Back to the Jetty Garden.

Last year I showed you the lovely garden on a jetty which my son, Bertie and his lovely partner, Beatrice have created.
DSC_0005

Yesterday we paid a  visit to the boat for Bertie’s birthday and admired the garden which is looking even more green and verdant. Although there was no sign of the chaise longue you can just see at the bottom of the picture which we took last year. I think it just comes out for evenings along with the candelabra and standard lamp.

We made our way past a full sized model of a horse  sticking its head out of the shed,  and down the passage onto the the jetty.

11709381_848493535236660_262289708281888440_n.jpg  horse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was tempting to peep through the brass port holes in the passage and to linger over Beatrice’s weird and wonderful collection of things she has picked up beach combing.
IMG_0605

 

 

 

 

 

There was no sign of the large pink flamingo which we had seen on  a winter visit to the garden.

10959652_772607162825298_2895451210362905420_n.jpg flamingo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beatrice is an artist and on nice days she uses the jetty for painting the large canvases that she and Bertie use for their work in the photo parlour.

Beatrice painting a scene from Alice in Wonderland

Beatrice painting a scene from Alice in Wonderland

The garden is an oasis and the effect is created mainly by the use of foliage- but what foliage! Everything is so incredibly healthy because Bertie pampers it all on a daily basis.
IMG_0534
The hostas have no slug or snail damage because these pests are picked off daily and thrown into the river.

Hosta 'Sum and Substance'  growing with H.'June'

Hosta ‘Sum and Substance’ growing with H.’June’

IMG_0576
There are several very healthy tree ferns.

IMG_0571
Behind the large tree fern is a dining area with a barbecue and little lights for evening.
IMG_0567

There is another area for lounging in with comfortable zero gravity chairs. I love the chunky rope wrapped round the pot with the bamboo. There are coils of this lovely rope everywhere.
IMG_0569

 

There are huge bamboos and grasses.

Arundo donax 'Variegata'

Arundo donax ‘Variegata’

And how on earth does he get the Hakonechloa to look like this?

Hakonecchloa macra 'Aureola'

Hakonecchloa macra ‘Aureola’

I think the Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ looks wonderful with the grass.

Hakonechloa with Crocosmia

Hakonechloa with Crocosmia

The tree behind the Crocosmia is a Mimosa, Acacia pravissima which Bertie grew from seed.

Crocosmia

Crocosmia

There are fragrant sweet peas everywhere.
IMG_0582
An Astilbe lurks in the shady part of the garden.
IMG_0565
There are several Acers all which were bought when they were tiny.
IMG_0563
IMG_0588
The Acer above is growing with Cosmos. Regular readers of my blog will recognise the wrought iron seat. Its twin is in my garden.

Hydrangea  paniculata ‘Limelight’ was new last year but it  is looking quite mature. I love the driftwood under the bench.

Hydrangea paniculata 'Limelight'

Hydrangea paniculata ‘Limelight’

The Agapanthus was also new last year. I have several young ones lined up to join it. The large-headed ones can be left outside here. The little tree to the right is Magnolia ‘Susan’

IMG_0554
The Olive tree is also quite able to stay outside in winter here on the river.
IMG_0540

There is a sunflower competition going on amongst family and friends to see who can grow the tallest. It looks as if Bertie is going to win. And they are growing in pots. But still they are taller than mine, which are growing in well manured ground and fed with comfrey tea. Most of the hostas and bamboos here are grown from little bits that I gave Bertie and they are far more impressive than the original plants. Come on Bertie, what is your secret ?  What are you feeding them on? We all need to know.
IMG_0598
This garden is a magical place created by two very special people. It is quirky and fun and very beautiful. Everything is healthy because it is watered every day and fussed over and loved. And obviously fed on secret potions brewed at the dead of night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Back to the Jetty Garden.

  1. Looks fantastic, my mother used to joke me “you got the farmer gene” – I come from a long line of gardeners. I think you must have a similar line? Did I mention her side of the family was English?

  2. Wow, Chloris! Your family is full of gardening talent. What a beautiful and cleverly done garden..

  3. mattb325 says:

    Such a beautiful, creative garden. Hats off to them for keeping so many pot-plants alive. The Alice in Wonderland painting is stunning!

  4. Brian Skeys says:

    Bertie has obviously inherited your love of gardening and green fingers.
    Perhaps the quality of the river water is his secret!!!

    • Chloris says:

      I didn’ t think of that, but I don’ t think he uses river water; as it is tidal it would be too salty. I hope to find out his secret one day.

  5. pbmgarden says:

    I recall being intrigued by this garden last year. Even more fascinating and exciting this year.

  6. Absolutely amazing — both the garden AND Beatrice’s fantastic artwork. Does she have a website where I can see more of her creations?

  7. Kris P says:

    Bertie has some wonderful plant combinations going there. I love the red Japanese maple with the red Astilbe (one being difficult to grow here and the other being impossible). I wish I could send Bertie a raccoon to help with the snail eradication – it’s the one benefit I’ve found that the creatures provide (when they’re not tearing up garden beds).

    • Chloris says:

      No, you couldn’ t grow Astilbes as they need very damp soil and Acers would burn to a crisp under your hot sun. I think a racoon would cause quite a stir on the river, although they do see seals sometimes. But seals don’ t dig up your plants.

  8. Pauline says:

    Fantastic garden with amazing plants! I think they have more wonderful plants than many a garden on land and they all look so happy on their secret feed! Do they have an irrigation system or do they water it all by hand?

  9. Wonderland. It all looks amazing. A green-fingered family. I can’t help wondering if Bertie is very tall too!!!!

  10. Sam says:

    What a fabulous place and magical planting. They must have a special river microclimate there. Lovely.

  11. Amazing, absolutely love it!

  12. What a stunning garden, full of creative and inspirational ideas – I love the rope wrapped around the planter. That hakonechloa is a magnificent specimen!

  13. Annette says:

    Absolutely delightful, weird and wonderful at the same time. Not surprised that creativity is booming there. Do they live there permanently?

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, the boat, an old Thames Sugar Lighter which has been converted, is their permanent home. They love it there. The views are spectacular and always changing. The birds are wonderful and sometimes they have seals playing around.

  14. Christina says:

    Wonderful plantsmanship, I don’t think I’v ever seen a better exemplar of Hakonecchloa macra ‘Aureola’, not even at Chelsea!

    • Chloris says:

      I agree about that grass, it’ s not fair I gave it him and you should see the plant it came from; too pathetic to show in public. I wish mine looked like that.

  15. Nice garden and absolutely original 😉

  16. Cathy says:

    I remember being impressed last time you showed it to us but today I am completely bowled over – a stunning environment and they have clearly worked both intuitively as well as creatively and have a very special bond with their environment. What an interesting couple they must be – but then again, at least one of them has a very interesting mother!

  17. homeslip says:

    Oh my word, what an amazing garden. I can hardly believe that I’m actually seeing plants growing in pots on the side of a jetty. What a treat to be able to visit and see it all at first hand. Lots of great ideas here even for us land dwellers. I’m going to find last year’s post. But first what can that secret potion be that is producing such verdant and floriferous results?

  18. What a lovely place! Beatrice certainly is a talented artist!

    • Chloris says:

      She is very talented. She has painted my wardrobe doors with beautiful flowers and the Pianist’s with gorgeous birds. I will show you one day.

  19. Peter/Outlaw says:

    What a cool garden! I love it! I’ll bet there’s something in that river water that helps with the secret potion making.

    • Chloris says:

      It is your sort of garden with lots of gorgeous foliage. Mind you there are no headless or armless torsos. The river is tidal so I don’ t think that’ s the secret.

  20. Gina says:

    What an amazing garden. The daily fussing and love obviously works wonders

  21. Chloris, it’s amazing! I was mesmerised by it last year and still am. Tree ferns, even! I love all the quirky, artistic touches. They are obviously a very talented couple. I’m sure he takes after you.Those hostas are perfect!

    • Chloris says:

      There are 6 tree ferns, all very healthy. They are very talented. I wish I was artistic but I am afraid I’ m not. They have created such a wonderful space.

  22. P.s. I’ve even warmed to Astilbes! What a colour!

  23. Anna says:

    It’s looking even more magical, quirky and entrancing a year on Chloris. What an inspirational spot for an artist to work in.

  24. Chloris it is a wonderful creative garden, thanks for sharing again. I love the mix of plants with ‘stuff’ and the selection of foliage. A real haven.

  25. Flighty says:

    That is such a wonderful looking garden. xx

  26. What a creative and enchanting garden. I’m sure those secret potions must involve mystical incantations. I love the tree ferns!

    • Chloris says:

      I think you are right, mystical incantations must be the secret. I wish he would teach me some.
      Bertie has about 6 tree ferns. Now and then, he buys one for me, but then can’ t bear to part with it.

  27. Angie says:

    I clearly remember last year’s post and what a difference one year has made. Bertie has inherited your love of plants and has obviously taken in all you’ve taught him.
    What a real creative household and it is reflected in their quirky garden. Thanks ever so much for sharing this with us again.

    • Chloris says:

      I wonder what next year will bring. There doesn’ t seem to be any more room to expand but I am sure they will find a way to cram more plants in.

  28. Debra says:

    Truly magical. Love the tree fern (wow) and what they have done with the colour red. I just love this garden.

  29. snowbird says:

    How I love Beatrice painting on the jetty, and the fact she collects weird and wonderful quirky things!!! A gal after my own heart!!!!
    Sighs….those hostas ARE a joy to behold…..you should see mine, Bertie would burst a blood vessel just looking at them!!!
    The tree ferns, BBQ area and little lights call to me….come visit they say, you’ll just LOVE it here, and of course I do, I love every last little detail! Aureola is no longer a plant, it’s an art form!
    The sunflower competition had me smiling…..YES….we DO need to know his secrets! A magical place indeed…I just loved this post, and wished I lived there!xxx

  30. Chloris says:

    Actually the flamingo and horse are for their work. Believe it or not, they had to take the full size horse all the way to Ireland.
    I think you would feel.very much at home on the boat.

  31. Brian Skeys says:

    They really have created a little heaven on earth, or in this case water!
    They put us to shame with such a full and impressive garden in what is I imagine a small area. I would claim it is in the genes!

  32. Pingback: The Days of the Dead Festival | The Blooming Garden

Leave a Reply

