Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. March.

Spring is here at last and we have daffodils and primroses to prove it.

The little Narcissus cyclamineus is so tiny that I am keeping it in a pot until it bulks up a bit. Narcissus canaliculatus is a lovely diminutive Narcissus which started life in the greenhouse because its new home wasn’t ready. It doesn’t usually grow as tall as this. The native Narcissus pseudonarcissus seeds around in a very obliging manner so I have several areas where it is getting nicely established.

Nothing says Spring quite like a primrose. Some verges round here are already covered in them. I have purist gardening friends who are appalled by the idea of planting some of the showy new hybrids, but I wanted a bit of instant colour for my new winter garden and I think they are lovely. They come in such rich colours.

Many winter stalwarts are still going strong and have been providing pleasure for weeks now. Here are some of them.

Hellebore have also been delighting us  for weeks and I let mine seed because I like great swathes of them.


But I prefer to look forward to Spring now and take such pleasure in watching fresh things come into bloom each day. I love the little Cherry, Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-mai’ which comes from the slopes of Mount Fuji. It has little pink flowers on twisted bare branches. This is a shrub rather than a tree.

Prunus incisa 'Kojo-no-mai'

Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-mai’

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the greenhouse my apricot tree has blossom for the first time. There was even a bee in there yesterday pollinating it for me.
DSC_1005
Pulmonarias are getting going all round the garden but they will be at their best in a week or two.

Pulmonaria

Pulmonaria

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every Spring I am delighted when my little Corydalis appear. They  vanish entirely when they have finished flowering so I am always worried in case I plant something else on top of them.


Scillas are just showing buds which will open into little blue bells. This Scilla bifolia is a bit earlier and has star-like flowers.

Scilla bifolia

Scilla bifolia

I will finish with my first Fritillary in bloom. It is cheating a bit because it has been in a pot in the greenhouse and so it wouldn’t be so far forward if it was in the ground outside. It is a relation of the Crown Imperial and a very aristocratic looking Frit.

Fritillaria raddeana

Fritillaria raddeana

Why don’t you join in with Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day which is on the 15th of each month? Show us what you are enjoying in the garden now that Spring is here. Thank you to Carol at Maydreamgardens for hosting the meme. If you go over there you will be able to share other bloggers’ blooms from around the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. March.

  1. Wonderful! What is the plant on your title page?

  2. Chloris says:

    Thank you. The plant on the header is Tropaeolum tricolor. In this country it usually needs greenhouse protection. I have one growing outside against a warm sunny wall though.

  3. hoehoegrow says:

    Loving the coral double primrose! It really feels as is Spring is finally here, and there is more colour every day.
    (Will be posting your plants tomorrow Chloris)

  4. A pretty spring flowers collection !

  5. rusty duck says:

    Congratulations on the apricot blossom. It looks gorgeous in itself, but will there be fruit do you think? Wouldn’t that be marvellous..

    • Chloris says:

      I used to grow apricots in a poly tunnel in a previous garden and I always got a good crop of delicious fruit. I don’ t know what variety this is but I hope it will crop well too. This is the first year that it has flowered. I bought it 3 years ago when I saw it being offered half price at a garden centre. It will need careful pruning to live within the confines of a greenhouse but I think they need the protection of glass.

  6. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Wow, such rich and beautiful blooms! A nice reward after winter : )

  7. Peter/Outlaw says:

    So many beautiful things in bloom in your garden! Spring has definitely arrived for you. Happy GBBD Chloris!

  8. Hooray for the sweet spring flowers! such a tonic for a winter-weary Canadian, Chloris.
    And I now realize the meaning of the word “primrose” and it’s all because of your reference to La Primavera (first green) on my blog. Primrose, I just realized, means “first rose”!
    See, Chloris? You keep teaching us, even when you (may) have no such intention!

    • Chloris says:

      Well I didn’ t make the connection either, but now that you point it out I don’ t know why I didn’ t think of it before. Of course it is ‘ first rose’. Thank you!

  9. Pauline says:

    Spring has certainly arrived in your garden. I have to confess too about buying some brightly coloured primrose, but they don’t go anywhere near the woodland where I like to keep my primroses pure! The roadside verges and banks are so pretty here too, driving is pure pleasure at the moment.

    • Chloris says:

      And you have plenty of wonderful Spring plants in bloom too. I always enjoy a virtual stroll round your garden . You have similar tastes to me, so we always seem to be enjoying the same things at any time of the year.

  10. Alison says:

    Happy Spring and Happy GBBD! You have some beautiful Primroses. I too love the new doubles. I wish my Hellebores would self-sow. They always get big fat seedpods, but then nothing seems to come from that.

    • Chloris says:

      That is very odd they self seed here with gay abandon. I wonder why they don’ t do it with you. A lot of people say you should’ t let them self seed because the children will be wishy- washy and uninteresting. I think there is no such thing as an ugly hellebore and I like to have carpets of them.

  11. Two words: Very + envious. 🙂 What a wonderful explosion of sunshine yellow!

  12. Beautiful flowers! Lucky you to have so many blooms. I love the primroses especially.

  13. mattb325 says:

    Spring is certainly awakening and everything looks splendid. The primroses are amazing, I really like those new varieties, and while they are not true to the older varieties, the fantastic colours make them so worth while!

  14. Oh my! Yes, spring is in all its glory in your garden! I let my Hellebores go to seed, too. I can’t wait to see them blooming soon after I get home. I’ve heard the Snowdrops are starting to bloom now. I don’t want to miss anything! Happy GBBD!

  15. Kris P says:

    You’ve so many wonderful treasures, Chloris! I love primrose. Only a few varieties grow here and I planted only one species (P. obconica) this year but they stopped flowering altogether once our weather got warm – they’re a winter bloomer at best here. I love your hellebore collection too. Happy GBBD!

  16. Meriel Murdock, Co. Wicklow, Ireland says:

    I always enjoy your blogs, but this one especially. I let my hellebores seed too & have had some nice crosses. You? I’m sure I never bought any white ones other than H. niger so either H. orientalis crossed with it or perhaps they arise naturally. I especially like H. lividus (or that’s what I think it is) with very delicate shallower pendant pink flowers where you can just glimpse yellow stamens. So far it’s a much smaller & perhaps less hardy plant. Somehow it has that refined Japanese look. I love them all though.

  17. snowbird says:

    Oh goodness, how delicate and pretty everything is looking! I love Fritillary raddeana, gorgeous that, and the Kojo-no-mai is divine. How marvelous that you have apricot blossom, it would be something to have apricots wouldn’t it? My peach tree is about to blossom, the peaches last year were rancid as it had leaf curl but it held most of it’s leaves until really late. I wonder if it has miraculously been cured? A pipe dream probably.xxx

    • Chloris says:

      The dreaded peach leaf curl. I believe it is caused by spores that infect it in Spring time rain. If you could only keep the rain off it early in the year it would be OK.
      I should get apricots, I grew them in a previous garden in a polytunnel.

  18. Angie says:

    Everything is looking so good in your part of the country Chloris and I how good to read that there was a bee helping out with the apricot blossom. I hope it tells all its friends and brings them along.
    I love the top left primrose, its a gorgeous colour. I had two trays of singles in a similar colour that I gave away to my neighbour as I couldn’t find the right spot for them in my garden. Nice to see that spring has sprung down there.

  19. pbmgarden says:

    Nice to see your blooms. The form of the Narcissus cyclamineus caught my eye immediately–really like that. Love your collection of hellebores too.

  20. The primroses have such bright and varied colors! I love the one with the golden yellow center and maroon outer petals.

  21. These pictures make me ask myself why I don’t have a single primrose in my garden.

  22. Cathy says:

    There is so much to love in your spring garden – those orange primulas for example! It’s nice to be reminded of what’s to come here… my cherry and pulmonarias will need a week or two, and the corydalis too. Happy Spring Chloris!

  23. After a week of nasty weather in Washington, DC, I feel very cheered from visiting your garden. Very taken with your Prunus incisa. Hope I am able to find a few blooms in my own when the sun comes up this morning.

  24. It’s all blooming lovely! I did notice some lovely colour combinations, there, Chloris – the beautiful dusky pink hellebore with the Carex, and the fiery primula with the Uncinia rubra. Looks like your winter border is shaping up nicely.

  25. Debra says:

    I just love primroses — my favourites are the buttery yellow ones but just look at the colour in yours! Very pretty.

  26. Christina says:

    Prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-mai’ is really special, I wish I could find it here; I’ve seen it planted en mass at Wisley and the effect was stunning.

  27. Anna says:

    Oh I enjoyed your March display Chloris. Your garden seems to be much further on than mine. No signs of a second showing of blossom on the autumn flowering cherry yet and no flowers yet on my prunus incisa ‘Kojo-no-mai’. You must be so excited to see the flowers on the apricot – fingers crossed for a harvest later this year.

  28. gardenfancyblog says:

    I don’t like to sound like a broken record, but again, I can’t believe how much you have blooming in your gardens. Your primroses are so lovely — don’t let the snobs tell you what to plant. And that flowering apricot! Thanks so much for sharing all your beautiful flowers with us. Happy Springtime! -Beth

  29. Thank you for sharing those wonderful daffodils. I love the tiny cyclamen one. So many beautiful blooms in your garden.

  30. TheDigger says:

    Beautiful photos as always 🙂 So I’ve nominated you for a blogging award- https://diggingforsanity.wordpress.com/2015/03/18/look-at-my-bulging-trophy-cabinet/

  31. Cathy says:

    Thanks for sharing early spring in your blooming garden Chloris. I think I could get quite used to the frilly primroses…. very pretty 🙂 I too invite my hellebores to self seed although so far only one has, although it is probably the first one I ever bought so it had a head start – one of her babies has flowered this year for the first time and is the spitting image of her mother. We have got a lovely sunny day here today after a foggy start – hope it’s nice for you too.

  32. Flighty says:

    A lovely, colourful selection. I’m always happy to see the narcissi and blossom at this time of year. xx

Leave a Reply

