Wordless Wednesday. Gooseberry Fool.

Ribes speciosum

Ribes speciosum

IMG_0452

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Gooseberry Fool.

  1. How beautiful! I’ve never seen this plant in bloom.

  2. Cathy says:

    They remind me very much of Fuchsia flowers. How lovely to have such an exotic flower so early in the year!

    • Chloris says:

      I agree, they are very like Fuchsia flowers. In fact, I think its common name is Fuchsia- flowered Gooseberry. This Ribes needs a warm wall , but it is worth finding the right spot for it.

  3. Wow, that is great – do you make fool with the gooseberries (I think that is an English dessert/pudding?) It really could be me that is the fool..

  4. Chloris says:

    I do make gooseberry fool but that is with the fruit from Ribes uva- crispa, not with gooseberries from this shrub. This is an ornamental gooseberry. I gave it the title to see if I could fool anyone.

  5. How stunning…just like a fuchsia.

  6. mattb325 says:

    I’ve never seen this one before – it really does look like it has fuchsia flowers, but then you get those wonderful leaves…very nice indeed!

  7. Kris P says:

    Very pretty and very different from my Ribes (R. viburnifolium). According to my garden guide, V. speciosum will grow in my area but, for some reason, I’ve never seen the plant here.

  8. Chloris says:

    You don’t see it here very often either and I don’ t know why, it is very eye- catching. I have never coma across Ribes viburnifolium, that sounds interesting

  9. As many have said, they remind me of Fuchsia blooms, too. Which reminds me–I need to get out and buy my Fuchsia plants for the hummingbirds! Yay! How long do the Gooseberries bloom? They’re lovely!

  10. gardenfancyblog says:

    I had no idea this plant existed. I only have the spiky fruiting gooseberry — this sort isn’t hardy in my area. So I’m glad you posted this! Very beautiful dangly flowers. Thanks! -Beth

  11. A new one on me too. I rather like the combination of the foliage and flowers.Thanks for introducing this plant to me!

  12. Chloris says:

    It is very welcome in Spring with its bright red flowers.

  13. Flighty says:

    I see that you beat me to it as I was going to say that they remind me of dangly earrings! xx

  14. Chloris says:

    Exactly. Perhaps I should wear them.

  15. Very stunning, I’ve never seen a Ribes with a flower like that! But when do we get dessert?

  16. Chloris says:

    Sorry, no dessert with this gooseberry. Just pretty flowers. And nice glossy leaves too.

  17. snowbird says:

    how pretty! I love it!xxx

  18. bittster says:

    So many interesting plants… I was considering myself downright cutting edge with my two edible gooseberries, but now I’m feeling vaguely unsatisfied 😉

    • Chloris says:

      I’m sorry but I don’ t think you could grow this one with your cold winters.
      I’ve got a new edible gooseberry this year which is a standard with a nice round head. It looks very cutting edge.

  19. Peter/Outlaw says:

    This is a great and prickly plant! Just ran out to see and mine is blooming too!

  20. Cathy says:

    Most intriguing flowers – I don’t think you have shown them before

  21. Chloris says:

    It is a lovely plant for a sheltered wall and it has nice glossy leaves too.

Leave a Reply

