More September Blooms.

My Garden Bloggers’  Bloom Day post was rather hurried this month and I missed out some beautiful flowers which deserved to be included.  For example I forgot to include most of my lovely salvias.  One of my favourites is the bright pink Salvia microphylla ‘Wild Water Melon.’ It has large bright pink flowers with a pouched lower lip.IMG_1198
I have quite a few new ones this year which kind friends have given to me as cuttings. This one Salvia greggiii  Nachtvlinden’ is the deepest purple. The name is Dutch for moth.
IMG_1143
I love the two-tone pink on this one but I don’t know its name.
IMG_1277

Salvia ‘Wendy’s Wish’ is not hardy and I keep it in a pot.
IMG_1286

Salvias are easy from cuttings so it is always a good idea to keep some going as an insurance policy  Some of them like ‘Water Melon’ have survived  for a few years in my garden. But I know that they might not survive a really cold winter.  Salvia x jamensis ‘Hot Lips’ has proved hardy  for three years now. You can see how it got its name.
IMG_1130
I’m not sure of the name of this next one but it seems to be hardy too.
IMG_1114
The tall growing perennial Salvia uliginosa flowers until the first frost. I mentioned it in my last post and called it  Lobelia uliginosa. Oh dear, whatever was I thinking? I changed it  quickly but nevertheless quite a few people saw it. But nobody said a word.  I don’t know whether nobody noticed or whether everyone was too polite to mention it. So sorry, it is certainly a Salvia and a lovely tall, sky -blue one. I love it when the yellow Clematis tangutica comes out and scrambles around behind it.
IMG_5188 I showed a few Asters or should I say Symphyotrichum last time. Here are a couple more fabourites.
IMG_1215
IMG_1303
The one above is Aster cordifolius ‘Photograph’ with lots of little lavender coloured flowers. I love it and grow it, as you see here, with Chrysanthemum ‘Dixter Orange’.

In the next photograph Aster frikartii ‘Monch’ grows  with Diascia and Rudbeckia. Behind is a yellow shrubby Potentilla which I would never have planted but I don’t mind it at this time of the year
IMG_1141
Still in this bed there is a lovely blue Caryopteris clandonensis ‘Black Knight’. It is not black of course but it is a very dark blue. I grow it with the pure white Anemone x hybrida ‘Andrea Atkinson’.It is probably not an ideal partner as the Caryopteris can take drought and the Anemone can’t, but they seem to be all right together so far.
IMG_5184

 For the back of my wide border I have a very invasive, tall Helianthus which a friend gave me with the warning that it would take over if given the chance. I like it and grow it with the tall Veronia crinita ‘Mammuth’. I am going to beg some of my daughter’s tall blue Echinops to add to the group.
IMG_1297
Pretty in pink at the moment I have a lovely late flowering Echinacea purpurea ‘Vintage Wine’. It is a really dark colour and has very short petals. Many of the new hybrids don’t survive the winter but Echinacea purpurea usually does.
IMG_1257

 A lovely pink Penstemon which has been flowering for weeks is the delightful ‘Connie’s Pink’
IMG_1110

Phygelius ‘African Queen’ flowers earlier in the summer but is having another go now. I love its long trumpet shaped flowers.
IMG_1104

I have bought a new Hydrangea called Hydrangea paniculata ‘Silver Dollar’. It is similar to my son’s ‘Limelight’ but pure white rather than greenish.
IMG_1269
I have planted it near to the lovely, hardy Begonia grandis subsp. evansiana.
IMG_1092 The roses are having the best September flowering that I can remember. Here is  just one. The delicate, pink Rosa ‘Jacqueline du Pre’ I love its pretty pink, yellow tipped stamens.
IMG_1266You can see by all the raindrops that we have had rain at last. A thunderstorm came raging in yesterday and this probably marks the end of the summer. Never mind, Autumn is good too, specially with so many late summer flowers to enjoy. Even the husk of earlier flowers can be attractive. This is what remains of my Peaonia suffruticosa flower.
IMG_1150
It has been a great year for butterflies.  Yesterday while it was still very warm and sunny I managed to get a shot of this lovely Comma. It seems a good way to say goodbye to the summer.
IMG_1248

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to More September Blooms.

  1. Alain says:

    What an amazing collection of salvias, most I have never seen. Salvia microphylla has to be the most intriguing one.
    I notice you say “rain at last”. In eastern North-America there were very few days without rain since early August. This summer has been declared the wettest in 20 years.
    Thank you for the tip about making cuttings of Gaura the other week. I made some and they are already rooting!

    • Chloris says:

      Salvia microphylla Water Melon is one of my favourites. It has such nice big showy flowers.
      Here in the UK ,this summer has been very sunny and dry, specially this month.
      I am glad that your Gaura cuttings are rooting. One can never have too many Gaura!

  2. Alison says:

    I loved your collection of Salvias. We all mess up on plant names once in a while. Usually with me it just stays on the tip of my tongue. I did a very short and sweet bloom day post too this month, just didn’t have time for the usual chronicle of what’s blooming.

    • Chloris says:

      I hate it when that happens. Somebody asks you what something is and although you know very well what it is, the name just won’ t come. Then you remember it in the middle of the night. But you know you won’ t be popular if you ring them at 3 a.m. to tell them.

  3. Jane Strong says:

    Once again, I say, “Lovely, lovely, lovely, Chloris.” for showing so many beautiful plants I’ve never seen before. I never tire of looking at your blooming garden pictures.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jane. I found your comment in my spam. I don’ t know how that happened. That is the great thing about blogs, finding about plants that are new to us.

  4. what a beautiful garden you must have, Chloris. some of these flowers (like most of the salvias) I’ve never seen before, but all are beautiful.
    Well done!

  5. christine says:

    beautiful! love the salvia watermelon:))

  6. gardenfancyblog says:

    You garden still has so many beautiful flowers, Chloris — thanks for sharing their loveliness with us! (I’ve never seen the Phygelius ‘African Queen’ before, as it is not hardy here, so that was especially interesting for me.) -Beth

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Beth. I didn’ t realise that Phygelius isn’ t reliably hardy.Although it comes from South Africa it seems surprisingly hardy here. I love its common name of Devil’s Tears.

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Nice salvias and company. Salvia greggiii Nachtvlinden’ has great color. Great photo of the butterfly–I like how the right wing is outlined in a fringe of flowers.

    • Chloris says:

      I love the colour of Nachtvlinden too. I haven’ t tried it in the garden yet so I don’ t know how hardy it is.
      I was thrilled to get the shot of the butterfly. We haven’ t had a lot of commas around so this was a delight.

  8. Kris P says:

    You have so much going on in your garden, Chloris! I was surprised to see all the Salvias. My own orange Phygelius is hanging on my a thread and the Japanese anemones seem to be taking a pass this year – apparently, they all want more water.

    • Chloris says:

      I should think salvias would do well with you Kris, no worries about hardiness. Japanese anemones, I can see would be a problem though. They do need a lot of water.

  9. Robbie says:

    Again another beautiful tour:-) Your knowledge of the “exact” name of each plant sets you far ahead of me! I did not even notice your mistake:-) Your collection is vast:-) I can’t even imagine how you remember each one with the “exact” name, nick name and cultivar etc. It amazes me every time I stop by!
    I love asters and I have a variety of those in my space…limelight is my signature plant in our small garden, I use it to break up areas because it just always looks good! My “Hydrangea macrophylla Blushing Bride” is in too much shade and did not bloom this year. I had them under an old golden maple for a few years and they loved it ( I have 5) until a storm blew the tree down+ they could not handle the full sun. I had to move them and just feel they are not doing well in the place I put them….yours looks lovely….
    the butterflies are wonderful this year + that one is beautiful…fall is butterfly time in our yard:-) best part of autumn all the floating butterflies + golden finches!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Robbie. My knowledge of plant names comes from a lifetime’ s obsession. Being able to name things is important and the Latin names are important too or how are we going to be able to communicate? Your American common names for plants are often quite different. Anyway, I love languages and this is just another language.
      I just looked up Hydrangea ‘Blushing Bride’ and it is gorgeous.

      • Robbie says:

        I know what you mean about differences. I watch a lot of British “telly” whereI you call things a bit different names or have your own words. My oldest daughter has lived in UK since 2010 and will now be moving to Sweden with her husband. in the next two weeks. I never did get over there to UK to viist but my first grandson was born there:-) I find you have to know the “correct” name to have the right plant-so true!
        It is a lovely plant, but mine has not looked that lovely in the past year:-(

  10. You still have so much going on there, Chloris! I love your Salvias – they’re great at this time of year. Salvias are one of Ashwoodnurseries specialities, and I’ve often been tempted. It’s high time I succumbed. Maybe, next month! As for your Caryopteris/Anemone combo, that’s what gardening is all about. It’s worth taking chances, and experimenting – you see what can arise!

  11. Julie says:

    Your post came up on my reader and I headed straight for my notebook as I knew you would have something I liked. I went along with the Lobelia first time around and even googled it, whilst looking up your Salvias, it did look like a Lobelia and just thought a new one on me as I was more intent on your wonderful Salvias. Your garden must look really lovely Chloris, refreshing to see so much colour without lots of grasses too.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Julie. It is nice to try and keep the colour going at this time of the year but I do love grasses too in September. I specially love Panicum, Miscanthus and Pennisetum.

  12. Flighty says:

    What a wonderful, colourful selection of pictures. I especially like the asters, the rose and the butterfly. xx

  13. The one thing I love about visiting your blog is that I always learn learn of new plants – it the turn of Veronia this time and the fact that there is such a thing as a hardy begonia….who knew! 😉
    I’ve taken my Salvia cuttings we spoke about on your previous post, so fingers crossed.
    Lovely butterfly shot too Chloris.

  14. snowbird says:

    What a fantastic collection of salvias, I especially like the wild water melon…..when I’m out walking along the Cheshire lines I’ve noticed a whole bank of flowers that look a little like your two tone pink salvia….I’d love to know what they are. The African queen is just fabulous, how very exotic and that white anemone is to die for…..LOVE your little comma!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you. When do the pink flowers you have seen bloom? You always find such interesting plants along railway lines. I suppose they could even be escaped garden plants.
      If you like Phygelius African Queen, I will root a cutting and send it to you.

      • snowbird says:

        They have been in bloom for a few weeks now, they look like a wildflower version of yours.
        Struth….if you are going to send everyone cuttings it will end up costing you an arm and a leg…but I shant refuse!!! You are such a sweetheart! Maybe deliver them in person next time your hubs visits relatives….at least then I could feed and water you!xxx

      • Chloris says:

        It would be lovely to come and see you when we come up to Liverpool but I don’ t know when that will be, we have no plans at the moment. I have checked the Phygelius and it has lots of rooted bits round it. I will send you a nice rooted bit in the spring then you won’ t have to worry about getting it through the winter.

  15. Cathy says:

    Your salvias are all lovely Chloris. And the butterfly too… I saw a comma last week too after looking out for one for so long! Summer is definitely over here, but as you say autumn can be nice too. After all, it means all the asters are in bloom. Really like the border with the asters and rudbeckia. And the white anemone is pretty too – so many gorgeous flowers! 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      The butterflies have been wonderful this year Cathy, I always thing of you when I see lots. When we got back from our holidays, the rotting greengages lying on the ground were thick with clouds of red admirals.

  16. Wonderfu post. You have a fine selection of asters, and your ‘Adelaide Atkinson’ looks much like my ‘Honorine Jobert’ – a favorite flower for autumn.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jason. I have found out that this plant was wrongly labelled. It was sold to me as Adelaide Atkinson but it should be Andrea Atkinson. When I googled Adelaide Atkinson the only references I found were things written by me.I’ m going to change it. It is very like Honerine but I think it is even better.

  17. How lucky (and industrious) you are to have such a flower-packed garden at the end of the growing season. Salvias were a favorite in my previous, sunny garden. I especially liked ‘Mystic Spires Blue’ for its long season of bloom. Your two-toned pink looks like a ‘Hot Lips’ cousin called ‘Icing Sugar’. Whatever its name, the dark calyxes provide a handsome frame for the flowers.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Marion, I have looked it up and I’ m sure you are right my unknown Salvia looks like ‘ Icing Sugar’. I love Mystic Blue Spires too, I will look out for it next year.

  18. I have a lovely ‘hot lips’ salvia running riot in my front garden. It flowers all summer and well into winter – it’s a gloriously hardy and showy plant. I love it!

  19. Strangely I sometimes mix up (from my lips) salvia and fuchsia, in my head it is right, it just comes out wrong. I love the Veronia, have never grown it but would like to one day. Great pictures as usual!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Gill.
      I do exactly the same thing with Eryngium and Erodium. And for some bizarre reason Diascia and Gaura. But at least I know what I’ m talking about even if I baffle everyone else.

  20. Tina says:

    So very glad you posted a ‘Bloom Day II’–you have so much blooming! The salvias are gorgeous, as are all of your asters.

    • Chloris says:

      I love asters, specially the small flowered ones. I think Le Vasterival is my favourite, it grows nice and tall and the dark stems set off the flowers so well.

  21. You have so many gorgeous Salvias … and Asters … and Hydrangeas … and … everything else! It’s been a great year for butterflies here, too. Lovely photos!

  22. Cathy says:

    Isn’t it funny how we can ‘forget’ some of the real stars in our gardens sometime! I really like the pink salvias you have, especially that first one – I have generally avoided them in case they weren’t fully hardy so perhaps I will reonsider. Same with echinaceas…

    • Chloris says:

      Salvias are so easy from cuttings that you can always have some in reserve in case they don’ t make the winter.
      Recent Echinacea hybrids are very unreliable when it comes to winter hardiness but Echinacea purpurea should be all right. In fact I find that it seeds around.

  23. Peter/Outlaw says:

    I also love salvias, especially their fragrant foliage and their attractiveness to hummingbirds. All of your blooms are looking beautiful!

  24. Annette says:

    Hi Chloris, lovely selection of flowers. One of the gardeners which I will feature in my book gave me Nachtvlinder as a present and I think it’s exceptionally beautiful. But so is Wild water melon. Never had much luck with S. uliginosa. The Aster sounds like the perfect plant for me and I will watch out for it! I guess it’s healthy and not prone to mildew? Lovely picture of a comma – well done!

  25. Chloris says:

    Aster ‘Photograph’ is gorgeous and very healthy. Another one I really recommend is the gorgeous ‘Le Vasterival’.
    ‘Water Melon’ and ‘Nachtvlinden’ are really good salvias. I suppose there is no question of hardiness being a problem for you.

  26. Debra says:

    All beautiful photos but that last one is a one in a million shot!

  27. bittster says:

    So this is what’s left after you’ve already run through a complete bloom day!? Amazing! So many interesting treasures and perfectly grown goodies.
    I always forget that salvias are easy from cuttings, I’m always stuck on the seed grown ones. I should address that next year!
    I tried my first phygelius this summer. I’m hoping to overwinter it and enjoy it again next year so wish me luck. A little further south and there’s a chance it’s hardy, here not so much the case so it will be coming in.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Frank. I can thoroughly recommend salvias, easy from cuttings and they bloom for weeks on end.
      I didn’t realise that Phygelius isn’ t reliably hardy. Not surprising really as it comes from South Africa.

  28. Anna says:

    Oh I’ve just added a couple of more salvias to the wish list Chloris 🙂

  29. Chloris says:

    They are well worth it. They flower for weeks on end and they are so easy from cuttings that you can have as many as you please.

  30. Chloris says:

    Thank you Debra, I was thrilled with it. You don’ t get to see many commas and when I do I never have my camera with me. But this one came and posed very prettily on the Verbena for me.

  31. That’s quite a salvia collection! I love Salvia greggiii ‘Nachtvlinden’, it looks a little like Amistad, which I have on order. Must take cuttings…

  32. Christina says:

    Your garden is still so full of flowers Chloris; I love all the salvias. I must buy some more even though they always need some water during the hot months they are pretty drought tolerant once established. Christina

  33. Chloris what a fabulous follow up…so many flowers I am not sure which is my favorite right now…but I wish I could plant more salvia that would be hardy…you have so many lovely ones.

Leave a Reply

