Wordless Wednesday. Magic in the Garden.

 Molly the Witch.

Paeonia mlokosewitschii

Paeonia mlokosewitschii

 

Hocus Pocus

Iris pumila 'Hocus Pocus'

Iris pumila ‘Hocus Pocus’

Pink Snow.

Pink Snow

Pink Snow

DSC_0987
Canary Birds

Rosa xanthina 'Canary Bird'

Rosa xanthina ‘Canary Bird’

Rosa xanthina 'Canary Bird'

Rosa xanthina ‘Canary Bird’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Magic in the Garden.

  1. Christina says:

    The flowering cherry has a use after all, making it look like it pink snow! Canary bird is lovely and so big, wonderful!

    • Chloris says:

      We had a very windy day yesterday and it really did look like a pink snow storm. I love Canary Bird because it blooms so early, often in April.

  2. Julie says:

    Canary Bird is stunning, its not a rose I have grown, wonderful to have it looking so profuse this early, it reminds me a little of Mermaid, but I think you have that rose too.

    • Chloris says:

      I really value Canary Bird for its early flowers although if I was choosing I would go for the very similar Helen Knight, it has much brighter, buttercup yellow flowers.
      You remember my Mermaid? Oh please don’ t talk about her, she has turned up her toes and died. I suspect honey fungus.

  3. mattb325 says:

    The pink snow from the frilly knickers tree is spectacular. Although I can hear hayfever sufferers sneezing from over here 😉 The paeonia has such a delightful flower for such a wretched name!

    • Chloris says:

      I blame that tree for lots of things but I don’ t think the blossom is too much of a problem for allergies. It is the acres and acres of oilseed rape round here that are making me sneeze.
      The peony is very special and she is known as Molly the Witch because her real name is unpronounceable.

  4. rusty duck says:

    Molly the Witch seems to take a while to settle in. I’ve had it three years and no flowers. It was the same in my last garden. Next year?
    Love Hocus Pocus too, I bought one last week 🙂

  5. Chloris says:

    I transplanted a Molly once because I wanted to bring her with me when I moved. She lived on but stopped flowering. I found out it was because I had planted her too deeply. If you plant it too deep it will never flower. In any case Molly does take a few years to settle down, it is worth the wait though.

  6. Cathy says:

    She’s perfection!

  7. AnnetteM says:

    Lovely photos of your garden. I have made a note of Molly the Witch and the yellow rose too that you recommended above. How much space does Molly take up? I wonder if she would be OK up here. I have been looking for a red peony, but they all seem to be pink. I hadn’t thought of yellow before. The pink cherry blossom is lovely, isn’t it. We have a smaller tree doing the same here.

    • Chloris says:

      Molly does not take up much room and her flowers are exquisite, a lovely pale lemon. They start flowering in April. But from winter on you have nice plump red buds to enjoy. It is expensive to buy and takes a while to get established. I grew some from seed once and after a long wait the flowers were a muddy pink, Molly had had a fling with my pink Paeonia mascula. If you buy one make sure it is not seed grown.

  8. Love your snow. Can you tell me the name of the upright evergreen? I have photo taken at Great Comp with a similar one and it’s been plaguing my mind.

  9. Chloris says:

    The upright tree is Taxus baccata ‘ Fastigiata’ and it is actually on borrowed time. I’ m thinking of either getting rid of it completely or chopping it down and letting it start again. It has got too big and blowsy.

  10. Cathy says:

    Especially love the pink snow!

  11. jenhumm116 says:

    So your Frilly Knickers have fallen down? 😉

  12. gardenfancyblog says:

    How lovely! And again, the knickers look just as beautiful as pink snow as on the branch. Magical. Thanks for sharing. -Beth

  13. Anca Tîrcă says:

    What a magical garden you have, Chloris!

  14. Val says:

    What an enchanted garden you have. Truly wonderful photo captures of the falling blossoms~ as one other commenter said ,” like pink snow” ~love all the soft colours of the other flowers and the contrast of dark green of the central tree~ like a garden in the land of the Fae.

  15. Peter/Outlaw says:

    What a special time of year that brings exotic pink snow and bright yellow canary birds to your garden. I’m in love with ‘Hocus Pocus’, a darling iris!

    • Chloris says:

      I love little irises and Hocus Pocus is such an unusual colour. I have a similar one called Gingerbread Man which is very pretty too.

  16. sueturner31 says:

    My Molly seems to be having a year off …healthy but no flowers this year I think it was maybe too dry in the winter/spring…. my hocus pocus is doing great as is canary bird…looking forward to more of your pictures…

  17. Fun title! Never seen anything like Hocus pocus before, especially the thick, furry blue ridges.

  18. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful, beautiful. Hocus Pocus is intriguing–never seen an iris with its coloration. I just planted a Paeonia yesterday and after seeing your comment am going to lift it up a bit to ensure it’s not too deep.

  19. I love the names! Truly bringing magic to your garden…

    • Chloris says:

      I think all May flowers are magical but I couldn’t resist putting Molly the Witch and Hocus Pocus together in a post about magical flowers and then we had a windy day and there seemed to be a pink snowstorm.

  20. Kris P says:

    Spring is the time for magic. I love all the magicians in your garden.

  21. Sarah says:

    I would love to add Molly the Witch to my garden. I have tried her from seed a few times, but to no avail. Now I know why. There is a good example growing in the long herbaceous border at Polesden Lacey that I alway admire. I seem to recall the flowers are quite fleeting but the buds and seed heads make up for that. You have so many wonderful plants in your garden Chloris, I love all this virtual visiting.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Sarah. You are right Molly’s flowers are fleeting but the plant is lovely at every stage. Unfortunately they are very expensive to buy.

  22. Cathy says:

    Magic indeed 🙂

  23. Flighty says:

    Lovely pictures. xx

  24. Anna says:

    I’m bewitched and bedazzled Chloris by your fabulous flowers. Pink snow here too yesterday drifting in from next door.

  25. Aha! I didn’t quite understand about the pink snow, but from the comments I see that there are cherry blossoms, am I right? Ah, yet another fruit tree I can’t grow here.

    I had never seen “Canary Bird” before. I think her simple blooms are quite sweet.

    By the way, I wanted to let you know that, per your recommendation to a comment I left on your blog last fall, I placed an order with Cayeaux for a few irises, and the first has flowered this week. I’m quite happy with them, so thank you!

  26. Debra says:

    Forgive me but now I am thinking of that old Runaway’s song: ch-ch-ch cherry bomb. That is a really pretty rose. I think the colour yellow is gorwing on me.

  27. snowbird says:

    I loved the title of this post…..smiling away here I am. Molly the Witch…WOW! And as for that Hocus Pocus, isn’t it astonishing, I’ve never seen that before, I am besotted! Dare I ask if the snow is Frilly Knickers??? If so, you must surely like it now! Yes!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, the snow is indeed frilly knickers. It was quite a sight billowing round the garden like one of those snowstorm things with little people in that you shake. Not so lovely now, getting on your shoes and being trodden into the carpets.

Leave a Reply

