Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day .

November.

No sun, no moon!

No morn-  no noon-

No dawn- no dusk- no proper time of day.

No warmth, no cheerfulness, no healthful ease,

No comfortable feel in any member-

No shade, no shine, no butterflies, no bees,

No fruits, no flowers, no leaves, no birds!-

November!’

Thomas Hood. 1799-1845.

Poor Thomas,  he was feeling gloomy when he wrote this poem  the year before he died.  And perhaps he was exaggerating a bit, but still on a dank, foggy, drippy sort of November day one understands what he felt like. But let’s be positive,  we do have flowers, even if they are looking rather damp and sad,  and on Garden Bloggers’ Bloom  Day we have to see what we can find.

A lot of what I have flowering is the same as last month, and many of the blooms from the End of Month View are still soldiering on. For instance, I still have roses and Chrysanthemums but I am not going to show you the same flowers as last month. Except you just have to have another look at Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’ which is still looking as good as it did a month ago. And for newcomers to my blog, I have to point out that this is not a snowdrop blooming out of season, this is when it blooms every year.

Galanthus elwesii 'Barnes'

Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’

I forgot to check my Helleborus niger until today and it has clearly been flowering for some time. Next year I must protect it from slugs and from getting its pristine, white flowers splashed with mud. Perhaps a ring of gravel would help.

Helleborus niger

Helleborus niger

Skimmia japonica ‘Rubella’ looks good all winter with its dark, pink buds. I am always surprised at how early they appear.

Skimmia rubella

Skimmia japonica ‘Rubella’

Jasminum nudiflorum, winter jasmine is in full bloom. The brown branches you see in the foreground are Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Arnold Promise’, and it is indeed full of promise with loads of plump buds. I have had to move the bird table here from the back garden because the sparrowhawk was picking off the birds as they were feeding. I don’t think he will come here so close to the window.

Jasminum nudiflorum

Jasminum nudiflorum

I showed you my Chrysanthemums last Bloom Day but I forgot this Belgian Chrysanthemum ‘Marjolein Brown’ which is full of masses and masses of little bronzey- brown flowers.

Chrysanthemum 'Marjolein Brown'

Chrysanthemum ‘Marjolein Brown’

So far, so seasonal, but I still have many salvias looking just as good as they did in summer. Salvia involucrata ‘Bethellii’ is always a late bloomer though. Every year I wonder if the flowers will appear before the first frosts. It is hardy but I grow it in the protection of the wall.

Salvia involucrata 'Bethellii'

Salvia involucrata ‘Bethellii’

I have showed you the following salvias before, but they still look as fresh as ever.

Salvia 'Hot Lips'

Salvia ‘Hot Lips’

Salvia microphylla 'pink'

Salvia microphylla ‘pink’

The cuttings I took of my salvias earlier are all in bloom in the greenhouse. In fact there is a lot in bloom in the greenhouse and I don’t think I have ever taken you in there, so let’s have a peek.

Salvia 'wendy's Wish'

Salvia ‘Wendy’s Wish’

Salvia guarantica 'purple majesty'

Salvia guarantica ‘Purple majesty’

There are cuttings of a deep blue and a pink Rosemary in full bloom .
IMG_2072
I love Abutilons and  two of them are doing well in the greenhouse.
DSC_0199
With the next one you can see my Bougainvillea. It seems to be a bit slow growing.
IMG_2066
Neither of the following two plants are reliably hardy so they spend their lives in pots.

Grevillea lanigera

Grevillea lanigera

The Grevillea is now safely in the greenhouse. We haven’t had a frost so far but it can’t be long.
DSC_0204
I love the showy pink flowers of Cestrum fasciculatum ‘Newelli, I am told that it is hardy down to -5 degrees centigrade but I wouldn’t risk it outside.

Cestrum fasciculatum 'Newellii'

Cestrum fasciculatum ‘Newellii’

I have had this Black eyed Susie, Thunbergia alata in bloom all summer in a pot and have rather overlooked it whilst there was so much else to enjoy. Now I am delighted to see it carrying on with gusto in the greenhouse.
IMG_2256
I will show you more of the greenhouse another day but there are a couple more outdoor shots.
IMG_2255
The photograph above shows Pennisetum rubrum which is not hardy and will die with the first frosts. I love it here with the Hesperantha in the background. The glossy leaved shrub is Daphne odora ‘Aureomarginata’.
The final shot is another plant which I keep in a pot. It is hardy down to -1 degree centigrade, so it will soon have to go in the greenhouse. You are probably familiar with the annual spring-flowering Cineraria, well this is a perennial one. I have had it for two years now. It is supposed to flower in the Spring but it is very welcome now. It is called Pericallis ‘Senetti’.

Pericallis 'Senetti'

Pericallis ‘Senetti’

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted by Carol at May Dream Gardens. I am going over there now to see what other garden bloggers around the world have in bloom in one of the dreariest months of the year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day .

  1. Debra says:

    happy sigh.

  2. Perhaps Thomas wouldn’t have been so gloomy if he could have spent a day in your garden. There is certainly much to admire. I particularily like your Purple Majesty salvia and the Grevillea, new to me, is also very handsome. Is it a shrub?

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Marian. The Grevillea is a shrub but I don’ t think it grows very big. It is probably not hardy. I just can’ t stop acquiring plants that are going to be a worry all winter.

  3. Nell Jean says:

    So much to see in your November garden! I look forward to peeking into your greenhouse again soon.

  4. Anna says:

    I imagine that that autumn was much colder in Thomas Hood’s poem Chloris hence all those no shows. Thanks for another chance to have a peek at galanthus ‘Barnes’ 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Anna, if you would like Barnes you can get it from Harveys Garden Plants. Have a look on line. It is not expensive and it goes on flowering for ages. It’ s a little gem.

  5. croftgarden says:

    Poor old Thomas perhaps he was exiled on a Hebridean island!
    Your display of plants both inside and out is sumptuous. Not much happening in either the polytunnel or the greenhouse at the moment, except the two Salvia cutting you kindly sent me earlier in the year are flowering beautifully. I’m sure I should given them a trim, but they are so lovely that I’ve hidden the scissors.

  6. What a real pleasure it was to have a wee peep inside your greenhouse Chloris. As usual, you introduce me to so many plants I am not familiar with. The Grevillea is a beauty.
    Your Salvias are gorgeous. I love S. Hot Lips. My mother’s friend has a beautiful specimen in her walled garden, I should really ask her to take some cuttings for me.

    • Chloris says:

      Salvias are so easy from cuttings I always ask for one or two whenever I see a nice one. I will send you some in the Spring, it is probably getting a bit late in the year to do it now.

  7. rusty duck says:

    It’s still very colourful round at your place. My greenhouse is full of salad leaves which, while tasty, look very boring. Time for a rethink. Do you heat it for all those tender beauties?

    • Chloris says:

      I have a fan heater for frosty nights. It only keeps it just above freezing so my really tender things have to come into the house. In winter every window sill in my house has plants. In fact every available surface has plants. I already have 24 plants in my dining room. I get moaned at a lot by people here who don’ t see why I need to keep on growing tender plants when I have nowhere to keep them.

  8. Alison says:

    Oh, that poet was a Gloomy Gus, wasn’t he? I loved the peak into your greenhouse, please, please show us more. I think my favorite flower in this post was the Grevillea lanigera.

    • Chloris says:

      The reason I have never shown my greenhouse is because it is always so untidy. I always enjoy looking into yours as it is packed full of interesting plants. I am so envious of your Brugmansias.

  9. Cathy says:

    As Anna said, Thomas’s Novembers would certainly have been colder than ours so perhaps he could have been forgiven – but only a little as he could have looked for things to brighten his days instead of sticking with the gloomy ones. I succumbed to having a quick look on eBay to see if any G Barnes were available (there weren’t) – so the desirability of having a few early snowdrops is definitely getting through to me. My earlies are late in comparison! Thank you for showing us some of your greenhouse pretties – you seem to be a dab hand with your cuttings and slightly tender plants.

    • Chloris says:

      Oh Cathy, of course you need Galanthus Barnes. I think Harvey’ s Garden Plants have it, you will find them on line. I think they do mail order. It’ s not too pricey either.
      Which is your earliest one? Do you have Galanthus Three Ships? I find it is always in bloom for Xmas. In fact it is already in bud.

      • Cathy says:

        It must have been after 10 when I read your comment last night but I was nearly out there with a torch – as I remembered that Three Ships was one of the new ones I got earlier this year. Waited till this morning and had a little prod around with the seed label without finding anything green, so I brought the little basket it is buried in into the house and gently emptied it – alas, no bulb, a sad moment as I had already done the same with Faringdon Double (new 2 years ago) yesterday 😦 😦 and 😦 I have always bought them in the green so will wait till the New Year and decide what/if to buy then…. My earliest one to flower is Maidwell L, sometimes in flower before the year is out and now showing about an inch of shoot.

      • Chloris says:

        Oh dear, I am sorry to hear about your Galanthus. What a terrible disappointment. As they must be well protected in their liitle mesh pots from being sliced with a spade, I can only think it must be Narcissus Fly. Are they in the shade? Narcissus and snowdrops in full sun are more vulnerable.

      • Cathy says:

        Definitely shade, Chloris, and fortunately I have not lost many over the years – certainly once they are established it is never a problem. Sad to lose any though 😦

  10. AnnetteM says:

    it was lovely to see all your blooms both inside and out. Your Skimmia Japonica is looking so healthy and green. Mine has rather pale leaves despite giving it a feed of ericaceous compost. Do you have any other ideas why it is not happy? It hasn’t been particularly cold this year. I have just put a Pennisetum Rubrum in my garden as the label said it was hardy. I wonder if there are different varieties of it with different degrees of hardiness? Mine was called Metallicum so here’s hoping it lives up to its name as they are gorgeous grasses. How lovely to have Bourgainvillia in your greenhouse; it would always remind me of Mediterranean holidays.

    • Chloris says:

      Do you have your Skimmia in the shade or at least partial shade? They don’ t like full sun.
      I don’ t believe the label about Pennisetum rubrum being hardy. I have found that it can’ t take any frost at all. Have you got a greenhouse you could over winter it in? Which reminds me I must dig mine up before we get any frost.
      I suppose it could be that your ‘metallicum’ is hardy, but I doubt it, if it is a form of Pennisetum setaceum ‘Rubrum’.

      • AnnetteM says:

        Oh dear, I am not doing too well. Yes both my Skimmias are in full sun, though that is debatable in Aberdeen! It could be the reason that they are not doing so well though. I have two Pennisetum plants so maybe I will protect one (no greenhouse) and leave the other to see how it does. I would be very annoyed as I wouldn’t have bought it. I could maybe borrow a neighbour’s greenhouse. Do you just put it in a large pot then? Do you water it during the winter like a pot plant?

  11. Julie says:

    Loved your tour today its full of cheer, joy and a wonderful clear light, maybe Novembers were once like Thomas’ but this year it hardly seems like November at all. What a shame you have a Sparrowhawk lurking, I know its part of the scheme of life but its grim played out in your own garden.

    • Chloris says:

      I used to have a sparrowhawk that nested every year in my previous garden. It was heartbreaking. I didn’ t have a single sparrow and it cleared all the fledgings from the flycatcher’s nest. I used to see it catch birds mid air. Awful. I have never seen one here before so it was a nasty shock. I hope the birds will be safe now I have moved the bird table to the front garden.

  12. Hannah says:

    How delightful to see so many pretty flowers after I have had frosts here. Your Pericallis is such a gorgeous color, and I like the same colored disc flowers, very elegant. It’s great you have a greenhouse too and can keep some going there. I was amused that Hardy’s poem seemed to play so heavily on the No in November. It’s sad that it was probably his last November, sometimes November has been quite mild, here.

  13. Tina says:

    So many lovelies to brighten your November. Too bad ole Thomas Hood didn’t live near to your garden–I’m sure he would have felt much more positive!

    • Chloris says:

      We haven’ t had any frost yet so everything is going on blooming in the mild weather. Poor old Thomas had to endure Victorian London pea- souper fogs in November. No wonder he was miserable.

  14. Kris P says:

    You have quite a lot of beautiful flowers this November yourself, Chloris! I also have a Grevillea lanigera – or actually 2, one in the ground and one still in a pot waiting for its place in the front garden to be ready for planting. Here, it blooms all year – I hope it performs as well for you. (The only reason it didn’t make the cut for the GBBD post, is that it was littered with leaves I failed to clear before heading out with my camera.) I’ve also grown the Pericallis, although it doesn’t much like the summers here so I usually treat it as an annual.

    • Chloris says:

      Well I still have quite a lot for November, so far we have had no frost. But I expect next month will be a different story. For the next 2 months we will all just have to enjoy all the lovely things you will have in bloom.

  15. bittster says:

    You make November look as if it’s something to look forward to! All the treasures you are wintering over, all the goodies still to be found in your garden, it all make a dreary month a little more promising. I love the hardy cineria!
    Do I need to say I love the snowdrop? There I said it anyway, and I hope my jealousy does not show through. It’s a beautiful little thing 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Yes, it has been a good November with no frost and mild weather. That is the second time you have admired Galanthus ‘ Barnes’ through gritted teeth. I think you are going to have to buy one. I think you really need one.

      • bittster says:

        Well there you have it! Just the encouragement I needed, and you’re right about the need for this plant…. For me to go on without would surely risk turning admiration into bitterness, and I wouldn’t want to end up there!

  16. Gosh, you do have many things blooming still! That Skimmia is fantastic! And what a wonderful collection of Salvias! Happy GBBD!

  17. annamadeit says:

    Those Grevilleas are scrumptious! So many commented that Thomas would have been in better spirits if he had lived near you. I think so too! Your garden/greenhouse are looking wonderful!

  18. Cathy says:

    I’d guess Thomas Hood did not have a garden to lift his spirits, and certainly not one with so many flowers as yours! The salvias are all lovely and I would normally be amazed at how much is still in flower, but we are also having a very mild autumn with no frost yet. I wonder what December will bring! 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      No poor Thomas lived in London which was grim in November. I have just been enjoying your lovely In a Vase on Monday and I see that you still have lots to enjoy in your garden as well.

  19. Nothing gloomy about your garden, and your greenhouse is amazing! Look forward to seeing more, I just have chrysanthemums in mine, and they are pretty pathetic specimens at present too. Oh, and the chillies and peppers which are still going strong. And which I really must water…

  20. Flighty says:

    This really is a blog of contrasts thanks to a gloomy, but appropriate, poem and colourful flowers.
    I especially like the chrysanthemums and perennial cineraria. A wonderful selection given the time of year. xx

  21. Peter/Outlaw says:

    There is still so much blooming in your garden! You’ve reminded me to go check my Jasminum nudiflorum to see if it’s blooming. I will seek out Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’ as it’s such a charming sight in autumn! I’m looking forward to more visits inside your greenhouse as it looks to be full of treasures! Happy GBBD!

  22. There’s nothing dreary about your greenhouse! I am rather fond of that Galanthus. I really ought to grow it. This is a wonderful November – there is so much still in flower.

  23. snowbird says:

    I can relate to Thomas, but I also rather like the misty, rather atmospheric Autumn scenes, it’s always so dramatic! You still have roses…..sighs enviously…
    My Rubella is doing well and full of pink buds too. Btw….what is the plant with the purple flowers growing on bare wooden stems? I bought one without a label at a fete, it’s planted out and is covered with flowers, is it hardy?
    I’m glad you moved the bird table, the sparrowhawk will be MOST peeved.
    What a wonderful collection of salvias you have, hot lips does make me smile but purple majesty is a total gem!
    Good to see your black eyed susie flowering, my cutting are flowering in the greenhouse much to my amazement….I didn’t know there was a perennial senetti, I must look out for one. I did enjoy this tour, looking forward to seeing more of your greenhouse goodies!xxx

  24. Chloris says:

    Purple flowers on bare wooden stems in bloom now? I can’ t think. Why don’ t you show a picture of it for Wordless Wednesday? Then I can tell you what it is and whether it is tender.

  25. snowbird says:

    Hahahaha….sorry….you actually named it, I must be having another senior moment. It’s Bougainvillea and according to the internet is not hardy….I best dig it up tomorrow!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Oh I see, I didn’ t realise you meant the Bougainvillea. I was racking my brains for what plant it could be with purple flowers on bare stems, so it was me being dense. No, it definitely isn’ t hardy. You’ d better dig it up and put it in a pot.

  26. Your garden is still so busy! I love that Purple Majesty.

    • Chloris says:

      I love salvias and grow lots. They are so easy from cuttings.
      I envy you with so many roses still in bloom. I have a few left but they are beginning to look a bit sorry for themselves.

  27. CathyT says:

    Wow – so much here, Chloris. Both blooms and information. I loved the salvia and greenhouse pics – glad someone asked about the winter temperatures. And – buying plants on ebay!!! Is that what everyone is doing now? (Buying plants is a real issue here – everything, but everything has to come by post and it’s not cheap.) Do you think the small birds might now get your hamamelis buds, rather than the sparrowhawks getting them? I hope not … it’s the bull finches that do that isn’t it? Anyway – as someone else said, sigh! Lots to dream about and lust after on a dank November day!

  28. Chloris says:

    Thank you Cathy.
    I think a lot of people buy snowdrops on eBay. But for everything else there are so many good mail order nurseries. We are very lucky in Suffolk with several excellent nurseries within driving distance.
    I think the Hamamelis buds are safe. We no longer have bullfinches here. I haven’ t seen one for years.

  29. Great post, you really have a lot of color. I love the picture of the Thunbergia, which doesn’t grow well for me. I also like the November poem, which I first came across in one of John Mortimer’s Rumpole stories.

  30. Jane Brewer says:

    Hi, lovely post which I really enjoyed reading, Just dropped over to see what you are doing and found all your beautiful flowers (love the snowdrop, the one flower I really do miss in the Algarve!) AND you have named them all properly. I really lament the fact that I cannot sort out the proper names for anything! And I love the poem you started with. Perhaps I could improve my memory by learning it!

  31. What a treat in your greenhouse. Thank you for taking us round. I’ve always had a soft spot for Thomas Hood too – he did have quite a sense of humour when he got going.

  32. Robbie says:

    wow…you have color in November…we have a lot of brown right now + very little green. Thank you for a lovely tour:-) warmed up my single digit + teen weather!

  33. What beautiful sights, especially for us poor Ontario folk who are now under snow.
    I can’t help wishing some of those lovelies lived here in Ontario at this time. the skimmia japonica must be good for lifting the spirits, and the yellow winter jasmine – ahhhh….

    Pity that poor Thomas never saw a garden like yours in November, Chloris. He would have written a different poem!

  34. Boy am I jealous of all your flowers especially the Galanthus.

Leave a Reply

