Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. January.

Here we are in the depths of winter with an icy wind blowing, but never mind there are lovely things in bloom if we are hardy enough to go and look at them. Let’s start with the Witch Hazels. This is my newest addition; an extravagance but well worth it. May I present Hamamelis ‘Livia’.

Hamammelis x intermedia 'Livia'

Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Livia’

Bluebell Nursery describes the colour as bright red and so it is, but it also seems to have a purple tinge to it. Perhaps this is because each calyx is a purplish colour. I planted Livia besides the glaucous leaves of a Euphorbia.

I am particularly fond of Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Vesna’ which is named after the Russian Goddess of Spring. It reminds me of one I used to grow in my last garden, called ‘Strawberries and Cream’. Here it is with the first tassel just emerging from the bud.

Hamamelis x intermedia 'Vesna'

Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Vesna’

And today it is fully out. I love this one, the flowers are two tone; bright yellow with a lovely pinky  glow. They remind me of sea urchins.
IMG_2579
By the far pond I have the orange Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Jelena’ in bloom.

Hamamelis x intermedia 'Jelena'

Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Jelena’

I have a rather undistinguished Hamamelis mollis which has quite small tassels. I wouldn’t buy it again but it was cheap and I can’t resist a bargain. But it does smell delicious.

Hamamelis mollis

Hamamelis mollis

I quite forgot to check ‘Pallida’ to see if its lovely sulphur yellow blooms have opened yet, so I will save it for another time. The last to bloom is always ‘Arnold Promise’ so he is still to come. These witch hazels have the most delicious fragrance, some stronger than others. The Chinese mollis hybrids seem too have the strongest perfume. They are said to like an acid soil, but I don’t think it matters as long as they don’t become water-logged and never dry out. I keep mine watered in summer which is a bit of a chore, but well worth it. If you would like to see more witch hazels, keep your eye on ramblinginthegarden blog because Cathy is the Witch Hazel Queen.

The great joy of the winter garden is fragrance. I have talked about the queen of daphnes on this blog before. Now that Daphne bholua  ‘Jacqueline Postill’ is in full bloom by  the front door, I have noticed that anyone who comes to call has their nose buried in  her lovely flowers when I open the door.

Daphne bholua 'Jacqueline Postill'

Daphne bholua ‘Jacqueline Postill’

I love the scent of Chimonanthus praecox too. I have mentioned before that I grew this from seed. They are very easy from seed but they do take at least 7 years to bloom. I probably wouldn’t have done it if I had known.  I had to dig it up and keep it in a pot for a while when I moved. It sulked  for a year or two but now it is flowering again happily. They need a position where they can get baked by the sun to flower well.

Chimonanthus praecox

Chimonanthus praecox

Also in the front garden for the delectation of passers-by I have Mahonia japonica which is just coming into flower and smells deliciously of lily-in-the -valley. If you want a sweet smelling mahonia, this is the one to go for. Mahonia x media ‘Charity’ is lovely but it has just about finished flowering now and it does not smell nearly as sweet or as strong as this one.

Mahonia japonica

Mahonia japonica


Another pale yellow shrub with deliciously fragrant flowers is Coronilla valentina subsp. glauca ‘Citrina’. This has been living in the greenhouse but the scent is so delicious that I have decided to risk it by the back door so that I can see more of it. If the nights get too cold I will have to bring it in to the house.

Coronilla valentina subsp. glauca 'Citrina'

Coronilla valentina subsp. glauca ‘Citrina’

The pretty pink flowers of Viburnum x bodnantense ‘ Dawn’ are pleasantly fragrant and bloom on bare branches. They have got a little damaged by a hard frost this year.

Viburnum x  bodnantense 'New Dawn'

Viburnum x bodnantense ‘New Dawn’

My favourite winter-flowering Viburnum is the pure white Viburnum farreri ‘Candidissimum’. You don’t see it very often but it is worth seeking out. It needs to grow under trees to prevent the frost burning its flowers. I am afraid mine looks a little sorry for itself at the moment so I shan’t show you it today.
Viburnum tinus is flowering away all over the garden. I know evergreen shrubs are useful, but these leaves are dull looking and, as I keep saying, they smell. If you don’t believe me, go and sniff yours after it has been raining. Yuck. Anyway if you are determined to get one, ‘Eve Price’ is the one to go for.

Viburnum tinus 'Eve Price'

Viburnum tinus ‘Eve Price’

Skimmias smell lovely when the flowers open in the spring. The buds are a joy to look at all winter. Incidentally, they are very easy to propagate from cuttings.

More delicious fragrance is provided by the musky smell of Sarcococca hookeriana var. digyna which drifts all round the garden. This and Lonicera x purpusii ‘Winter Beauty’ are essential for a sweet smelling winter garden. This Lonicera is more floriferous than the more usually seen Lonicera fragrantissima.

In the greenhouse I have the early flowering Camellia sasanqua ‘Hugh Evans in bloom. It is quite a small flowered one, but very pretty. I have been admiring the lovely red Camellia sasanqua ‘Yuletide’ on a lot of blogs I follow. Maybe next year I will treat myself to one.

Camellia sasanqua 'Hugh Evans'

Camellia sasanqua ‘Hugh Evans’

Many of the roses have flowered valiantly all winter and it is time they had a rest. I have to agree with Reginald Farrer that they do look like ‘withered moths‘ by now. Well, this one does, poor thing.

Rose  Grace

Rose Grace

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Climbing up the fence and in bloom now is Chaenomeles ‘Madame Butterfly. The flowers are a pretty salmon pink and white. On the same fence I have a young Clematis cirrhosa ‘Wisley Cream’


A tree that I wouldn’t be without is the winter flowering cherry; Prunus x subhirtella ‘Autumnalis rosea’. This is the pink form but I love the white one two. The flowers are so much daintier than the spring flowering cherries.

Prunus x subhirtella 'Autumnalis Rosea'

Prunus x subhirtella ‘Autumnalis Rosea’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the ground there are quite a lot of treasures in bloom. Quite a few hellebores are out. I have noticed before that it is always the paler colours that come out first.


I have shown the last two Helleborus foetidus photos to show you how the seedlings vary.

The Summer Snowflake; Leucojum aestivum which I used in a vase on Monday has plenty more flowers. I have never seen it bloom in winter before.

Leucojum aestivum

Leucojum aestivum

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More seasonal are the lovely little winter aconites; Eranthis hyemalis which have pushed their little button heads up everywhere. If these little treasures are happy they seed around prolifically. I like to grow them in drifts with snowdrops and dainty little Cyclamen coum. They look like bacon and eggs.

Most people are familiar with the winter flowering Iris unguicularis but it has a close relation from Turkey which you don’t see so often. It is called Iris lazica. The flowers are very similar but it has glossy green leaves.

Narcissus minor ‘Cedric Morris’ was in bloom for Christmas Day and it is still going strong. The flowers last for a long time. The next daffodil to bloom in my garden is the January flowering Narcissus ‘Rijnveld’s Early Sensation’. The buds look as if they are about to open.


I have some snowdrops in flower but this is getting long enough so I will write a special snowdrop post another day. For now I will finish with two little harbingers of Spring a species crocus and a primrose.

Do join in with Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day and show us what you have in flower this January and on the 15th of every month. It is hosted by Carol at Maydreaamgardens. If you go over there, you will see what Carol and gardeners round the world have in bloom.

As so many of the plants I have written about today are scented, Christina suggested that I link in with Wellywoman  who is interested in starting a ‘Scent in the Garden’ meme. What better time to start a meme like this than in January when so many shrubs are scenting the air?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

91 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. January.

  1. AnnetteM says:

    What a lovely post to show what you can really achieve in a winter garden. I really needed to read it and take note as I have very little flowering at the moment. I have a couple of Skimmias and a Sarcoccoca which hasn’t done much yet, but that is about it from your list. I was pleased to get your recommendation for the Mahonia as I have already chosen a spot for one of those, but was dithering about which one to get. I love the Daphne bholua ‘Jacqueline Postill’ but looking it up it seems to need neutral to alkaline soil, and a sheltered and sunny spot. I might have problems meeting those conditions. I wonder if it would grow in a pot?

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Annette. Mahonia x media ‘ Charity’ and Mahonia x media ‘ Winter Sun’ are lovely and they start blooming in November and are only just finishing now. Mahonia japonica is just starting to bloom but it has far more fragance. So you have to decide which you value more early winter blooming or very strong scent.

  2. Christina says:

    you have so many of the winter-flowering plants I love, Liz. Strangely many of them flower later here than in the UK, I mentioned that about Viburnum tinus before, I know, I have Lonicera fragrantissima which is only just beginning to open. Your garden must be as beautiful in winter as it is in summer, or at least it must smell as good! Welly Woman is starting a meme about fragrant flowers you should link your post to hers, it fits the bill exactly.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment and the suggestion to link with Wellywoman as so many of my plants are fragrant. I have put in the link. I think the idea of a ‘ Scent in the Garden’ meme is a wonderful idea.

  3. Truly amazing. I’m taking notes. I thought I would have a decent post today and then last week’s artic blast froze every petal. That’s gardening.

  4. What a lot of flowers for January. My Melianthus has been trying to flower, but the frost has got it now. Thanks for your recent “like”. I am enjoying reading all your posts too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Penny. I have seen Melianthus flowers at Powis Castle, they are fantastic. I have never managed to get it to flower, they always get zapped by the frost here.

  5. Chloris says:

    Oh Marian, how disappointing. As gardeners we have to get used to having our hearts broken like this. Wouldn’ t it be nice to have a giant glass roof that you could roll over the top of your garden when the weather gets chilly?

  6. pbmgarden says:

    I’d love to walk through your garden in person to know those fragrances. You have such variety in winter, it’s very inspiring and educational to visit your blog.

  7. Very beautiful! Great selection. I was wondering if Livia and Vesna are like Jelena in which they are not fragrant or as much as some of the others?

  8. Chloris says:

    Thank you Flora. Livia, Vesna and Jelena are all Hamamelis x intermedia. They are a cross between Hamamelis japonica and Hamamelis mollis. They are stunning, but there are not as fragrant as Hamamelis mollis.

  9. rusty duck says:

    My latest Hamamelis mollis is still in its pot and currently in the greenhouse out of the wind! I shall go and see if I can pick up some of the scent there. Having never been able to smell them at all part of the reason for choosing it was the alleged strength of the fragrance.
    ‘Livia’ is gorgeous and I am totally smitten with ‘Vesna’, how beautiful is that.
    Apparently Daphne ‘Jacqueline Postill’ will be available to purchase again from autumn this year. I shall be first in the queue.

    • Chloris says:

      It should surely be smelling good in the confined space of your greenhouse.
      An alternative to Jacqueline Postill is Darjeeling which is lovely too, but I don’ t think it is as hardy.

  10. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Oh my what a lovely collection of blooms! The Witch Hazels have such unusual flowers with such lovely color. There is nothing like the colors nature comes up with! To imagine so many having a nice scent makes it all the more inviting. January looks good on your garden.

  11. jenhumm116 says:

    Oooh Chloris so many scented treasures, and I particularly love your witch hazels. I only have a yellow one, which I thought was Arnold’s Promise, but as you mention it’s late to flower I expect it’s something else – I’ve checked the label but it’s illegible.

  12. threadspider says:

    I love your winter garden! It’s full of all the things I want to have here but had forgotten, like the lonicera and the daphne. And what a collection of Hammamelis.. I must add to mine.

  13. Tina says:

    You have so much blooming! Those Witch Hazels–they’re all beautiful, even the little plain one. Sigh. There are no gardens like British gardens….

  14. Cathy says:

    I have such a bad memory that I can never remember the beginning of a post by the time I get to the end – especially with one like yours that’s so full of lovely pics and very juicy information. I was particularly interested in the comment about soil for hamamelis. I’ve just bought my first one (‘Pallida’) in my third winter in this garden and have been a little anxious about it, but your comment reassures, thanks! I wish I could afford to add more (and more, and more …), but they are so expensive. And ‘Jacqueline Postill too’, what a treat. Interesting, what Jessica says above about it being out of circulation at the moment. I haven’t lived in the UK for a while, so didn’t realise. Hard to graft, or something? I’ve always been a huge fan of the Coronilla and Helleborus foetidus, so your post has left me completely satisfied!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cathy, I am glad you enjoyed it. Jacqueline Postill has been hard to get hold of for a couple of years but Daphne bhlolua ‘Darjeeling’ would probably do well with you, it is not as hardy as Jacqueline Postill. . Even better would be ‘ Peter Smithers’ which is wonderful and an even deeper shade of pink.

  15. Alison says:

    It must be so wonderful to have enough room for so many sweetly scented Hamamelis, not to mention all the others! And they have beautiful flowers too. Thanks so much for sharing them all, I enjoyed this post immensely.

    • Chloris says:

      Is it too cold for you to grow them or are you constrained by lack of space? Winter is such a long time to have to go without any blooms. And the scent of these winter flowering plants is wonderful.

  16. Oh, I think you might give Cathy a run for her money on the witch hazel front Chloris! I love the look of ‘Livia’, and your sea urchin is divine. Mine is normally in flower by now, but nothing yet. *sigh*. And so many other lovely things! I’m lucky enough to be able to grow the scorpion vetch outside, where it flowers for most of the year, but the scent is particularly wonderful at this time of year. And I have acute hellebore envy…

    • Chloris says:

      I expect your climate allows you to grow things which are borderline hardy here. Do you have any hellebores? These are the earlier ones, soon the darker and more interesting ones will be in bloom.

  17. Helen Johnstone says:

    Oh you have cheered me up saying that Arnold Promise is a late flowerer as mine is showing little sign of flowers. I want to get another one so might try one of the ones you have featured which is scented. You have so many shrubs flowering which I need to work on so this post might become an aide memorie

    • Chloris says:

      The scents of these flowers are the best thing about winter. I like them dotted about the garden so on a breezy day you go from one scent to another.
      I rather like the idea of a hedge of Sarcococca like the one at Anglesey Abbey. It smells wonderful.

  18. Cathy says:

    You flatter me with the WHQ title, Chloris – surely it’s quality rather than quantity that counts?! 😉 Your Livia is gorgeous like you said – but Vesna! swoon swoon! Where did you track her down, I wonder, or your previous Strawberries & Cream for that matter? Thank you for sharing ally our blooms, fragrant or otherwise – such a range! And interesting to see you have so many hellebores flowering already…

    • Chloris says:

      I bought Strawberries and Cream and Vesna from The Place For Plants at East Bergholt. They no longer have the supplier that they used to and unusual witch hazels are no longer available there. I was puzzled when I saw 2 completely different plants labeled as Jelena there. They were baffled themselves when I pointed it out. I have also noticed that pictures of Vesna look much more yellow than mine. I can’ t understand why they should vary if they are grafted.

      • Cathy says:

        Indeed, and when I checked up on Vesna all the pictures do show it as yellow, so I think my hankering will be directed towards S&C instead as it’s very different from others I have. It may be available from Junkers in Taunton but not locally, or so I can glean from t’internet.

  19. wellywoman says:

    Seeing your wintersweet in flower has given me hope. It’s going back on my plant wishlist. 😉 So much to admire. Your Coronilla is a stunner. Thanks for the link. Hopefully we can uncover more perfumed gems throughout the year. 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      The Chimonanthus is gorgeous; such a rich spicy smell. It does need a sunny spot to make it flower well though.
      I think the idea of a ‘ Scent in the Garden’ meme is a wonderful one. Fragrance is such an important part of the garden.

  20. Kris P says:

    Walking though your garden must be a dream, Chloris, with all those scented blooms. I’ve given too little attention to scent in my current garden and will have to remedy that. I’m amazed by the number of flowers you have in your garden at this time of year. I’m particularly envious of the witch hazels, which won’t grow here – I need the opposite of a greenhouse, a refrigerated garden house.

    • Chloris says:

      But you have so much colour in your garden in winter. And such exotic plants. I have my Witch Hazels and you have your Grevillea ‘ Peaches and Cream’ which makes me very envious.

  21. You’ve got an amazing amount going on for January. Your Hamamelis alone are quite wonderful. I like ‘Livia’ and H. mollis best. And you are right, there is a tinge of purple in ‘Livia’. Nothing bad about that, though.

    • Chloris says:

      I love Hamamelis, they are not ideally suited to my garden but it is worth any effort to keep them happy. I am delighted with Livia, she is quite unlike any of my others.

  22. Happy Bloom Day! Well, I guess it’s Witch Hazel/Mahonia/Camellia season in most mild climate gardens. It’s a feast for the eyes and dreams for those of us who live in colder climates. Thanks for sharing!

    • Chloris says:

      I have seen all the snow on your recent post. It is beautiful, but it rather draws a halt to any plans you have for your garden. We have been lucky so far this year, but no doubt we will get some snow before the winter is out.

  23. Peter/Outlaw says:

    O my goodness, what a grand collection of winter blooms! I’v added Mahonia japonica and Lonicera x purpusii ‘Winter Beauty’ to my list of plants to seek out. Happy GBBD to you, Chloris!

  24. Cathy says:

    You are so lucky to have such a wide range of flowers in January Chloris, and with scent as an added extra too! Your hellebores are all looking lovely, and the witch hazels are glorious!

    • Chloris says:

      Yes it is the scent which is the real delight of this time of the year.
      These hellebores are the early ones and not the most exciting. The more interesting colours and the doubles are still to come.

  25. Julie says:

    What a fabulous winter garden you must have Chloris!! My last garden introduced me to the delights of winter & included mature specimens of many of the plants you have mentioned. Here I am starting pretty much from scratch & it is taking time to build up stock & for plants to mature sufficiently to flower – seeing yours has brightened my morning!

    • Chloris says:

      Than you Julie. I have all my winter plants dotted about the garden but my next project is to make a winter garden. I had one in my previous garden and I used to look forward to winter to enjoy it. I hope to find some lovely new hellebores for my new winter garden when we have our jaunt to Roger Harveys.

  26. Wow, Chloris! What a lot you got! I was ticking off all the shrubs you mentioned at the start, till you got to the greenhouse. I agree, that this is a perfect time of year to appreciate scented shrubs. What better time than to start a meme on the subject? I, for one, am off to the garden with camera, to join in! 🙂

  27. Julie says:

    Lovely post Chloris, Oh my, your garden must smell really wonderful, winter flowers are so thrilling. I love the Prunus x subhirtella ‘Autumnalis rosea’ too, that seems to be flowering better this winter than before. I have the Camellia yuletide but you would not want to see it, she rarely produces buds, let alone flowers. And on my wish list has gone your Coronilla valentina, that does look lovely.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Julie. What a shame about your Yuletide. I nearly bought one this year, but it was expensive, and I had been rather extravagant with lovely Livia, which I just had to have. Prunus subhirtella ‘Autumnalis’ is the tree I would choose if I was only allowed one tree, it flowers for so long a d the flowers are so dainty.

  28. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable, and interesting, post along with lovely pictures. Sadly I have a very poor sense of smell so I can rarely get to appreciate flower fragrances. xx

  29. Annette says:

    Beverley would be delighted with your winter garden, Chloris, and I’d love to wander among all these beauties of yours. Livia looks pretty but I couldn’t have one as it’d always remind me of a 2-legged Livia that hurt me quite badly. But Vesna looks even more flamboyant – is it scented? What about autumn colour? Can’t get over your flowering Madame Butterfly – wow, looks a bit like Geisha girl, no? I always wanted her and Appleblossom but couldn’t source them. One day I shall hire a lorry and do my shopping in the UK 😉

    • Chloris says:

      Hello Annette, sorry to hear you met a nasty Livia; this one is very beautiful. Vesna isn’ t as strongly scented as Hamamelis mollis. It has great Autumn colour and turns a coppery orange.
      Madame Butterfly is a similar colour too Geisha Girl but it has a white stripe. These early flowering Chaenomeles are a joy.

  30. Pauline says:

    Wow, what an amazing number of delightfully scented plants you have! I will have to read your post over and over as there is so much to take in. It must be wonderful wandering round your garden at the moment.

  31. Anna says:

    I imagine that walking through your garden must be a treat for the nose Chloris. Talk about scent! ‘Livia’ looks most special and such a change from the usual yellow and oranges. Here I’ve only one open hellebore. I was going to say that it must be warmer over in the south, then remembered we have daffodils in flower on the far side of our stream. I also saw some daffodils and a Michaelmas daisy flowering together in the grounds of Chester Cathedral earlier this week. No wonder your leucojum aestivum is out of kilter.

  32. Chloris says:

    The hellebores that are out are mostly seedlings that were here when I came here, and as I say they are all pale ones. The darker ones and the doubles are not out yet.

  33. Robbie says:

    That was amazing! Soft photos + what a “full” garden you have–you must have every flower in the world! Waiting for your book-looks like you are using the camera pretty darn well!!!

  34. You have such wonderful plants in your garden, each one a gem!

  35. Chloris says:

    Winter flowering plants are particularly precious.

  36. snowbird says:

    How I would enjoy roaming your garden at the moment, even in the wind and rain, You have so many gems here, if I were you I’d camp out there so you get to enjoy them more. I am a huge fan of witch hazels and hellebores and yours are just stunning!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Dina. I would enjoy it if you lived near enough to come and roam round the garden with me.
      It’ s too cold for camping out at the moment. I’ m a bit of a wimp when it comes to the cold, and I can’ t stand snow, even though I grew up ‘ Oop North’ and walked 2 miles to school through snow for weeks in winter. Or should I say : Wi walked home 43 mile through t’ snow in us bare feet, huddled inside us clothes med out o’ old sacks.’ I think that is what you are supposed to say if you come from Yorkshire, and kept whippets in the bath. Oh, hang on that was coal wasn’t it, not whippets. Don’ t start worrying about the poor whippets.

  37. I am so glad to be busy tomorrow, otherwise I’d be tempted to get out to see if I could source Livia. I think I’m in love! I just don’t need another impulse buy!
    You have so many treasures there Chloris, what a delight it must be in your garden in winter time. You recommended M. japonica on an older post of mine but I have not seen it in a nursery here yet.

    • Chloris says:

      Well Angie, it is a fact that a girl can never have too many Hamamelis. Their spidery flowers are magical and then in Autumn many of them have beautiful foliage.

  38. mrsdaffodil says:

    All of your plants look amazingly healthy. There’s not much happening in my garden yet–just a few buds on the hellebores.

    • Chloris says:

      But you have some lovely plants to enjoy indoors in the meantime. I think it is a good idea to grow miniature irsises in a pot so that you can enjoy them at close quarters.

  39. hoehoegrow says:

    Well I found that post to be inspiring ! It also makes me slightly envious that you have so much in bloom already! You are way ahead of us, here in deepest Lincolnshire. You have lots of gems flowering away nicely.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jane. i am surprised that we are further on than you, but my garden is quite sheltered. It is very cold this week though so everything will probably slow down.

  40. bittster says:

    I love your garden, thanks for the tour. I just wish fragrance had a way of coming across as well…. except for the viburnum of course.

  41. gardenfancyblog says:

    What a lovely preview of spring! Thanks for sharing with us. -Beth

  42. You have so many flowers already… I’m going to read through your post again and take notes, my garden definitely needs more winter flowers.

  43. Here’s my reply to your amazing winter garden: WOW!

  44. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cynthia. I do love winter flowering plants.

  45. elaine says:

    I keep saying that I must get more colour into my winter garden but still haven’t got around to it – your Witch Hazels are beautiful – but round here they are terribly expensive and would take a big chunk out of my budget.

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, Witch Hazels are a terrible price because they have to be grafted and take a while to be big enough to sell. They are a great investment though; they get bigger and better as they age.

  46. You have so many beautiful winter blooming plants in your garden. The Witch Hazels and Hellebores are wonderful to look at during this time of year. I have Viburnum…but not the winter blooming variety. They are lovely!

  47. Debra says:

    I just had to say I bookmarked this page because I know I will come back. Love fragrance in the garden and I’ve been thinking lately about winter interest. Your blog is such a great resource!

  48. Chloris says:

    Thank you Debra. I am glad you enjoy it. I will keep you informed about the planting in my new winter garden.

  49. Oh what a treat to discover this blog when researching witch hazels! I can only aspire to photograph plants so nicely someday. I live in the Pacific Northwest (near Seattle Washington USA) so our climate is similar to yours, but we do not have access to all of the same varieties. I admit that I may not be able to live without Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Vesna’ (which may be a distinct PROBLEM!).

  50. sueturner31 says:

    Chloris you asked about having a Dahlia Purpusii from me last year… well I am starting the tubers off again next W/E so when they have strong shoots I will contact you about mailing details…also Christina wanted one too … are you related ?

Leave a Reply

