In a Vase on Monday. Water Lily.

Cathy who hosts In a Vase on Monday is back from her travels and this week  has featured her Jack and the Bean Stalk Lily which towers over her head. My lily is of  a different sort all together. I have never picked water lilies for a vase before, but for a super quick arrangement for the table I can’t think of anything better. Unless you fall into the pond whilst you are picking it of course. Which I did, but only with one leg. The pot of pelargoniums didn’t appreciate being sat on, but it is all in a good cause. I picked a bloom which isn’t fully open so that I can watch it opening in the vase.

Water Lily. Nymphaea.

Nymphaea.  Water Lily.

When Christina and I were at Beth Chatto’s nursery recently, I bought the pretty Gypsophila ‘Rosenschleier’. I think the delicate pink flowers make a nice lacy frame for the flower. And with the bold water lily leaves, that is all it needs.

DSC_0614
I have never realised how beautiful the stamens are close up.
DSC_0623
So if you have a pond and want a quick arrangement for the table, a water lily fits the bill perfectly. As long as you don’t fall in.

Please see what Cathy and all the other vase fillers have been up to. A lot of bloggers have become so enthusiastic about this meme, that they have made cutting gardens so that there is always an abundance of blooms to pick. The annuals are all coming into their own right now and people are showing us some wonderful vases.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Water Lily.

  1. Cathy says:

    Well if you are going to fall into a pond then falling in with one leg is perhaps the better way to do it… 😉 It must have been worth it for the water lily though, and the gypsophila gives the effect that the lily is still in the water as its blooms look like specks floating on the water. Such a great effect – thanks for sharing…we are honoured to have your presence today!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy. I do pick flowers for the house most weeks, but I don’t always get round to photographing them and writing about them. I always look at yours though and the vases all your followers produce.

  2. pbmgarden says:

    What a great idea to feature the water lily.

  3. I would have never thought of using a water lily. Very creative!

  4. Well done! How long do you think it will last?

  5. Christina says:

    You’re right it is the perfect flower for the table. Is it scented? The Santolina I bought at Beth Chatto’s has died in its pot while your cuttings are just hanging on so you should have let me give you the plant to tend!!!

  6. Chloris says:

    I just had a sniff, we don’t usually get chance to sniff water lilies. I think it has a slight fragrance but that might be the Gypsophila. A pity about your Santolina, I can’t remember, which one did you buy? I will try taking some cuttings from the one I bought.

  7. Just beautiful and you are absolutely right with the simple accent of the Gysophila in the arrangement. We tried to grow that for years in my mother’s garden, maybe the garden needs to be in the UK?

  8. Stupendous photographs, wow! Well done. Mysterious giant water lilies smell but only only for an hours or two in the night if I recall correctly. Please don’t wade out to test this on yours, I’m sure they’re open in sunlight only, eh?

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, gosh, the lengths one goes to for a good cause! 😉 Sorry about the soggy leg and upset pelargonium, but this lily is a delicate beauty, so worth it, I hope. I appreciate the effort. 🙂

  10. The water lily is beautiful on its own, but the addition of Gypsophila was inspired. What a showstopping arrangement!

  11. Kris P says:

    That water lily is perfection! A pond with lilies is another feature of the dream garden that can exist only in my imagination.

  12. mrsdaffodil says:

    Gorgeous! Glad you accomplished your quest in spite of the mishap. I started some water lilies last year, but the raccoons washed some figs in the little pond and the water lilies did not survive. The figs were the worse for wear, too. 😦

  13. Lovely. Cathy is right when she says that the gypsophilia makes it look like the whole thing is floating. We’ve been re-doing our pool this summer (it’s tiny) and this made me think that I might look into getting a small waterlily for it.

  14. Brian Skeys says:

    I would never have thought of including a water lily in an arrangement, inspired!

  15. Debra says:

    Lovely! The gypsophilia makes me think of water bubbles — as if a fish might be lurking underneath. Very nice.

  16. The things we get up to for iavom
    It is a beautiful close up

  17. snowbird says:

    That sure is arty, absolutely beautiful actually! What a lovely painting that would make. Ouch re the pelargoniums, hopefully they are ok….glad only one leg went in, I’m laughing, would have liked to have seen that!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Dina. There is never anyone around with a camera when one makes a fool of oneself in this way. Just as well really. One likes to try and preserve a little dignity.

  18. Sam says:

    It’s never occurred to me to pick a water lily flower for a vase. What a fab idea. lovely.

  19. Anna says:

    That’s a rather exquisite arrangement. I hope that you are well and truly dried out.

  20. Ah, clearly I must get myself a pond.

  21. That’s a beauty worth falling for!

  22. Chloris says:

    Ha! Ha! I fell for it in a big way. The water lily bloom is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

