In a Vase on Monday. Golden Trumpets, Heralds of Spring.

‘Daffodils,
which come before the swallow dares and take
the winds of March with beauty.’      

The Winter’s Tale.  William  Shakespeare.

The first of the little daffodils which flower in early March are particularly welcome now as winter releases its grip. At this time of the year, you can get a bunch of flowers at the supermarket very cheaply, but the ones you pick out of the garden are far more precious.
dsc_0402
The largest daffodil blooms I have picked are Narcissus ‘Rijnveld Early Sensation.’ which is the one to grow if you want daffodils in January. But not this year, they are still blooming now in March. ‘Spring Dawn’ on the left is is usually a bit later in February.

Narcissus 'Spring Dawn. Narcissus 'Rijnveld's Early Sensation'

Narcissus ‘Spring Dawn’. Narcissus ‘Rijnveld’s Early Sensation’

The lovely little wild daffodil Narcissus pseudonarcissus seeds around prolifically and soon makes carpets. These are the ones which inspired Wordsworth.

Narcissus pseudonarcisissus seedlings.

Narcissus pseudonarcissus seedlings.

Narcisssus pseudonarcissus

Narcisssus pseudonarcissus

I also picked Narcissus ‘Jetfire’ which has orange trumpets.
dsc_0403

‘Topolino’  is in there somewhere, it is very similar to Narcissus pseudonarcissus.

Narcisssus 'Topolino'

Narcisssus ‘Topolino’

Narcissus ‘February Gold’ is another early one, although it often doesn’t actually bloom in February.

Narcissus 'February Gold'

Narcissus ‘February Gold’

 

Narcissus 'February Gold'

Narcissus ‘February Gold’

You can get the pretty little Narcissus ‘Tête-à-tête anywhere and it is as cheap as chips. It is worth growing though as it is so easy and long-lasting.

Narcissus 'Tete-a-tete

Narcissus ‘Tete-a-tete

With the daffodils I used some red Cornus and two different types of fluffy willow; the black claws of Salix gracilistyla ‘Melanostachys’ and the dainty little bunny tails of Salix purpurea ‘Nancy Saunders’. This is a lovely elegant salix with red stems and pretty silvery leaves.

Salix gracilysta 'Melanostachys'

Salix graciliysta ‘Melanostachys’

Salix purpurea 'Nancy Saunders' and Cornus alba 'Sibirica'

Salix purpurea ‘Nancy Saunders’ and Cornus alba ‘Sibirica’

The only early daffodil I haven’t included  is Narcissus minor ‘Cedric Morris’ which is still going strong. It is too precious to pick though.

Narcisssus minor 'Cedric Morris'

Narcisssus minor ‘Cedric Morris’

Soon all the other daffodils will be blooming too, many of them are in bud. But these early harbingers of spring in my vase are extra special. We need all the harbingers we can get at the moment with constant showers and a bitter wind.

Do pop over to Ramblinginthegarden. Cathy hosts the meme of ‘In a Vase on Monday’ and encourages us to see what we can find to pick in our gardens even on a day like today when the March wind feels particularly spiteful.

‘Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair’.  Khalil Gibran.   Not today, I’m afraid Khalil. I’ve slipped in the mud already and I’m having a really bad hair day after picking these daffs.

dsc_0447

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Golden Trumpets, Heralds of Spring.

  1. I’m very impressed with your seedlings! You have so many good ones, but I really like the look of Cedric Morris, which (of course) I can’t get here.

  2. Christina says:

    I’m beginning to think I understand a bit more about bulbs; my supposition is that the early varieties don’t need such a long chill time which of course means they would do better for me here in Italy. Have you noticed when the Narcissus flower in relation to autumn temperatures rather than when they are flowering? I know my thought process is correct for tulips. Lovely selection of beautiful yellow flashes of sunshine!

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Enjoyed seeing your many varieties of daffodils. Mine bloomed early this year and are mostly gone, except for a few Thalia that are beginning to open. I wasn’t familiar with Narcisssus minor ‘Cedric Morris’ but it’s a beauty.

  4. Kris P says:

    You have a beautiful abundance of daffodils! I’m surprised by the number of Narcissi I have in bloom this year, courtesy of colder temperatures and more rain than we’ve seen in years, but I can’t hold a candle to your display. All mine, except ‘White Lion’, which hasn’t yet made an appearance, are nameless too, unfortunately.

  5. Cathy says:

    You are so right about the difference with home-picked daffodils – for many years I used to regularly treat myself to the cheapo supermarket ones, but wouldn’t dream of it these days. I like the look of the Jetfire ones and might add a clump or two of those for next year. Thanks for sharing your sunny vase and watch out with those bare feet… 😉

  6. Is there anything better than a jug filled with Daffodils in early Spring. I think not. Simply divine. As far as wind in the hair goes my hair is getting blown to bits here today! March is coming in like a lion everywhere!?

  7. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Sometimes the earth and weather are just out to get you! Superb spring harbinger arrangement! My garden’s first ‘Tête-à-tête’ blossom was spotted on Saturday but all the others are later bloomers. Your bouet has inspired me to add some more earlier-blooming varieties. We’ve also had cold and windy weather, even snow showers today. Brr.

  8. Cathy says:

    I am glad that you braved the cold wind to pick these, and I bet you are quite pleased with them too. 😉 I never buy daffodils in the shops as they often smell too strong, so am always happy to see Jetfire or Tête-à-Tête come up in my garden too as I find they hardly smell at all and last so well in a vase.

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    A happy bouquet to see today, Chloris. It has been so cold here that I appreciate the cheer. I used to have a nice stand of ‘Jetfire,’ but as the trees grew taller, they got overshadowed and I’m afraid have faded away. Must get more next fall!

  10. Alison C says:

    Ooh no, it’s still rather too chilly for bare feet. Your daffodils are a joyful reminder of spring,there is nothing to beat them. I’m seeing more and more opening their buds as I go around which is heartening. I bought 3 pots of Tete a tete today, at 99p each, to brighten the office where I work. Such a bargain, then when they are over I can bring them home and pop them in somewhere for next year.

  11. Anna says:

    Oh I hope that no harm was done when you slipped on the mud – it’s always a bit of shock to the system when that happens whether damage is done or not. A most fine gathering of mixed daffies in your vase. I will be looking out for ‘Spring Dawn’ come autumn. Hoping to get to the Lake District soon in search of hosts of daffodils 🙂

  12. What a fabulous selection of early daffodils! I have February Gold in flower and Tete a Tete but most of mine flower later. I must take a note of these early bloomers and make sure to plant a selection in the autumn. I hope you are keeping well and enjoying the odd spell of fine weather – I am looking forward to some longer lasting spring sunshine!

  13. Anca Tîrcă says:

    A whole collection!So beautiful!I cannot wait to see mine in bloom!

  14. smallsunnygarden says:

    It’s lovely to see your early daffodils! And interesting to see how much overlap there is among them. I planted Rijnveld’s Early Sensation in my earlier (US Midwest) garden, then was surprised that it was scarcely earlier than some other favorites such as Ice Follies – but from your post it looks like that was normal 😉 They are all beautiful…

  15. Flighty says:

    Lovely, it’s always good to see daffodils. xx

  16. Brian Skeys says:

    It was worth the battle with the mud and wind Chloris for a ‘golden’ post.

  17. Well done ! Yellow is so enjoying 😉 Spring’s coming !!! have a good day

  18. Sam says:

    Hope your weather has calmed down a bit, Liz! These daffodils are lovely – a much-needed shot of indoor sunshine. We have tete-a-tetes out but all the others are keeping their fat buds tight shut for now. There should be a good show if the sun sticks around for a few days…

  19. mrsdaffodil says:

    How lovely! We are a few weeks away from daffodils here, I’m afraid.

  20. snowbird says:

    Well they certainly are a feast for the eyes, a ray of sunshine to be sure. I love Spring dawn, the white is lovely. I only have Tete-a-tete but they are cheering me up. I finally sowed a few seeds today, and the three tree peony seeds you sent me. I do hope they germinate.xxx

  21. Your collection of narcissi is such a cheerful sight, the delicate salix is a very nice touch. I shall look out for it.

  22. My favourites are definitely the small ones, Jet Fire especially. They all bring a smile to my face though, as yours did on this horrid, horrid morning. 🙂

  23. Bodger says:

    Thanks Chloris, you help to drive the rainy blues away. I love N. “Jetfire” and “Tete a Tete”, their small scale stands up to our weather, of which we’ve been getting too much, lately. The miniatures are best at coming back another year. I spent a lot of the housekeeping money on “Pink Pride” which were lovely, but very briefly for one year only.

  24. Lavinia Ross says:

    That is a beautiful collection of daffodils, Chloris! Ours are mostly in bloom now, at least the yellow ones. I haven’t seen the Mount Hood or other varieties open their buds yet.

  25. Such a sight for winter-weary eyes, Chloris.

Leave a Reply

