Wordless Wednesday. Porcelain Poppies.

The Tower of London

The Tower of London

The moat filled with porcelain poppies

The moat filled with porcelain poppies

IMG_2198
IMG_2191

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Wordless Wednesday. Porcelain Poppies.

  1. Cathy says:

    Earlier pictures I have seen when there weren’t nearly as many poppies as this were already very moving, so I wasn’t prepared for yours…. No doubt even more moving being there in person….. Thanks for sharing, Chloris.

  2. AnnetteM says:

    These are magnificent. I am hoping to see them myself this weekend.

  3. pbmgarden says:

    So cool. Must have been amazing in person.

  4. Julie says:

    My goodness this is stunning and very moving, we visited earlier in the year and the difference is incredible. We have volunteered to take part in the disassembling, looking at your photos I think that is going to be quite emotional.

    • Chloris says:

      Oh Julie, what an experience, helping to dismantle it. What are they going to do with all the poppies?

      • Julie says:

        The day after Armistice day there are 3 shifts a day for a month, dismantling and packing the Poppies up as they have been sold to members of the public for £25 each. The funds raised are being split between 6 charities, such as Help for Heroes. We helped early on with the installation, it was a privilege then and we met some very interesting folk also helping assemble and place the Poppies. I heard that Boris Johnson is trying to delay the dismantling though so that more people can go along and view them.

  5. I agree it is a stunning vision and very moving…I have seent his display grow in pictures but I am sure seeing it in person is so much more moving.

  6. Flighty says:

    I saw them last week, simply an amazing sight. xx

  7. mrsdaffodil says:

    This scene, and your photos of it, are fantastic. I am especially impressed by the first photo, by the composition–the stark stone walls and the brilliant red poppies. And so many of them! What a display.

  8. Robbie says:

    I read a landscape book where they used flowering plants to create a “river” look…it was amazing how they landscaped like moving water…this is like moving water! Breathtaking!

    • Chloris says:

      It is like a river of blood. The poppy is a symbol of remembrance here. Every poppy represents a British life lost in the First World War. It is a very moving and awe- inspiring way of being confronted by the sheer number of those who died.

  9. Debra says:

    I think this is the most brilliant work of art I have seen in years. So apropos.

  10. Fantastic, I love the art comment. Poppies as Public Art.

  11. Chloris says:

    It is a very special sort of art. It is to mark the start of the First World War. We wear poppies here for Remembrance Day. Every poppy in this installation represents a life lost. It is very moving.

  12. snowbird says:

    It is very beautiful and moving, hauntingly so. Such amazing pics.xxx

  13. jenhumm116 says:

    Hi Chloris – just stunning.
    I’d read that one way to see them was from the number 15 bus, so when I was in the City last Friday, I duly hopped on, feeling a little smug as I saw the hordes of people below. I wasn’t feeling nearly so smug when we whizzed past the Tower and it was difficult to see anything at all because of the newly erected hoardings!
    I just wasn’t feeling strong enough (and had on high, interview shoes!) to get out and walk back.
    Maybe next week when I’m back in London again, in the meantime, thanks so much for sharing.

  14. Breathtaking. Thank you for sharing this.

  15. Reblogged this on MissingHenryMitchell and commented:
    Take a look at Chloris’s stunning photos of red poppies at the Tower of London, for Armistice Day. Each one represents a British life lost in World War I.

  16. Wow! I wouldn’t have thought this was real if I hadn’t scanned the earlier comments you received. What a special testimonial!

  17. Oh my goodness. That is so beautiful and moving. What a remembrance! We were at the Tower of London last October, so I can sort of imagine the mass effect of it. But it must be incredible in person! Thanks for sharing.

  18. How very moving and thought provoking.

  19. An incredible sight, I can’t imagine all the effort that went into it. I love how the poppies seem to flow from the Tower window.

  20. Anna says:

    Oh what a stunning sight Chloris. I always find myself in tears when the poppies fall from the ceiling at the end of the annual Festival of Remembrance from the Albert Hall. I think that this would have the same effect. You must have been so pleased that you were able to see it.

  21. Such a powerful reminder of the true cost of war. Veteran’s Day is coming up in the US and since my late father, cousin, and husband are all veteran’s, it’s a very personal holiday. That would be incredible to see in person.

  22. CathyT says:

    Thanks so much for that Chloris. I remember seeing pictures of them very, very early in the summer. So glad that I happened on your photos near 11 November. Poignant for most of us from the UK (or Canada, or ‘down under’ – are those Commonwealth lives represented in the total number of poppies too?). We all have grandparents etc. whose lives are either symbolised by the poppies or whose lives were intricately tied to the life of each poppy.

Leave a Reply

