In A Vase on Monday. La Vie en Rose.

I have to join in with Cathy today with her popular meme, because she is  celebrating the fact that she has been doing her vases and getting everybody to join in for a whole year now.
IMG_2272
We are deep into November,  but I still want to see my garden and flowers through rose -coloured spectacles. So as everything is gradually turning brown, I have picked the last of my pink flowers. I hate brown.
I left it a bit late and the light was going but I managed to take a couple of shots of the vase in the birdbath without a flash.
IMG_2276
And then I had to go indoors and as Cathy is keen on accessories I teamed the arrangement with a Chinese Famille Rose plate. The flowers are arranged in a pink Cranberry glass vase so we are all in the pink.
IMG_2289
The flowers are Rosa ‘New Dawn’. Chrysanthemum ‘Emperor of China’ and my unnamed one. Diascia. Nerine. Scabiosa ‘Beaujolais Bonnets’. Salvia greggii and Salvia ‘Wendy’s Wish’ Penstemon ‘Connie’s Pink’, Fuchsia, Viburnum tinus and Mosquito grass, Bouteloua gracilis.
IMG_2278
I am off to look at other peoples’ vases now at ramblinginthegarden. Thank you very much for encouraging everyone to have so much fun with their vases over the year,  Cathy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to In A Vase on Monday. La Vie en Rose.

  1. Christina says:

    Perfect in Pink! It hardly looks an autumn vase at all much more like mid-summer. The dark claret colour of the vase brings out the pinks even more. I hate brown too!

  2. Amazing how summer like your display is Chloris. I can’t believe you’ve still got so many pink flowers. Lovely display.

  3. Jane Strong says:

    What gracefulness! So light and lovely and so unexpected in November.

  4. Tina says:

    I’m impressed at what you still have in your gardens to pick for a vase. Pretty in pink, indeed!

  5. Debra says:

    As Audrey Hepburn once said: I believe in pink. Even in November. =)

    • Chloris says:

      I didn’ t know she said that. Great! I really felt the need for some pink today. I was glad there was still some left. Soon we are going to be plunged into a dingy, brown world. That is why I hate winter. It is so monochrome.

  6. Kris P says:

    You have a beautiful collection of pink flowers, Chloris! I think it looks particularly good against the brick wall. The plate was a nice touch too.

  7. Cathy says:

    I like Audrey Hepburn’s comment about pink – but I especially like your delicately pink vase, absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for sparing some crinum to share with us, and for finding such lovely pink additions to go with it. I need to look up your Beaujolais Bonnets – and is that the Hopley’s diascia? I have now bought one of those. All very very lovely – and such kind comments about the meme too. Thanks Chloris.

    • Chloris says:

      It is not a Crinum Cathy, it is the last of my nerines. The Hopley’s Diascia is fabulous. It has been flowering for months. You will love it.

      • Cathy says:

        Oops – temporary aberration, Chloris. I do know it’s a nerine really! I am really looking forward to my diascia flowering next year as I had seen one in real life about the same time as you first featured yours. Well done on your first year of blogging – for us it seems as if you and your profound plant knowledge have always been around…

      • Chloris says:

        Thank you, dear Cathy. What a lovely thing to say.

  8. Chloris i can’t believe you still have so much pink in November. I have pink roses but oh to have more and more pink…I love the delicacy and variety of your vase.

  9. pbmgarden says:

    Your flowers look amazingly fresh and spring-like. Beautifully arranged. I seldom get to photograph my vases outdoors, but what a nice effect you achieved.

  10. Cathy says:

    This is such a pretty vase! I can hardly believe it’s November looking at those gorgeous pink blooms! 🙂

  11. Julie says:

    Thats so pretty Chloris and the Viburnham tinus flowers have come in very handy!

  12. Chloris says:

    Thank you Julie. The Viburnum tinus is living on borrowed time. I am working my way round the garden getting rid of them. But it is an uphill job, there are so many. The previous owner had a thing about them . Mahonia too are everywhere.

  13. Usually not a big fan of pink, but that is really lovely. I especially like the ‘New Dawn’ rose and the mosquito grass.

  14. Chloris says:

    New Dawn is so reliable and healthy. It always has a second flowering. The Mosquito grass was an impulse buy this year, I love it and it is great for flower arrangements.

  15. Annette says:

    Oh Chloris, I keep thinking it can’t get any better but I’m wrong – such fireworks! The nerine look splendid in a vase and I love the way the mosquitos hover over it. Well done!

  16. CathyT says:

    Lovely pinks, Chloris! Nice to be reminded what a good rose New Dawn is. I looked carefully for the scabious with that lovely name, ‘Beaujolais Bonnets’, but there was only a tempting hint. I’ll hope to see it popping up in another of your arrangements – it sounds like my kind of plant. And the nerine is divine!

    • Chloris says:

      You are right Cathy, I carefully picked the last of the Scabious to put in the vase and then forgot to make sure that they could be seen in the photo. They are lovely and very easy from seed.
      I have nerines in different parts of the garden and some are long gone. The clump that I picked this from is still going strong so late in the year.

  17. Flighty says:

    Considering it’s November that really is wonderful. xx

  18. snowbird says:

    How beautiful! I can’t get over how much you still have blooming. I have new dawn as part of my new rose collection which I shall plant out next spring, It was lovely to see yours blooming so late, I really hope mine does too.xxx

  19. jenhumm116 says:

    Wow Chloris, that’s an incredible pink firework of a vase – just gorgeous!

  20. Lovely pinks! I’m not a fan of brown (or gray) either. I think both can look great as supporting players and with blue-sky background, but if they’re the dominant colors I get sleepy. 😉 They tell me “time to hibernate.” In any case, your arrangement is quite uplifting and pretty!

  21. So beautifully pink, Chloris. I find it hard to imagine so many pinks still in flower. Good planning on your part, no doubt! Oh, and the wonderful Audrey Hepburn was definitely right!

  22. Robbie says:

    I am not a fan of pink outside the garden- BUT-I have grown to appreciate it in the garden over the years. I love your flowers in the vase! All those shades of pinks:-) I have some pink mums and passion pink chard but that is it! Pretty amazing all that you have!

  23. Chloris says:

    Yes, it is unusual for this time of the year. I can’ t remember still having nerines out so late before. I love them. In fact I love all the pinks, particularly now that everything is getting so brown and dark and dank.

  24. Anna says:

    Oh most pretty in pink Chloris. It is sad that brown, dark, damp and drear are now the order of the day but not long to go until we see pink and other coloured hellebores 🙂

  25. bittster says:

    Add me to the list of people loving your pink this week. It looks completely fresh and cheery, but the nerines look best of all. Such a clean color on such a delicate and shapely flower. The whole arrangement has a perfect lightness to it!

  26. What a stunner, Chloris. Well done.

Leave a Reply

