In a Vase on Monday. Christmas Cheer.

The mild weather this December has meant that our gardens look as if spring has arrived.  The birds are singing and snowdrops, hellebores and early  daffodils are blooming away merrily. How lovely to be able to find lots of colour to bring into the house for a Christmas arrangement.
DSC_1139
I used rosemary, winter jasmine and holly which has obligingly produced loads of berries this year. Usually, these have been eaten by Christmas, but this year there is so much else to eat, that the birds have’t even bothered much with them, or with the apples which I left lying around for hungry blackbirds.
The dainty Prunus subhirtella ‘Autumnalis’ is a picture at the moment, as there has been no frost to spoil it.
DSC_1141
The lovely blue iris is Iris lazica, which is a relation of Iris unguicularis It comes from  the Black Sea coast. It likes a shady position. Instead of hiding its blooms under lots of foliage like Iris unguicularis, it shows them off beautifully.

Iris lazica

Iris lazica

I cut a few stems of gloriously fragrant Lonicera x purpusii ‘Winter beauty’ which is always full of blooms in winter. I just picked one hellebore as they droop so in water. I hope it will stay perky until after this evening, as this arrangement is to cheer up the table when friends come round.

DSC_1143
I sneaked in a bit of Viburnum tinus, as it is quite useful for winter arrangements, but as I am always saying how smelly it is and how I dislike it, we won’t linger over this one. Did you notice the yellow Rudbeckia niitida?  Crazy isn’t it? Is it very early or very late?  And for something else totally out of season, how about the pink scabious in the next photograph, with the  pretty trumpet flowers of the silver leafed Convolvulus cneorum?

Convolvulus cneorum

Convolvulus cneorum

I picked a little bit of Coronilla valentina subsp. glauca ‘Citrina’ with its pretty lemon pea shaped flowers. They are delicately perfumed.
So there we have it, a little Christmas ‘tussie-mussie’ as Vita Sackville West used to  call a posy.
DSC_1150
My vase this week is dedicated to all my lovely blogging friends who have enriched my life for two years. Thank you for sharing your lovely gardens with me and entertaining me with such floral delights and humour. I have never met most of you and most likely never will, but you all feel like old friends. My very best wishes and a happy Christmas to all of you.

Special thanks and good wishes to a blogging friend I have met, the lovely Cathy.  She has given us all so much pleasure with this meme. Do go and see her Christmas arrangement and those of all the other bloggers who have found blooms in their gardens for a Christmas arrangement to celebrate a festive ‘In a Vase on Monday’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Christmas Cheer.

  1. Such cheery flowers for the winter. Beautiful!

  2. rusty duck says:

    Fabulous vase! Yet again I have forgotten to go and see if the birds have left me any berries. And now it’s dark. Never mind, at least tomorrow I’ll have an extra minute!
    Happy Christmas Chloris.

  3. Full of interest and colour. I love the C. ‘Citrina’. Have an excellent Christmas Liz!

  4. That is very cheerful and not in the least eccentric. I have a similar berry experience here, the berries are still loaded on branches whereas usually I don’t get many for holiday arrangements.
    Happy Solstice, Goddess of Flowers and wife of the West Wind.

  5. Cathy says:

    What a delightful ‘tussie-mussie’ of Christmas contrasts, Chloris – such unexpected colours for December so all the more reason to snip them and bring them inside so we can enjoy them for more hours than the daylight would allow us. Thanks for all your good wishes which are of course reciprocated ps have your heard any episodes of ‘Gloomsbury’, a Radio 4 comedy with Vita Sackcloth-Vest and various other characters you will have half-heard of…?!

  6. Brian Skeys says:

    An amazing vase of colour Chloris. The season of good will even towards Viburnum tinus!
    Thanks for the useful info about the iris.
    Merry Christmas.

  7. Flighty says:

    Nice post and lovely pictures. Thanks, and to you too. xx

  8. Oh fabulous surprises in your garden with this tussie-mussie. I especially love seeing irises already…my goodness it does look like spring at Christmas. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

  9. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Such a colourful vase is a nice surprise for December! Thank you for your nice thoughts and wishes, Chloris! Have a great Christmas!

  10. Sam says:

    Such a lovely floriferous vase. Have a lovely Christmas Chloris.

  11. snowbird says:

    I have to say that you’d probably have a vase at Christmas even if you lived in Antarctica! Gorgeous it is, Gorgeous! A tussie-mussie eh? Love that too!
    It’s been a pleasure following you, I just love your style and humour! The fact that you’re the Head gardener of the blogging world doesn’t come into it…at all! All the best to you and yours!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you dear Dina, you do say the nicest things. But I’ ve never been
      ‘ head’ of anything. I didn’ t even get to be milk monitor at school.
      I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas. I look forward to reading about your adventures next year; more animal rescues and more television stardom and who knows what else? There’ s never a dull moment in the Snowbird household.

  12. Julie says:

    Thank you Chloris for your Christmas greetings and for that lovely festive tussle-mussie – I am amazed by the variety of seasons your vase covers this week! May I wish you all the best for Christmas and the new year – it must be time to plan a visit somewhere again!!

  13. Eliza Waters says:

    With this crazy weather, it is like spring in winter. Your vase takes advantage of it beautifully!

  14. Kris P says:

    I’ve heard that your weather, like that in the northeast US, has been remarkably warm but I was still rather shocked to see Iris in your vase, not to speak of the Rudbeckia! Both your vase and your testimonial are lovely. Merry Christmas Chloris!

  15. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful assortment of flowers. The irises melt my heart–so lovely. Have a wonderful Christmas.

  16. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Love your vase! It’s so full, exuberant, and looks a bit like spring! This is a fun meme, isn’t it? Thank you and best wishes for a Merry Christmas and a peaceful new year.

  17. A lovely post, thank you Chloris. Vita’s phrase is as charming as your vase. Happy Christmas!

  18. Annette says:

    Delightful and so evocative of spring – have a merry christmas and enjoy your magical garden 🙂

  19. Chloris says:

    Danke liebe Annette, ich wünsche dir auch eine frohe Weihnachtszeit.

  20. Cathy says:

    Dear Chloris, what a lovely vase full of so many surprises! That will certainly add to the Christmas cheer in your home this week! Have a very happy Christmas!

  21. Anna says:

    What a topsy-turvy year it has been weather wise but still it provides all sorts of opportunities for unlikely vase companions. Yours is a veritable treasure trove this week. Chloris, thanks for letting me know that your comments on my blog about Hannah Willett’s book had not appeared. There be gremlins at work 😦 I subsequently found them in my Blogger dashboard under comments to be moderated. From there I went to publish them at which point they vanished into thin air! There were also some other comments, all from WordPress users, that went the same way too. I will see if they are still in my email inbox so that I can get them to their intended destination. Thanks for your persistence. I’m giving even more serious thought to moving over to WordPress and will be asking fellow bloggers for advice come the new year.

    Wishing you and the Pianist a most Happy Christmas and may the new year treat you and your garden kindly!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Anna.
      I am happy with WordPress, apart from when now and again it drops blogs that I follow, or when my followers tell me that my blog has disappeared from their readers.
      Happy Christmas!

  22. homeslip says:

    Lovely, a still life of your garden. Merry Christmas Chloris, I have enjoyed your blog and my virtual visits to your garden so much. Sarah x

  23. Cheerful indeed. I love the blue iris and the yellow flowers. What was the little trumpet-shaped one? Is that the Lonicera? A merry Christmas to you!

  24. And a Happy Christmas to you too! I look forward to admiring/envying all your garden’s wonderful inhabitants next year 🙂

  25. Hope your Christmas is as colorful as your tussie-mussie, Chloris. And thanks for sharing your wit and wisdom in 2015; I’m always excited to find a post from you in my email!

  26. Chloris says:

    Thank you Marian, what a lovely thing to say, I enjoy your blog too.
    Happy Christmas to you .

  27. Those are some delightful flowers and colours, Chloris. I’m always intrigued by what’s happening in your English garden. Thanks for your blog; I do feel as if you are part of my personal network, and always look forward to both your posts and your comments on mine. Thanks so much. Blessings to you and yours in the year ahead.
    (p.s. my main Christmas gifts were two of Katherine Swift’s books, including the Morville Hours. I’ve started reading.)

  28. Beautiful! I can’t believe you have so much blooming. It’s been crazy warm/wet here, too, and the seeds I direct sowed in the garden have already sprouted. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

