Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. July.

If you lived nearby, dear blogging friends and asked to come and see my garden today, I would look shifty and ask you whether you could come in a couple of weeks time. Or I might do a Ruth Draper and say ‘Oh but you should have seen it a couple of weeks ago.’ I have blooms of course, we all do in July, but I am still mourning the wonderful delights of the June garden and everything seems very flat, specially after the extended period of dryness we had up until a few days ago. I was at Wisley last week and everything there looked stressed and uninteresting. There  is nothing to excite me at the moment.  Everything here needs a haircut and most of my blooms are crawling with pollen beetles. These little black bugs don’t do any harm, but they are not photogenic.

How can anything compete with the roses which filled my front garden in June?
DSC_0205
And I don’t think I showed you my very own rose children which at 6 or 7 years old flowered this year.

Seeedling from  Wedding Day

Seeedling from Wedding Day

DSC_0017

Seedling of Dorothy Perkins

Seedling of Dorothy Perkins

Unknown parentage.

Unknown parentage.

And nothing in bloom now can compare with the excitement of my Cardiocrinum giganteum which soared to 10 feet in height and then opened its lovely white flowers far above my head.

Cardiocrinum giganteum

Cardiocrinum giganteum

Sorry, I seem to be cheating a bit, I am so reluctant to leave June behind.  It is July Bloom Day. So let’s have a look at what’s out now. There are some things looking pretty even if they don’t make the pulse race
Anthemis Tinctoria ‘Sauce Hollandaise’ makes a pleasing picture growing with the glaucous, blue leaves of Berberis temolaica.

Anthemis tinctoria 'Sauce Hollandaise' with Berberis temolaica

Anthemis tinctoria ‘Sauce Hollandaise’ with Berberis temolaica

Next to it, amazingly Rosa ‘Sally Holmes’ is still going strong. None of my other roses can compete with it for staying power.
DSC_0332
I rather enjoy purple and orange together these days, specially at this time of the year. The following picture is composed of Kniphofias, and the orange bells of Phygelius capensis.  The tall grass is Stipa gigantea which I love and the purple is provided by Salvia nemorosa ‘Caradonna’. The upright plant is Veronicastrum virginicum . The bell flowers belong to  Campanula rapuculoides which is a terribly invasive plant, not to be recommended. I didn’t plant it and I am constantly pulling it out. On the left of the picture you can see there are buds to come on the wonderful Rosa mutabilis which is generously going to bloom again.
DSC_0416
To the right of this group, Cotinus coggyria ‘Notcutt’s Variety’ is blooming with  its lovely smoke and in front of it is the late- flowering Dutch honeysuckle, Lonicera periclymenum ”Serotina’.
DSC_0421
Round the terrace the Lavendula ‘Hidcote’ hedge has gone rather wild and woolly due to bad pruning so I will take some cuttings and start again.
DSC_0326

We still have roses, the ramblers are usually later flowering than the climbers. Here is ‘The Garland’ climbing up a weeping pear, Pyrus salicifolia ‘Pendula’ in the front garden. It is just beginning to go over, but it has been lovely.

Rosa 'The Garland'

Rosa ‘The Garland’

Starting to grow up the ‘Pink Knicker’ Cherry tree is Rosa ‘Blush Rambler’ which seems appropriate.
DSC_0412
Of course there are plenty of Clematis just now and I like the way the curious green and white flowers of Clematis ‘Alba Luxuriens’ luxuriate all over the spent roses.
DSC_0405
The Potato Vine, Solanum crispum is popular with the bees although it doesn’t excite me.

Solanum crispum

Solanum crispum

The front garden still looks pretty.
DSC_0469
The highlights are the Angels’ Fishing Roods, Dierama swinging their dainty bells around all over. They are easy from seed but they don’t like to have their roots crowded and I have found them impossible to transplant.

Dierama

Dierama

I also really love the pretty pink Gypsophila paniculata which is spreading its froth very generously over the spent geraniums. The pink self-seeded Linaria is a perfect match.
DSC_0207
But by July we have had enough of pink and we crave stronger colours. I love blues at any time of the year and there is plenty about just now. My favourite is the  shiny, metallic blue of Eryngium bourgatii ‘Picos Blue’  It has lovely, spiky, silvery foliage.

Eryngium bourgatii 'Picos Blue'

Eryngium bourgatii ‘Picos Blue’

I have a sinister Wolf’s Bane, Aconitum napellus which I treat with respect since reading last year about the Hampshire gardener suffering from multiple organ failure and death after brushing against it. I assume he must have had an open wound. The Romans used it to poison people.

Aconitum napellus

Aconitum napellus

With the Aconite I grow tall Campanula lactiflora.  The one at the back is ‘Pritchards Variety’  which is a lovely dark blue.
DSC_0452
Also growing here with the blues is a lovely dark Asiatic lily. ‘Night Flyer’. It is such a dark red it is almost black.

Lilium 'Night Flyer'

Lilium ‘Night Flyer’

Lovely wine red Scabiosa ‘Beaujolas Bonnets’ seeds around and I love it.

Scabiosa 'Beaujoais Bonnets'

Scabiosa ‘Beaujoais Bonnets’

So do the butterflies.
DSC_0466
Actually prowling round the garden with my camera for today’s Bloom Day has made me realise there still is plenty to enjoy. I haven’t even showed you all the annuals making a show in the Winter Garden. So you can come round to look at the garden if you like. And I promise not to say,‘You should have seen it last week’.

Please go over to Carol at Maydreamgardens and see what other people have in bloom for the July Bloom Day. And why not join in on the 15th of each month and show us what you are enjoying?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. July.

  1. Gina says:

    A great visit, thank you. You still have more blooms out than me at the moment. Thanks for the heads up about Campanula. The hubby wants to add it to one of my borders as he’s seen it in a few gardens and likes it. I’ll not be adding it if it’s a thug though. Eryngium is one of the plants that just doesn’t like my garden which is a pity as I think it’s a wonderful plant.

    • Chloris says:

      There are plenty of lovely campanulas but really you will regret it if you plant C.rapunculoides. Many of them seed around everywhere but this creeps. Once you have it you just can’ t get rid of it and it gets all tangled up with your treasures and smothers them.

      • Gina says:

        Just to say that according to ‘Garden News’ this week that gardener didn’t die due to the Aconitum. There was no toxin in his system and he hadn’t been touching it. The coroner said it was just a terrible coincidence that he died after working near it

  2. Tina says:

    So beautiful, Chloris. That Cardiocrinum giganteum must be quite something to behold. I agree with you about the blues in your gardens and all of the last few photos of blues/purples/magentas–wow!!

    • Chloris says:

      The Cardiocrinum is special and you have a long wait for the blooms. Once it has flowered the bulb breaks up and you have to wait for all the pieces to grow on for several years.

  3. Christina says:

    Actually Liz it was a treat to see all your blooms; here it seems everything (about from plants in the cuttings beds) flowered while we were away. You have so much flowering I think you need to count your blessings that you don’t live in Italy where we are experiencing a heat wave with no rain since well before we left for our holiday in the US on 10th June. There are hot winds too, which are making me wonder why I garden at all.

    • Chloris says:

      But your garden looked fabulous when I saw it in late August last year.
      I know I have plenty of plants in bloom but the garden has lost its freshness. I always feel like this in early July. June is so wonderful that nothing can compare with it.
      Do you have Eryngiums? They should do well with you.

  4. AnnetteM says:

    One advantage of living in Scotland is that July is just as good as June. Our roses are in full flower, even though I don’t have many and many herbaceous perennials are just coming out. You still have lots of things looking wonderful too and sometimes it just takes a GBBD to make us realise how good our gardens actually look. I love the colours in your front garden and the wine red of your Scabiosa.

    • Chloris says:

      Your cooler temperatures will be great for keeping the garden looking wonderful. Early July is always difficult here because everything loses its gorgeous June freshness and with the drought we had things look so stressed. We have had a bit of rain now which has perked things up a bit.

      • AnnetteM says:

        The weather is rarely what us gardeners need is it – it is either too hot or too wet. Actually the garden doesn’t complain too much about cool and wet – it is just us gardeners.

  5. Pauline says:

    You have plenty that is beautiful in your garden, I think that July is just as good a month as June, just different. There are so many flowers that take over when the roses are having their rest, it is usually August when the garden here looks tired. You have lots of blues and purples which are beautiful with a touch of orange to make them all sing!

    • Chloris says:

      You are quite right Pauline, that is the way to look at the July garden- different rather than not as good. I feel sad every year in early July to lose all the freshness and opulence of June. It soon passes though and I start to enjoy the flowers of late summer.

  6. Every time I see your garden, I marvel at how many beautiful flowers and shrubs you have growing there year-round. It’s remarkable. How big is your garden, Chloris?

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cynthia. I have just over an acre. But everything is double parked and I always have Maids,- in – Waiting; these are impulse buys who I can’ t find a home for. They have to live in pots or wait for me to find a spot to cram them in. I also constantly grow things from seeds or cuttings, not because I need the plants but because I can’ t stop growing things .

  7. Sam says:

    What do you mean?! You have loads going on! It may be slightly less ‘wow-y’ than rose-time but still beautiful. I love that Scabiosa – gorgeous colour.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes there is plenty going on but I always find the transition from June to July difficult. That Scabious is gorgeous and it is always covered in butterflies.

  8. croftgarden says:

    I think the lady doth protest too much! Your garden is always glorious and floriferous. It is enough to turn any gardener north of the Great Glen a very unhealthy shade of green

    • Chloris says:

      I know I have plenty of plants in bloom but they are not exciting like the flowers of June. I always go off the garden for the first 2 weeks in July.

  9. Kris P says:

    There is certainly a lot to enjoy in your July garden! I love all the blues but my favorite may be that Solanum you dismissed – it’s flowers make a bigger splash than my own native California Solanum xanti.

    • Chloris says:

      I !love all the blues that appear in July. My Agapanthus are just coming into bloom now. The Solanum is full of bloom but I prefer the white one Solanum jasminoides and a gorgeous new white and lilac one I have called ‘Creche du Pape’.

  10. Things are looking good to me, part of the wonder of gardening is the ephemerality of it all – there are beautiful plants that bloom year round here that I get tired of!

    • Chloris says:

      You are quite right, we really value the short- lived beauties like peonies, but I can see one wouldn’ t appreciate plants that are always in bloom so much. The best things in life always seem elusive and impossible to pin down. I just wish June would last a bit longer it is the best month in the year, nothing can compare with it.

  11. Don’t panic. It is all looking rather lovely and full of flowers. I really like the textures in your scabious/allium photo.

  12. Cathy says:

    I am sure your blogging friends would be very polite and say just the right sort of things – which in fact all the existing comments do, of course. And as you said yourself at the end of the post there is obviously more going on than you thought, despite the slowing down of your roses (but what gorgeous roses!). Pollen beetles here too – and slight concern about the aconitum death which I shall google further 😦

    • Chloris says:

      This is the worst year ever for pollen beetles, any white flowers are covered with them. My theory is they are on the increase because of all the oilseed rape they grow round here.
      That story about the death associated with Aconitum has made me feel a little wary. The other thing I am wary of is Euphorbia, specially at this time of year when we have bare arms.

  13. mattb325 says:

    I think your garden is absolutely stunning and I would love to come and visit, even if it isn’t looking as good as you would like! I’ve just planted half-a-dozen wolfs bane in the shadier areas of the garden, and I think, like you, I had the store of that poor chap in my head whilst doing it as I wore thick gloves and then scrubbed my hands immediately afterwards! If you are going to take cuttings from the lavender hedge and start again, maybe try pruning it with a light-weight strimmer (I used to do this when I had a lavender hedge in Sydney). It sounds brutal, but it was wonderfully quick, and unlike secateurs, you tend to keep yours at the same height all the way, and it is difficult to cut into old wood. It replicates the harvesters that they use commercially and those lavenders live and bloom for about 20-40 years with such treatment.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Matt and thanks for the hint about trimming the lavender. I always do too little too late. It is only 4 years old so I am ashamed to have let it get like this. Fortunately it is easy from cuttings, so in time I can replace it at no cost.

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Lovely two weeks ago I can believe but it is still magnificent! I’m especially fond of the blues and reds. That red lily is scrumptious. Eryngium bourgatii ‘Picos Blue’ is a real attention getter. And I always forget to plant Monkshood. Love that nice blue color.

    • Chloris says:

      I love blue and the many different sorts of Campanula are really useful just now. I am a bit worried about the Aconitum since reading about the death last year, but there are some lovely ones. There is one called ‘ Stainless Steel’ which I love.

  15. Brian Skeys says:

    So much variety and colour still in your garden it is hard to choose a favourite. Going out with the camera does draw attention to what is ‘on show’ at any one time. I must go out with mine.

  16. Chloris says:

    Going out with a camera is a really good way of assessing what you have and how it could be improved upon. Since I have been blogging for over a year I like to look back and see what was happening last year.

  17. bittster says:

    Rose filled is a perfect description for your front garden. It looks fantastic! Are your neighbors gardeners as well or does your garden stick out as an oasis of flowers? Just curious.
    I’m also liking orange and purple more and more as well as magenta and pink. Who would have thought? I hate to think I’m following some kind of trend but at least it’s good to know I’m in excellent company.
    I love the scabiosa, I’ve never been much of a fan before but that color is amazing. The potato vine though… it’s colorful at least… but even the golden variegated one doesn’t do anything for me, and I usually love anything gaudy and variegated.

    • Chloris says:

      None of my neighbours are as fanatical as I am.
      It is interesting how our tastes change. I enjoy different colour combinations now, specially orange and purple which I wouldn’ t have considered before. One always thinks one is being very original and then you suddenly look round and everybody is doing the same thing. It was the same when I named my daughter, I thought I was very original, I didn’ t know anyone else with her name and then when she got to school there were lots of them.
      That Scabiosa is a gorgeous colour and always covered in butterflies.
      The Potato vine looks too much like a potato to be exciting but I have a new beauty called Solanum laxum ‘ Creche du Pape’- now that is special.

  18. Flighty says:

    it’s all looking pretty good to me, especially as the plot is rather frazzled and unkempt. xx

  19. I was wondering what those little black bugs were that are all over my flowers too – as you say, not very photogenic. I always think June is the best month in the garden when everything looks so fresh, but nevertheless, some lovely bloomers in your garden right now in all hues.

    • Chloris says:

      I can’ t remember the pollen beetles ever being as bad as they are this year. There are plenty of beautiful flowers to come later this month but I am always sad when June is over, it is the crown of the gardening year.

  20. Pingback: Garden Bloggers’ Blooms Day: the Unmentioned | Rambling in the Garden

  21. Well, I don’t know–I think it looks great in July, too! Of course, your June roses were spectacular. But the Scabiosa, Lilies, and Eryngium are gorgeous, as well. Just lovely.

    • Chloris says:

      It is starting to look better now after a bit of dead heading and tidying up and it has rained so things have stopped hanging their heads in such a dispiriting way.

  22. Every time I post pictures of my garden I suffer from Garden Blogger’s Remorse – some plants are always maddeningly not yet at their peak, while others are past their prime. I’m glad you realized that your garden has wonderful offerings even after the peak of the rose season – though your roses are MAGNIFICENT. Speaking of which, your ‘Sally Holmes’ is far more robust than my own. How old is it? I suppose the rabbits don’t chew yours to the ground over the winter?

    • Chloris says:

      It has been a fantastic year for roses. Sally Holmes is 4 years old. No, I don’ t have rabbits at the moment. The neighbour’ s cat has started using my garden as a public convenience which I object to as I don’ t a!ways wear gloves. , But to be fair he does keep the rabbits down.

  23. gardenfancyblog says:

    I seriously don’t know what you’re talking about — your gardens look great! You still have so many beautiful flowers blooming now. You’re probably just physically tired, something that always makes me terribly dissatisfied with my gardens, and everything else too. After a nice nap and a cup of tea things always look much better (don’t I sound British now!). Thanks for sharing all your lovely and very interesting plants with us. -Beth

    • Chloris says:

      It’ s just the July blues, I get it every year. The garden loses its freshness and so do I. I We had a very dry period and everything looked tired and used up. We’ ve had some rain now and it looks a lot better. Of course, a nice cup of tea is the answer to most of life’ s prob!ems.

  24. Angie says:

    I had a feeling the opening paragraph was kind of tongue in cheek Chloris – as I scrolled down I just knew I was right 🙂
    Your garden is looking great and is full of so many interesting blooms. I am a fan of Aconitum and was always aware of the issue with it but on hearing that story recently about the death I was actually toying with the idea of removing them from the garden but decided that providing I keep them out the way at the back of the borders there would be less risk. I note the comment above re the Garden News I must look into that.
    Lilium Night Flyer is a stunner and of course the Cardiocrinum is rather special.

    • Chloris says:

      I wasn’ t really being tongue in cheek Angie, the early July garden always depresses me a bit, specially after a drought. But we have had some rain now and I have tidied it up and dead headed so I will soon get enthusiastic again.

  25. homeslip says:

    I’m now wondering if what I thought was black fly is in fact pollen beetle. I don’t yet wear glasses while gardening but maybe I should. I love all the long and wide shots of your garden, context is everything and your context is delightful. I’ve been re-reading “A fFlower for every day” by our friend Miss Fish for inspiration for my July garden. In the meantime I’m just waiting for the anemones, crocosmia, agapanthus, Schizostylis, digitalis and grasses to get going!

  26. Chloris says:

    I love M. Fish, have you read ‘ We made a Garden’ ? I love the descriptions of her overbearing, know- all husband, Walter.
    I should wear glasses in the garden if I were you, it helps to protect the eyes apart from anything else.
    I know there are all sorts of wonderful p!ants to come and I do enjoy them, it is just early July which a!ways depresses me a bit.

  27. I agree that there’s something about walking around a garden with a camera that makes you see the beauty or at least the interest that you might miss without it. But I can also appreciate the sentiment of “you should have seen it a month [or two] ago. Our heat, lack of rain, cloudless sky, and unblinking sun have been wearing down even the bravest of my sun-loving plants. The blues and purples in your front garden are beautiful and so cooling to my eyes. And the grouping of the Cotinus with that wonderful Lonicera makes a really light and lively combination. Those ‘Beaujolais Bonnets’ Scabiosas are fabulous! I’m going right out (when the heat breaks) to see if I can find some around here.

  28. snowbird says:

    I think you have a gorgeous July garden! So many lovely plants….gosh,, that is scary re the Wolf’s bane, I’ve heard how dangerous it is….we have Deadly Nightshade popping up all over the place and I panic as our dogs have got used to eating berries from the fruit bushes, no matter how many times I pull it up it comes back….
    I must say it was a pleasure seeing more images from your June garden, the roses were simply heavenly around your front.xxx

  29. Crikey Chloris ,the garden looks great even now in July. I had no idea those tiny little black flies that all over the flowers are pollen beetles. Are they a good or a bad thing? or just ugly?

  30. Debra says:

    Perfection. When I was about 14 I visited England and saw for the first time in my life what a garden could be. A lot like what you have going on. It was a revelation that people could live in beautiful places. It changed my life.

  31. You have a lot in flower, I love all the blues, your garden has a lovely summery haze of blooms, Frances

Leave a Reply

