Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. March.

I am a bit late with my bloom day which should be on the 15th of the month, but this week has been glorious and far too nice to be inside blogging. At last I can be outside all day long, enjoying the garden and my new She-Shed.

The sun has been shining and  each day the flowers are pumping out ever more colour. The first  Brimstone butterflies appeared yesterday. The butter yellow of these butterflies gave us the name butterfly. Bees are  buzzing everywhere and so am I; buzzing with  delight as I notice ever more beautiful spring blooms. There are jolly daffodils and these bright red tulips which raise the spirits.

Tulipa ‘Duc van Tol’

I prefer dainty little narcissus and I didn’ t plant these big King Alfred daffs , but they make a show here and in the orchard.

Narcissus ‘King Alfred’

But these cheerful blooms don’ t make the heart beat faster. It is the tiny less showy plants that excite me. The little corydalis which seed into carpets of pink and mauve or even white.

Corydalis solida ‘Beth Evans’

Corydalis malkensis

Corydalis chelianthifolia has lovely fresh fern-like foliage.

Corydalis cheilanthifolia

The first delicate flowers have appeared on the Pasque flowers Pulsatilla vulgaris.

 

 

The wonderful scents of March blooms are delicious. The vanilla scent of the tiny flowers of Azara microphylla drifts round the garden on the slightest breeze. The flowers are so tiny but the fragrance carries everywhere.

Azara microphylla

Sweet violets are invasive but I allow banks of them to flourish in the wilder parts of the garden so that I can catch that elusive scent. Violets release the chemical ionone which binds to the scent receptors in the nose and then shuts them down so you only get a tantalising whiff. Shakespeare knew all about this, he compared them to music in the Winter’ s Tale: ‘...the sweet sound that plays upon a bank of violets; stealing and giving odour’. I love violets and have  them in shades of pink, mauve, white and even apricot.

Hyacinths that have been in pots over the last years are dotted around the garden and add to the delicious scents.

The Japanese Apricot is still beautifully fragrant and although Daphne bholua ‘Jaqueline Postill’ is going over, Daphne odora ‘Aureomarginata’ is looking and smelling wonderful.

Daphne odora ‘Aureomarginata’

Clematis ‘Freckles’has been blooming all winter and now it is joined by the pure white flowers of Clematis armandii ‘Snowdrift’ which are sweetly scented.

Clematis armandii ‘Snowdrift’

I wouldn’t be without  Prunus ‘Kursar’ because its dainty dark pink blossoms always appear in March and early blooms are extra welcome.

Prunus ‘Kursar’

Other trees and shrubs in bloom now are Cornus mas with yellow tufts of flowers-

Cornus mas

Stachyurus praecox with its strings of primrose- coloured, bead-like flowers.

Stachyrus praecox

Camellias are blooming now too.

In the greenhouse the apricot tree is in bloom and I hope the bees are finding their way in or I shall have to do the job of ensuring plenty of apricots myself, with a little brush.

Apricot blossom

I refuse to believe that I can’t grow a plant until I have killed it three times. I am not sure if this is my third or fourth attempt to grow the lovely Edgeworthia chrysantha, but this one has survived the winter and is looking good, so I hope I have cracked it.

Edgeworthia chrysantha

Hellebores have been blooming for weeks and they seed around happily in my garden. I have read that you shouldn’t let them seed because the specials become diluted and they all end up wishy-washy. I like drifts of them all over the garden and I think they are all lovely, so I am happy to let the bees get to work and surprise me with the result of the marriages that they arranged.

I think the bird bath is a good way to display their pretty faces. They range in colour from slate to yellow; there  are doubles, anemone-flowered ones and picotees with a red edge to the petals. I love them all.


In my February Bloom Day post I promised I wouldn’t mention snowdrops any more, after all they are all finished now by the middle of March. Or are they? Actually Galanthus plicatus is looking great, it always is the last to bloom and it is one of my favourites.

Galanthus plicatus

Another late flowering plicatus was a gift from my lovely friend, Janet who was given it by her friend, Beth Chatto. She can’t remember its name but it is a little beauty with huge flowers on short stems.

Another March favourite is the primrose, but if we start on primroses we will be here all day so I will save then for a separate post. And so here are just a few other March delights in my belated offering for Carol’s meme, Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day over at
MayDreamGardens.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. March.

  1. Christina says:

    So many treasures, Liz. I too have been outside all day for the last few days. Today and yesterday have been more like English summer temperatures; the shaded greenhouse is reaching into the 30’s and I have to keep checking that the small seedlings have enough water but not too much otherwise they don’t make roots, I find. Enjoy your garden, it is lovely!

  2. Your garden is looking so good. It is hard to stay inside on such beautiful Spring days.

  3. The array of blooms in your early spring garden is wonderful, so much welcome colour and variety – at last! Of late, we’ve been lucky to enjoy some really fine spring days, it’s marvellous to have bees and early butterflies to keep us company.

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    A pure delight to tour your spring garden – it brightens my day!

  5. croftgarden says:

    Such a delight to have a walk around your garden and admire your stunning collection of spring flowers. It is still wet and windy in the far NW, but maybe next month there will be some warm days to encourage the bulbs.

  6. Cathy says:

    Gosh – brimstone butterflies and a whole bed of tulips! And they are just a couple of your spring delights…I don’t know where to start in expressing my admiration! What pleasure you must have pottering about your garden, Chloris 🙂

  7. C’est magnifique ce mélange de couleurs et de variétés !!! Tes anémomes sont très belles(j’en ai planté quelques unes mais ne suis pas sûre qu”elles vont fleurir) Bon WE

  8. Cathy says:

    You have some lovely shrubs and flowers, and I can’t believe how far we are behind you this year. We have also had some lovely warm days, and a wet weekend is forecast, so the garden will take off next week! The apricot blossom is so lretty. Do you get many apricots from your tree?

  9. I am so happy for you that the temperatures have warmed and that you are enjoying your garden. All your beautiful blooms are looking wonderful. I am still longing to be outside, since it is still in the 30’s here. I will just have to garden virtually through your post! Happy Bloom Day!

  10. pbmgarden says:

    Thrilling to see your blooming wonders. Enjoy your spring. Cold here this week.

  11. snowbird says:

    Tell you what, I’m buzzing after reading this. What delightful spring blooms, a joy to see! I can’t get over all those different hellebores, gorgeous, such variety! Spring has sprung for sure, I noticed lots of honey bees all over the cherry blossom, and saw my first butterfly. Now it’s raining again but at least I can sow seeds and coo as the first begin to germinate. I’ll be crying soon as the slugs whip those heads off. Your marvelous DIL has been at it again I see, just love her painting of you, Hestor and that fabulous She-shed! Oh…I loved the camelia.xxx

  12. rusty duck says:

    Love your new piece of artwork. Hands on hips, know the feeling well. The gardener has so much to try the patience, not limited to dogs. Happy Spring. It’s certainly sprung in Suffolk.

  13. Kris P says:

    Your March garden is a wonder! After admiring your new artwork, I literally gasped when I saw your red tulips. To have a couple tulips bloom in my garden would make me deliriously happy but a scene like that would probably result in an aneurysm. I love the Corydalis too – I tried several varieties here, only to confirm that, yes, they do need moist soil and prefer not to be subjected to periodic blisteringly hot winter days. However, spring here is still beautiful, even if I can’t grow everything I want to.

  14. Oooo, spring is in your garden! I’m so jealous. So many of my spring-bloomers were just about ready to bloom and then we had a second wave of winter. Brrrr! Did you draw that first image? Enjoy your she-shed!

  15. The garden looks marvelous in March! Interesting to me how different your Hellebores are from the ones I used to grow.. Is that Hector in the She Shed graphic?

  16. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Your garden looks so well at this time of the year when the flower season has just started!Have a great spring!

  17. Brian Skeys says:

    Your garden Chloris is a wonderful example of the amount of colour you can have this time of year. I do like G.plicatus, it looks so elegant.

  18. Sam says:

    All looking fabulous, Liz. Your pleasure in your garden and its wonderful plants comes across beautifully in your writing and has made me smile. You’ve given me the prod to try again with a Clematis armandii. We’ve not had any success growing clematis in this garden but we planted several in our previous garden and they all grew really well. Trial and error, as is the way with gardening. Have a great spring. Sam x PS I’m intrigued to see more of your shed.

  19. Wow. What an abundance of pretty Spring blooms. A glory.
    I am taken with that first image – the drawing. Did you do that? It’s a delight.

  20. Bodger says:

    Yours is a delightful spring garden, thank you Chloris. Your Hellebores are to die for. I’ve been buying (yet) more, when I can see how a bloom is formed. How do you ever find time for laundry and dusting, with so much perfumed temptation beyond your door?

  21. Your flowers are making my soul sing! I adore ‘Duc Van Tol’ (though the name sounds a bit like a Disney character), and those apricot blossoms!

  22. bittster says:

    Oh my. Your view is quite a bit more pleasant than ours here and I’m worried that any comment I leave might have a slight scent of envy. I’ll just leave it as thank you, I love seeing your bit of spring and hope we someday see the same here.

  23. Lavinia Ross says:

    Beautiful tour of your gardens, Chloris. I am intrigued by Azara microphylla and the vanilla scent.

Leave a Reply

