Mayday in the Garden.

I am a day late I’m afraid, for Helen‘s  End of the Month View, but here is my view of the garden on the 1st of May.
DSC_0899

DSC_0752
Here we are standing with our back to the house and I’d like to take you for a stroll round. To the right of us is the weeping pear tree which I keep shaped. Under it there are snowdrops in winter, red tulips in early Spring and in late Summer I grow white Impatiens .
DSC_0897
To the right, under the Prunus ‘Pink Knickers’ there is the little pond round which I always have pots of seasonal plants to protect the fish from the heron who patrols every morning.
DSC_0920
DSC_0904
The Acer is planted here and there is a bog garden which I will show you later this month when it will be looking its best.

The bed  in front of the wall is a shady bed for winter and spring interest.

DSC_0911
DSC_0910 The trilliums are still going strong and blue flowers are Lunaria annua ‘Corfu Blue’ which is a lovely Honesty which is new to me this year.

Along a bit to the gate which I designed for a previous garden and had made up by a local blacksmith. I had to have the gap in the wall made a bit bigger to accommodate it. On the left is a Skimmia with Azara serrata behind which I grew from a cutting. To the right there is my Azara microphylla with a golden Philadelphus in front.
DSC_0786
If we walk through it we can see the view from the other side.

The tree is a greengage tree. If we look down from here, we can see the greenhouse where all my seedlings and cuttings live. One day I will tidy it up a bit so that I can show you inside.

DSC_0811
If you look the other way there are two very old apple trees which have lovely mossy bark.
DSC_0791
I will let you have a peep in the other greenhouse because I use it to display whatever is looking good at the moment. DSC_0796
If we carried on the path here it would take us past the old stables which I use as sheds and then on to the old pond and eventually to my new winter garden. This path is in need of a tidy up, so for today we will go round the other way.
DSC_0929
The Camassias are putting on their all too brief appearance. The yellow flowers are Euphorbia robbiae which is very invasive but quite jolly in spring.
I have the tree peony, Paeonia gansu here which I grew from seed 7 or 8 years ago. Last year it had its first flower. This year there are 4 buds.DSC_0944
We had better retrace our steps a bit because I haven’t shown you the bed in front of the wall, the other side from the old apple trees.

DSC_0913
Erythroniums do well here. The lilac flower is Lunaria rediviva. The tree to the left is a mulberry and the yellow rose ‘Canary Bird’ is just coming into flower.  At the back of this bed there is an old brick path; it is overgrown with self-seeded Angelica at the moment, but one day I will clear it up. The Uvularia in the next picture is a dainty little thing, but I saw  a much bigger, darker yellow one in Beth Chatto’s garden last week, called Uvularia grandiflora.   My Uvularia is growing with white Dicentra, (I know, I know, it’s not called that any more, but you know what I mean.) The deep blue is Omphalodes verna. 

DSC_0935
If we carry on our journey down the garden, we come to the Wisteria which I am trying to train as a standard. It is grown from a layered piece of the one in my previous garden.
DSC_0943
The tired looking Lavender is part of the Lavender ‘Hidcote’ hedge which I have planted all round the terrace in front of the summerhouse. I haven’t pruned it well enough, so this year I will take cuttings and start again. If we carry on down the garden there is my new winter garden on the right, but you have seen enough of that lately. The daffodils have finished blooming in the orchard but the buttercups are in bloom and the apple and pear blossom are out. Soon there will be a froth of cow parsley behind these trees.

DSC_0953
DSC_0958
In my vegetable raised beds there is chard, potatoes and broad beans. Next year I will be able to start cutting the asparagus. My scarecrow is still in hibernation in the shed.
DSC_0960
This is turning out to be such a long post, so let’s hurry back down towards the house, past the summerhouse which is looking very shabby, but it is going to be painted next month, so I will show you this area then.
In the long bed Acer brilliantissimum is looking fabulous. The Amelanchier next to it has finished flowering but it is getting its new bronze leaves. Behind is a Whitebeam, Sorbus aria and to the other side is Malus ‘Golden Hornet’
DSC_0971
DSC_0942
My other seed grown Paeonia Gansu is also in bud here. This one has shell pink flowers.

Last year I saw tulips growing amongst Tellima grandiflora and as I have a drift of this, I thought I would put tulips here.
DSC_0884
Persil-white Exorchorda x macrantha ‘The Bride’ is such a lovely plant. It looks great with blue Omphalodes verna.
DSC_0886
I like to have white brightening up the shade and the white variegated Honesty, Lunaria annua ‘Alba variegata’ is perfect for this, along with the viridiflora tulip ‘Spring green’
IMG_7445

DSC_0874I will finish this long post now and save some other areas for another time. I hope you have enjoyed the stroll round my garden. Thank you to Helen, the Patient Gardener for hosting this meme.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Mayday in the Garden.

  1. Tina says:

    Your garden is just gorgeous!! So, so beautiful–what a lovely Mayday garden you have. I love your spiderweb gate–charming. My son is currently studying in the UK and attended a sunrise Mayday event–so fun! We don’t do much with Mayday here in the States.

    • Chloris says:

      Well it does seem a pity that the old traditions of celebrating Mayday have disappeared, although some villages in rural areas carry on with Maypole dancing.Our Bank holiday is now on the first Monday in the month. Thank you for your lovely comment about my garden.

  2. alison says:

    A wonderful stroll round your garden, I was with you every step of the way and enjoyed your ‘commentary’ as you took us around! I particularly like the variegated Honesty and ‘Spring Green’ tulips planting combination.

  3. Fantastic. Some inspiring combinations. I particularly liked the Tellima and tulips.

    • Chloris says:

      I have to admit I borrowed the idea of growing the tulips amongst Tellima from the beautiful garden of Ulting Wick, near Maldon in Essex. If you get a chance to visit this garden I thoroughly recommend it, specially at tulip time.

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    I truly enjoyed this stroll around your beautiful garden! So many treasures tucked into each area! Lunaria annua ‘Corfu Blue’ is new to me & I will look for it as other Lunaria grows so well for me.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Peter. I have only recently discovered ‘Corfu Blue’ it is very pretty. Do you grow Lunaria annua ‘Alba variegata ? I love it and it comes true from seed.

  5. Angie says:

    Stunning! If I had to draw my perfect garden, yours would be it Chloris. It is crammed full with so many wonderful plants and some super combinations.
    I had a dwarf variety of the Exochorda and lost it too flooding a couple of years back. I do miss it.
    Thanks for the stroll, it was thoroughly enjoyable!

    • Angie says:

      I meant to say, thank you so much for your offer of some R. Brazen Hussy. I’d be happy to accept. I was looking for a link to an email or contact button but can’t seem to find one. Maybe there isn’t one. Is there another way I can send you my address?

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Angie, what a wonderful compliment. Exochorda is gorgeous and very easy from seed. I have just given away the last of my young plants but I can send you some seeds later in the year if you would like some.

  6. Anca Tîrcă says:

    What a gorgeous garden, Chloris!Thanks for such a lovely stroll!

  7. Fantastic, makes me want to get on a plane to the UK to see more.

  8. Sarah says:

    What a lovely wander round your beautiful garden Chloris. There is so much to see I’m going to read it again. I saw some stunning magnolias at Winkworth Arboretum yesterday and thought of your recent post. They looked so at home growing in woodland, much better than when grown as single specimens.

  9. Julie says:

    You have such a wonderful inviting garden, every view is lovely. I especially liked the old apple trees, but could happily accommodate any of your views you have shown us today.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Julie. It is fun to do some long views for a change. I always enjoy getting an idea of the overall view of bloggers’ gardens.

  10. jenhumm116 says:

    What a lovely tour, there’s so much to see. Thanks for sharing!

  11. mattb325 says:

    Absolutely stunning garden! I particularly like the Acer brilliantissimum – such a punchy colour, but it doesn’t dominate the garden unnecessarily – as for everything else, I’m green with envy 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Matt. The Acer is a wonderful sight in spring, unfortunately it gets dull as the year goes on but the silver whitebeam beside it continues to look good.

  12. Cathy says:

    You have a very beautiful garden Chloris! It seems you have a lovely mix of shade and sunshine too. I like the tulips contrasting with foliage… the variegated Lunaria is lovely – I never knew there was a variegated one! The pots under the Pink Prunus look effective too. I imagine that bench to the left of it is a wonderful place to sit and admire the rest of the garden…

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy. I have not got as much sun as I would like. This garden is very long established and has so many mature trees. I do have one sunny border though which is at its best in late May and June and I will show it then.

  13. You have a very beautiful garden Chloris, and I love the gate, well worth enlarging the gap for. I have never come across Lunaria annua ‘Corfu Blue’ it definitely goes on my wish list, I need more blue at this time of year,.

  14. Meriel Murdock, Co. Wicklow, Ireland says:

    Just fantastic

  15. Great garden with a very important collection of three, flowers and vegetable, it’s quiet 🙂

  16. snowbird says:

    What a treat to get to see so much of your garden, I now have a good idea of the size of it! Wow….it is gorgeous, I love how it is laid out with so many places of interest, not to mention the paths and greenhouses, I love the pots and that gate is just delightful! Surely you must have a secret team of gardeners toiling away behind the scenes??? What a credit the garden is to you!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Dina. No secret team of gardeners I’ m afraid. Just a very reluctant husband who doesn’ t believe in outdoors, but is cajoled outside now and then to sit on the ride on mower.

  17. rusty duck says:

    A fabulous tour Chloris. The trilliums look great. Which variety is it and how much sun do they get? I’ve just bought another couple and am agonising over where to put them.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jessica. I found these trilliums growing in the woodland garden in my previous garden in full shade. The clumps seem to increase a bit each year. I keep them in shade. They like a fertile soil that is not water logged but does not dry out. I give them a top dressing each year. I am not sure, but I think they are Trillium albidum.

  18. gardenfancyblog says:

    How absolutely beautiful your garden is looking at this lovely time of year! That first photo is especially nice, with the flowering “knicker” tree (which again, I love!) and everything looking so fresh and green and tidy. Thanks so much for sharing this look at your gardens. -Beth

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth, it is indeed a wonderful time in the garden. April, May and June are the best months. I just wish it would all slow down.

  19. Brian Skeys says:

    You have plenty of spring colour and some more unusual plants in your garden. I am envious of your mature fruit trees and love the gate.

  20. Anna says:

    Oh I did enjoy my stroll round your beautiful garden Chloris, I’ve seen tantalising glimpses of lunaria ‘Corfu Blue’ on a couple of blogs recently but mine has still to flower. The shady bed looks fabulous. Tulip ‘Spring Green’ and the variegated white honesty make a most pleasing to the eye combination. I have both but had never thought of introducing them to each other. Arrangements might well be put into place 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Corfu Blue is such a pretty colour, I hope it will seed around as freely as all the others.
      I went to Chenies Manor in Bucks last week and they have a wonderful display of tulips. They had a white corner with this Lunaria and various white and cream tulips and white forgetmenots. It looked wonderful.

  21. Helen Johnstone says:

    Your garden is lovely. What is the domed tree with greyish leaves in the 3rd picture. I am jealous about your tree peony flowers, I bought one some 5 years ago in flower and it has never flowered since :(. The woodland border is lovely

  22. Chloris says:

    The grey leaved tree is a weeping pear, Pyrus salicifolia. It has to be clipped 2 or 3 times a year to keep it this shape. I bought the tree peony seeds from Chilterns; they were called Paeonia rockii. In fact this name is invalid and they should be called Paeonia ‘ Gansu Group’. The genuine Rock’ s Peony which is a lovely pure white with maroon blotches was grow by Stern at Highdown. I have a 2_ year old seedling from a cutting of this and I am anxious for it to flower . But of course the bees will have been busy so this probably won’ t be anything like its parent.
    I hope yours will flower soon, it does take a while.

  23. Kris P says:

    I’m speechless, Chloris! It’s a very beautiful garden – and it looks huge. Your garden gate is wonderful too. There are glorious plants and flowers at every turn. The shade bed with the Lunaria and tulips made my heart leap.

  24. Chloris says:

    Oh thank you Kris, that is a compliment indeed coming from you. Your garden is so packed with beautiful plants.

  25. Julieanne says:

    What a wonderful stroll around your garden, I really enjoyed this. That view from the other side of the gate, with the blossom above is, is quite stunning. I’ve not heard of a weeping pear tree before. Does this produce fruit too?

    I like the tulips through the Tellima. That’s a very nice idea and I think I might ‘steal’ it 🙂

  26. Chloris says:

    Hello Julieanne, I am glad you enjoyed it.
    Pyrus salicifolia ‘ Pendula’ does have small fruit but they are hard and inedible. I have 2 trees in the front garden which get white wild and wooly and they have blossom and fruit. This one is kept hard clipped so it doesn’t get a chance to bear fruit.

  27. Your garden really deserves all the superlatives it gets in the comments. I love, love that part of the border by the mulberry tree. And the part with the white trilliums along the wall (T. grandiflorum?). And that first view of the grass stretching like a green avenue between the flowery borders. And all your small flowering trees … I could go on … Happy May Day to you!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jason, I appreciate your kind comment. I’ m not sure which Trillium it is as I brought it with me from my previous garden. I thought that maybe it is Trillium albidum.

  28. Absolutely beautiful! Do you open your garden to the public at all?

  29. pbmgarden says:

    I feel I’ve really been down your garden paths today and have a much better understanding of the layout of this beautiful place. Interesting and lovely plants and combinations of plants and views.

    • Chloris says:

      This meme is really useful to get an idea of the layout of each others’ gardens. I sometimes get so excited by lovely plants that I forget to show them in context.

  30. Robbie says:

    LOVED THE TOUR!!!! wow-you have some space to work with and what great ideas. I love the idea of a moon garden in the shade:-) I love all the tulips, but I have never seen white ones before look that lovely. The shapes are interesting. I am going to try and add some more next year, you have inspired me to add some white ones to my moon garden:-)
    I put in pacific purple asparagus( you know me and purple veggies), well, it is year two and I read I could take one spear from each one only…I had to try and see if it was as amazing as people say. The asparagus we get in our grocery stores is “blah + bitter.” It was like candy! Not so much the tip but the made stem was SWEET:-) I was stunned and now I know what people are talking about when they LOVE asparagus-no bitter at all:-)
    Your spring garden is peaceful and full of all the colors of spring. Your garden is so vast compared to mine, but I am working on introducing more to my small space in successions or seasonal interest-where some disappear and reappear in the same space-tee hee.
    I love your garden + I bet you are out there every day-I know , I would be:-)

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Robbie, yes I do garden every day and still I never catch up. Your garden might be smaller but I am amazed at how much you manage to cram in.
      Homegrown asparagus is wonderful I can’ t wait to start eating mine. I was worried last year because the plants were badly attacked by asparagus beetle but they seem to have recovered.

  31. Cathy says:

    Wonderful tour – thanks so much! It is a superb garden – almost too much too drool over. But, like everyone else, I am particularly impressed by ‘Corfu Blue’, the variegated lunaria and the tulip/tellima combination. And I wish I could grow a tree peony from seed. I seem to have lost my seed touch. Interesting, particularly, that you had the seed from Chiltern. Perhaps I should be brave and try again…

  32. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cathy, I do appreciate your lovely comment. I think you have more chance of success with tree peonies if the seed is really fresh. I had some seeds from Ivan Dickens who was chief propagator at Notcutts. He has a Paeonia suffruticosa ‘ Rockii’ which was propagated from Stern’ s ‘ Rockii’ at Highown. It is the most exquisite thing imaginable. My seeds germinated readily but all but one got eaten by a mouse. This precious plant is now planted out and I hope I will get flowers in a couple of years. I do so hope it will be like its parent. I was disappointed when my Chilterns ones turned out to be magenta and pink.

  33. AnnetteM says:

    What a lovely surprise – I found this post that I had missed at the beginning of the month. I always enjoy walking round your beautiful garden and usually end up adding a few more plants to my wish list. Today it is Lunaria annua ‘Corfu Blue’ and some white Trilliums. It is always difficult to picture properly the layout of people’s gardens, but i think i have yours better now. I keep meaning to create a plan like Cathy has on her site as it is such a good idea. It is just finding the time. . . .

Leave a Reply

