Wordless Wednesday. Fab Frits.

Fritillaria verticillata

Fritillaria verticillata

Fritillaria pudica

Fritillaria pudica

Fritillaria imperialis

Fritillaria imperialis

DSC_0625

Fritillaria imperialis 'Maxima Lutea'

Fritillaria imperialis ‘Maxima Lutea’

Fritiallaria uva-vulpis

Fritillaria uva-vulpis

Fritillaria meleagris with Lily beetle. Lilioceris lilii

Fritillaria meleagris with  Lilioceris lilii.  Beastly Lily beetle loves Frits too.

Fritillaria meleagris

Fritillaria meleagris

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Fab Frits.

  1. Oh, I am full of fritillaria envy.

    • Chloris says:

      Do you not grow any Fritillaria Kate?

      • I’d like to, they are so beautiful, especially naturalised in long grass. We enjoy heavy acidic clay which comes with extremes. Either poorly drained, shady areas where wild spotted orchids & moss do well or hard as concrete dominated by couch grass … Do you think snakes’ heads would fare well here? I’d love to try them!

  2. Julie says:

    These are really beautiful, especially Fritillaria pudica, I like to see the under sides too, the markings are just as stunning.

  3. Pauline says:

    Beautiful selection, I must try more varieties!

  4. Tina says:

    A beautiful collection. I’m not familiar with these and no doubt could never grow them, but they are lovely.

  5. croftgarden says:

    Lovely collection. I’m pleased you photograph the inside of the corolla on the F. imperalis, sometimes the inside of the flower is even more stunning than the outside.

  6. beautiful Fritillaria, Frances

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Wonderful. That orange Fritillary imperialism is amazing. I don’t see fritillaria here often but my garden club asked each member to bring a small mug filled with flowers to the last meeting. One little woodland-themed cup featured fritillaria and I thought to myself my U.K. blogging friends would have loved it. Turned out the woman responsible is from UK (didn’t have a chance to find out where).

    • Chloris says:

      Oh, I wonder which one your friend brought? Was it the curious little snakeshead fritillary? They are very easy to grow and spread quickly from seed.

      • pbmgarden says:

        Yes, I think it was the snakehead fritillary. I’ve been to a wonderful flower show this week and saw quite a few. Apparently they can grow well here. Perhaps I’ll try them.

  8. rusty duck says:

    Absolutely gorgeous. Oh I wish. Hark, I hear a pheasant calling..

    • Chloris says:

      They love the snakeshead frits. At the moment I am incadescent with rage because the the pheasant who haunts my garden, the one we call the Vicar, has pulled the heads of my precious Erythronium.

  9. What a treat! I have only ever come across the orange and the checkered ones, never other colours. Lovely.

  10. Beautiful. I really like the shape of Fritillaria verticillata.

  11. Fabulous, indeed. Love them all. I have this vague feeling I saw a tropical one,,hmmm.

    • Chloris says:

      They do look exotic but they are Eurasian, North African or North American. The enchanting little snakeshead fritillary is native here. There are meadows of it in Suffolk and Oxfordshire.

  12. Kris P says:

    What a collection you’ve got!

    • Chloris says:

      Oh but not enough Kris. There are more than 100 different ones and I would love to increase my collection. I have had some beauties which dwindled and died.

  13. Oh, good subject for a wordless post! Impressive collection!

  14. Flighty says:

    Lovely pictures. I’m not keen on them but see why people like them. xx

  15. Anna says:

    Fabulous! I must add more to the garden Chloris. I didn’t find out until last spring that the lily beetles are partial when I was most disgusted to come across them on fritillaria meleagris. I felt like crying.

  16. snowbird says:

    Gosh, what a treasure trove! They’re all gorgeous. Thanks for letting me know what has popped up in my garden….uva-vulpis, not planted by me, the reds must have dug them up and put them in my border. I’m certainly not complaining.xxx

  17. bittster says:

    Wow. Please tell me that you struggle to grow them well, it would make me feel much better.

  18. Chloris says:

    They are all the easy ones, I have lots of failures with other frits, some are very miffy.

  19. Cathy says:

    Uva-vulpis persistent – not here it isn’t!! Although I think there may be one (hmm) emerging in the woodland edge border – not that emerging means anything, sadly…. 😦 F pudica looks a sweetie – not seen her before. Thanks for sharing ps squashed my first lily beetle of the year earlier this week…

  20. gardenfancyblog says:

    Chloris, that orange imperialis is gorgeous! I have tried growing them in yellow and red, but I think my soil must be too clay-filled and soggy (even put grit in the planting hole). I guess I’ll just enjoy yours vicariously. Thanks for sharing them! -Beth

  21. Lovely! I think I like the F. imperialis best.

Leave a Reply

