In a Vase on Monday. The Wars of the Roses.

Saturday, 1st August was Yorkshire Day and as I was born in God’s Own County, I thought I should do a vase of white roses to celebrate the date.
images (1).jpg yorkshire
As Yorkshire Day was only thought of in 1975, you would think that they would have the sense to choose a date when Rosa alba is likely to be in bloom. I had to search all over the garden to find a white rose which was still flowering. All I found was one Rosa hugonis which is early flowering but has another half-hearted attempt to produce a few scattered blooms in August. After almost giving up, I found a little spray of the Hybrid Musk Rosa ‘Prosperity’. So those are my White Rose of Yorkshire offerings.

DSC_0922
Joining the roses I have Solanum crispum ‘Glasnevin’ and the white Solanum jasminoides.

Solanum jasminoides

Solanum jasminoides

I used a couple of white Sweet Peas which are delicately tinged with lilac and a single flower of Catanache caerula which is very pretty and easy from seed.

Catanache caerula

Catanache caerula

I used a couple of different Eryngiums, they are so long lasting in water, and I put in some feathery grass Pennisetum villosum. The green bell-like flower on the right is Nicotiana langsdorfii which I love as it is so dainty.

Nicotiana langsdorfii

Nicotiana langsdorfii

In the interests of fairness, I thought I should do a vase using the Red Rose of Lancashire. After all the Pianist comes from Lancashire and it’s not his fault. His rose is much showier but it has no fragrance. I didn’t plant it, but I believe it is a Floribunda Rosa ‘Frensham’. I don’t understand why anyone would plant a rose without perfume. As there was no fragrance, I used some Honeysuckle, Lonicera periclymenum ‘Serotina’ and some purple Sweet Peas.
DSC_0908
I used some purple foliage from Cotinus coggyria ‘Notcutt’s Variety’ and some bronze Fennel, Foeniculum vulgare ‘Purpureum’. I also used some Scabiosa atropurpurea ‘Ace of Spades’ as it is such a rich, dark colour.

So there we have it the Wars of the Roses, 500 years on. On another post I might give you my Grandmother’s recipe for Parkin, which is second to none.  But in the meantime  you may enjoy  Hale and Pace and their Yorkshire Airlines sketch on youtube. I  can’t seem to put the link on here, never having done this sort of thing before,  but it is easy to find.

Thank you, Cathy, at ramblinginthegarden, for inspiring us all to put some flowers in a Vase on Monday.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. The Wars of the Roses.

  1. Christina says:

    Not so much a war as a symphony, Liz. Beautiful vases the perfect compliment to each other, like you and the pianist.

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Delightful vases. I had to look up the term Parkin. Yum, gingerbread. Yes, please do share your grandmother’s recipe sometime.

  3. After my recent trip to Yorkshire, I have to say I’m wholeheartedly for the white rose, though both vases are lovely. York itself was a bit touristy for my taste but Evensong at the Minster will long be remembered. The sleeper of the trip was nearby Harewood House, which is likely (in my view) the most beautiful home in England…the brilliance of Adams, Chippendale, and Capability Brown rolled into one…superb!

    • Chloris says:

      York does get busy in the holiday period. Yorkshire is such a large county that there is a great variety of scenery . I agree Hardwood is magnificent.

  4. homeslip says:

    You do have some truly wonderful plant material for your vases Chloris. I’m Lancastrian by descent so it’s red roses all the way for me. When my parents were first married in the 1950s they used to receive a weekly delivery of potted shrimp in a brown earthenware dish. Good old Royal Mail.

    • Chloris says:

      Lancastrian is fine, we buried the hatchet 500 years ago. The Pianist is actually a Scouser, and they are a bit strange. But nice with it.
      Potted shrimps by post? My goodness, that sounds dangerous. But perhaps the post was quicker in those days.

  5. croftgarden says:

    We have an east-west divide too, but no roses to fight over. Lovely eryngiums and I particularly like your use of fennel.
    May I echo the request for the Parkin recipe, not that I’m allowed to use anything other than my late mother-in-laws recipe for ginger cake!

  6. Cathy says:

    So now we know – and can you buy cards that say Happy Yorkshire Day? And is there a Lancastrian equivalent? I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post Chloris and sharing the blooms you so carefully placed in the two vases – have to say that on balance I prefer the… no, that would be telling! I don’t need to ask you for your parkin recipe as coincidentally I have just made gingerbread today and I know it will be very yummy 🙂 (but thanks for the offer…)

    • Chloris says:

      Actually I think there is a Lancastrian Day in November. I don’ t think they have gone as far as producing cards for it. I only just learnt about it by chance on Saturday and that is what gave me the idea for the vases. Only for fun, there is no War of the Roses going on here. Not with my lovely Pianist.

  7. Flighty says:

    A lovely post and pictures. I like roses, especially white ones, and wish that I had room to grow more.

  8. Isn’t that the way it is…a flower representing a day and its not in bloom. Beautiful mix in the first vase with the greens, whites and blue-purples. And the second rose vase such a rich mix with those honeysuckle, sweet peas and fennel.

  9. Kris P says:

    Both vases are beautiful, although the white and blue mix is my favorite. I watched the Yorkshire Airlines video – hilarious!

  10. A fabulously interesting post, you Yorkist, you!
    Your Lancastrian vase is also lovely (a nod here to your husband’s colours) but there’s something about the Yorkist vase…. Hey, I never even believed that Richard 111 was a bad dude, so what can I tell you?

  11. Chloris says:

    I’ m not sure about Richard 111; I mean there was the unfortunate business with the poor little princes in the tower. But the Tudors were a nasty lot. You only have to see a portrait of Henry V111 to see that he was vicious. Piggy eyes and that nasty economical little mouth. You could tell that he was the sort of person who would have his wives’ heads chopped off.

  12. Love the “War” concept, from a vase standpoint, I would call it a draw. I agree about the Tudors, pretty creepy group-I need some enlightenment on Parkin?

  13. Chloris says:

    Parkin is gingerbread really. But special Yorkshire gingerbread. It is very dark and made with black treacle. It is delicious.

  14. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Great vases based on a creative concept! Thanks for sharing, Chloris!

  15. Very nice. You do a great job with all the elements–the fillers, the focal points, and the accent elements. Lovely!

  16. Brian Skeys says:

    Two wonderfully “Balanced” arrangements Chloris. I will go and find the Youtube, have you ever watched ‘Three men went to mow’ videos on there, very entertaining.

  17. Noelle Mace says:

    Two vases of equal ‘strength’, best for both sides to agree to ‘peace’! I saw the wild white rose growing in the dunes in Northumberland earlier this year for the first time. Would love you to share your Mum’s Parkin recipe.

    • Chloris says:

      Indeed, all is peaceful in this Yorkshire/ Lancastrian household but it is fun to celebrate the red and the white roses of our respective counties.
      I will see if I can find the recipe, I haven’ t made it for ages but it is delicious.

  18. Sam says:

    Lovely vases, both. I look forward to the Parkin recipe (yum).

  19. Both are beautiful so I am definitely not going to take sides, however, my mum is a Yorkshire lass and I do love a bit of Parkin ….

  20. Nice bouquets with a lot of colors and variety !

  21. bittster says:

    There is always so much variety in your arrangements, always the best little goodies from the garden, and always the best story to go with it!
    I’m looking forward to the Parkin recipe since anytime I can explain treacle makes me happy but please don’t share the recipe for the green stuff out of the video. I would suspect it involves peas or animal entrails neither of which I’m very fond of.

    • Chloris says:

      No, you wouldn’ t like the green stuff. It is a strange sort of pea thing called ‘ mushy peas’. Dried marrowfat peas are soaked and then boiled until they are mushy. They are usually eaten with fish and chips.

  22. hoehoegrow says:

    Well done you on finding a white rose for your vase! The nearest I could get would be cream at the moment. Didn’t realise you were a Yorkshire lass ! It is indeed the most glorious of counties.

    Love both your arrangements, and your desire for fairness! !

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jane, well strictly speaking, neither Hugonis or Prosperity are pure white but they were the best I could find. By sheer chance I noticed that it was Yorkshire Day and I thought I would have a bit of fun with it.

  23. snowbird says:

    Laughing away here!!! OYYYY…What do you mean that it’s not his fault he comes from Lancashire??? Eh?Eh? Eh?
    My brother-in-law shares your birthday so shall pass on the interesting Yorkshire info…
    I loved both vases and am always enthralled re the diversity and sheer range of your beautiful flowers! Another wonderful post!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Calm down! Calm down! I meant it lovingly. I was just having a bit of fun. I believe there is a Lancashire Day in November so we’ ll celebrate that too.
      Thank you for your lovely remarks about my vases.

  24. Robbie says:

    I love visiting your blog to see what you put in a vase. Stunning every time.I need more flower beds!!! Maybe I can convince a neighbor to let me use their space-lol

  25. Chloris says:

    Well you certainly manage to cram an enormous lot of plants into your space. I’ m sure you have lots of lovely flowers to pick.

  26. When it comes to roses I am definitely a partisan of York – all my roses are white or nearly so.

  27. Anna says:

    Fabulous vases both Chloris although I’m drawn to the white rose arrangement. I’m married to a Lancashire lad too 🙂

  28. Chloris says:

    Thank you Anna. I didn’ t know that you were married to a Lancashire Lad. They seem to make good husbands. I’ m very pleased with mine so far.

Leave a Reply

