Wordless Wednesday. A Floral Firework.

Salvia involucrata 'Boudin'

Salvia involucrata ‘Boutin’

Late flowering, reasonably winter hardy and gorgeous: Salvia involucrata ‘Boutin’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. A Floral Firework.

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Ah, that’s lovely.

  2. Yes they are gorgeous. I lost mine in an unheated greenhouse 2 years back unfortunately, but I did see some nice examples at the Botanics last week.

  3. rusty duck says:

    Golly. A real firecracker.

  4. Julie says:

    What an intriguing flower shape, we are in a frost pocket so she would need some protection here but she looks worth the effort!

  5. Brian Skeys says:

    It is a floral firework, I would never have guessed it was a salvia.

  6. Cathy says:

    A pretty colour – and aren’t those little furry bits intriguing when you see them in close up?

  7. That is interesting, wonderful color, especially for fall. Boudin is a rice sausage here?!

    • Chloris says:

      On my goodness Amy, I do feel a fool now. I didn’ t realise I had labeled it ‘Boudin’ until I read your comment. It is actually ‘Boutin’. Boudin is indeed a sausage. I am on a diet and clearly have food on the brain. I have changed it now. I wonder if anyone else noticed. Perhaps they were too polite to point out that I had called this lovely plant ‘sausage’.

  8. homeslip says:

    Oh yes, that’s my type of flower.

  9. Anna says:

    Now that’s rather nice Chloris and so much quieter than those nasty noisy fireworks.

  10. Oh yes, it is! An apt installment for a Wordless Wednesday post!

  11. Kris P says:

    Very pretty. I wouldn’t have been able to identify it.

  12. Great color on this salvia, definately worth the wait.

  13. Flighty says:

    Wonderful, and I like your title. xx

  14. Debra says:

    Yes! Gorgeous.

  15. snowbird says:

    Oh my….glowing it is….GLOWING!xxx

  16. Beautiful! Of course, it is a salvia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

