In a Vase on Monday. Summer Snowflakes

By coincidence I see that Cathy who hosts the meme, In a Vase on Monday, at Ramblinginthegarden has used snowflakes in her vase today. Cathy has used the delightful little Spring snowflakes: Leucojum vernum which bizarrely seem to come into bloom later than the Summer ones: Leucojum aestivum  which I have used.
DSC_0663

Cathy and I agree that the little Spring ones are prettier in every way than the tall Summer ones. For a start their flowers are bigger in comparison with the stems and leaves . Their flowers are shaped like the old fashioned Tiffany lamps. They have green tips to their flowers. You can also get a delightful one with yellow tips to the flowers which is called Leucojum vernum var. ‘carpathicum’. There is  also a twin-headed one called Leucojum vagneri. These little ones are slow to spread in my garden. The tall ones though are everywhere. I don’t know whether a previous gardener was particularly fond of them or whether they seed around a great deal.
If you cannot tell the difference between snowdrops and snowflakes then it is useful to remember that in snowflakes all the six segments of the flower are the same length. In snowdrops you have three small inner segments and three small outer ones.

I showed some little Leucojum vernum in my recent Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day post. Here is a photo I took last year of another clump which is  not out yet. I think the dark Euphorbia and the fern set them off nicely.
IMG_0249
Now look at the plant of Leucojum aestivum  and you will see that it doesn’t have the same charm.

Leucojum aestivum

Leucojum aestivum

Still they are  useful for a February arrangement and they go quite nicely with my Bristol blue vase.

Leucojum aestivum

Leucojum aestivum

Thanks to Cathy for hosting the meme and do go and see her lovely arrangement and see what everyone else has found to put in a Vase on Monday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. Summer Snowflakes

  1. Simply but so pretty 😉

  2. I grow the Leucojum aestivum in my white garden and mine bloom profusely and make quite a sight….I have never seen the ones Cathy is using. I love the Leucojum aestivum in your vase Chloris.

    • Chloris says:

      Perhaps you have the variety called Gravetye Giant which is more impressive than this ordinary one as it has larger flowers.
      The smaller ones Leucojum vernum are late winter treasures and very precious as they are slow to spread.

  3. Julie says:

    Lovely bouquet and very helpful tip on identifying too!

  4. pbmgarden says:

    The Leucojum aestivum look wonderful in your beautiful blue vase. I enjoyed reading the details about identifying these little flowers.

  5. Cathy says:

    I agree – they look lovely in your blue vase Chloris. I grow the aestivum too; “Gravetye Giant”. They don’t have as much leaf and are very tall and large. Mine won’t flower for another couple of months though!

  6. snowbird says:

    I now know the difference between a snowflake and snowdrop! They do look ever so pretty in that vase! I have been looking online at snowdrops as I am now becoming besotted with them and I was in shock and awe….I tell you, at the prices of some of the more collectable ones….by gad…..some can cost £150 for a single bulb, I think that could bring on a stroke in my hubs!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      In 2012 Galanthus Elizabeth Harrison sold for £725.10 on eBay. I believe it was bought by Thompson and Morgan and they twinscaled it in order to build up stocks to sell commercially. The twinscaling went wrong and they lost the lot!
      It is a sad fact that the snowdrops we really yearn for are ridiculously expensive.

  7. Cathy says:

    Love this vase of yours, Chloris – such a useful shape too for supporting the flowers. These leucojum look great in it – I must check the label on mine as I thought they were probably Gravetye Giant but they are certainly as leafy as yours. One of the A vernum in my vase had a twin head but I think it is a one-off. Thanks for sharing today 🙂

  8. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cathy, yes it is a pretty vase, I am very fond of it.
    Gravetye Giant is a good form of Leucojum aestivum.
    Thank you for the mention in your post today. I love your vase of little leucojums.

  9. They are lovely! And the vase makes the arrangement! I see that you used some of the foliage, too–that looks great!

  10. Kris P says:

    The tall ones do work well in a vase even if they look a little leggy in the landscape. Thanks for the discussion of the difference between snowflakes and snowdrops. While nothing with “snow” in the name is likely to grow here, at least I can recognize the difference should I run into them elsewhere.

  11. Christina says:

    I like the taller blooms in the vase and if you only use them for cutting they are worth growing. I am wondering if they need less water than snowdrops, I would be happy to have the shorter Leucojum vernum blooming instead of snowdrops if they would be more suitable. Your arrangement looks delicate and is beautifully set off by the blue vase.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Christina.
      Leucojum vernum grows in damp woodland so I don’ t know how happy it would be in your garden. A snowdrop like S.Arnott would probably be alright on your slope.
      The tall Leucojums need moisture, you can even grow them in a bog garden.

  12. Flighty says:

    An enjoyable, and informative, post. They look lovely. xx

  13. Annette says:

    They look lovely in this pretty vase and next to the red Euphorbia foliage in your border. Did you find it hard to establish them? I read they can be tricky. I really ought to plant some this autumn. Bet your winter garden is looking great.

    • Chloris says:

      I do find these little leucojums tricky. I brought them with me from my previous garden where they seeded about happily. Here, they haven’ t spread at all and the clumps haven’ t got any bigger.
      I have been working hard on my new winter garden, it is gradually taking shape. I willl show you when I have finished it, although there will be lots of bare soil for a year or two until everything fills out.

  14. Debra says:

    I just love that grouping of the Leucojum, Euphorbia and the fern. What a lovely amazing place your garden must be.

  15. You are right, the dark foliage of the Euphorbia makes a beautiful foil for the Leucojum vernum, something to remember for my own garden. I’m always sorry this time of year that I didn’t get more bulbs planted in autumn.

  16. AnnetteM says:

    I also have some “Gravetye Giant” bought as bulbs quite a few years ago from Edinburgh Botanic gardens. However they are now getting lost under a rhododendron, but I am scared to move them as I have heard that they might sulk for a while. They haven’t really divided very much either – maybe they need a bit more light? This might be the year they get moved.

  17. Chloris says:

    Your Leucojums may be too dry. They like moist positions. I would move them. If they die I will send you some more.

  18. Anna says:

    A case of less is more Chloris – a simple but most effective vase 🙂

  19. Anca Tîrcă says:

    Lovely, thanks for sharing, Chloris!

  20. I had no idea there were summer snowflakes. I think I prefer them in winter/spring. But your bouquet is lovely. I love cobalt. :o)

  21. bittster says:

    I’ve never seen summer snowflakes show off any better. I’m not a fan and this is the first time I’ve ever considered giving up a spot in the garden to them!
    Strange that they’re blooming now. I think Pauline had a clump in bloom during the winter last year and I though it was odd then too. Must have something to do with a dry fall or a weak winter cold or something. I bet they’re more welcome now, that’s for sure.

  22. Chloris says:

    Thank you Frank. I’ m not a great fan either but these are all over the garden and they are useful for a vase. You are right I don’ t take much notice of them when they bloom at the normal time. But anything which shows its head in winter is welcome .

Leave a Reply

