Wordless Wednesday. The First Snowdrop.

Galanthus peshmenii

Galanthus peshmenii

Sorry if you are still pretending that it’s summer, but this is my first snowdrop of the season. It took me by surprise too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. The First Snowdrop.

  1. Julie says:

    A very nice surprise too, I wonder if that will reflower when it normally does? Or its energies will be spent or maybe you have a new twice flowering discovery!

  2. I used to have snowdrops too in october and others in January, now I know why the ones blooming in October are gone as we had a few very cold Winters for a few years.

  3. mattb325 says:

    What a lovely surprise! It really is a dainty little thing. I’m guessing they are just as pricey as the other ones though ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Fab! I could gladly look at snowdrops all year round. I don’t have a greenhouse. Will it cope on a windowsill?

  5. Cathy says:

    Wow! Isn’t it lovely!

  6. I am looking forward to January already!

  7. Sam says:

    Very pretty. We have lots of them in Jan/Feb but none this early.

  8. rusty duck says:

    It does come as a bit of a shock to see a snowdrop I must admit.

  9. Thought you were in Australia for a minute!

  10. pbmgarden says:

    It does seem too early for snowdrops but everything has its own time doesn’t it?

  11. Alison says:

    Wow! A snowdrop flowering already. I see from your response to a previous comment that it’s not hardy. I didn’t know there were non-hardy snowdrops.

  12. Anna says:

    Oh how exciting Chloris and not long to go to the main season either ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. bittster says:

    Not just any old fall blooming snowdrop either, of course you have a particularly special one! Nice.
    It will still be a few weeks before i can see a fall one here… If it indeed blooms this year, otherwise it’s still at least a five month wait.

  14. Brian Skeys says:

    Now that is just showing off! ๐Ÿ˜„ ( I didn’t know there is an autumn flowering snowdrop, we learn from fellow bloggers all the time).

  15. Cathy says:

    Definitely showing off! ๐Ÿ™‚ But of course I would have been just as excited if I had any autumn flowering ones…

    • Chloris says:

      I’ m not really showing off but it is nice to be able to share the plants that excite you with fellow bloggers. It’ s no use expecting the Pianist to be interested, I’ d get more response from the dog.

      • Cathy says:

        Only teasing ๐Ÿ˜‰ I don’t have any autumn ones, but am trying to add to the December ones. There is an article in Oct The Garden about early snowdrops – have you seen it? But, for the purposes of experimenation, do tell us what response the dog has to the exciting appearance of your first seasonal snowdrop…

  16. LOL, yes I wish I could pretend it’s still summer, but the leaves are changing colors now. It’s unusually mild this autumn, though. Anyway, thanks for sharing your treasure of the first autumn Snowdrop. It’s lovely!

  17. Kris P says:

    Even I’m amazed (despite the fact you don’t commonly see snowdrops here in any season)!

  18. homeslip says:

    A lovely surprise, but it looks lonely. Will it spread by itself in a pot or will you have to help it along by splitting or scaling the bulb? Bulbs are quite magical aren’t they?

  19. Nice little flower, the first of the season ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. Flighty says:

    Goodness that is early. xx

  21. croftgarden says:

    Not showing off at all – I have one in flower too. Equally a surprise as I didn’t know we had some and the Head Gardener was very sheepish about where it had come from, so I suspect it was an extravagant purchase. However, it is very charismatic.

  22. Chloris says:

    How wonderful to have a partner who is extravagant and buys beautiful snowdrops. Do you know which one yours is? May we see it?

  23. snowbird says:

    My eyes nearly popped out of their sockets! Struth….really??? Already???? Eeek!xxx

  24. Peter/Outlaw says:

    What a beautiful autumn treat. Late winter will arrive soon bringing lots of her cousins to the snowdrop parade. Can’t wait!

  25. Things are a little confusing in my garden too, I have foxgloves, the Californian poppies refuse to stop flowering, the dahlias are behaving as if it is high summer – and I have my first hellebore flower…

Leave a Reply

