Wordless Wednesday. Little White Stars.

‘When it is dark enough you can see the stars.’ Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Albuca nelsonii

Albuca nelsonii

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Little White Stars.

  1. Helen Johnstone says:

    Good photo, small white flowers are so hard to photograph

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Helen. I am still trying to get the hang of my new camera, so if I get a good shot it is luck at the moment. I am hoping to improve as I get used to it.

  2. Christina says:

    Delicately beautiful

    • Chloris says:

      It is lovely but unfortunately not hardy. Albuca shawii which has pretty yellow bell- like flowers is hardier and would probably survive outside with you.

  3. Cathy says:

    Not come across this before, Chloris – I assume it is not hardy in the UK?

    • Chloris says:

      No, it is not hardy, it is South African and makes a huge round bulb which sits on the surface of the pot. I grew it from seed from Chilterns. It makes lots of offsets so I am always giving them away. It has a smaller, daintier cousin called Albuca shawii which I grow too and that has pretty yellow bells.

  4. pbmgarden says:

    This is so lovely. Love the green markings.

  5. Little but great star and so elegant

  6. Nell Jean says:

    So pretty, dainty white blossoms.

  7. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Sweet little white stars!

  8. Flighty says:

    I really like small flowers such as these, and think of each one as a miniature masterpiece. xx

  9. Very nice. I don’t know this plant.

  10. Kris P says:

    Very pretty! They’re hardy here but I’ve never seen them in the local nurseries. I’ve been looking for a cousin of this one, Albuca spiralis, for years.

    • Chloris says:

      I grew this from seed, it took 2 or 3 years and made a huge bulb. I don’ t know Albuca spiraliis but I grow Albuca shawii which is very pretty and easy from seed

  11. That’s a new one to me! Definitely a little white star!

    • Chloris says:

      It is pretty and I just sniffed it because someone asked me and it smells of almonds, which I know would appeal to you. I will send you a baby if you have anywhere to keep it frost free.

      • Oooh! It certainly does! Chloris, thank you and that’s so kind of you! Sadly, I have no greenhouse or conservatory and would struggle to keep it frost-free. But thanks for thinking of me!

  12. mattb325 says:

    That is a beauty and I’ve never seen it grown here (I don’t think it would be hardy in my garden). It certainly is a collectors item here in Australia: a quick internet search reveals prices of about $32 for a single bulb….your friends are very lucky to get them for free!

  13. Angie says:

    Pretty little blooms

    • Chloris says:

      The flowers are very pretty , the only problem is the long stalk. Maybe if it flowered outside in Summer it wouldn’ t have such a giraffe neck.

  14. snowbird says:

    Awwww. how heavenly, loved the quote too.xxx

  15. I had to look it up. Some call it Summer Snowflakes. Gorgeous plant! Does it have a pleasant scent?

  16. Chloris says:

    I hadn’ t noticed until you asked me but I just sniffed it and yes, it is delicately perfumed. It smells of almonds.

  17. Debra says:

    Perfect quote. Love star shaped flowers.

Leave a Reply

