Wordless Wednesday. Morasmius oreades.

There are fairies at the bottom of our Garden.

Fairy Ring

Fairy Ring

Marasmius oreades

Marasmius oreades

 

 

1d8f7d6cfb5f4f1ffff80eeffffe906

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘The land of fairy where nobody grows old and godly and grave, where nobody grows old and crafty and wise, where nobody grows old and bitter of tongue.’  W.B. Yeats.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Morasmius oreades.

  1. A magical thought indeed.

    • Chloris says:

      It is called the Fairy ring toadstool because it always grows in circles. I used to look for these when I was a child as they always seemed magical to me. In Yorkshire where I grew up there was a belief that if you danced 9 times widdershins round a fairy ring you came under the power of the fairy people. I always wondered how you danced ‘ widderdshins’. Now I know it means anti – clockwise.

  2. Christina says:

    No indeed, we all inhabit the lands of the fairies.

    • Chloris says:

      Ah, It would be nice to think so Christina. . But I think they went the same way as the unicorns and dragons. All I have really, is a boring old fungus spreading its mycelium around and messing up my lawn.

  3. Anna says:

    My dear Dad’s pride was his lawn and he fought a long battle against fairy ring. It took several years and the assistance of GreenThumb to magic those fairies away for good. A most apt illustration below. Is it by Margaret Tarrant?

  4. Chloris says:

    I am quite happy with my fairy rings down in the orchard, but then I have never been bothered about a perfect lawn. How clever of you to recognise Margaret Tarrant. I have a couple of books with her magical pictures.

  5. Brian Skeys says:

    Our Granddaughters built a Fairy Garden in the bottom of our garden two years ago, therefore I know we have Fairy’s in our garden.

  6. homeslip says:

    Lucky you, we used to look for fairy rings in the woods, to me they are as magical as rainbows.

    • Chloris says:

      I used to look for them too and also fly agaric mushrooms because they were always associated with fairies. Rainbows were magical too. What a shame that we have to grow up and lose our sense of magic.

  7. Cathy says:

    Surely if we are going to grow old there is some merit in growing old and crafty and wise…? Hmm, I suppose fairies just dispense with the growing old, full stop…

    • Chloris says:

      I can see what he meant about growing old, but it is better than the alternative. I don’ t know what he had against being wise though. He was a great poet but rather a strange man. He really did believe in fairies. But then so did Conan Doyle.

  8. Sam says:

    How lovely to have a fairy ring. Yeats obviously didn’t have a very high opinion of elderly folk!

    • Chloris says:

      Yeats wrote some wonderful poetry but he was very gullible and had some half- baked ideas about fairies and the occult. I can see why he thought being forever young as a fairy was desirable. I don’ t know what he had against being wise though.

  9. We have fairy rings up at our cottage. I’ve thought about adding stones around them and some other “fairy” decorations. Not sure the hubby would appreciate that since he mows that area. 😉

  10. Chloris says:

    You have them too. I was thrilled to find mine as I haven’ t seen one for years.

  11. snowbird says:

    Fairies y’say????? How VERY smashin’!!! You just can’t beat a fairy ring…..now you’ll have to leave pressies for them, I’ve heard tell that they are fond of stones with holes, and honey! I have rings of toadstools each autumn, love them I do, and all things faerie….xxx

  12. mattb325 says:

    How lovely to have the fairies at in the orchard. As long as they don’t steal the fruit 🙂

  13. Kris P says:

    I’ve heard of fairy rings but have never seen any here. I wonder why fairies dislike California? Maybe it’s that they get drunk on dew and there’s little of that here…

  14. My husband saw his first Fairy Ring recently (in Florida the mushrooms are huge and probably deadly?!) anyway, he was quite mystified by the whole thing. We used to work for a guy who kept a sign over his desk “Old age and treachery beats youth and vigor” I did enjoy the Yeats, though. Fairies or not those rings seem like magic – I will try the counterclockwise maneuver if I see another ring.

  15. gardenfancyblog says:

    Interesting… I’ve never seen anything like that before. I wonder if they occur here in the Midwest. Thanks for sharing this unusual phenomenon. -Bteh

  16. bittster says:

    A fairy ring would be fantastic to have here. I could make up all kinds of stories to tell the kids and I’m sure they’re still young enough to believe… even if they do grow up faster these days.

  17. I rather like fairy rings. Bittster just reminded me that I used to tell my kids that there were “Farm Fairies” at the bottom of the field, and if toys weren’t tidied up before bedtime, the cheeky farm fairies would sneak in and play with them. Poor kids….

  18. wellywoman says:

    This made me smile. I remember this from when I was studying for my RHS qualifications. I’m from Cornish and Irish stock so myth, fairies, superstitions and piskies (Cornish for pixies) have all featured in my life. Well, not literally. I don’t believe in piskies but I think my grandparents did. 😉

  19. I need my fairies to pull weeds. I think they just party all night.

Leave a Reply

