In an Egg on Easter Monday.

Of course we have to have flowers in the house for Easter.  I am joining in with Cathy’s meme; ‘In a Vase on Monday’ but as it’s Easter I have used an egg. I have filled my little Limoges porcelain cracked egg with some little jewel-like treasures from the garden.

IMG_1743
Guess what that nice fat bud in the centre is? Yes, it’s a bud of one of my tree peonies. I accidentally cut it off when I was pruning away dead wood.  I shocked myself with my language, I hope no one was listening. I don’t know whether it will come out in water or whether it will just sit there reproaching me.

IMG_1741
The twiggy things are Flowering Currant; Ribes sanguineum, and Spirea japonica ‘Goldflame’.  As you can see the spiraea has lovely orange foliage in spring. It has horrible pink flowers in summer which clash, so I cut them off. You can see the pink flowering currant on the right. I know some people can’t bring it into the house because of the strong smell.  I quite like it; it acts like Proust’s madelaine for me and take me straight back to the springs of my childhood.

IMG_1732

I used a sprig of rosemary as you can see on the right of the above picture. I have also picked a few twigs of  Salix purpurea ‘Nancy Saunders.’ For those of you who don’t know this salix, it is very elegant with shiny, maroon- red stems and slender blue-grey leaves. You can cut it back each spring to keep it compact. The catkins are miniature and very dainty.

Salix purpurea ''Nancy Saunders'

Salix purpurea ”Nancy Saunders’

As it’s Easter we have to have some Narcissus. I used N. ‘Tête-a Tête’, N. ‘W.P. Milner’ and a white N. ‘Thalia’.

N.'Tete-aTete and N. 'Thalia'

N.’Tete-aTete and N. ‘W.P.Milner’

The Galanthus plicatus is the last snowdrop to bloom in my garden and this one in the next picture has very large flowers. The other white flowers are Anemone blanda ‘White Splendour’ which has large flowers and seeds around into nice clumps.

N.'Thalia' and Galanthus plicatus

N.’Thalia’ and Galanthus plicatus

There is also a white Ipheion uniflorum ‘Alberto Castillo’. I love the way it looks as if it had marks made in pencil down the centre of the petal.

Ipheion uniflorum 'Alberto Castillo'

Ipheion uniflorum ‘Alberto Castillo’

For fragrance I used a hyacinth and a sprig of my precious Ypsilandra thibetica which has fragrant blooms like little bottle brushes.

Ypsilandra thibetica with Muscari

Ypsilandra thibetica with Muscari

Another Easter flower for me is the gorgeous Snake’s Head Fritillary; Fritillaria meleagris. So I had to include one in my Easater arrangement.
IMG_1727
The little species tulip buds on the left of the above picture have opened up in the warmth of the house. I don’t know which one it is, but it has spread all round my weeping pear tree.
IMG_1753
As it is Easter I picked a big bunch of the daffodils from the orchard and put them in my blue Corsican vase. I am in the process of digging these up to make way for a new project. Daffodils growing in grass look lovely whilst they are in bloom but awful afterwards.
IMG_1759
And finally some Easter eggs. I hope you  are enjoying a lovely Easter despite storm Katie having a tantrum and keeping us all indoors. Do go over to Ramblinginthegarden to see what Cathy and other people have put into their Easter vases.
IMG_1756

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to In an Egg on Easter Monday.

  1. Nice !!! And original….. I like it 🙂

  2. Christina says:

    What a lovely celebration of the spring flowers in the garden Liz; I also picked something of everything today. Have a lovely day.

  3. love the way the colours of the flowers pick out those in the vase – definitely Easter!

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Wonderful display of springtime treasures and the porcelain egg is of course the perfect container for the season. I was intrigued by your Ypsilandra thibetica so had to look it up. What a beautiful little flower.

  5. The vase is like your spring garden all rolled up in an Easter Egg, perfect.

  6. Cathy says:

    Your egg vase appears to be bottomless as you kept adding more and more blooms to it – it must be the equivalent of a jumbo egg and I see I will have to have words with our chickens to do a bit better…! What a glorious assortment of blooms you have managed to cram in – and I do so hope your tree peony bud does still open…let’s be optimistic, shall we? Thnak you for sharing your lovely Easter vase Chloris

  7. Chloris says:

    Picking the small jewel like flowers and putting them into a vase is the best way of enjoying them; specially when it’ s blowing a hooley outside.

  8. What an extraordinarily wonderful vase! Does it only come out at Easter or do you find ways of using it the rest of the year?

  9. Kris P says:

    I love your fancy egg vase and its multitude of jewel-like spring blooms! I’d be beside myself too if I accidentally cut a peony bloom but then my garden has seen precious few of those. I checked my Itoh peony yesterday and, while it still has healthy foliage, there isn’t a bud in sight but hope will remain until the heat bears down in earnest and shrivels the foliage (as is the pattern).

    I hope your storm passes soon and the weather allows you back into the garden.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Kris. The storm seems to have passed over now but it has brought down one of my lovely birch trees.
      I still have a few buds on my tree peony but still it was a bad moment.

  10. So much to see, lovely! I couldn’t bear to snip the snakeshead , too special.

  11. Fabulous vases….my daffs are just opening so I hope to pick some soon….and oh my that egg vase is stunning with so much of your garden represented in it!

  12. Chloris says:

    Thank you Donna, I hope your spring flowers get going soon, it is a magical time in the garden.

  13. snowbird says:

    You have surpassed yourself!!! What a delightful selection, the star of the show has to be the Snake’s Head Fritillary, mine aren’t quite up yet. Your vase is just perfect…..I really do need you to count them up one day! xxx

  14. Chloris says:

    Thank you Dina. I do have lots of vases. I had flu last month and as usual when I don’ t feel well I bought a couple of vases on eBay. You get real bargains on eBay, but when I am well I don’ t have time to browse. The cupboard is getting rather full so I must keep well. The Pianist always says’ Oh no, not more jugs! ‘ But I really, really like jugs; just can’ t resist them. Anyway, he can’ t talk, he collects cables.

  15. Anna says:

    Oh how good it is to see your commodious porcelain egg again Chloris albeit a shock how quickly time passes. We’ve shared the same daffodils in our respective vases this week. Hopefully I will be able to add sprigs of salix ‘Nancy Saunders’ and a certain galanthus to future spring vases given time 🙂 Fingers crossed for the beheaded peony flower.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, that year went very quickly. I hope the snowdrop and Nancy will do well for you. I should keep the Salix in water until its roots grow a bit longer.

  16. Julie says:

    Such a lovely collection of spring flowers and I love your egg shaped vase! I am intrigued to hear about your new projects – I have been working on improving my winter/spring walk which is taking most of my time/energy at the moment – hopefully I can find some new additions when we make our nursery visit to Saffron Walden – for now I am majoring on weeding and soil improvement. Easter wishes to you Chloris! xx

  17. Peter Herpst says:

    Very festive! Your egg-shaped vase is perfect for the season and you’ve outdone yourself with the variety of contents. We get happy daffodils and eggs as well. Thank you and I hope you have a wonderful Eastertide. Perhaps your tree peony will forgive you someday.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Peter. I hope you had a great Easter too, I loved your Easter arrangement.
      As for my tree peony, I still haven’ t forgiven myself for that.

  18. Flighty says:

    Lovely post and pictures. xx

  19. Lovely. I bet that smelt delicious!

  20. What pretty flowers and vase, Chloris. I hope that tree peony bud blooms. Fingers crossed!

    • Chloris says:

      I had to throw the peony bud away, it didn’ t open. Fortunately, there are several more to come. It’ s always an exciting moment when the tree peonies bloom.

  21. I agree with you about “Goldflame” the spring foliage is definitely the best thing about it. Another lovely vase of flowers. I did smile about your “oops!” peony moment, we have all done it 🙂

  22. Alain says:

    It looks like a miniature version of these flower arrangements so popular with the Dutch painters of the 17th and 18th centuries!

  23. Ah yes–I agree with Alain! I love the vivid, bright, yet gentle floral colors of this time of year. Nicely done with the vase! Re: the Easter eggs–such interesting colors. How did you achieve the brown ones?

    • Chloris says:

      I think we are ready for a bit of colour by early spring. To bs honest Beth, I didn’ t make the Easter eggs. I just used them as it was an Easter arrangement.

  24. Not usually one to get excited about fancy snowdrops but I really love that Galanthus plicatus.

  25. Cathy says:

    A gorgeous mix of flowers Chloris – perfect for your Easter egg vase too, which must be bigger than I thought at first with all the flowers you managed to put in it! Love the Fritillary especially, and the snowdrop too.

  26. bittster says:

    Very nice, it’s like one of those Flemish paintings with all the soft colors and subtle mix of flowers… and a bright daffodil thrown in! I was completely mislead by the size until the snowdrops scaled it down. You say they are large, but surely not as large as I first thought 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      As I said to Alain, it would be such fun to try to recreate one of those beautiful 17 th century Dutch or Flemish paintings. I might have a go one day.

  27. Angie says:

    What a lovely easter display you created in such a pretty little vase.

  28. Chloris says:

    Thanks Angie. The vase was an eBay find. I am delighted with it.

Leave a Reply

