Wordless Wednesday. Summer Snow.

Codonopsis grey-wilsonii 'Himal Snow'

Codonopsis grey-wilsonii ‘Himal Snow’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Summer Snow.

  1. AnnetteM says:

    What a lovely pure white.

  2. Christina says:

    You do have an amazing number of very interesting plants Liz! How do you also manage to have a garden that feels beautifully relaxed and coherent?.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Christina, I grow this in a pot in the greenhouse. It is quite fragile. It is hardy and people do grow it outside, but I would be worried about damaging its new shoots when weeding.

  3. Chloris says:

    It is indeed a lovely plant Anca.

  4. What a beauty. One to cherish.

  5. sueturner31 says:

    Is this by any chance from Crug ? I’m going there in a few weeks time and this is on my long long list… 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Oh lucky you going to Crug, Sue. No I didn’ t get it from Crug, I grew it from seed. It flowers in the second or third year from seed. I had one or 2 failures when I first tried because the seedlings are so delicate and don’ t like being transplanted. Best to leave them in the pot, then divide them up in the second year, when the little tubers are dormant.
      If it sets seeds I will send you some if you would like to try it.

  6. pbmgarden says:

    Can never have enough white-flowering plants. This one is totally new to me. What a beautiful bloom.

  7. Chloris says:

    It is lovely, I love all the Codonopsis but this is the only one I grow, I love the pure white.

  8. Sam says:

    That’s new to me – lovely. Very pretty. I’m going to look up other Codonopsis now!

  9. Gorgeous flower – tell us more!

    • Chloris says:

      You don’ t see it in nurseries very often because it grows quickly and gets tangled up with other things if you are not careful. It is very fragile. You can probably find seed for it. It is a tuberous plant which dies down completely in winter. It think it is best to grow it in a lot and then you can keep an eye on it. It is hardy though.

  10. Kris P says:

    It’s very pretty – and not a plant I’ve ever seen here.

  11. sueturner31 says:

    I also grow C. Tangshen same as you I keep it in a pot for fear of losing it. This does sometimes flower from first year seedlings. I will also have seed of this if you haven’t got it…mine is probably 10 years old now. My Crug list gets longer, but you never know what might be available by August.

  12. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A beautiful pure white!

  13. snowbird says:

    Oh my……that is simply gorgeous!xxx

  14. Chloris says:

    Would you like to try some seeds Dina?

  15. Good title. Beautiful flower and photo!

  16. Chloris says:

    Thank you Beth, it is a very photogenic plant.

  17. stunning! I think white is my favourite plant colour for its simplicity and elegance.

  18. Debra says:

    So pretty. I am really appreciating white flowers for offering at least a visual relief for the heat.

  19. I’ve never heard of this plant but it’s a beauty. Is it a vine?

Leave a Reply

