Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. November.

November is the month when all the seasons meet in an unlikely juxtaposition in the garden.  We still have summer roses, (don’t worry I’m not going to trot Sally Holmes out again, but she is still going strong, as is Rosa mutabilis.) There are still pinks, as the late flowering Dianthus rupicola is  holding on. Other summer blooms are dotted about the garden.


Autumn is taken care of with the late flowering Kniphofia rooperi showing off beside Physocarpus ‘Diablo” The bloom in the photo is looking a bit ragged, but there are still more to come.
DSC_0997
The mainstay of the November garden are Chrysanthemums. They arouse strong feelings in people; some  loathe them because they are associated with funerals. Others dislike the unnatural looking mopheads. I have a friend who has a hatred for the daisy flowered spray Chrysanthemums. The sight of the yellow eye enrages her for some reason. I believe they will follow dahlias and become popular again because they give colour when there is not much else about. I have lots and I love their cheery faces, even though I’m not sure of all their names. Some have been acquired from cuttings from various sources.


My favourite is the strong growing Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’ which has lovely red flowers dusted with gold.

Chrysantemum 'Chelsea Physic Garden'

Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’

My latest purchase is Chrysanthemum ‘Mrs. Jessie Cooper’ which is a lovely dark pink. I forgot to take a picture of this one, but I was gratified to read Sue at From Sewing room to Potting to Shed    recommending it  very highly recently, and Sue knows a good plant when she sees one.

In the shade, an unassuming little plant is quietly spreading. Reineckia carnea doesn’t have very showy flowers but they are very welcome in the autumn when everything else is winding down.

Reineckia carnea

Reineckia carnea

People are surprised to see snowdrops in autumn but they are are blooming at the right time. Galanthus reginae-olgae has been and gone, or it would have done, if slugs hadn’t carefully removed all the flowers before I got to see them. They thoughtfully left the stems so that I could count how many had been eaten. Never mind, we still have Galanthus  elwesii ‘Barnes’ to enjoy. At least I do, the Pianist wouldn’t notice  a snowdrop even if it jumped up and bit him on the nose.

Galanthus elwesii 'Barnes'

Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’

Christina at My Hesperides Garden recently showed her magnificent Arbutus unedo. I long for mine to look like hers, although it probably never will, as this tree is better suited to her climate. Still I am enjoying the clusters of little lily-of -the -valley flowers.

Arbutus unedo

Arbutus unedo

Winter flowers are flourishing now. I recently showed my Mahonia ‘Charity, which always starts blooming in November. Winter flowering jasmine, Jasminum nudiflorum is a real winter bloomer . I was very surprised to see Helleborus niger in full bloom too.


I didn’t do a ‘Scent in the Garden’ post last month because fragrance is a bit thin on the ground in October. I was going to feature my little Cerdiciphyllum japnica ‘Pendula’. The heart shaped leaves smell deliciously of toffee apples in the autumn. Unfortunately they fell off very quickly and I missed them. This month though we have a few flowers on the sweetly scented Coronilla.

Coronilla valentina subsp. glauca 'Citrina''

Coronilla valentina subsp. glauca ‘Citrina”

The winter flowering Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’ smells delicious. It is full of blooms this year, as is everyone else’s.

Viburnum bodnantense 'Dawn'

Viburnum bodnantense ‘Dawn’

My most deliciously fragrant plant at the moment is my newly acquired, lemon- scented Magnolia grandiflora ‘Little Gem’. I have been wanting a Magnolia grandiflora for ages, but I hesitated because it grows so big, it takes years to bloom and it needs a sheltered position and I couldn’t think where I could put one. When I read about ‘Little Gem’, I ordered one, because two of the problems were solved. It is nice and compact and it flowers at an early age. Indeed, it already has two delicious waxy flowers. I still haven’t solved the problem of where to plant it, so it sits in the greenhouse at the moment, whilst I think how to conjure up a protective south facing wall.

Magnolia grandiflora 'Little Gem'

Magnolia grandiflora ‘Little Gem’

I’ll finish with a quick peek into the greenhouse. Cestrum newelli has been blooming for weeks and shows no sign of stopping.

Cestrum newellii

Cestrum newellii

Abutilon megapotamicum flowers on and on too.

Abutilon megapotamicum

Abutilon megapotamicum

The white nerine is too tender to live outside but its delicate blooms last for ages in the greenhouse.

Nerine bowdenii 'Alba'

Nerine bowdenii ‘Alba’

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted by Carol at MaydreamGardens. I am going over there now to see what other people are enjoying in the garden this month.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. November.

  1. Brian Skeys says:

    The White Nerine is so pure and beatiful. Magnolia ‘Little Gem’ has solved the question, what to spend my birthday garden vouchers on.

  2. Angie says:

    So many beauties this November Chloris – it must be a sheer delight visiting your greenhouse. I love your new Magnolia and if anyone can conjure up a south facing wall I’m sure you can 🙂

  3. Pauline says:

    Thanks for the information about your new Magnolia, I think I have just the space for a small one, so must get searching.

  4. Cathy says:

    But no one has said just how ‘small’ this wonderful magnolia is – please tell…! And I can see that my own V b Dawn is nothing special if everybody’s is flowering just as prolifically – hey ho! Seeing your grid of chrysanths I can see that I am now beginning to work out why I like some and not others – definitely like Sue’s Jessie Cooper! I have not seen G Barnes before – and didn’t know that they were likely to bite unsuspecting passers by either… 😉 Isn’t it lovely to have all these November blooms?

  5. jenhumm116 says:

    Lots of lovely blooms to admire here Chloris!

  6. You really have a lot of beautifully blooming flowers. I have a Little Gem Magnolia and love it. It grows tall, but maybe not as wide as a Southern Magnolia.

  7. Kris P says:

    You have so many wonderful flowers I wish I could grow, like the Coronilla. I haven’t tried growing mums in years but I do miss their flowers this time of year (even if I’ve never cared for their foliage) but they want a lot of water and they usually fry during our summer heatwaves so they probably won’t end up on my must-have list. I hope Magnolia ‘Little Gem’ works for you – I love the M. grandiflora I inherited with the house, although I’d need a very tall ladder or a stroll along the roof to see the flowers close-up, much less to smell them.

    • Chloris says:

      You could grow Coronilla Kris. It is not quite hardy here. Mine lives in a pot and has to live in the greenhouse in the winter.
      I am hoping my Magnolia will stay reasonably compact.

  8. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Your first sentence, “November is the month when all the seasons meet in an unlikely juxtaposition in the garden.” is so true and your blooms illustrate it beautifully! Congratulations on your ‘Little Gem’ acquisition! I also longed for a Magnolia grandiflora and finally planted a M. grandiflora ‘Teddy Bear’ which only reaches 20 feet, not that I have space for even that. However, those beautiful evergreen leaves with the reddish indumentum look so nice for Christmas decorating that if it ever gets too big it can be trimmed back. You’ve got so many beauties in your garden and are, as always, the queen of snowdrops!

    • Chloris says:

      I don’ t know Magnolia Teddy Bear, it sounds useful. Mind you when did lack of space ever deter you or me?
      Queen of the snowdrops, thank you very much, although others are far more regal and extravagant than I when it comes to snowdrops.

  9. Christina says:

    Thanks for showing your lovely white nerine, it is a beauty, you are right that I should plant some. Part of the problem is I never really know when they should be planted! I love your Magnolia, even I might try a dwarf variety; I know everyone thinks of them as being Mediterranean but the ones I saw in North Carolina and around Washington were much better specimens than you see here, I think they need high humidity as well as high temperatures.

  10. Yet again a wonderful selection of plants. The Reineckia carnea is new to me, I am just going to look it up. Always an education, thank you 🙂

  11. Your white Nerine is a treasure. I am interested to read about the Magnolia, I did not know there was a smaller, earlier flowering variety, I think I shall have to seek it out. I love them.:)

  12. Flighty says:

    Lovely post and pictures. I’ve always liked chrysanthemums, and I’ve never seen a white nerine. xx

  13. AnnetteM says:

    Lovely collection of flowers. I found the snowdrops exciting as I planted a lot last year and am hoping for a good show in the spring. Mind you I have already lost one: I planted Wasp and Magnet with good solid labels as they were more expensive than the normal ones. There is now no sign of Magnet’s label and I have no idea where I planted it. Hopefully it is still there somewhere!
    I remember loving your white nerine last year – it is beautiful. What a shame it is not hardy.

  14. Chloris says:

    Thank you Annette. I wonder what happens to the labels, mine disappear too. I believe the squirrels collect them. You will recognise your snowdrops when they bloom though, because they are both so distinctive. Wasp with the lovely long petals and Magnet with the long bent pedicel.

  15. Sam says:

    The scent of Magnolia grandiflora flowers is lovely, isn’t it. We had one growing by a fence in our old garden and the flowers, although short-lived, were quite magnificent. I’ve not seen a white Nerine before – it’s very pretty. There is still plenty to enjoy in your garden.

  16. mrsdaffodil says:

    I have learned quite a few things from this post: 1) the snowdrops blooming in my garden now aren’t all that unusual; 2) there is a white form of Nerine (I must find a source for these!) and 3)it is possible to conjure up a protective south facing wall. It is cold, windy and rainy here–I don’t expect my Delphinium blooms to last much longer.

  17. pbmgarden says:

    Liz, you have a wonderful range of blooms for this time of year. Hope you’ll find the perfect setting for your ‘Little Gem’–it is a popular landscape tree where I live.

  18. Julie says:

    I am trying to like Chrysanthemums but I am with your friend on this one. Whats the name of image 5239, I think I may just be persuaded.

  19. Magnolias in the fall–wow! You’re right–all the seasons are coming together in your garden this time of year. Mine is about to go dormant with cold winter temperatures. I can’t complain, though, because usually it would happen much earlier than this. Happy GBBD!

    • Chloris says:

      We have had two storms this week and it is going to turn cold this weekend so I don’ t suppose there will be much left next week. But the mild weather so far has been a bonus.

  20. Anca Tîrcă says:

    So many flowers in bloom in your November garden, Chloris!Great photos!

  21. Cathy says:

    Your chrysanthemums are all lovely, but I especially like your chosen favourite with the golden tinge. Lots of lovely colour Chloris!

  22. Meriel Murdock says:

    Chryanthmum ‘Chelsea Physic Garden’ brings me right back to my childhood. This looks exactly like one in my mothers garden – several moves ago. I have always had an eye out to buy one but never have seen one before! It would go with my decor very well.

  23. Anna says:

    I’m glad to hear that Sally Holmes is still holding her own on the hockey playing fields of November. I’m coveting your chrysanths Chloris and think that they could well become the new dahlia.

  24. snowbird says:

    Well, you have me thinking now….what a lovely comment about all the seasons meeting in November,but I get it after reading this post!
    To have anything blooming at this time of the year is a bonus, and blooms aplenty you have…btw…I’m not at ALL jealous! I don’t think I’ll ever understand how anyone can actually hate a plant…dislike maybe…lol
    I love all your chrysanths…. I almost bounced back from the screen when I saw your snowdrops,once again! My hubs wouldn’t notice them either!!! Gosh, niger blooming already?
    Loved how fresh Citrina looks and Little Gem is scrumptious! xxx

    • Chloris says:

      After frost and storms there is not a lot blooming now, but I have several hellebores flowering which seems strange. Little Galanthus Barnes, never let’s me down, it always blooms in November.

  25. Now, the daisy-style mums are the ones I like best. We did see some elaborate mums at Longwood – some I thought were beautiful, some were silly. I’m afraid I still don’t understand how your Galanthus elwesii can be blooming in November. Are they a Snowdrop that enjoys a very flexible work schedule? In any case, I hope they stay away from your spouse’s nose. Enjoy your ‘Little Gem’!

    • Chloris says:

      I like the daisy style mums too and they are great for picking. Really long lasting. Galanthus Barnes always blooms in November, it is an autumn blooming snowdrop. So far it has shown no signs of being aggressive. But I am watching it

  26. A beautiful mix of flowers and foliage. I especially love the mums…so many colors to keep the flower garden going into fall. I must find a way for some to keep going in my garden. And Galanthus elwesii still blooming…wow!

  27. Annette says:

    Such delicate flowers, Liz, I love those chrysanthemums of yours as they’re so charming and not ‘over-blown’ like many others. Do you bring the Abutilon in over the winter? And how do you cut it back? I had an Arbutus in Ireland but one cold spell finished it off.

    • Chloris says:

      The Abutilon lives in the greenhouse, so far I haven’ t needed to cut it back and it is still blooming away. I do have one which has lived outside for several years now. I didn’ t know Arbutus was tender, I will wrap up my little tree if we get a hard winter.

  28. homeslip says:

    Always a treat to see what’s blooming here Chloris. M.G Little Gem looks adorable, and your white nerine is stunning. Anything white-flowered gets my vote – although I’m worried my white summer flowering jasmine is still flowering on the same west-facing wall as the yellow winter jasmine.

    • Chloris says:

      I love white flowers too. I am amazed that your white flowered jasmine is blooming so late. But then I am astonished how early the winter one is this year.

  29. Caro says:

    I’d always thought that snowdrops flowered in late winter but you’re right, mine are up and beginning to flower now. I’m also wondering why my V. bod ‘Dawn’ (yes, smothered in flowers) is flowering white and not pink this year. It’s always been pink in the past. Perhaps a cold snap will encourage it to change colour?

  30. ‘Little Gem’ is very popular in gardens here. Another dwarf, ‘Teddy Bear’ (now also popping up with the name ‘Southern Charm’) does well for us too, and features handsom bronze fuzz on the undersides of the leaves. I hope you can find the right spot!

  31. Chloris says:

    Peter the Outlaw Gardener mentioned Teddy Bear too, I haven’ t seen it here. I have an idea for my Little Gem as part of a new project I have planned for the garden for next year.

  32. I haven’t seen your recent posts, due to computer issues, etc., but I am so glad to see this one and to be cheered by flowers blooming at this time of year. Thank you. Sending good wishes for you and your family.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cynthia, I haven’ t been doing much blogging lately; gloomy, soggy November days seemed to give me blogger’s block. I will catch up and see what everyone else has been up soon.

      • No worries, Chloris. I’m in the same boat. Maybe it’s also the gardening blogger’s malaise, at this time of year, but I seem even slower than normal — which is quite slow.

Leave a Reply

