In a Vase on Monday. Apple Blossom Time.

DSC_0304
As Shakespeare said: ‘Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May’. How right he was, we often have windy days in May. Last week we had some very strong winds and storms of blossom were swirling round the garden. But the apple blossom seems to be hanging on quite well, and I can’t remember when there was so much of it. I thought I would pick some before it goes over so that we can enjoy its delicate fragrance inside.
DSC_0309
So there we have it, my contribution to ‘In a Vase on Monday’ which is hosted by Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden. Thank you for hosting Cathy. Everybody loves this meme and more and more people are joining in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Apple Blossom Time.

  1. Christina says:

    Apple blossom is so pretty, ours was finished long ago, without me even posting about it – ours was also very prolific this year.

    • Chloris says:

      I don’ t suppose ours will last long we are having so much wind lately. I love apple blossom so much I always wish it wasn’ t so fleeting.

  2. Oh they look heavenly and smell even better.

  3. Flighty says:

    It’s a really lovely blossom. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    I love your apple blossom, it’s so delicate isn’t it? I came home just in time to see my aged apple tree in bloom, I hope the winds drop or there won’t be much of it left!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      This wind is becoming a bit of a bore but at least it was a warm wind today. It does feel as if summer is here. I love apple blossom, it is so pretty and smells delicious.

  5. Cathy says:

    Simple but very effective and your little glass vase is perfect for it. Our apple blossom was in full flow when we got back but many of the petals are on the ground now or clogging up the stream. It would make gorgeous confetti, wouldn’t it?

  6. pbmgarden says:

    The fragrance must be nice. Not sure I know what the blossoms smell like though–like the fruit? The subtle range of colors is lovely.

  7. Cathy says:

    Quite simply beautiful! I bet it smells nice indoors. I often find fragrances much more intense when brought into the house.

  8. Chloris says:

    I agree Cathy, the scent is stronger in the house. I never thought of bringing apple blossom inside before, I am really enjoying it.

  9. Chloris says:

    No the blossom doesn’ t smell of apples. It is delicately floral. Absolutely delightful.

  10. Really pretty bouquet ! Congratulation !!!

  11. Julie says:

    I really love the simplicity of this, I had not noticed a fragrance before, I shall pay better attention. We’ve had lots of Apple blossom too this year, more than I can remember in previous years, wild crab apple blossom in the hedgerows seems to be more noticeable too.

  12. Chloris says:

    Thank you Janet, apple blossom is one of those fleeting delights of May.

  13. Anna says:

    Simply quite beautiful Chloris. I think that the scent is reminiscent of baby’s talcum powder. My apple trees are all on dwarf rootstock so I think that there will never be enough blossom for me to pick.

  14. Debra says:

    We had apple trees in the backyard where I grew up. Seeing yours brought back great memories. Very pretty.

Leave a Reply

