Wordless Wednesday. (Well Almost.) Pelargonium gibbosum.

Gouty Geranium

Gouty Geranium

Jointed stems with swollen nodes gives this plant its unfortunate name of Gouty Geranium.DSC_0937
OK, it does have lanky, gouty legs,  but the flowers are beautiful; chartreuse-yellow. And they are fragrant, specially in the evening.
DSC_0936

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. (Well Almost.) Pelargonium gibbosum.

  1. Christina says:

    Again you have a plant that I have never heard of before. where do you find them all? It looks like it would grow in my garden too!

    • Chloris says:

      I think it would do well for you. It comes from South Africa and likes a sunny position and gravelly soil.
      I got it from one of my gardening friends. That is the great thing about gardeners. We all share our treasures.

  2. A new plant to me, very nice. Love the name, Gouty Geranium, sounds a bit Monty Python.

  3. Sam says:

    Gouty Geranium – great name. Never heard of it. Thanks for enlightening me.

  4. This is new to me too. What would you say the fragrance resembles?

  5. Debra says:

    Nice one!

  6. jenhumm116 says:

    I’ve never head of it either, and I do love a bit of chartreuse! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Angie says:

    It seems the gouty geranium is new to many of us. Pretty wee flower.

  8. pbmgarden says:

    I like the color and form of this one, the name not so much.

  9. Kris P says:

    That’s a Pelargonium I’ve never seen before. I love the color.

  10. snowbird says:

    How unusual! Shame about it’s legs but as you say a lovely plant….how lovely that it’s scented!xxx

  11. I would give this a try for no other reason than the name is so enticing. I love a cleverly named plant!

    • Chloris says:

      I know you are like me and delight in words, Barbara. But don’ t forget her proper name is Pelargonium gibbosum which sounds a bit more prosaic. Gibbosus means humped.

  12. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Interesting plant, great photos!

  13. mattb325 says:

    A brand new plant to me – what an incredible name!

  14. Peter/Outlaw says:

    This plant is also new to me and looks like quite a fun one to have, especially so that you can share the name with visitors!

    • Chloris says:

      It is very pretty, although I don’ t usually share names like this, as I am so pedantic and a stickler for using the correct Latin names. Calling pelargoniums, geraniums is anathema to me.

  15. Flighty says:

    Unusual, but I’m not keen on it. xx

  16. homeslip says:

    The flowers are pretty, both in form and colour, and it’s scented. I would forgive its knobbly knees too. Blogging is an education, thanks Chloris.

  17. croftgarden says:

    I’m a member of the fan club too, but it’s very straggling habit has me reaching for the scissors in an effort to contain it. Pruning seems to have no effect, so I try to overlook its faults and enjoy the flowers.

  18. Chloris says:

    I love the flowers and yellow is such an unusual colour for a Pelargonium. Have you tried propagating it?

  19. Cathy says:

    I am sure you could come up with a suitable description of its smell if you try hard enough, in line with it its goutiness and arthritic knees… 😉

Leave a Reply

