Nearly Wordless Wednesday. Two April Specials.

First, a climber with pink, very fragrant flowers. The seed was collected in Nepal by Bleddyn and Sue  Wynne-Jones of Crûg Farm Plants.

Holboellia latifolia

Holboellia latifolia subsp. chartacea

Holboellia latifolia

Holboellia latifolia subsp.chartacea

Secondly, a peachy Currant.

Ribes gordonianum  is a cross  between Ribes sanguineum and Ribes odoratum. It has  twotone flowers. They are raspberry red with peachy-apricot and creamy centres. The overall effect is gold or peachy depending on the light.  The cross was made in 1837 by a gardener at Hatfield House, Hertfordshire, called Donald Beaton.  He named it for his boss William Gordon. Beaton later became Head gardener at Shrublands near Ipswich.

Ribes gordonianum

Ribes gordonianum

DSC_0845

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Nearly Wordless Wednesday. Two April Specials.

  1. Choice plants, I shall look out for R. gordonanium. The run of the mill pink fragrant sort do well here, so paws crossed, your lovely gold/peach cultivar should be happy too.

  2. Very interesting plants that I have never seen before.

    • Chloris says:

      They are both lovely, the pink holboellia is very unusual. The owners of the nusery go on plant hunting expeditions and come back with some very special things.

  3. Peter Herpst says:

    Very special indeed!

  4. gardenfancyblog says:

    Chloris, English gardeners can grow so many more interesting shrubs than we can (Pacific NW excepted) — I’m so glad you post about them! Best, -Beth

  5. Anna says:

    Both beauties Chloris. A visit to Crug Farm remains a must. Maybe this year 🙂

  6. snowbird says:

    Both are stars! Love them. xxx

  7. Chloris says:

    They are pretty, spring flowers are always a delight.

  8. That first plant is incredible–I wasn’t familiar with it. Beautiful blooms on both!

  9. Love that R. gordonianum. Is it fragrant? I grow one of the parents, R. odoratum, and I can’t wait to smell this year’s blooms.

    • Chloris says:

      I read somewhere that it is fragrant, but I have never noticed. Next time I go down the garden I will sniff it. The yellow odoratum smells lovely. I have one grown from a cutting that has not bloomed yet, I am looking forward to the lovely spicy fragrance.

  10. Christina says:

    I love how you find such rare beauties and enjoy them. As you know I garden in a different way, its all about ‘the picture’ for me but I appreciate immensely seeing all your very special plants.

    • Chloris says:

      Oh goodness, I didn’ t see myself as a stamp collector. But I do love visiting nurseries with my like- minded gardening chums. And then of course, there is always something irresistible. And then I have a network of friends who are serious gardeners and we swap.

      • Christina says:

        I didn’t mean that. I love your garden and all your plant choices. Life would be very uninteresting if we all gardened in the same way. There is no way your garden looks like a stamp collection, heaven forbid

  11. Julie says:

    Both very special plants, your garden and your plants are a constant delight!

  12. Chloris says:

    Thanks Julie. What a lovely thing to say.

  13. Cathy says:

    You have opened my eyes to the pleasures of Ribes, with this and your lovely white one

  14. Lovely, lovely and more lovely 🙂

  15. homeslip says:

    The holboellia is so lovely I am not surprised to read you grow it. I’m racking my brain but I can’t remember whether I’ve seen it growing at Colby Woodland Garden in Pembrokeshire or at Trengwainton near Penzance. Both, as I’m sure you know, are very special NT gardens. It formed a fragrant curtain over an entrance into a walled garden which was heavenly and mysterious all at once – I wish I could remember exactly where. I’ve visited both gardens many times but my memory bank is failing me tonight.

  16. Alain says:

    Ribes gordonianum is attractive. Knowing how a plant came about, always makes it more interesting.

  17. That first one is very nice. And fragrant too! Thanks for the background. the history of plants is such an interesting thing. By the way, did you ever read the fictionalized history of John Tradescant, the plant hunter? (I think the one I’m referring to was by Phillipa Gregory.)

Leave a Reply

