Wordless Wednesday. Yellow Powder Puffs.

Azara serrata

Azara serrata

 

Azara serrata

Azara serrata

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Yellow Powder Puffs.

  1. Christina says:

    Oh! I like that, Chloris!

  2. croftgarden says:

    A cracking plant. Definitely should be more widely grown. I’ve grown Azara microphylla in the past but I can’t remember how hardy they are.

    • Chloris says:

      They need a sheltered position so no good for you, I’ m afraid.. They are reasonably hardy although very hard late frosts will make the leaves go black. They recover though.

  3. snowbird says:

    How lovely, I recently bought one, much smaller than yours though!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      It is fast growing. I grew this from a cutting from a tree I had in a previous garden. It is only about 7 or 8 years old from a little twig.

  4. Pauline says:

    I believe that they have a wonderful perfume too.

    • Chloris says:

      I know, they are supposed to smell lovely. I can’ t detect any scent at all on mine. But it is pretty, much showier than Azara microphylla.

  5. We have Powderpuffs here, of course they don’t look like those -they are pink and red!

  6. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Sweet little yellow powderpuffs. I always admire this plant in bloom!

  7. I thought it looked like my Azara microphylla, but larger – and later – flowers. Do they smell just as gorgeous? So pleased you’ve shown us this gem!

  8. Chloris says:

    It is supposed to smell lovely Ali but I cannot detect any scent at all. It is pretty though. I grew it from a cutting. I don’ t know whether it is easy or I struck lucky. I will take some cuttings later this summer and see if I can get any more going for anyone who would like one. I was amazed how quickly it grew into a tree.

  9. mattb325 says:

    Such a lovely shrub/small tree – the yellow always looks so stunning against brick walls

  10. Julie says:

    I’ve just read your comment about growing from a little twig, that must very rewarding to see such a fine specimen now. Lovely!

  11. What a lovely shrub/tree! I’m not familiar with it. I looked it up and found out it’s only hardy to about 15F/-10C. So, of course it wouldn’t survive my winters. I will enjoy its beauty virtually on your blog. 🙂

  12. Kris P says:

    It’s an interesting – and attractive – genus. Too bad the only species that seems to be suited to my own area wants regular water.

Leave a Reply

