In a Vase on Monday. February.

It is bitterly cold at the moment and not the sort of weather to linger in the garden getting inspiration for a vase. So I picked a bunch of snowdrops.
DSC_0421
They are not any of my special ones; just the ordinary double Galanthus nivalis f.pleniflorus ‘Flore Pleno’.
I had never noticed until I picked this bunch, that they have a slight honey smell when you bring them inside.

The great thing about a garden that is several hundred years old is that there are pools of snowdrops which have been spreading for years and years. Some are single and some even have green tips,  and in other parts of the garden there are these double ones.

I arranged them, or rather, plonked them in a pretty  pink Medina Glass vase. I love the little dabs of white that look like snowflakes.

Do go over to Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden to see her vase and to find out what other people have found to put in their vases . Thank you as usual for hosting this meme Cathy.

Jason at Gardeninacity has shown us a beautiful Northern Cardinal  eating peanuts in his recent post. We do not have these beautiful birds in this country, but as I write,  the blue tits are enjoying the peanuts here too. They are a delight to watch.
DSC_0416

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to In a Vase on Monday. February.

  1. wellywoman says:

    Beautiful! I went to a talk about snowdrops at the weekend by Naomi Slade which was very inspirational. They make such a pretty arrangement and it’s lovely to be able to enjoy them in the warmth. 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Lucky you! Have you got her book? I would be interested to hear whether it is worth buying. have been debating whether to get it, as I already have the Freda Cox one, and of course the Bishop bible.
      I am going to do a post on snowdrops soon as all my special ones are in bloom or will be shortly.

  2. AnnetteM says:

    Lovely! I can’t wait to go and visit some snowdrop gardens around here in a few weeks.

  3. Christina says:

    The snow drops are lovely, Liz and suit the pretty vase. How nice to find they are scented.

    • Chloris says:

      I fell in love with the vase and bought it specially for snowdrops, so it is nice to be able to use it at last. The snowdrops give me so much pleasure.

  4. Imagine enough snowdrops to pick! Lucky you. And though you have no Cardinals, I would say Mr. Blue Tit is ample compensation, as he is quite elegant in his yellow vest.

  5. bittster says:

    Beautiful! We have the other type of snow, so this is a much nicer sight.
    One of the disappointments of moving into a mere hundred year old house was the discovery of zero flowers in the yard. How can a plot of land be tended for so long without the addition of anything other than weeds? I suspect another two hundred years would have made little difference for that yard.

    • Chloris says:

      If somebody had only had the foresight to plant a few snowdrop bulbs years ago, you would be enjoying carpets of them now, or when your snow goes. How thoughtless the first owners of your house were. The people who live in your house in a hundred year’ s time will have a lot to be thankful for with all your lovely snowdrops. .

  6. Oh what a perfectly lovely vase in flower and color….I can’t wait to pick some snowdrops in about 2 months…I am just imagining your garden with so many snowdrops….and hundreds of years old….my goodness. Maybe someday mine will have spread and someone will discover them.

    • Chloris says:

      They are lovely to pick and enjoy inside, specially when they are lightly fragrant.
      Yours appear late don’ t they? But then they are waiting under the snow I suppose.

  7. Debra says:

    happy sigh. Pools of them ….

  8. Lovely vase of snowdrops, very seasonal Chloris.
    Don’t you just love those wee blue tits – hardest working wee birds, by far!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Angie.
      I love the blue tits. Since I put the bird table right in front of the window, the squirrels haven’ t discovered the peanuts. The birds are safe here from the sparrowhawk who patrols regularly. There is a huge untidy winter jasmine for them to hide in.

  9. Cathy says:

    What a wonderful vase full of snowdrops! Having big clumps of them is definitely one advantage of an established garden… I can only hope mine spread more in the future.

    • Chloris says:

      It is a good idea to keep separating them when they have finished flowering to get more clumps. I don’ t do this with my special ones though. I am too scared of losing them.

  10. Julie says:

    That must be wonderful to have lots and lots of snowdrops in your own garden, they look lovely just plonked as well. What a cracking shot too of your Blue Tit, with so much detail.

    • Chloris says:

      The blue tit shot was taken through the window which needs cleaning but I have put the bird table just outside and it is lovely to be able to watch them.

  11. Cathy says:

    Very lovely Chloris – and the flore pleno would have been my second choice if the miniature vase hadn’t worked today, so I am pleased we have not both turned up at the party in the same dress. But if we had – no matter! Thanks for sharing 🙂 The first time I realised there was a fragrance was when I had dug some up and put them in a pot to take to an ex colleague who was off work and they (the snowdrops) sat next to me in the car. My naturalising snowdrops have some catching up to do compared to yours, even though parts of the house are possibly as old as yours, as they have only been going a little over 10 years.

    • Chloris says:

      I expect there will be quite a few more snowdrop vases before the end of the winter. They are a joy to bring inside.
      I am looking forward to hearing how you are got on at Hodsock. A friend of mine was there too. I wish it wasn’ t so far away.

  12. Hard to improve on a bunch of snowdrops in season! They look quite elegant to me.

  13. Kris P says:

    Several hundred years old? That kind of history is hard to imagine in the land of here today and gone tomorrow. I do love snowdrops but, sadly, they couldn’t survive in this garden, although my western garden guide does reference one, G. ikariae, that is supposed to tolerate our climate – provided it gets lots of water…

    • Chloris says:

      Galanthus ikarae is the one with green leaves isn’ t it? I always confuse it with woronowii which is very similar. Snowdrops are extra precious here because they bloom when not much else is out.

  14. gardenfancyblog says:

    How lovely! I had no idea snowdrops had scent — they are such an English flower; I’ve never seen any growing in person here in the US. I will have to plant some and see if they will spread and multiply here. Thanks for sharing your very pretty early spring arrangement! -Beth

  15. Julie says:

    I just love your vase of snowdrops Chloris and your picture of the blue tit. I really must photograph some if our birds. I was reading yesterday about the order of the dawn chorus – I had no idea that the different species all start to sing at set times before sunrise – I will be listening with a more attuned ear this spring. I am looking forward to our trip to Harvey’s.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Julie. I never knew that about the dawn chorus. I am always surprised how early in the year the birds start singing. It feels like winter but the birds seem to think that it is Spring.

  16. Your Snowdrop pickings have made me miss my old garden. I had been there for 16 years and had finally got drifts of snowdrops. Sadly here my blank canvas has nothing, totally blank. I do have a few in a pot that I lifted from my previous garden but as yet there is no sign of life. 😦
    I intend to scour the markets this weekend to hopefully buy some to start again.
    BTW Mr Bluetit is always a star!

    • Chloris says:

      You will miss your snowdrops but they are quite quick to bulk up. I think it is fun to have a blank canvas to work on. The garden will be so much more satisfying for being entirely your creation.

  17. That’s the perfect vase for your snowdrops! My solitary clump of “S. Arnott”, that we bought from Painswick, during their snowdrop season, is bulking up nicely, yielding a few for small vases indoors. It could be time to divide it up. I do think blue tits are one of our most beautiful birds – great photo!

    • Chloris says:

      I love the vase and I bought it specially for snowdrops. S. Arnott is a lovely snowdrop and a very good spreader.
      I love blue tits too. The photo would have better through a cleaner window. I hoped no one would notice that the window needs cleaning.

  18. Annette says:

    It’s snowing here as well, Chloris, and I just find it hard to get to our snowdrop wood this year with the weather playing up all the time, but I hope we’ll be heading towards spring after this cold spell. Thanks for this beautiful vase – these fairies really lift the spirit, don’t they 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      The snow didn’ t stay around here but it is still very cold. The snowdrops always amaze me with their resilience. They will lie flat on the ground and look very sad when it freezes hard but they perk up very quickly when the temperature rises. The hellebores are just the same. For a winter vase you just can’ t beat snowdrops though. I hope you can get out and ernjoy yours soon.

  19. Flighty says:

    I like white flowers as they contrast so well against green foliage. Blue tits are always such lovely, busy little birds. xx

  20. Chloris says:

    I love snowdrops, there is nothing quite like them for a winter vase.
    There are quite a few blue tits here this year. Last year there were more great tits about.

  21. snowbird says:

    Oh, how lovely, the pretty little snowdrops and the snow flecked vase. So they smell like honey eh? I really want some in a vase myself now, but given I only have four or so out I shall have to wait! What a sweet blue tit…..I often wonder how the poor things stand the cold.xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Snowdrops are so lovely in a vase. I never used to pick them because old wives’ tales used to tell us that bringing them indoors is unlucky. Even when I was old and wise enough to know better than to believe in such rubbish, I still didn’ t think of picking them. What a lot of pleasure you miss out on, if you don’ t bring these little gems inside, to enjoy in a vase. I hope you will soon have enough to be able to pick them too.
      It is a pity that blue tits don’ t have the sense to huddle together in roosts to keep warm like little wrens do.

      • snowbird says:

        Now there you go….my Irish/Catholic mother was fond of superstition…Never bring a bluebell into the house….struth…such calamity if one did,,,,but snowdrops, never heard a wrong word about them!

  22. Anna says:

    Nothing can beat a vase of snowdrops at this time of year Chloris. I’m convinced that they need a certain temperature to make the scent detectable. Growing my specials in a greenhouse has one advantage in that it’s much easier to get the nose to them 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      That would explain why we don’ t detect a fragrance outside. I have bought 2 which are supposed to be specially fragrant: Brenda Troyle and Ginn’ s Imperati, but maybe I need to pick a few to see if they really smell good or put some in a pot in the greenhouse.

  23. Cathy says:

    I keep loving and leaving snowdrops here and there, so I haven’t many at the moment. I will go to sleep dreaming of yours tonight!

  24. You always find the perfect vase for your flowers. How do you do it? This one is a perfect example.

  25. Chloris says:

    I bought this pretty glass vase specially for snowdrops. I saw it and just had to have it. It is just exactly right. I will probably only use it for snowdrops but I have different varieties in bloom from October until the end of March so it will get lots of use.

  26. Here’s what’s blooming in my garden: 100% of nothing. But I do love your snowdrops and vase.

  27. Robbie says:

    Lovely:-) I have to admit, cardinals are what makes our winters tolerable-that pop of red!

  28. I never pick my snowdrops which is silly as I have so many I could certainly spare a few. You have inspired me. It has gone too dark now but I will pick some in the morning and put them by my bed!

Leave a Reply

