Wordless Wednesday. Big, Blowsy and Beautiful.

Helleborus x hybridus 'Madame Lemonnier'

Helleborus x hybridus ‘Madame Lemonnier’

Found in a French garden. The result of a supposedly impossible cross between Helleborus niger and Helleborus orientalis.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Big, Blowsy and Beautiful.

  1. What a beautifully, delicate colour which also begs the question, is anything actually ‘impossible’ in Horticulture???

  2. Brian Skeys says:

    It must be the continental air!!

  3. Beautiful flower ! Of course 😉 It’s a french one 😀 I like Hellebores too !

  4. Alain says:

    The colour is attractive, but does the flower look at you or bow its head down? That makes a big difference.

  5. I’ve not seen that before! Very pretty, looks a bit like an old fashioned single Camellia.

  6. Julie says:

    Is this beautiful Hellebore in your own garden, did you bring it home or have you been on your travels?

    • Chloris says:

      This lovely hellebore is in my garden- and has been for several hours now… I went to Bury St.Edmund’s market this morning to buy some veg and it called to me across a crowded market. This one and Penny’ s Pink too.

  7. snowbird says:

    Blowsy??? Blowsy????? BLOWSY?????? Tis utterly adorable….and it stares straight attcha eh?Smashin’ that!xxx

  8. pbmgarden says:

    It is beautiful. I’m curious just how large is it?

  9. Christina says:

    I have Hellebore envy; almost to the extent that if I could buy a pot in flower I might buy one as an annual – and that isn’t like me at all!

  10. So lovely, Chloris! My hellebores are not yet blooming…

  11. Meriel Murdock, Co. Wicklow, Ireland says:

    I hadn’t realised that niger & orientalis ‘could not’ hybridise. Mine produced some White orientalis – which I couldn’t explain otherwise. White nigers were planted next to dusky pink orientalis.
    Do you know if white orientalis arise anyhow? I have a lovely unnamed double dusky pink orientalis which extraordinarily flowers from about October to April! I saved seed early in its flowering before other varieties were out and could cross. I’m looking forward to seeing what its offspring are like – in a few years!

    • Chloris says:

      I have quite a few white orientalis, your pink ones could quite easily produce white children, you don’ t know what their parents got up to. It is such fun growing them from seed and waiting to see what you will get.

  12. Cathy says:

    French sap, niger in its veins? Tut tut, what these hellebores get up to when we are not looking… 🙂 You haven’t said how big the flower is yet – 6 inches? 12 inches…?! 😉

  13. Kris P says:

    Like Christina, I’m feeling hellebore envy. They don’t do particularly well here, not that that’s stopped me from planting some.

  14. Cathy says:

    I’ve been looking for your garden blogger’s bloom day contribution – and came back to the lovely hellebore. How do you know it came from a French garden? Apart from the name of course. Did the person on the stall know the plant’s story? You Brits are so lucky to be able to find lovely things like this in a local market!

    • Chloris says:

      I didn’ t get round to doing a GBBD post this month- pure idleness. It was such a cold day, I didn’ t fancy going out with my camera and I was reading a really good book that I couldn’ t put down.
      It said on the label that it was found in a French garden. I wonder who Madame Lemonnier is. I was thrilled to buy both this and Penny’ s Pink for £7.50 each.

  15. Beautiful! Now my Hellebores seem so boring by comparison.

  16. Anna says:

    Ooooh la la Chloris – helleborus ‘Madame Lemmonier’ looks like a real femme fatale. I’ve not heard of this one before so will have to investigate further.

  17. Such a lovely flower….mine are now tucked in under the snow.

  18. bittster says:

    Ah both of those would be on my shopping list as well. It sounds like you did extremely well and I’d love to see Penny’s photo too!
    I am waiting to see an update on the winter garden. Hopefully things will warm up soon enough so you can get out there!

Leave a Reply

