Scent in the Garden. September.

I have been trying to find something fragrant in the garden for each month of the year and I have just realised that today is the last day of the month.  I have still not caught up with my blog reading, but I had a hasty sniff round the garden to see what I could find for September. There are still roses and the odd sprig of honeysuckle but that is cheating. I wanted something that is in season. In a pot, I have the lovely fringed flowers of Dianthus ‘Rainbow Loveliness’. The scent is sweet and delicious.  They are easy to grow and quite delightful. They are rather late coming into flower but I sowed the seeds late.

Dianthus 'Rainbow Loveliness'

Dianthus ‘Rainbow Loveliness’

I have another dianthus which is always late coming into flower. It is Dianthus rupicola and it comes from Sicily. It has very long stems and glaucous foliage. It is lovely for picking. It doesn’t have a very strong scent but it is very pretty.

Dianthus rupicola

Dianthus rupicola

A lovely late flowering shrub called Heptacodium micinioides is the star of the September scented plants. It is sometimes called ‘Seven Son Flower of Zheijiang’ because each cluster has seven flowers. It comes from China. Butterflies seem to enjoy its fragrant flowers and so do I; it smells delicious.

Heptacodium miconioides

Heptacodium miconioides

So there we have it, not very rich pickings for this month, but at least I found something. I dare say there are other flowers which I have overlooked, but I have not time to do any more sniffing today.
Have you anything smelling good in the garden this month? It doesn’t seem to be a very good month for fragrance. Not in my garden anyway, although lots of roses are in bloom. But I already showed those in June.

I am sorry if I haven’t caught up with my blog reading yet,  it may take a day or two. I am just off to see whether  Ali at the longgardenpath  who is the Queen of scented plants has posted this month. She adores scented plants and I am sure she will have something to surprise us with this month as usual.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Scent in the Garden. September.

  1. The sweet tea olive (Osmanthus fragrans) is in bloom here. The ones in my garden were planted long ago and are 20-feet tall or more. Love your ‘Rainbow Loveliness’. What a name!

  2. Julie says:

    Your Dianthus are both new to me but I really like them both and I wish I had more room for a Heptacodium miconioides, that does look lovely. Here Elaeagnus × ebbingei has just started flowering and smells gorgeous and some Hesperis sown this spring has thrown up a couple of year early flowers.

  3. Peter/)utlaw says:

    ‘Rainbow Loveliness’ has a wonderful scent but mine bloomed earlier. Cyclamen purpurascens is quite fragrant in my garden right now but mostly, there’s the fragrance of fallen leaves and other autumn scents.

  4. Yet more plants I have never seen before. Wonderful, we had Dianthus, but not like that. My Florida Gardenia is blooming again, nice fragrance floating through the air from that – the news from here is my Mango tree suddenly doubled in size!

  5. mattb325 says:

    I do like Heptacodium miconioides. I think that’s the only time I’ve ever seen a common name more unwieldy than the Latin one 🙂

  6. homeslip says:

    Yes, I had a few whifffs of scent as I went round the garden today but apart from roses, honeysuckle and jasmine (officinale and trachelospermum) there isn’t much. Do leaves of Pelargonium Rose of Attar count? And I’ve just remembered my chocolate cosmos which is flowering better now than it has all summer. Definitely need more scent in the late summer/early autumn garden. I love the sound of Heptacodium and the first Dianthus looks exquisite.

  7. Christina says:

    I think as many flowers are brighter in colour in autumn it is that which attracts bees and other pollinators rather than scent. I was about to prune Elaeagnus × ebbingei into a cube but luckily realised that it was just starting to bloom, that smells wonderful and because the flowers are so insignificant no-one knows where the scent is coming from.

  8. Sam says:

    Lovely dianthus. I do love their clove-like scent. I’m going to have a wander around my garden now to see if I can smell anything!

  9. Cathy says:

    The frilly dianthus is most pleasing on the eye, Chloris, even if it isn’t rainbow coloured…;)

  10. Flighty says:

    I like the look and colour of the second dianthus. xx

  11. Annette says:

    Yes, Heptacodium is one of the stars in my garden too right now. Another great plant for scent which has been flowering for 5 months (!) is Clematis aromatica. Just love it!

  12. Kris P says:

    Looking at your Dianthus, especially that first fringed one, has me wondering why they’ve disappeared from my own garden.

  13. bittster says:

    Ugh. I never felt inadequate in the area of scents but I’m realizing more and more that there are many I just don’t get!
    Dianthus…. not much, heptacodium… nothing. The bees had no problem finding the flowers, but a huge shrub in bloom did nothing for me. I blame allergies and my sinuses but will enjoy your posts regardless.

  14. What a great idea. Yes, I guess there is always something with a sweet scent in the garden–even in the middle of winter, if you count crushing evergreen leaves and whiffing the scent. Right now, I have a wild mint growing in the garden that is rather nondescript in its looks, but has a heavenly scent. I will try to join in this meme sometime in the future. 🙂

  15. Lovely dianthus, I especially like the first for its attractive for the pale bisected petals. I can just imagine the spicy scent.

  16. croftgarden says:

    I am always impressed by your interesting collection of plants. The best scents at the moment come from the aromatic herbs as I fight my way through the jungle of the herb garden. The scented leaved geraniums are wonderful to brush past too, although they will soon have to retreat into the house.

  17. Marianne says:

    Hello, here is the northeast U. S. We have cimicifuga blooming. It has a scent reminiscent of incense. I have it it various locations to fill my garden with this heady aroma.

  18. Angie says:

    What a super name ‘Rainbow Loveliness’. A rather pretty flower. My Heptacodium is just coming into bloom now. October is the right time for it to bloom up here. Roses are still blooming and Actaea (cimicifuga) smells delicious.

  19. snowbird says:

    Struth! I’m struggling to find flowers, never mind scent!!
    Dianthus ‘Rainbow Loveliness’ is sooooo pretty, I love it. Seven son Flower of Zhejiang, well, what can I say, I’d buy anything with a name like that without even seeing it, but again, how lovely it is!xxx

  20. I like the look of ‘Rainbow Loveliness’ and the name itself. For some reason I have never grown Dianthus. I should find a little spot to give them a try.

  21. hoehoegrow says:

    I can almost smell them as I wander virtually round your garden! Bet ‘Rainbow Loveliness’ is fantastic.
    My stand out winner at the moment is a Datura in the greenhouse. Nothing through the daytime but from late afternoon the lemony scent is strong and superb.

  22. I’m sorry to say that I have just about given up on trying to plant for scent – my sense of smell is so bad I never get the benefit! Not unless it is almost overwhelming, anyway… I’ve never heard of Heptacodium micinioides before, it is a rather fine looking shrub!

Leave a Reply

