In a Vase on Easter Sunday.

I am joining in with Cathy‘s ‘In a Vase on Monday’ meme this week, but as it is Easter I am doing it a day early, so that I can have a nice fresh vase for when the family comes for lunch.
DSC_0256

I have a  little French Dubarry cracked egg vase which is perfect for Easter arrangements.
DSC_0273
I put the arrangement in the birdbath to photograph it in natural light. There are so many jewel-like flowers out in the Spring garden to match the colours on the vase.
DSC_0271
DSC_0263
The flowers I used are three little Narcissus. There is a N.’Bridal Veil” which I had left in the greenhouse from last year; also Narcissus ‘Tete-Tete’ and the tiny N.canaliculatus.
I used lots of different sorts of Primula, Pulmonaria, a tiny Tulip clusiana, Muscari, Iris lazica, a small Hyacinth, the white bells of Leucojum aestivum, the scrambling Akebia pentaphylla which is just coming out, some starry white flowers of Skimmia japonica subsp. ‘Reevesiana’ and some orange leaves of the Spiraea japonica ‘Goldflame’.

DSC_0264

Tomorrow, if you go over to RamblingintheGarden, you can join in with Cathy’s meme ‘In a Vase on Monday’ and see what everyone else is enjoying in their Easter vases.

Meanwhile Happy Easter!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to In a Vase on Easter Sunday.

  1. Cathy says:

    Very lovely Chloris! Happy Easter!

  2. Happy Easter! You’ve found just the right blooms to honor your stunning vase; I’m sure the family will be wowed. Tim and I are bereft of loved ones today, so we’re planning a waterfall hike for the afternoon. Perhaps Mother Nature will be kind enough to provide the bouquet. Joy to you and yours!

  3. Chloris says:

    Happy Easter, Marian. I’ m looking forward to seeing what flowers you find on your hike. And what creatures. Have a lovely time.

  4. Christina says:

    I Hope you’re having a lovely time with your family Liz. The flowers are a beautiful testament that it is spring in your garden. Today the weather is horrible here; I’m hoping for some sunshine tomorrow.

  5. Flighty says:

    Pretty! Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A perfect arrangement for Easter! Your flowers echo the colours on the vase beautifully! I hope you and your family have a delightful Easter together!

  7. It works beautifully. Love the muscari curling down. Happy Easter.

  8. Kris P says:

    What spring bounty! Happy Easter!

  9. bittster says:

    Beautiful arrangement, like something straight out of a Dutch impressionist’s dream (minus the tulips?) Happy Easter!

  10. Debra says:

    Happy Easter! Your family will love it.

  11. Happy Easter! The vase is gorgeous to start with, and then adding those colorful blooms makes for knock-out display. The burgundy and yellow Primulas are particularly dramatic. Gorgeous!

  12. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday: Having My Cake and Eating It… | Rambling in the Garden

  13. Happy Easter to you too! Hope your beautiful display was appreciated 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Yes they did remark on the flowers, I think I am going to have to look out for more vases like this one for the girls. You don’ t see them very often though.

  14. Just beautiful and such a perfect grouping for Easter — so full of life and happiness. You made my day with your flowers.

  15. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Such a joyful bunch, perfect for a special day spent with family! Happy Easter, Chloris!

    • Chloris says:

      Happy Easter to you too Anca. I believe the Romanian Orthodox Easter is a bit later than ours, so perhaps you have yours to come. And you have painted eggs don’ t you? Perhaps you will show us some.

  16. snowbird says:

    A truly charming bunch of flowers, perfect for Easter! Your cracked egg vase is a real gem and sets the flowers of beautifully. Hope you had a lovely lunch and a wonderful Easter.xxx

  17. Cathy says:

    This is so lovely, Chloris – and your ‘cracked egg’ vase is very pretty and ideal for this collection of blooms, picking out their colours beautifully. I am not surprised you want to seek out more of these vases. I was very retsrained by sticking to my primroses,this week, but hopefully I can do something bright and jolly next week. You will be pleased to know i bought some very vulgar primula at a car boot sale today, quite possibly the same as one you have in your vase – Tequila Sunset 😉

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy and yes, I remember now, that one was called Tequila Sunset.
      I am delighted with my eBay cracked egg vase.

      • Cathy says:

        Ooh – an eBay buy! Were you looking for it specifically or did you come across it randomly?

      • Chloris says:

        I was looking for one and I was lucky that this one came up. I was kicking myself that a very pretty one that I saw a few weeks previously was unsold at 99p! I forgot to put a bid in. This one was considerably more, but never mind, I like it.

      • Cathy says:

        It’s best to put a nominal 99p bid at the start as then at least you will get an email to say the listing is ending so you can up it if need be. I had a look on eBay after I saw yours but they are almost all from America with hefty postage…

  18. Anna says:

    Oh now that must have looked a treat on the table Chloris – almost good enough to eat 🙂 I hope that you had a most enjoyable lunch with your family and that there was plenty of chocolate for afters.

  19. Chloris says:

    Thank you Anna, it did look pretty and we had a lovely lunch and my daughter brought chocolate so there was lots of that too. Probably too much.

  20. pbmgarden says:

    Beautifully exuberant. Bet the family was wowed with your great selection of blooms for Easter. And the egg vase is perfect.

  21. Amy says:

    What a delightful arrangement for Easter – lovely vase and a wonderful plenitude of flowers…

  22. Jewel-like is a perfect description, Chloris. The colours echo the vase perfectly. It must have provided a beautiful centrepiece to your Easter table. Nice to see such bright flowers, too. My garden is predominantly pink and yellow at the moment. Not for long, though. I have some cheery primulas (maybe even Tequila Sunset?) to plant out from another Mother’s Day arrangement, just going over.

  23. Julie says:

    What a stunning collection of flowers Chloris & I love that cracked egg vase. I hope you had a lovely family time over the easter weekend.

  24. Chloris that cracked egg vase is perfection for Easter. I adore it…and the flowers you picked are wonderful and pick up the colors in the vase…

  25. such a glorious arrangement! I always find that the light is much better outdoors for taking photographs and love your vase in the bird bath – an inspired idea!

  26. Wow, Chloris. What a beauty. Your garden is exceptional – you always have bloomin’ stuff!

  27. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cynthia, I try to have plenty of all interesting things in bloom all year round but Spring is always the most exciting time.

Leave a Reply

