In a Vase on Monday. Stars and Bells.

This week I decided to fill my vase with little golden bells of Clematis tangutica and leave it at that.  I cut this clematis back each year, but  by the end of the summer it is sprawling everywhere. Still, it makes quite a nice picture with Aster x frikartii ‘Monch’.

dsc_0061
Having picked the flowers I thought how nice they would look in my favourite white vase with a frill of the white Solanum jasminoides with its prominent yellow stamens picking up the yellow of the clematis. I then couldn’t resist popping in a flower or two of the white Anemone x hybrida ‘Andrea Atkinson’.

Anemone x hybrida 'Andrea Atkinson'

Anemone x hybrida ‘Andrea Atkinson’

And then the lovely Colchicum autumnale ‘Album’ has yellow stamens too, so I had to add a couple of these beauties.

Colchicum autumnale 'Album'

Colchicum autumnale ‘Album’

Ok, I have never got the hang of less is more.dsc_0047

My favourite aster is ‘Little Carlow’ and that has yellow stamens too which I thought would go well. And anyway, why not have stars as well as bells? I went to a fascinating talk by the plants woman, Marina Christopher on Saturday. She said that when bees have pollinated the flowers of this aster the stamens turn from yellow to red. I looked at mine and indeed the stamens were all red. I grow a lot of asters, but none of them are so full of bees as this beauty. It is absolutely buzzing.

dsc_0053

Symphiotrichum 'Little Carlow'

Symphiotrichum ‘Little Carlow’

 

If you only have room for one aster (we have to call it Symphyotrichum now) I would recommend this one. It is absolutely gorgeous and I cannot think why I only have one. I want to fill my garden with it.

To carry on the lilac theme I used a lilac-tinged Solanum laxum ‘Creche ar Pape’.

dsc_0058

As the stamens of ‘Little Carlow’ have darkened to a deep red which is almost purple, I thought a few sprigs of the gorgeous dark purple Salvia x  jamensis ‘Nachtvlinder’ would look good with it.
dsc_0057
dsc_0034

So that is my vase this Monday.

Cathy who hosts this meme has picked some nerines for her vase. I have to say, I don’t think I could bring myself to cut mine. I obsessively count the buds and flowers in each of my pots. But they do look lovely in a vase. Do go and see.

dsc_0058

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Stars and Bells.

  1. I do like your full vase. If you have the flowers, why not? It was interesting to see your anemones bloom much earlier than mine.

  2. Christina says:

    I’m never good at minimal either Liz but when you have a lot of flowers it is lovely to have them to look at in the house as well as in the garden.

  3. Very nice display of blooms from the fall garden. The asters are fabulous!

  4. Oh well, less in not more – less is a bore as you have demonstrated here, lovely blue, whites and yellows. I used to grow that Aster and agree! I wish they would like it here. I have not seen the Clematis before – wonderful!

  5. Flighty says:

    Lovely post and pictures. I really like asters and would like to grow more. Sadly I lost my white flowering aster pringlei Monte Cassino earlier this year. xx

  6. Sam says:

    A vase of autumnal abundance. Lovely. That aster is very pretty.

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Your vase turned out beautifully and I laughed to read your process and line of thought, don’t we all do this, getting carried away in the garden? 🙂

  8. Ellie says:

    I have two Little Carlow plants in my garden and agree with your comments – a lovely plant, popular with insects and needs minimal care. Gorgeous! Your vase is beautiful (sometimes, ‘more is more’ just works!)
    Best wishes
    Ellie

  9. Kris P says:

    It’s amazing how easily one can be led astray once one steps into garden and begins to wander. Still, you picked a wonderful color scheme and stuck to that! Your asters are all gorgeous – whatever they’re called, I wish they grew well for me here. My ‘Monch’ has gone missing over the summer – it could be buried under the rapidly expanding Barleria obtusa or it could have decided once and for all that SoCal is inhospitable – I’ve yet to mount a careful search. I went ahead and added another aster, Symphotrichum chilensis, last week but now we have another heatwave, which isn’t a good omen. I’ve given it extra water and the protection of its own umbrella and that’s the best I can do.

    • Chloris says:

      You give your plants their own little umbrellas? Now that’ s what I call dedication. Your new aster is a native one isn’ t it? It should be happy with you. Good luck with it. I thought your Erigeron Wayne Roderick was an aster when I saw it in your vase today.

  10. More is most definitely more here. A beautiful clematis, with those yellow bells tumbling gently down. I plan to buy an aster, so thanks for the tip about ‘Little Carlow’. It is a lovely one indeed. Your comment about calling them Symphyotrichum made me chuckle… last week I admired my grandmother’s asters, and she responded, “Oh why do people have to call them asters? I call them Michaelmas daisies. I mean, it IS Michaelmas, isn’t it. And they ARE daisies.”

  11. Cathy says:

    Oh yes, keep shoving them in – why not! I love the continuity of the yellow and lilacs in it – and your first picture is as pretty as – well, a picture! The frill of white solanum is a great addition to the vase too – thanks for sharingps I tried twice yesterday to leave comments on your blog and it was having none of it, so I don’t know if it was a temporary problem or what. I’ll see what happens to this comment – perhaps you are blocking me…;)

  12. Chloris says:

    Of course I’ m not blocking you dear Cathy. WordPress does funny random things. A favourite trick is randomly dropping followers. Both the ones I follow and ones who follow me. Ours not to reason why.
    I have a little package of seeds waiting to be posted to you.

  13. pbmgarden says:

    Your Clematis tangutica is amazing. Have not seen anything like it. It could have stood alone but I’m glad you continued finding it some wonderful companions. Lovely arrangement.

  14. Cathy says:

    I have also tried to use just one flower in a vase and have failed every time! The final effect is lovely Chloris – especially the combination of the C. tangutica with the Jasmine flowers. And Little Carlow is a very pretty aster. Wonderful the way some stamens are still yellow and some red, contrasting with the other flowers you have chosen. 🙂 I will have to inspect my aster’s stamens later too! 😉

  15. karen says:

    I Love that colour combination. I didn’t know that about asters. just going to check if mine have tuned colour. They are certainly full of bees.

  16. Beautywhizz says:

    It’s lovely, the yellow bells are just gorgeous.

  17. Beautiful. I love the effect of the salvia in the combination …and those colchicums are great.

  18. Brian Skeys says:

    Little Carlow is one of my favourite asters, I to need to add some more.

Leave a Reply

