GBBD August.

A day late, but here I am with my contribution to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day for August.

So many bloggers grew wonderful dahlias last year, which looked fantastic in a vase, so I was determined to seek out some new ones myself. I studied what everyone else was growing and made lists. Then suddenly time had gone by and it was too late to order anything, so I ended up with a few shrivelled tubers  that were left  at the cheapy shop.

Never mind, I am pleased with the results. I love the way that the petals of ‘Akita’ are edged in gold.

Dahlia 'Akita'

Dahlia ‘Akita’

D. Contessa

D. Contessa

‘Contessa’ is such a lovely shade of red and I love the pompoms in vases.
‘Genova’ and ‘Musette’ are two more pompoms which I probably wouldn’t have chosen if I had more choice.


I am very pleased with ‘Rebecca’s World’ which is a showy cactus, with wine and white flowers; each one is different. I have picked a bunch for tomorrow’s In a Vase on Monday.

D. Rebecca's World

D. Rebecca’s World

I have plenty more Dahlias which will soon be flowering. Amongst them there are my own seed grown ones. The species Dahlia merckii always comes true from seed. I love its simple beauty.

Dahlia Merckii

Dahlia Merckii

I have plenty of young plants which started off  with The Bishop of LLandaff as parents. I have some like this bright red one.

 Dahlia Seedling

Dahlia Seedling

Mostly though, I am trying to grow them darker and darker and so in another part of the garden, I have some like this. I love the way that this one has a distinct stripe.

Dahlia seedling

Dahlia seedling

This year’s babies are yet to flower so I am quite excited to see how they will turn out.

Another plant which I used to dislike because of its ubiquity in suburban gardens is Hydrangea. Now I love it.

Hydrangea aspera

Hydrangea aspera

The tall growing Hydrangea aspera has lovely felty leaves. I love its two tone flowers.

The flowers of Hydrangea macrophylla ‘Madame Emile Mouillere’ are pure white  and contrast beautifully with the pink buds. I think it is one of the best white ones.

Hydrangea macrophylla 'Madame Emile Mouillere'

Hydrangea macrophylla ‘Madame Emile Mouillere’

I have the lovely Hydrangea arborescens ‘Annabelle’ with its large round heads. I also enjoy Hydrangea paniculata ‘Limelight’, although mine is puny compared with the one my son grows on his jetty garden.

I am redesigning a shady part of my garden at the moment and I think I shall certainly be adding a few hydrangeas. There are so many lovely hybrids around. I like the white ones with Crocosmia x crocosmiflora ‘George Davison’ and ferns.

DSC_0991
August is Agapanthus time and I grow lots. In a large pot I have Agapanthus ‘Lewis Palmer’. It has 20 flowers on it. Does everyone count their flowers?

Agapanthus 'Lewis Palmer'

Agapanthus ‘Lewis Palmer’


The first Aster to flower is Aster x frikartii ‘Monch’. It is one of the longest lasting Michaelmas Daisies. Beth Chatto said: ‘..absolutely the best Michaelmas Daisy for beauty and long display’. The one in the picture has the butterfly flowers of a white Gaura threaded through it.

Aster x frikartii 'Monch'

Aster x frikartii ‘Monch’

Still in blue, one of my delphiniums is blooming again after being deadheaded earlier.
DSC_0929
For highlights of the garden in pink, I would choose first of all the lovely Crinum powelli with its huge trumpet flowers.

Crinum powellii

Crinum powellii

I have managed to keep the dreaded lily beetle off this lovely tall, Goliath  Lilium ‘Miss Freya’
DSC_1028

Other flowers pretty in pink are the Platycodon grandiflorus ‘Fuji Pink’growing with a Penstemon.
DSC_0797Diascia personata blooms for weeks on end and is a mass of pink flowers. It is very easy from cuttings.

Diascia personata

Diascia personata

For pink annuals I don’t think you can beat the silky flowers of Malope trifida ‘Vulcan’. This is great as a cut flower too.

DSC_1036
There are some beautiful new hybrid Echinaceas around but I find most of them don’t survive for more than a year. The ordinary pink Echinacea purpurea not only keeps coming back, but it seeds around too.

Echinacea purpurea

Echinacea purpurea

I have several Roscoeas, but I am particularly impressed with a new one called ‘Monique’ which is tall and long flowering.

Roscoea beesiana 'Monique'

Roscoea beesiana ‘Monique’

Hollyhocks are coming to an end now, but this one, ‘Halo Apricot’ with a nice dark eye is still going strong.

Alcea ' Halo Apricot'

Alcea ‘ Halo Apricot’

A cousin of the hollyhock is the wonderful Alcalthaea suffrutescens ‘Park Allee’. I have described this amazing plant before on this blog, but each year it gets better and better. The flowers are a satiny apricot pink colour. It is easy from cuttings, so I now have it all over the garden.

Alcalthaea suffrutescens 'Park Allee'

Alcalthaea suffrutescens ‘Park Allee’

I never used to like Kniphofia very much. I was put off by the horrible red hot poker, Kniphofia ‘Atlanta’ which was all you ever saw at one time. There are some lovely hybrids now. I love the peachy salmon,”Timothy’.

Kniphofia 'Timothy'

Kniphofia ‘Timothy’

I will talk about what is going on in my August pots in another post, as this is turning out to be rather too long.
To see other Garden Bloggers’s Bloom Days around the world, please go over to Maydreamgardens where Carol hosts this popular meme.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to GBBD August.

  1. The dahlias are stunning and it looks as if you are having great success even if your pickings were slim. My experience with Echinacea (when I had sun) is the same as yours; the newer cultivars are not persistent. So glad you deterred the lily beetle, as Miss Freya is certainly worth fighting for.

    • Chloris says:

      I am pleased with the dahlias even if they are not ones I would have chosen with more choice.
      It is so odd that these new Echinacea hybrids have no staying power. A great shame as some of them are stunning.
      Lily beetle is a real problem here, a lot of people have simply given up lilies because they get sick of having their lilies ruined. Only daily death duty deals with them. If you have a lot of lilies it is impossible. The only treatment that I know of contains neonicotinoids and I wish people would stop using it. Dreadful bee- killing stuff.

      • Here, here! Wouldn’t it be better to burn infected lilies than resort to that stuff? Having sadly given up on lovely lilies myself, it is noticeable that it takes time and continued effort to eradicate the beetles – thankfully, this is is the first year I’ve not seen any sign of them (even on the hedychiums!). I’ve heard that lily beetles can affect fritillaries too ….

  2. Looks wonderful, oh queenly one, I share your suburbatose feelings, although it’s about Dahlias, not Hydrangeas – do you have Oakleaf Hydrangeas? I do love the Akita Dahlia, though.. Gardeners are an indecisive lot, sometimes I think.

  3. gardenfancyblog says:

    So many lovely blooms still in your gardens! Your delphiniums look better than mine do in their first flush. And I have the same problem with coneflower hybrids too — only the common ones come back reliably. Thanks for sharing your beautiful flowers with us. -Beth

    • Chloris says:

      I wish someone would work on breeding some Echinaceas with staying power. I read somewhere that many new hybrids are crossed with Echinacea paradoxa which cannot stand winter wet. Better to stick with reliable Echinacea purpurea.

  4. mattb325 says:

    Still lots going on in the late summer garden! I really like hydrangeas, but it’s probably because they get such a bad rap. Those big pom-pom flowers for months on end are hard to beat. Your dahlias are looking very lovely, even if they were just the leftovers 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      I love the new Paniculata hybrids too and H. Serrata. In fact I am beginning to think that I could do with a few more. I might need to go shopping.

  5. homeslip says:

    Beautiful, high summer in the garden. I always take notes when visiting you Chloris as not only do you grow wonderful plants you combine them so well too. Thank you.

  6. jenhumm116 says:

    Wow, Chloris so many fabulous blooms, but I particularly adore your dark stripy Dahlia seedling. I think you could make your fortune with that one – I’d pay good money for a cutting!

    • Chloris says:

      I am particularly delighted with that stripey dahlia Jenny, I am hoping it’s seedlings will turn out to have the stripe and the !ovely velvety dark red colour too.

  7. rusty duck says:

    I’m loving the blues at the moment, especially agapanthus. But your delphiniums are electric! The aster/rudbeckia combo is brilliant too. I have managed a whole three echinacea blooms, the best ever showing I think 😦 I should follow your lead and stick to purpurea.

    • Chloris says:

      I love blue and this is a good time of the year for it with lovely Agapanthus looking its best. Have you fallen for some of these gorgeous new Echinacea hybrids? I have wasted my money on quite a few, but never again. I think Magnus and Rubinstern take a lot of beating and they are reliable.

  8. bittster says:

    As usual a wonderful collection of goodies, and I’m looking forward to seeing what the pots hold! I’m tempted to go through each photo one by one and tell you how much I like each but I’ll try to keep it brief. The dahlias are something but I like yours most of all. Lilies… wow! Crinium awesome. Yes I count blooms, most obsessively with snowdrops and daffodils. I have yet to see anything close to ‘Park Allee’ here, and I don’t know the trick for heavy blooms on a kniphofia.
    Have a great week!

    • Chloris says:

      I know you are a flower counter Frank. That Kniphofia has 10 flowers on it and I don’ t know why, it never has before.
      Park Allee was quite rarely seen until recently. It is a cross between a Mallow and a Hollyhock and it has greyish leaves which don’ t get rust. The flowers are such a lovely colour.

  9. Kris P says:

    For getting off to a late start with the dahlias, you certainly did well with them! I love both ‘Akita’ and ‘Rebecca’s World’. I’m especially envious of the Delphinium, which are nigh on impossible to grow in Southern California. As to the Agapanthus, I usually note the first arrivals but give up the counting until the end of the season, when I count all the spent bloom stalks I cut. It and the Aster frikartii seem to be the only plants we share and my Aster is currently frying to a crisp.

    • Chloris says:

      I would miss delphiniums, they come in such amazing shades of blue. I expect Agapanthus seed around for you and you can grow the large headed ones outside. They are a bit tender here.
      Aster frikartii Monch is a gem which blooms for ages here. It is one of my favourites.

  10. Stunning flowers, it would be hard to pick a favourite … ‘Rebecca’s World’ has fabulous colour and is so shapely. I think it’s wonderful that dahlias and hydrangeas are enjoying a revival of interest, they add so much to the garden at this time of year.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, suddenly we are all enjoying Dahlias. Just a few years ago, the only one you could admit to owning, was The Bishop of Llandaff, because somehow it was ok, if they had red leaves. Good old bishop, he made dahlias respectable.
      I used to dislike Hydrangeas because I lived at the seaside and every bungalow had one in the lawn. They were bright pink or artificially blue if they had bed treated. I loathed them. There are some wonderful hybrids now though.

  11. hoehoegrow says:

    Well if those are cheapy shop dahlias, I can’t think that they could be beaten by their more expensive relatives! Your garden is looking lovely, with so much still in bloom. Talking of relatives, I adore the cousin of the Hollyhock, and will keep a look out for it, as it is a new one to me, but looks wonderful. Obviously a perennial, as you say it improves year on year.
    Note to self – plant more dahlias next year! Can’t beat them for solid late summer colour!

  12. Chloris says:

    They came from QD, so they really are cheapy shop Dahlias. I was looking for some chicken manure pellets and I noticed these tubers in their little bags, all shrivelled. I thought I might have wasted my money, but they were reduced and with a litle tender care they are fine.
    Seek no further for Alcalthaea ‘ Park Allee.’. I will root a cutting and send it to you. It is a stunning plant and it doesn’ t get mildew like its hollyhock cousins.

  13. Cathy says:

    Oh it all looks so lovely Chloris – and your double Bishop seedling is particularly so. I got my dahlia tubers from Peter Nyssen for this year after a recommendation from Janet of Plantaliscious and almost all are doing brilliantly so I shall be looking for more for next year. At what point do you cut back your diascia? I have been reluctant to cut mine when there are still lots of blooms on the spikes but I think I need to be brave about it. Also need to consider moving agapanthus to pots as yours are doing so well… Thanks for sharing your plants and your wisdom, as always

  14. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cathy. I meant to get my dahlias from Peter Nyssen too but I left it too late so I had to make do with QD.
    My Diascia is still blooming away and looking great so I will leave it until the flowers go over. I don’ t cut it right back as the plant gets bigger and more impressive as the season goes on.
    Agapanthus need lots of sun and although they bloom better if they are a bit potbound, they need lots of water and feeding.

  15. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable post and lovely pictures. I do wonder if I had a garden what I’d grow in it as I look at the flowers here and think yes, and yes, and….! xx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Mike. Well you do manage to grow quite a few flowers on your plot. It is fun growing annuals because you can try something different every year

  16. Tina says:

    So much gorgeousness in your gardens for August. It’d be hard for me to pick favorite, but those crinums and delphiniums–ooo, so pretty.

  17. Pauline says:

    You have so many beautiful blooms, it is hard to know where to start!
    The Agapanthus and Rudbeckia are super, as is your Crinum. Love your diascia,why do mine never look like that! I have what I thought was Hydrangea Mdme Emile Mouillere, but mine has white mophead flowers, I’ll have to check if I’ve been calling mine by the wrong name for years!

  18. Chloris says:

    I just googled the Hydrangea and you are right it doesn’ t have pink buds like mine. I bought it as Madame Emile Mouillere; it still has the label. I am beginning to wonder whether it was wrongly labelled.
    Do you have Diascia personata? It is a particularly good one that flowers all summer. It grows really tall. If you haven’ t got it I will root a bit for you.

  19. My goodness that is an amazing list of blooms. I have never counted the blooms on my Agapanthus but perhaps I shall, What, only nine, how on earth did you manage 20? I too have come round to Hydrangeas, isn’t it funny how some plants come back into fashion.

  20. AnnetteM says:

    Wonderful blooms as always. I have never had much luck with Dahlias as the slugs round here are rather partial to them, but I am tempted to try again after viewing your post. Your Delphinium is such a wonderful blue. You are lucky to get a second flowering.

    • Chloris says:

      Slugs are a nuisance with Dahlias , specially when the first shoots appear. I put coffee grounds round them and I have found them to be very effective.
      That Delphinium is gorgeous, none of my others are blooming again.

  21. snowbird says:

    Another heavenly set of blooms! I did like Dahlia merkii, so simple and such a lovely colour. Oh WOW….what stunning Delphiniums….I had them once but now they all seem to have died off! The Agapanthus are lovely too, I had one giant bloom on Queen mum, lovely it is….I do love Vulcan and Park Allee, and yes….of COURSE everyone counts their flowers!!xxx

  22. Chloris says:

    I have just bought a Queen Mum after seeing it at Hyde Hall Plant Fair recently. It is a beauty. Delphiniums are quite greedy feeders and they are caviar to slugs who often eat the new shoots as they appear.
    Would you like a cutting of Park Allee? I am going to get some rooted as several people would like some.
    Malope ‘ Vulcan’ is an annual which is very easy from seed.

  23. snowbird says:

    I would LOVE a cutting! Rather worried about the postage if everyone wants some…..all the plants you sent me last year have done well….Chloris’s patch!xxx

  24. Chloris says:

    Don’ t worry about the postage. It is nice to share plants with blogging friends.

  25. Christina says:

    When I see you next I’d love a cutting from your wonderful hollyhock bush. I remember reading your post last year and being convinced that it would do well here. I think that maybe the supermarket Dahlias are the best choice, my cheaper from last year has outstripped all those I bought ax named varieties this year.

  26. pbmgarden says:

    What a fabulous garden yours is. Such lovelies. I admire the Agapanthus and the dahlias especially.

  27. wellywoman says:

    I’m addicted to dahlias so loved reading this. My list of dahlias for next year is worryingly long already. I had a mix of tubers and rooted cuttings from mail order and I’ve been so disappointed by the rooted cuttings which still haven’t flowered. Tubers for me next year. Must look out for ‘Akita’ in particular – I thought it was a chrysanthemum at first. Have a lovely weekend.

  28. Robbie says:

    Your flowers are beautiful. I can relate to the “ordering later” and wanting dahlias. I am still waiting for mine to show! My fingers are crossed they will do something before Fall shows her face.
    I love the strip in the dahlia,too:-) Like a jester!

Leave a Reply

