a bit orchid-like close up. They are from my Horse Chestnut tree, I have two huge ones.
      I love the colour of your tulip and yes it would be perfect for my vase. I am not sure how long the magnolia will last in water as I have never picked them before.

  4. Sam says:

    Horse chestnut! They’re surprisingly lovely, aren’t they? Your tree peony flower is fabulous and looks lovely with all the other blooms. Your pink vase is very pretty too.

    • Chloris says:

      I have never picked horse chestnut before but it is lovely for a vase and slightly fragrant. I am rather pleased with my pink glass vase, this is the first time that I have used it for flowers.

  5. Kris P says:

    I was already green with envy when I saw that peony in your vase – and then you showed the entire shrub! It’s fairly certain now that my Itoh peony is going to pass on blooming again this year so it appears that even our heavier-than-usual winter rains weren’t strong enough magic to make that happen. I wouldn’t have guessed the identity of your beautiful blooming branches but they’re another reason to be envious this morning.

    • Chloris says:

      My three tree peonies grown from seed are my pride and joy, this is the first time that I have picked one though.
      The two horse chestnuts are a lovely sight with their candles. But they are huge trees and quite unsuitable for a garden. I suspect the squirrels brought them in from the churchyard years ago.

    • Chloris says:

      I don’ t know whether it is because I have a new tablet but I can’ t post comments on your blog Kris. Have they gone into your spam?

  6. Cathy says:

    I thought it was a poppy at first! What a gorgeous colour, and the petals really do look like silk. She has some good company too!

  7. Chloris says:

    Tree peonies have the biggest, blowsiest flowers imaginable. Next week I will pick my pale pink one.

  8. pbmgarden says:

    All of these blooms are amazing, but the peony steals my heart. Lovely color. That you grew it from seed makes it doubly impressive. Glad you showed the outdoor view as well.

  9. Glorious is what comes to my mind. Enjoy every minute! Peonies! Horsechestnuts, wonderful, we have Red Buckeyes in the woods where I am from.

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    Your tree peony is stunning! How proud you must be of such a glorious specimen. Same for the magnolia. Beautiful.
    Are those horse chestnut blossoms? Are they what is also called conkers?

  11. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Very fancy and silky indeed, a perfect party dress. Horse chestnut blossoms remind me of orchids but I’ve never brought any in to enjoy in a vase. What a marvelous idea!

  12. Such a glamorous vase, well worth dressing up for too. Your orchid like horse chestnut flowers are a hit, what a great idea – I may pinch a few from a neighbour’s tree that are dangling ever so temptingly over the hedge ….

  13. Tes bouquets sont splendides et ton jardin tout autant. J’aime la couleur du magnolia et l’anémone est superbe 😉 Bravo !!! Belle journée

  14. Anna says:

    That peony is a beauty Chloris. I’ve been looking at your horse chestnut flowers and thinking to myself that they look most familiar. I was admiring the candles on the trees at the top of our lane yesterday with view to picking some for a vase but they were all out of reach. I didn’t realise that they are scented. Will have to get himself out there with his height advantage and longer arms.

  15. snowbird says:

    Ohhhhh…what an adorable tree peony blossom, loved this bouquet, and that hand blown vase. I wonder if I will have a tree peony one day, and pick one and think of you? No movement yet on those seeds! I am beginning to think the mouse may have dug them out, must check tomorrow.
    Horse chestnut!! Of course, I wouldn’t have guessed until you said though.xxx

  16. I would not have guessed horse chestnut – to me they look almost like Azaleas. Your tree peony is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

