Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. November.

The garden is winding down now and we have had a little frost. There are quite a few roses about but I don’t particularly want to look at them in November.  Having said that, these dainty little ‘Perle d’Or’ blooms are still very pretty.

Rosa 'Perle d'Or'

Rosa ‘Perle d’Or’

What I love at the moment are the chrysanthemums. I used to hate them and I am still not keen on the big mopheads, but now I love the vibrant colours of the daisy flowered ones.  What else is blooming so cheerfully in the garden right now? My favourite is Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’. The flowers are orangey-red but the reverse of the petals are bronze.

Chrysanthemum 'Chelsea Physic Garden'

Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’

Maybe brown flowers are an acquired taste but I love Chrysanthemum ‘Marjolein Brown’. I forgot to take a photo of it and now it is getting dark, so this is one I took last year.

Chrysanthemum 'Marjolein Brown'

Chrysanthemum ‘Marjolein Brown’

If that is too dull for you how about the vibrant colour of ‘Mrs. Jessie Cooper’?

Chrysanthemum 'Mrs. Jessie Cooper'

Chrysanthemum ‘Mrs. Jessie Cooper’

It makes a nice bit of colour alongside nerines and the last flowers of Salvia ‘Water Melon’.
dsc_0451
I love the old fashioned ones too, ‘The Emperor of China’ is a very old one but it is such a pretty shade of pink and the leaves turn red in autumn. It reminds me of my childhood.

Chrysanthemum 'The Emperor of China'

Chrysanthemum ‘The Emperor of China’

Another old one is ‘Mary Stoker’, it is always reliable and has pretty daisy flowers.

Chrysanthemum 'Mary Stoker'

Chrysanthemum ‘Mary Stoker’

I have a Chrysanthemum called ‘Suffolk Pink’ because it was found in a Suffolk garden.

Chrysanthemum 'Suffolk Pink'

Chrysanthemum ‘Suffolk Pink’

I will show you just one more as you are probably all saying ‘enough with the chrysanthemums’.

Chrysanthemum 'Cottage Apricot'

Chrysanthemum ‘Cottage Apricot’

Most of the Michaelmas daisies are over now but ‘Lady in Black’ is still pretty.

Aster 'Lady in Black'

Aster ‘Lady in Black’

My other late flowering Michaelmas Daisy, Aster ‘Monte Cassino’ has spread all over and its little white stars are always welcome. I know it’s now called ‘Symphio-thingy’ but I can”t be bothered with that at the moment. The taxonomists can say what they like it will always be an aster to me. And a very lovely one too.

Aster frikartii 'Monch seedheads with Aster 'Monte Cassino'

Aster frikartii ‘Monch seedheads with Aster ‘Monte Cassino’

Aster 'Monte Cassino' with Fucshia.

Aster ‘Monte Cassino’ with Fuchsia magellanica..

The little violet stars of Tulbaghia violacea always take me by surprise blooming so late in the year. This is a South African bulbous plant with strap -like leaves which smell of onion.

Tulbaghia violacea

Tulbaghia violacea

And I have tall growing Dianthus rupicola from Sicily which always blooms in October and November.

Dianthus rupicola

Dianthus rupicola

Another late bloomer is the cute little thistle type plant with dear little fuzzy flowers which are beloved by bees. It looks like a mini knapweed and the ends of the petals are curly.

Seerratula seoanei

Serratula seoanei

I am not interested in summer stragglers in November and neither do I want to look at winter flowers which are making an early appearance. So when I talk about snowdrops I mean the ones which bloom in November as they are supposed to do. Galanthus reginae-olgae is in flower in October and Galanthus ‘Barnes’ is in bloom now. And I forgot to take a photograph so here is one I took last year.

Galanthus 'Barnes'

Galanthus ‘Barnes’

I have already shown you all my nerines and salvias in the greenhouse but there are other pretty things in bloom in the other greenhouse.

Abutilon megapotamicum

Abutilon megapotamicum

Lantana camera

Lantana camera

Grevillea lanigera

Grevillea lanigera

Camellia sasanqua

Camellia sasanqua

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted by Carole at Maydreamgardens blog. It is great to see what gardeners round the world are enjoying in their gardens each month.

And Symphiotrichum is the name for asters. Unless they are called something quite different, as some of them are. Anyway, they are not really called, ‘ symphio-thingy’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. November.

  1. Anna says:

    I’m glad that you’re for sticking with the familiar and loved name of asters. My first snowdrops are out too – little ‘Peter Gatehouse’ and ‘Faringdon Double’ 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      How exciting. I don’ t know Peter Gatehouse. I have Farringdon Double. Or at least I did have, I must go and look and see if it is still there. So exciting when the snowdrops start.

  2. Cathy says:

    Lots of lovely surprises as I scrolled down… especially the ‘other’ greenhouse! How lucky you are to have so much ‘indoor’ space. Love the Lantana and Abutilon!

  3. Wow, I am enchanted and amazed at what is in your garden and it is November. Please call the brown mums bronze, it just explains the color better. Or sounds better. Never mind, the flowers are lovely and I have always loved the Bronze Mums. Lantana, in the greenhouse? Really? I love and adore the Sasanquas and Flowering Maples and the Mums, I think I have Lantana issues. .Have you smelled the plants, I have these things year round! Silvermound and they refuse to die.

    • Chloris says:

      Bronze then. But I like brown flowers. And ‘Marjolein Brown’ is- well, it’ s brown actually. I know lantana smells awful, but I rather like the 2- tone flowers. And it is quite exotic here. Soon the mums will be over and then it will be really gloomy out there for a while.

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Still so much flowering in your garden – I’m envious. 😉 You have a nice collection of mums!

  5. There’s still a lot going on in your garden! I was surprised to see we share a few blooms at this time of year, despite the difference in our climates – Camellia sasanqua, Lantana camara, Tulbaghia, and even the Grevillea (despite the fact that only one of the 4 made it into my own Bloom Day parade).

    • Chloris says:

      Yes but the lantana and grevillea have to stay in the greenhouse for winter. I wouldn’ t risk the camellia outside either as frost will ruin the flowers. I’ m afraid outside is getting increasingly bleak now as we head towards December, the horticultural nadir of the whole year.

  6. Anca Tîrcă says:

    I love your collection of mums! And the November snowdrops are such a great surprise!

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, Mums are what we need in November , such bright spots of colour. The snowdrop season starts in October and goes on until April if you chose carefully. We really need them to help us through the winter.

  7. Christina says:

    Your garde must look wonderful with all the colour from your collection of Chysanthemums. I especially like Chrysanthemum ‘Mrs. Jessie Cooper’ although I don’t think it looks like a ‘mum’ at all! I’m a half convert to the Chrysanthemums – I actually prefer them in the garden than as a cut flower, I still don’t really like the smell of the leaves, even though I know some people love the smell. I agree about flowers out of season but I am enjoying the roses here as it is perhaps more their season now than in summer.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Christina. I have always loathed chrysanthemums as pot plants and I have only started using them in the garden over the last few years. I hate the smell too. Now I really love them in the garden although I am not keen on the big mophead ones.
      Your flower seasons are quite different there and how lovely for you to be enjoying November roses.

  8. Pauline says:

    You have a lovely collection of Mums, something that I don’t have in the garden here, not sure why!

    • Chloris says:

      Well I haven’ t had them for long. A few years ago I decided that they are the only flowers to make any impact in November, my least favourite month, so I started collecting them.

  9. Sam says:

    I’m not keen on chrysanths at all – I think of them as plants on acid, too in-your-face and obvious – but some of these are quite nice! I like the ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’ one. Your greenhouse must be a joy to visit on a dull, grey day.

    • Chloris says:

      I never used to like them either. I still hate them as pot plants. But what else in the November garden gives such cheerful colour? I particularly like the daisy ones. I get a few more each year and now I am hooked.

  10. homeslip says:

    I’ve just been looking at Tulbaghia Allicea (a clue there to it’s onion smell?) in an old Avon bulbs catalogue. Now I’ve seen T. Violacea growing in your garden I think I will try it in mine, possibly up against the house wall where the nerines used to grow. Isn’t the Dianthus rupicola gorgeous? Another one for my notebook Chloris. You are an encyclopaedia of beautiful plants.

    • Chloris says:

      You will not be disappointed by Tulbaghia violacea Sam. It is a beauty. I don’ t know whether it blooms so late generally or just in my garden. I will look at my Dianthus rupicola and see if it has any shoots that I could use for cuttings. If I am successful I will send you one. Please remind me though.

  11. Symphio-thingy is a fine moniker! Serratula seoanei is a new plant to me, so thank you for the introduction. I have just looked it up and see that those pretty flowers are followed by gorgeous seedheads. I shall certainly be adding this beauty to my garden.

  12. bittster says:

    I am protesting the new name as well.
    So nice to see the last colors of autumn and the new colors of a fresh season. I am also not impressed with the stragglers and like to think of those snowdrops and camellias as the start of the new growing season. We just need to ignore the whole winter thing.
    The abutilon is a beauty.

    • Chloris says:

      The colours of a new season is a nice way of looking at it. I can only see decay when I look around at the moment but the snowdrop season will soon be getting properly underway. Then oddballs like you and I will be able to indulge our peculiar passion for tiny white flowers.

  13. annamadeit says:

    I can’t believe the Lantanas are still blooming! And, I’m with you on the naming. Asters will likely always be asters to me! Nice selection of blooms – I still haven’t gotten my Bloom Day post up…

  14. pbmgarden says:

    The abutilon is very attractive. I don’t grow it and have only come across it after it’s past its peak, so nice to see how beautiful it can be. Enjoyed seeing your chrysanthemums too–dark reds and rusts are my favorite colors but Chrysanthemum ‘Cottage Apricot’ is very nice too.

  15. Cathy says:

    Yes, I am definitely beginning to change my views on certain chrysanthemums, but there is still some way to go – they would need to be hardy for me to even consider them now. Does the lantana stay in the greenhouse or have you brought it in? They always look gorgeous on our US blogging friends’ blogs. Good to hear about your early snowdrops – I shall indulge in some early ones next year when my embargo is lifted!!

    • Chloris says:

      Hardy ones are the only ones that interest me. I hate them as pot plants. I never used to like them at all but what else do you have that is so cheery in November?
      I brought the lantana into the greenhouse and it is still blooming happily.

  16. Peter Herpst says:

    They’ll always be asters to me too! Symphio-thingy made me laugh. Love it! Your chrysanthemum images make me want to grow some in my own garden for their lovely autumn color. Beautiful blooms all!

    • Chloris says:

      And not only do we have symphio- thingies but what about Dendranthema for chrysanthemums? It’ s just not fair. But whatever they are called it is worth having some mums in the garden for autumn colour.

  17. snowbird says:

    I’m smiling at the other greenhouse!!! Filled with gems too, just like your garden. I’m always amazed at what you have flowering throughout the year, if I have anything at all it’s buried under a ton of leaves!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      If I don’ t have anything in bloom I get depressed so I try to have year round flowers. Two greenhouses sounds a bit grand, but they are both a bit shabby. In fact the wooden one is ancient and only held up by will power.

  18. Lots of lovelies again, but my favourite, because I always have to have a favourite, must be Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’, beautiful.

  19. Hoe hoe grow says:

    Still so much in bloom, Chloris! I look at all the photos of your lovely chrysanthemums and ask myself why I do not grow them! Like you, I was initially not keen, but any plant giving that amount of diverse colour at this time of year has to be a winner. I love the subtlety of ‘Physic garden’, so that could be a great one to start me off ! Lovely abutilon still in flower in the greenhouse btw. Do they ever stop ?

  20. Chloris says:

    I feel just the same as you Jane. I never used to like chryanthemums, I associated them with those awful potplants that non gardeners give you as a present. But I have come to love them, there is nothing else that gives you so much colour in November. I’ ll send you a cutting of Chelsea Physic Garden.

  21. Quite a lot of flowers for the middle of November! I like ‘Lady in Black’. I have the straight species, which we call Calico Aster, but I’d say this variety is quite superior in appearance.

  22. Chloris says:

    And now we have had a frost and they are all gone, apart from Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Phssic Garden’ which seems impervious to frost.

  23. markmhamann says:

    It’ s just not fair. If I don’ t have anything in bloom I get depressed so I try to have year round flowers.

Leave a Reply

