Blog Awards.

It is so lovely to get a blog award and to know that people are reading your blog and even enjoying it.  So a big thank you to my friend, Annette at Annette’sGarden  wonderful blog and to  Sarah Jane  at Daydreaming Out Loud who has an amazing craft blog for the nominations for the Liebster Award.
liebster2

 

 

 

 

Thank you also lovely Rosademure for the  One Lovely Blog Award.
image19

 

 

 

 

So what are these awards? I have done a little research and it seems they are a bit like chain letters, except you are not promised great riches as long as you keep them going and you are not threatened with catastrophe if you don’t. Really, they are a way of telling other people when you find a blog that you enjoy, which is lovely, as we all hope that we are not talking to ourselves when we write. It is an honour to be recommended in this way by your fellow bloggers, so thank you very much. I really appreciate it.

So what do you have to do when accepting the Liebster Award ? You link back with the person who nominated you then you have to answer the 11 questions  they set you.  Oh dear, this means I have 22 questions to answer. I’ll keep the answers snappy.

First Sarah Jane’s questions.

1. When you think about your blog what makes you smile? My blogging friends make me smile. Many of them make me laugh.

2.What new form of art or craft would you like to learn?  I would love to be able to paint.

3.What do you collect? Plants and books.

4.Where is your favourite place for being arty or crafty?  My garden.

5.Tea and biscuits, do you dunk or crunch? I don’t eat biscuits.

6. What is your favourite toast topping? Cheese.

7.Where would be your dream arty-crafty destination in the world? Martinique. I have been to this magical island four times and the vibrant colours haunt my dreams.

8. E-reader or good old-fashioned paperback book. Which do you prefer? Either.  A beautiful hardback book is wonderful to own. But I read  so much that I have to make do with which ever is cheapest and most convenient.

9.What is your favourite season and why? Spring.  I love it. The time of renewal and the excitement of all your treasures reappearing. Spring flowers are the choicest and the most endearing.

10.Which famous artist/ crafter/gardener would you like to meet and why?  Reginald Farrer. He fascinates me. He died quite young on one of his intrepid plant hunting expeditions but he was incredibly knowledgeable and had such a way with words. I would love to have met him.  I like people who can garden and write well.

11.What would your dream job be? Garden writer.

So those are Sarah Jane’s questions answered.  I think anyone interested in craft as Sarah Jane is would have answered the questions better. But sewing  needles make me bad tempered. I am probably the world’s least crafty person.

Annette’s questions.

1.What causes butterflies in your tummy? New flower buds on a rare plant that I have  grown from seed.

2.Your favourite dish?  Seafood pasta cooked by my wonderful Pianist.

3.Your favourite scent? The elusive scent of the first violets in Spring.

4. Which job would you like to do in your next life? I would like to be  an author.

5. What does your dream garden look like? Very much like my previous garden. It had been the garden of a well known nursery so there were magnificent, well -established shrubs  and trees and many rare plants. I had a woodland garden full of camellias, magnolias  and other beautiful  shrubs and trees. There was a lake and and I had room to create a summer garden full of my favourite roses and a large winter garden too. I even had  a small arboretum. So that was my dream garden and I still dream about it.  But I love the garden I have now and it is manageable without any help as long as I can persuade the Pianist to mow the lawn.

6.Your favourite book? Middlemarch.

7. What do you loathe? The way young people talk nowadays. The rising inflection at the end of the sentence. The constant use of the word ‘like’ . The awful cliches. The absolute ignorance of the basic rules of grammar. To Lay is a transitive verb. Oh dear.  It’s awful innit?   I’m so not going there. End of.

8.  Which country would you like to visit and why? South Africa for the wonderful wild flowers.

9. A happy moment. A summer evening eating in the garden with my lovely family.

10. Which garden personality do you admire?  Beth Chatto for the wonderful garden she has created and her profound  knowledge and understanding of plants. She is a nice lady too.

11.The world would be a better place if… I will just quote Blaise Pascal here. ‘ All of humanity’s  problems stem from man’s inability to sit quietly in a room alone. ‘ So if we could all just stay quietly at home, or better still mind own business and dig in our gardens  how nice and peaceful the world would be. But then what do I know? I’m just a gardener.

Choosing my nominees for the awards is difficult .I know some of the blogs I follow don’t want awards. Others have many followers and I believe these awards are to encourage people who have not been blogging very long. I have so many favourites  that it is hard to pick out just 5.  In fact all the blogs I follow are well worth reading. But my 5 nominees for the Liebster Award are:

Railway Parade House and Garden

The Long Garden Path

.GardeningJules.

My Aberdeen Garden

Gardens&wildlife

So if you accept this award  you have to link with the person who nominated  you. Choose 5 blogs with under 1000 followers.  The rules seem to vary here; Sarah Jane suggested 11 blogs with under 200 followers.  But 5 is easier. Answer the 11 questions and think up 11 questions to ask your nominees. Let your chosen bloggers know and explain the rules.

My questions to you, my lovely Liebster Award nominees are:

1. Why did you start your blog?

2.Which is your favourite gardening book?

3. What do you love to do when you are not gardening?

4.Describe yourself in 3 words.

5.What is your  favourite film?

6. Tea or coffee?

7. Favourite flower?

8. How long have you been gardening and what got you started?

9.Do you garden organically?

10. How do you deal with slugs and snails?

11.  Do you prefer cats or dogs?

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

And now for the One lovely Blog Award, thank you again Rosedemure. Here, there are no set questions. You have  to share 5 things about yourself.

So here we go.

1.I have a lot of books.  In fact  I just counted my gardening books and I have  375. And that’s not counting the  ones my daughter stole  borrowed.

2. I don’t own a television, but then why would I need to? I have loads and loads of books.

3.I hate sewing.

4.I hate anything to do with balls. Playing with them or running about after them. What is the point? Or  watching other people run about after balls. I just don’t get it. When I rule the world I will ban all balls. OK. I’ll let small children have them. And consulting adults as long as they do it in private.

5.I am Chairman  of  a large  garden club and I write a monthly article for their website. As nobody knows that I am Chloris , I use  material from my blog for the seasonal articles on the website.

So there you have it. Chloris revealed. Book-loving, sewing-and-ball-hating and totally obsessive  about all things horticultural.

Again I have had trouble choosing blogs for this award amongst all the fabulous blogs I  read.

So my 5 nominees are:

1 Palm Rae Urban Potager

2.Peonies and Posies

3.The Shrub Queen.

4. Close to Home

5. Under the Pecan Leaves

If you would rather not accept the award that is fine. At least you know you are appreciated as are all the great blogs I follow.

Thanks again to Annette, Sarah Jane and Rosademure. I am proud and delighted to  accept the awards.

No flowers to show you today, I haven’t been outside. But look at this sunset.

IMG_1815

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Blog Awards.

  1. Tina says:

    Can dogs keep their balls? They like them very much–so once you’re ruler of the world, I’ll lobby for the dogs. Congratulations and I’m a glad reader of your blog!

  2. Chloris says:

    Thank you Tina. And of course dogs can keep their balls. Dogs and children.

  3. Well deserved awards Chloris – I never come away from your blogs disappointed. You put up some great nominations too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Angie, I would like to have nominated you but you are clearly long established with many followers. I will always be grateful to you because you were my very first follower!

  4. I think teenagers need to keep their balls, too. Chasing and kicking one on a field is highly therapeutic. 🙂 I have a lot of books, too, but have started giving loads of them away. A free book is a beautiful thing. One of the last books I read I left on the plane for the next person.

  5. Chloris says:

    OK Tammy. I have to keep bending my rules, but I suppose you are right. I will let teenagers keep their balls then.
    That’ s a nice thing to do, to leave a book behind for someone else to find.

  6. Anna says:

    A nice way to discover new blogs so I shall pop back to visit some of them over the next few days Chloris. Now I thought that I had a lot of gardening books but ……. 🙂

  7. Cathy says:

    Hi Chloris – I trust you were not surprised with all those nominations, Chloris, as your blog is always inspiring and your comments always welcome, both full as they always are with your profound knowledge which you generously share with us lesser mortals 😉 I am a little concerned with your feeling about balls though as there is clearly some incident in your past which has led to this morbid fear – it must be most debilitating for you and is something that perhaps you need to talk through, or maybe you could try hypnotherapy…. 😉

  8. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cathy.
    Yes, cold winter school days on the hockey pitch with frozen knees made me hate balls and anything to do with them. Not that I had much to do with the ball to be honest. It didn’t often come my way. Apart from the one and only time I scored. Unfortunately I hadn’ t been paying attention and shot it into the opposing team’ s goal.
    And then in the summer, there was rounders. What a nasty, spiteful hard ball they used for that. I made sure I kept well out of the way. Totally pointless in my eyes, chasing balls.

  9. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Congratulation on the recognitions and awards! The best part is being able to read all your answers and get to know you a wee bit better : ) I will keep this blog until I have a chance to check out all the blogs you enjoy! Happy New Year!!!

  10. Chloris says:

    Thank you Laurin and Happy New Year to you too.

  11. pbmgarden says:

    Congratulations Chloris. It must have been hard to leave your previous garden, but glad you’ve made peace with it.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Susie. Indeed I am very grateful for the garden I have here. It still has lots of potential and there is plenty of room for new schemes and projects. I have a new garden and a new life here which is great.

  12. Gillian says:

    Warmest Congratulations on your awards Chloris. I agree with Laurin… it’s funny how snippets of everyday life help us to understand each other a bit more. We can all see how much your previous garden still means to you and how much your family and new garden matters to you now. Reading your thoughtful replies was certainly good for me. We’re garden obsessed that’s true but perhaps our readers would like to see what else we care about. All the best for the New Year. Gillian

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Gillian. We all like to protect our privacy in a public space like this but it is nice to feel we know a little bit about the people who write the blogs we follow. In time they feel like old friends even though we have never met them.

  13. I’m not very good at sitting quietly in a room alone, at least if there is sunshine. I need to be out in the garden. When it’s dark I can sit quietly, if I have a book.

  14. Chloris says:

    Well I am the same. But if we all just grubbed about in our gardens then the world would turn around much better.

  15. I’m so glad you got these awards, Chloris. for one thing, your blog is so interesting that when it doesn’t come up in my reader (it rarely does) I check and check till I find you’ve posted a new one!
    For another, I got to know more about you (if not your real name) through reading your answers to the questions.
    Congrats.
    And, by the way, you are already living your dream of being a garden writer. And a good one too.

  16. Congratulations, Chloris! You deserve the kudos. It’s so fun to learn more about bloggers through the answers to their questions. Interesting that you hate balls! We all have our hates and loves, don’t we? Your last photo of the sunset is gorgeous!

    • Chloris says:

      Thanks Beth. I was just having a bit of fun about the balls, I didn’ t mean to upset anybody. It is nice to get to know a little more about our blogging friends.

  17. Robbie says:

    awww….I am honored! I knew you were a “kindred” spirit-you hate sewing-shhhh…don’t tell anyone…I do it sometimes when I have to, but I do not enjoy it:-) I also would not have a tv, but my husband can’t live without his- I admire you for not having one!.
    Loved all your answers to Annettes questions-.”The world would be a better place if… I will just quote Blaise Pascal here. ‘ All of humanity’s problems stem from man’s inability to sit quietly in a room alone. ‘ So if we could all just stay quietly at home, or better still mind own business and dig in our gardens how nice and peaceful the world would be. But then what do I know? I’m just a gardener”-
    this one I loved!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Robbie. Well Pascal had a point I think. And have you read Voltaire’ s Candide? After all his horrendous adventures and searching he came to realise that ‘ Il faut cultiver notre jardin’. I always liked the ending of that book. It recommends the sort of horticultural quietism which appeals to me.

  18. Flighty says:

    Congratulations these awards are well deserved, and it’s always interesting to find out a bit more about blog friends.
    I do like biscuits, preferably digestives, and like you don’t have a TV. xx

  19. Annette says:

    Dear Chloris, didn’t expect to see this blog so soon but I’m delighted also about the fact that you’ve been nominated by two other bloggers already. Your answers made me smile, intrigued and realise that you’re a soul mate. Thanks for enlightening me on the award – I had googled it but didn’t come across this. Pascal’s quote is so true and your little addition even more so although I do believe some gardeners can be quite “militant” ;). As for your dream job: you seem to have it already and you’ve come so far. I believe that our dreams can come true if we believe in ourselves and are willing to work hard. Before too long you’ll go even further, Chloris, I have no doubts about that. Until then keep up the good work – it’s such a pleasure to have met you. Very best wishes 🙂
    PS: Any chance of seeing some pics of your old garden? This would be a second wish from my side as I’ve already asked for a book list which I’m so looking forward too, cheeky me!

  20. Chloris says:

    Thank you for your kind words Annette. Indeed we have a lot in common.
    My son took lots of photos of my old garden, but not with a digital camera as I used them for slideshows for talks. I have asked him to find them and maybe I will do a couple of posts on my old garden. The winter garden was featured in Gardens Illustrated some years ago with Jerry Harpur’ s photos. The summer garden was featured in The English Garden, again with Jerry’ s photos.

    • Annette says:

      Do you remember the edition, Chloris? I’ve kept almost all GI magazines.

      • Chloris says:

        Yes, could I give you the dates in an email? I prefer to keep a little anonymity in my blog.
        I can’ t find your email address, do you have access to mine? If you could send me an email then I will send you the dates of the publications.

  21. Debra says:

    Congratulations, Chloris. And thank you. I agree with Laurin: the best part about these awards is getting to know people a little better. I have a lot of leads now I want to follow. Next stop: learning more about Reginald Farrer. You might already know this but J.R.R. Tolkien once said that the real hero of the Lord of the Rings wasn’t Aragorn or Bilbo. It was Sam. Sam, the gardener. The beautiful natures of gardeners like you and Mr. Gamgee set the world right.

  22. Chloris says:

    Thank you Debra, you say the nicest things. I remember Sam planted lots of trees didn’ t he? He had 13 children and lived to be 102. I can’ t remember much else. It is so long since I read Lord of the Rings and I didn’ t see the film. But gardeners generally turn out to be the goodies. We are the custodians of the little bits of the earth that we own and care for.. And those little bits all add up. So thank goodness for gardeners.

  23. Thank you for answering my questions so sincerely, even though you thought they were a little ‘arty-crafty’ biased, for isn’t the creation of a beautiful garden a craft in itself, where you ‘paint’ with flowers? Keep crafting your artful garden my friend…

  24. Chloris says:

    I hate sewing, but you are right, as gardeners we do paint with flowers and I would love to be able to paint on canvas too.
    I wouldn’ t have the first idea how to go about doing crafty things even if I didn’ t hate needles. But I am a great admirer of all the amazing things you make. I can’ t imagine where you get your ideas.

  25. Alain says:

    Congratulations! It is most certainly deserved.
    I thought it funny you would have liked to meet Reginal Farrer. I admire him but I am not sure I would have liked to meet him. My favorite story about him is that his father gave him a tidy sum to run in an election and he spent the lot on plants! He must have had an amazing memory as he proofread his magnum opus in China without a reference book at hand – all these Latin names!

  26. Chloris says:

    Thank you Alain. I know Reginald was an oddball but I like him the fact that he was so eccentric and that he was such a plant nerd and so knowledgeable. His plant hunting trips sound amazing and he was fearless. I would have loved to hear him talk about his travels. I want to try and get hold of his book ‘ On the Eaves of the World’.

    • Alain says:

      I must admit that it would have been interesting to hear him talk about his hunting trips – of course dressed up for the occasion in one of his Chinese outfits. Georges Forrest would also have had quite a few tales to tell. In fact all these early plants hunter had fascinating adventures!

  27. snowbird says:

    Oooohhh…..congratulations on your awards, you deserve them!
    So you don’t have a tv eh? We didn’t have one growing up either, we just read, listened to the radio and played the piano…..
    I do have to second the comment re minding our business and sitting quiet or digging…if only!
    Love your butterfly comment too, I’m the same….I also get butterflies when trying to open tiny teeny chick beaks for the first time….
    Goodness, you have nominated me….struth! Well, thanks for that, I am most honoured! I shall have a good think and post later in January! Have a marvelous New Year, wishing you and yours all you wish for yourself.xxx

  28. Chloris says:

    Thank you Dina and a very happy new year to you too. I hope your little Holly is not wearing you out.

  29. Julie says:

    Hi Chloris – thank you so much for the nomination!! Having been away without internet access for a while I have just seen this, so sorry for the delay. I am delighted to accept and will answer the questions in a post over the weekend.

  30. Two wonderful awards for you and your lovely blog Chloris!

  31. Julie says:

    Congratulations Chloris on your two awards!! They are both well deserved and I enjoyed reading your answers – we share a love of books and a dislike of sewing and ball games (and skiing but you did not mention that!). I am delighted to accept your nomination for the One Lovely Blog Award and I am just sorry that I have taken so long to respond – I will blame that on the internet free Alps. You can read my 5 things you might not know about me at
    http://peoniesandposies.com/2015/01/11/flowers-on-sunday-one-lovely-blog-award/

  32. I appreciated your grammar rant, and I also do not like balls! I was relieved when my 17 year old son chose not to play soccer last fall, for the first time in 13 years! I do, however, enjoy sewing! Congratulations on the awards; your blog is always a pleasure to read!

  33. Chloris says:

    Thank you very much Kimberley. Great to meet another ball hater!

  34. Pingback: Flowers On Sunday – One Lovely Blog Award – Peonies & Posies

Leave a Reply

