End of Month View.

I am joining in with Helen’s meme a couple of days late, but all the photos were taken on the 31st.October.
DSC_0188
Cotinus ‘Grace’ goes a lovely autumn colour and blends well with the Acer next to it. Overhead are the yellow leaves of a weeping birch and the tree all strapped up with blue rope is a mulberry; Morus niger. You can just see the flowers of  the rose ‘Buff Beauty’ to the left of the picture.
DSC_0186
Here is the knobbly trunk of the Betula pendula ‘Tristis. The ropes can come off for the winter now, they are for our hammocks.
DSC_0175
This is the view looking through the Cotinus to the summer house.
Going further down the garden we come to the big pond or the ‘pit’ as I call it because it is such a deep hole.
DSC_0167
The shrub to the left is a large Forsythia which has amazed me this year with its autumn tints. The tall grass is Arundo donax .
I have several different bamboos round the pond which I will show you another day. This is just one of them.

DSC_0174
I also have several different Cornus here for their coloured stems in winter. This one Cornus sanguinea ‘Midwinter fire’ has lovely orange stems but it also has good autumn foliage.
DSC_0170
The tree to the right of the picture is the Snake bark Acer, Acer grosseri var. hersii.
DSC_0171
I tried to grow hydrangeas here but they got drowned when the water level rose in winter. The next picture is one that  was growing higher up the bank.  I brought it with me from my last garden as a cutting. I don’t know its name but it has large flowers which go such a lovely antique shade in the Autumn. Incidentally, I don’t know whether you have tried it,  but hydrangeas are incredibly easy from cuttings.
DSC_0172
Further round there is a lovely Mahonia  eurybracteata ‘Soft Caress’ in bloom. This garden has far too many mahonias, but I couldn’t resist the lovely foliage of this one and I bought it a couple of years ago.
IMG_2092Mahonia ‘Charity’ is all round the garden. I quite like it but I don’t know why the previous owner felt the need to plant quite so much of it.
DSC_0183
It is very shady round here and the pretty little Reineckia carnea runs around quite happily.
IMG_2089We won’t go further down and into the orchard this time, and I am certainly not going to show you the potager which is in urgent need of attention. But before we go back I wanted to show you  the seed heads of this Clematis flammula climbing up a plum tree. This clematis has frothy clouds of little white fragrant flowers in summer.
DSC_0182
Reginald Farrer said that he hated roses like’ withered moths’ in winter. But it has been so warm that these roses look as fresh as they did in summer. I don’t think Farrer could object to them. The first one is ‘Buff beauty’.
DSC_0161

The next one is Rosa mutabilis.
DSC_0180
I showed you Rosa ‘Grace’ in a vase recently. She is stunning.
IMG_2267
This dainty Abutilon has been flowering for ages now in the protection of the wall.
DSC_0194
I seem to have quite a few flowers in rusty red shades. Love them or loathe them, a late flowering Kniphofia rooperi  makes a valuable contribution to the November garden.
DSC_0152
Nearby, I have the lovely Chrysanthemum ‘Chelsea Physic garden’. It is a dusky russety-red with bronze backs to the petals. Gorgeous.
DSC_0150
I have become very fond of Chrysanthemums the last year or two, specially the November flowering ones. If we go round to the front garden we will find a few more. I don’t know the name of this lovely pink one, it is a cutting from a friend . Whatever it is I love it. To the right of it you can see that the tall Dianthus rupicola is still in bloom.
IMG_2242
My favourite is the very old variety ‘Emperor of China’. It blooms very late and at the same time the foliage turns a lovely red colour.
IMG_2245
I think the single daisy flowers of Chrysanthemum ‘Mary Stoker’ look lovely with Hesperantha coccinea ‘Mrs. Hegarty’ and the red Hesperantha coccinea ‘Major’.
IMG_2250
Hesperantha (or Schizostylis if you are still using its old name) is wonderful for this time of the year and as long as it doesn’t dry out it will spread quickly and you can divide it up and have it all over the garden.
IMG_2111
I will finish with my November snowdrop so if you don’t like snowdrops in November close your eyes now.

Galanthus elwesii 'Barnes'

Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’

I love Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’ which always flowers in November. I am thrilled that I have several clumps of it  which take over from Galanthus reginae-olgae which has finished blooming now.
Thank you Helen from the Patientgardener blog for hosting this End of Month View meme.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to End of Month View.

  1. Debra says:

    At the risk of repeating myelf yet again: thanks for sharing your beautiful collection. The Rosa ‘Grace’ is especially lovely.

  2. Alison says:

    Oh, I did enjoy this look at your garden, Chloris. I only have one mum, Sheffield Pink, but now I want more, after seeing yours. I must look online to see if I can buy some. I hope my Hesperantha multiplies. Love your peachy/apricot roses too, although I won’t try growing those.

    • Chloris says:

      Hi Alison, I saw all your lovely Sheffield Pink on your post and I think they look wonderful grown en masse like that.
      Your Hesperantha should increase as long as you don’ t let it dry out. They hate being dry.

  3. Christina says:

    I was sold Hesperantha coccinea ‘Major’ as a plant that is drought tolerant, I haven’t found it to be and now your description tells me why! I’ll give them some water to try to coax them into flower. Your roses are lovely and I like all the rusty shades you have.

    • Chloris says:

      Than you Christina. You were misinformed about the Hesperantha. In its native South Africa, it grows in water meadows and bogs.Give it lots of water and it should bloom for you.

  4. I love Mahonias, I tend towards thinking true gardeners really appreciate them … and birds. I had M,bealii everywhere in my previous garden. Another lovely post.

  5. Chloris says:

    Thank you. The mahonias are alive with honey bees at the moment.

  6. gardenfancyblog says:

    You still have so much color and interest in your gardens.I like the mahonia, as well all your many colorful flowers. Thanks for sharing them with us! -Beth

  7. I love those yellow stems on the Bamboo Chloris, You garden looks great – the Cornus here are now bare but they have been lovely. Only now that the shrubs in my garden are getting a bit more mature am I appreciating their autumn colours.
    You’ve a gorgeous collection of Chrysanthemums and I now need to know why I missed Rosa Grace in my search for peach coloured roses for the front garden, I’ll be keeping her in mind if any of the others don’t impress me.

    • Chloris says:

      Hello Angie, my other Cornus are bare but this one holds its leaves longer than the others.
      Grace is a David Austin rose and certainly worth seeking out.

  8. You have a lovely autumnal garden, Chloris! There’s still so much going on. The roses are gorgeous, particularly ‘Grace.’ I love the Chrysanthemums too. They’re sold here as annuals but they poop out so quickly – one Santa Ana wind and they’re toast – that I ignore their siren call and don’t even bother buying them anymore.

    • Chloris says:

      I have only recently come to realise how invaluable chrysanthemums are for late autumn colour here. These are all fully perennial. You have so many other things in bloom though, that you have lots of colour without chrysanthemums.

  9. mrsdaffodil says:

    Roses blooming in the garden at this time of year are a treat, aren’t they? After a dry summer, we’ve had a lot of rain in recent weeks, but still these flowers persevere. Your garden still looks lovely.

  10. jenhumm116 says:

    Lots of interesting plants to admire here.
    I’m not a big fan of Mahonia ‘Charity’ but I love your ‘Soft Caress’, so much more dainty.
    I also love your ‘tawny’ roses, particulary ‘Buff Beauty’, as well as the Knophofia rooperi.
    All just lovely!

    • Chloris says:

      I have been admiring your End of Month View too. Your Forest Pansy has much better autumn colur than mine. It is a wonderful tree isn’ t it?
      I like this Kniphofia so much because it blooms so late in the year.
      Mahonia Soft Caress is a lovely thing, it doesn’ t look much like a Mahonia. The only drawback is that it is quite expensive.

  11. mattb325 says:

    The apricot shades of the roses ‘Buff Beauty’ and ‘Grace’ are splendid and often under-used colours in the garden….

  12. So: I did not know that snowdrops bloom in November. I thought they bloomed in the winter.
    And I’ve never seen that Clematis flammula before. How pretty!
    And I love the many shades and colours and shapes and textures in your garden. Your garden really inspires.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Cynthia. Those are the seed heads of Clematis flammula. The flowers are really pretty and fragrant too.
      You can get different sorts of snowdrop, so that you can have them in bloom from October until April.

  13. Anna says:

    I enjoyed your October tour Chloris. How long have you had your mahonia eurybracteata ‘Soft Caress’? Mine was new earlier this year. It’s in a container and has no signs of flowers as yet. Maybe I’m just being impatient. The foliage on chysanthemum ‘Emperor of China’ is every bit as attractive as the flower.

  14. snowbird says:

    How beautiful your plants are, you do have some rather gorgeous roses….’fraid I have withered moths! The first few pics brought the secret garden to mind, lovely, especially the knobbly roots of the tristis, I just love all things gnarled and knobby. I really liked the abutilon and really must find out what those little orange seeds in the pods to the left of the knipawotsit are…..how unusual!
    Looking forward to seeing more on the pond and orchard…xxx

  15. Chloris says:

    The orange seeds near the Knipowatsit are on the wild Iris foetidissima. I have never planted it but it pops up everywhere. The flowers are more subtle than showy but the orange seeds in winter are quite fun. I will send you some seeds if you like it.
    I’ ve never actually shown the area round this pond on my blog because I am not happy with it. I’ m going to have a blitz on it and see if I can bet it fit to be seen.

    • snowbird says:

      Ha! I love the fact the knipowatsit is capitalized on you reply….lol
      A wild Iris eh? How lovely, if you don’t mind sending seeds I would be delighted to receive them. How very kind!
      Good luck vamping your pond, one of mine is full of apples.xxx

      • Chloris says:

        If you email me your address I will send you some. Maybe you would like some seeds of Angels’ Fishing Rods, Dierama pulcherrimum at the same time?

    • snowbird says:

      Oh that would be absolutely marvelous!!! How kind of you…..I am probably being utterly idiotic but I can’t seem to find your email address. Would you mind emailing me it….thanks SO much!!!xxx

  16. bittster says:

    The trunk on that birch is a work of art. Did you plant it? It looks old, but I know they can grow quick when they want to.
    I’m also a fan of the latest chrysanthemums. They’re in full bloom now and I’m wondering how they will handle tonight’s hard freeze. My fingers are crossed…. and I’m considering searching a few more out this winter 🙂
    I don’t want to talk about the galanthus. My envy could make my comments sound spiteful or jealous, so I think it’s best to avoid any comment on that wonderful plant!

    • Chloris says:

      We have only been here 4 years and I am not sure how old the tree is. It does have lovely bark though.
      Oh no, a frost already? It doesn’t seem a minute since the last of your snow.
      Isn’ t Galanthus elwesii ‘Barnes’ available in the States? I feel sure you really need one. I don’ t see how you can possibly manage without it.

  17. Wow, a Snowdrop that blooms in November! I like that idea! I’m frequently impressed with the unusual variegated color on my Forsythias, too. It’s kind of unexpected because most of the growing season, they’re very nondescript and underappreciated. Mine–a low-growing variety–don’t even bloom as much as the taller ones. But the autumn colors are quite pretty. Your end-of-month view is beautiful!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth. This Galanthus ‘ Barnes’ is always such a welcome sight in November. Forsythias are never very exciting and I haven’ t planted mine, they were here when we came. The autumn colour is welcome though and the flowers are so useful for spring vases.

  18. G Curdy says:

    I have several Mahonias,and since the humming birds love them so much I am going to get more. I enjoyed your blog this morning including your sense of humor about snowdrops in November. Our Smoke bush Grace hasn’t begun to show its fall colors yet,this is it’s first fall in our yard and I can’t wait to see it after seeing yours.

    • Chloris says:

      I love all the Cotinus but Grace is particularly lovely for its autumn colour. I also love the American smoke tree, Continue obovatus for spectacular autumn colour, but it does grow quite large.

  19. Flighty says:

    With October having been such an unseasonal month it’s not surprising what a wonderful selection you’re showing here. My favourites have to rosa ‘Grace’ and the chrysanthemums ‘Emperor of China’. xx

    • Chloris says:

      It would be so lovely if the warm weather would last a bit longer. The garden is still full of colour. The Emperor of China is particularly useful as it always flowers so late.

  20. Your garden is looking rather lovely in its autumn colours Chloris, I particularly love the first few images, the trunk of your birch is wonderful.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Janet. This is part of my garden which I don’ t show very often. It is rather untidy. It really is high time I got to grips with it. Blogging really does make you want to keep up with the neglected bits of the garden.

  21. Cathy says:

    It’s lovely to take a walk around your garden! It all looks lovely and colourful, with warm autumn shades. The mahonias are lovely – I only know the one that grows wild around here and has sneaked its way into the garden!
    Thanks for the tour!

    • Chloris says:

      The trouble with the common Mahonia is that it seeds all over. My two favourites are ‘Soft Caress’ and Mahonia japonica which blooms in late winter and smells deliciously of Lily- of- the-Valley.

  22. Annette says:

    I can see your garden is glowing too, Chloris. What a delight! I’d love a snake bark maple but unusual trees are difficult to find. Soft caress is a slow grower compared to other Mahonias, don’t you think? Cotinus is one of my favourites. My hesperantha are sulking a bit in the heavy soil – maybe a good dose of compost will sort it out.

    • Chloris says:

      You certainly seem to have found some wonderful trees Annette. I see from your latest lovely post that you have selected the very choicest trees and shrubs for a wonderful autumn display.
      Mahonia ‘ Soft Caress’ is slow growing but very beautiful.
      I love Cotinus. Have you come across the American Smoke tree, Cotinus obovatus? It makes quite a large tree but it is unbeatable for autumn colour. Having said that, I do love ‘Grace’.

      • Annette says:

        Not up to now but I shall keep my eyes well open. They’re great plants. Mine is still small but in a few years it should be a stunning sight.

  23. Robbie says:

    I am so far behind on my blog reading:-( My son was home from college, so I did not get to reading. Your garden is always stunning:-)
    “hydrangeas are incredibly easy from cuttings” I will have to try this next year:-)
    “Clematis flammula ” is that the same as my autumn clematis here that flowers fall + the bees love it. I was wondering if I can grow those from seed or better from cuttings?
    Always learn something new when I stop by!

  24. What a treat to visit your garden at the end of October and see Galanthus blooming. I have never heard of a Betula, but I love the bark and trunk. Beautiful blooms and that Cotinus. Fabulous autumn color. My forsythia is stunning too this year turning a purply hue.

  25. Cathy says:

    Managed to have lost this post of yours in a sea of emails, Chloris – how lovely to have this tour of autumnal parts of your garden. The trunk of that Betula pendula ‘Tristi’ is amazing and I am taking on board what you have been saying about chysanths as I have been dithering about them a little recently and may relent. AND, after poking around to see if my Galanthus ‘Maidwell L’ is doing anything yet, I am also now reconsidering the possibility of late autumn snowdrops…

Leave a Reply

