Wordless Wednesday. A Few of my Favourite Things in the Greenhouse.

A Paint brush.

Haemanthus albiflos

Haemanthus albiflos

A not quite hardy cyclamen.

Cyclamen cicilium

Cyclamen cicilium

The first of the Nerines at last.

Nerine sarniensis

Nerine sarniensis

The incomparable, spidery, Nerine undulata.

Nerine undulata

Nerine undulata

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. A Few of my Favourite Things in the Greenhouse.

  1. Just did a double take of your first photos. Haemanthus albiflos is obviously (and deservedly) popular, but I’ve never come across it until today. Magnificent Nerine. Mine have been slaughtered by slugs 😦

    • Chloris says:

      I noticed this afternoon that Helen at The Patient Gardener has a Wordless Wednesday Haemanthus albiflos today which is quite a coincidence, you don’ t see them very often.

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Great photos! I love your Nerines.

  3. Sam says:

    I do like discovering new plants here! The Haemathus is a new one for me. The spidery Nerine is bonkers 🙂

  4. Magnificent Nerines, indeed – I must find out if I can grow them here.

    • Chloris says:

      I should think they would grow well for you with no risk of frost to spoil them.

      • I am going to look into that – you wouldn’t believe the Crinums here but I haven’t seen any Nerines like that at all. The tropicals that like more volcanic (read fertile) soils can be difficult.

      • Well, I finally found a reliable source-Nerine Lilies must be grown in pots here as well! Gritty soil and little fertilizer is the recommendation. I think someday I need to go to South Africa and look at the plant life.

  5. croftgarden says:

    Interesting that Haemanthus albiflos appears to be popular. I’ve grown it for years and it is a constant delight, flowering for most of the year.

    • Chloris says:

      I’ d love to see more of what you grow in your greenhouse Christine. I bet you have all sorts of treasures there.

      • croftgarden says:

        Alas too many were left at the old house although I managed to get some of the rarities adopted. So we’re starting again, but trying to find replacements takes time.
        Now we’ve completed the shed building programme I’m hoping to have more time to devote to my plants.

  6. Christina says:

    I remember your Nerines from last year, they are lovely.

  7. Flighty says:

    Lovely pictures of interesting flowers. xx

  8. Alison says:

    Love your spidery Nerine, the red one too. This past weekend I spent a lot of time emptying out the greenhouse and then filling it up again with my tender plants. We don’t actually have a frost in the forecast yet, but I wanted to get it done in an orderly manner, rather than the usual rush to stuff it.

    • Chloris says:

      Well done on your orderly manner. I wish I was so organised. I have been rushing around putting tender plants away but I wish I had tidied up first. I just got in a panic because I heard that cold weather was on its way.

  9. really lovely colors and I adore those nerines!

  10. Cathy says:

    Ooh, that last Nerine is gorgeous! The Haemanthus is also lovely – have never heard of it before.

  11. Cathy says:

    Your nerines are not all in the greenhouse are they, Chloris? If so then there is no chance for mine which I was slightly hopeful about – some leaves so far, but no blooms yet… 😦

  12. snowbird says:

    Oh…such beauties, especially Haemanthus albiflos….WOW!xxx

  13. homeslip says:

    I love your nerines. I can’t believe I dug up a huge clump from the front garden a few years ago but they were just slug fodder. One day I will have a greenhouse and will try and grow treasures like yours.

  14. Wow, Chloris. Those Nerines are stunning.

  15. Annette says:

    a lovely selection – my nerine haven’t started to flower yet but I’m ever so pleased that the cyclamens are making an effort so maybe one day I shall have my pink carpet 🙂

  16. jenhumm116 says:

    What a fabulous collection! I saw a Nerine sarniensis at Great Dixter on Monday, so you’re in excellent company!
    My common Nerines seem to have dwindled to nothing this year, I must restock!

  17. You almost make me want to grow nerines…

  18. Pingback: Photography at Great Dixter | Duver Diary

  19. Debra says:

    As Janet says! These are beautiful flowers.

  20. Chloris says:

    The nerines are now all coming into bloom. They are the highlight of the season for me.

Leave a Reply

