Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. September.

I almost forgot. This is the time of the month when garden bloggers prowl around their gardens and find what they have in bloom.
We will start with something a little unusual.
IMG_3589This is Colquhounia coccinea var. vestita. It needs a really warm, sunny spot. It comes from grasslands in the Himalayas.  I don’t know how hardy it is because last year we had a really mild winter. It did get cut back to the ground  but it grew back again.  It probably won’t cope with a really hard winter. It has soft, silvery  leaves and very eye-catching orange flowers.

Everybody seems to be growing tithonias this year and carrying on the orange theme I have Tithonia rotundifolia ‘Torch’. I wish I had  grown more of them them they are gorgeous.
IMG_1028

We still have an abundance of daisies but I am not going to show you yet more rudbeckias and Aster frikartii ‘Monch’ although they are still going strong. But I love Michaelmas daisies and here are a few more which are out now. I love this Aster nova- angliae–  ‘Purple Dome’. I have just learnt from Jason at gardenininthecity blog that we have to call them Symphyotrichum now. Oh dear.
IMG_1054
‘Purple Dome’ is a good name for it because it does make a nice neat dome.
I love the small flowered Asters and ‘Le Vasterival’ is just coming out now. I love it.

IMG_1281

This lovely hybrid is named after the beautiful garden of the late Princess Sturdza near Dieppe in France. It is one of my favourites.
I have a pink Aster which has been flowering for some time now. It is Aster novae-angliae ‘Harrington’s Pink’. Sorry I can’t get my head round the new name yet. I just remember that it is something ‘trichum’. It has certainly tricked me.
IMG_1070
You can just see the Aster behind the orange leaves of Hamamelis x intermedia ‘Arnold’s Promise.’ I was a bit anxious about this plant getting its autumn colour so early but Cathy at Ramblinginthegarden assures me that hers has too.

This is another daisy  with dusky pink flowers, it is Aster amellus ‘ Brilliant’.
IMG_1062
And one more daisy flower . I love this red Coreopsis.’Red Shift’. It is well named because the colour does change as the season goes on and it changes from yellow to red.
IMG_1023
The backs of the flowers are a golden yellow.
IMG_1025Whilst we are looking at red flowers my dark red Dahlias are continuing to delight me. Next year I must try growing some different ones, but I have been trying to get dahlias as near to black as possible.


The blues of September come in some glorious shades. Everybody finds true blue irresistible.
Salvia patens is a gorgeous colour. It is not supposed to be reliably hardy but I have had mine for years.
IMG_1029
I have a nice clump of Salvia uliginosa which gets bigger every year. I always think of it as the ‘Ugly Nose’ Salvia. It has  blue flowers which bloom for ages. Soon the yellow flowered Clematis tangutica will be setting it off nicely.
IMG_0636
The first gentians are coming out. This is a nameless one which I bought at the farm shop for £2.99 the other day. Obviously I had to have it.
IMG_1036
Penstemons are still going strong but my favourite pink flower at the moment is the late flowering Dianthus rupicola. It ia a large, tall growing pink which comes from Sicily.
IMG_1048
Whilst this Dianthus flowers late in the season, Hesperantha coccinea ‘Pink Princess’ flowers very early, long before any of the others appear.
IMG_1051
it is the most delicate, palest pink. I think it is sometimes called ‘Wilfred H. Bryant’. Hesperantha is of course, what we have to call Schizostylis now, which is annoying if you have only just learnt how to spell it.
Who can resist lovely colchicums? They don’t last long, some of them are already over. They are a nuisance in the Spring with their out-sized leaves, but you forgive them when they pop up now in ever bigger clumps.

Colchicum autumnale with Liriope.

Colchicum autumnale with Liriope.

Colchicum 'The Giant'

Colchicum ‘The Giant’

IMG_1055

I love the white flowers of  Colchicum autumnale  ‘Album’. It is not as pure white as Colchicum  speciosum ‘Album’, but it is easier to find.Whilst we are talking about pure, white flowers, take a look at this prickly poppy: Argemone grandiflora. I love it.
IMG_1020
We all have lots of pink Cyclamen hederifolium in bloom now. The white one is so lovely too.
IMG_3616
IMG_3606

Like everyone else I grow lots of Sedums because they are so useful at this time of the year and attract butterflies. My favourite, which you don’t see very often, is the bright coloured’ Red cauli’.
IMG_1067
And now I am going to finish with my favourite plant in bloom at the moment. It really needs a post all to itself. It is so beautiful that I can’t stop staring at it. I expect I will be showing it again because it is so gorgeous. But here is a glimpse of it. Drum roll please for the Guernsey lily: Nerine sarniensis.
IMG_1034
Thank you to Carol at maydreamgardens for hosting this popular meme. If you pop over there you can find out what people around the world are enjoying in their gardens at the moment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. September.

  1. Alison says:

    Nerine is a beautiful flower, I can see why it’s your favorite right now. The Colquohounia at the top of your post with the orange flowers is lovely too.

    • Chloris says:

      I love nerines and I have several ones. This lovely red one is always the first to bloom.
      I am enjoying the Colqhounia but if we have a hard winter I might well lose it so I’ d better make the most of it.

  2. Laurin Lindsey says:

    So many beautiful blooms! Looks like spring not late summer! The Guernsey lily is fabulous : ) It is so interesting how plants bloom at different times else where, Cyclamens bloom here in the winter.

    • Chloris says:

      The Guernsey lily is gorgeous. It is sometimes called ‘ Jewel lily’ which suits it.
      We have winter flowering Cyclamen here too: Cyclamen coum with round leaves.

  3. Jane Strong says:

    Oh, you have lots of cyclemen blooming right now. It’s a January flower down here. In fact, you have lots of new and unusual to me plants flowering, but I still love the asters best.

    • Chloris says:

      Hi Jane, Cyclamen hederifolium is a late summer flowering one and then in winter we have Cyclamen coum.
      I love asters too. I don’ t think I’ ll ever be able to remember to call them Symphyotrichum.

  4. Tina says:

    You have so many beauties, Chloris! Like Jane, cyclamen will grow here in Central Texas, but only in the winter. I especially love the “Michaelmas” daisies. Ours are usually called, Fall Aster or
    American aster, or Wild blue aster and they have not yet bloomed, but will in October. Probably. The botanical name? Symphyotrichum oblongifolium–how’s that for a mouthful? I’ll stick with one of the other names, thank you. I can see why that nerine is your favorite–so, so lovely. Happy blooms to you.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Tina. I have lots more asters to come next month, these are just the early ones. Symphyotrichum oblongifolium? It doesn’ t exactly trip off the tongue does it? It sounds like a term of abuse. Something you’ d call someone you really don’ t like.

  5. snowbird says:

    You have some delicious looking plants there and so hard to choose a favourite, if I absolutely had too….with a gun at my head, I think it would have to be the white poppy….I’m amazed you can recall so many Latin names, makes my memory boggle….p.s please don’t tell Jason, there is talk of breaking one’s trowel!!!xxx

    • Chloris says:

      I love the white prickly poppy too. Don’ t worry I think you just get your trowel broken if you say that all asters look alike, not for forgetting to say Symphyotrichum. Just as well too, because it is very difficult to say, specially after a couple of glasses of wine.

  6. rusty duck says:

    Marvellous.
    Fear not. Hamamelis ‘Diane’ has had stunning red foliage here already.. seen, been and dropped off. Try Dahlia ‘Karma Chocolate’ Not quite black, but opens deep chocolate brown and fades to the richest crimson. Glad to hear that Salvia patens has survived for you.. and I just love the Nerine!

    • Chloris says:

      I have Karma Chocolate too and it is gorgeous. But the ones I show here are all seed grown.
      I hope your lovely Salvia ‘Black and Blue’ survives too, but don’ t forget to take cuttings. The Nerine is not hardy and has to live in the greenhouse in the winter.

  7. Julie says:

    Wow, you have lots in flower, I really like the back (and front) of your Coreopsis ‘Red Shift’, another plant of yours I am now adding onto my wish list.

  8. Chloris says:

    I have seen pictures of Red Shift that look almost entirely yellow. I don’ t know if they vary. But this is the name that mine came with. I love it.

  9. wow! photos are sooooo good!

  10. Chloris your flowers are beautiful…and you can still call them asters. I do.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Donna. I am working on learning Symphyotrichum and I hope it will soon trip off the tongue. The trouble about calling them asters is that they are nothing like annual asters. Perhaps we should stick with Michaelmas daisies but that might confuse bloggers in the States, as I think you have your own common name for them.

  11. mrsdaffodil says:

    It looks like there is still a lot of beauty in your garden. I’m not happy to hear of a change of name for Schizostylis, though. How do you find out about these name changes?

    • Chloris says:

      At least Hesperantha is easier to spell than Schizostylis. I learn the new names of plants because when I am not gardening or writing about gardening, I am reading about gardening. Sometimes I learn the new names from other bloggers.

  12. Kris P says:

    You have a beautiful collection of flowers for Bloom Day, Chloris, some of which I’ve never heard of. That Hesperantha is gorgeous and, as the genus doesn’t even appear in my area garden guide, I expect that means I can’t grow it here. I’ve never seen a Nerine that color either, although that is at least in my guide and will, theoretically, grow here (if I had the water to keep it alive). Re the classification changes – at the very least, why can’t the taxonomists announce them all at one time each year, like changes to the tax code?

    • Chloris says:

      Maybe the Hesperantha would appear in your garden guide under its old name of Schizostilys. It would be a bit of a challenge for you though as it needs lots of water.
      I keep my Guernsey lily in a pot as it is not hardy here. Not a problem to you there.
      You are right, yearly name change announcements would help. Then we could sit down and learn them once a year and be done with it.

  13. debsgarden says:

    You have a wonderful variety of blooms. You did save the best for last, though the prickly poppy is a close second!

  14. I can’t believe how much you have in flower, just now! The poppy is exquisite, and the dahlias are sumptuous! As for early autumn foliage, it is rather alarming. Our Amelanchier is almost at its colour peak already! Oh, dear, more name changes. I do try so hard to have the correct names, spelt correctly, and just when I’ve mastered it…….!

    • Chloris says:

      I know, it’ s not just learning how to spell new names but one has to take a guess as to how they are pronounced. I do garden talks now and again and I dread having to come out with a name when I’ m not quite sure of the pronunciation.
      My Amelanchier is colouring too. It is a bonus though. Beautiful flowers and autumn colour.

  15. Anna says:

    Oh what fabulous September blooms Chloris. I had to smile at the thought of prowling gardeners. I’ve just heard about the aster name change too and may well conveniently forget it. I especially like the look of your ‘Le Vasterival’ and must find out more. I have aster diveraticus which has lovely white flowers but it has a very floppy habit.

    • Chloris says:

      Le Vasterival is gorgeous. It is very healthy, it grows to about 5 foot and it has dark plum coloured stems which set the flowers off beautifully. The flowers last for weeks.

  16. Cathy says:

    The asters are all so pretty, and the erigeron too. I shall continue to call them asters or michaelmas daisies out of pure obstinacy… such nicer simple names they are too. I can understand why the nerine is your current favourite. Your climate must be very mild in winter Chloris, or will the nerine be taken indoors?

  17. Chloris says:

    I have quite a few nerines which I keep in pots. This Nerine sarniensis is the earliest to bloom and I think the most tender. I keep most of them in the greenhouse in winter anyway because I think only Nerine bowdenii is reliably hardy.

  18. Flighty says:

    A lovely selection of colourful flowers. It’s surprising at just how much is in bloom at present.
    I will ignore the aster name change, at least for now. xx

  19. I love how much color you have! Everything looks fabulous. :o) I still call asters ‘asters’. I’m not erasing an easy to remember name due to the linguistic moodiness of a few taxonomists. I have ‘Red Cauli’, too. I added it this summer and I really love it. :o) I’ve never seen a fall blooming dianthus before. Very cool! If you want mistflower seeds, email me your address at gardenatcasamariposa@gmail.com. :o) I will gladly send them your way.

  20. Rose says:

    I have trouble calling asters by any other name but that. I feel pretty good about myself when I know the botanical name, so it’s really irritating when taxonomists decide to change the names on me:) I love the Salvia patens–just saw them in a garden north of here and have marked them down on my wish list. So many pretty blooms in your garden, but you definitely saved the best for last–the Guernsey lily is gorgeous!

    • Chloris says:

      Salvia patens is gorgeous, such an electric blue. You can get a paler one called ‘Cambridge Blue’ but I think the whole point of this plant is the amazing colour.
      Nerine sarniensis is an amazing colour too. It is very special.

  21. Cathy says:

    I have been eying up Red Cauli recently, and another small and very dark one we saw at Waterperry – very lovely. Are your nerines new? I put some in this year but I don’t thonk they are going to flower this year – there was a gorgeous clump at the Botanical Gardens in Edinburgh when we were there last year in October. As for hesperanthus, I am more than happy with this new name (for obvious reasons), not so asters, which I think will probably remain asters here (if they reappear, that is..). Thanks for showing us all your lovely blooms, Chloris.

  22. Chloris says:

    Red cauli is gorgeous but doesn’ t grow and spread as quickly as other sedums
    I have had my nerines for years.. My favourite Nerine undulata was given me by a friend years ago. It has stayed in the same pot for 17 years and gets better and better. They like to be congested.
    I bring plenty of the hardy Nerine bowdenii with me whenever I move.( I hope I won’ t be moving again and it can settle down.) It likes a sunny position and shallow planting and then it likes to be left alone to get better and better every year.

  23. Robbie says:

    I love your tours!!!!Really beautiful!Tithonia rotundifolia is my butterfly+ bee magnet. Mine are almost 10 feet tall. I even purchased some of the new cultivars in red + yellow..not one of them came true to seed….all I have is tall orange ones which I love in late fall to watch the butterflies…they are just too darn tall that I can’t even get a good photo of a butterfly-lol…need to rethink that one….
    Black dahlias….I love black plants! I need to plant more of those next year. Do you find the bees and butterflies visit them?
    You must love to just sit in your garden and watch this time of year..what a beautiful garden:-)
    thank you for sharing:-)

  24. Chloris says:

    Thank you Robbie, Wow! You have enormous Tithonias, mine don’ t grow anywhere near as big.
    I love the idea of sitting in the garden and I have seats everywhere. But like most gardeners I never sit in them. How can you sit when there is so much that needs doing? But I do prowl round endlessly looking at everything. It gives me so much pleasure and at the same time so much worry at all that needs to be done. I never seem to catch up.

  25. Pauline says:

    You have so many beautiful flowers for this time of year, Asters are just starting to flower here and I hope to get some more soon to add to them, yes I’m still calling them asters and will do for a while yet! I am also getting some salvias, for years I thought I couldn’t grow them because of our heavy soil but if I do cuttings and then lighten the soil, they should be all right I think?

  26. Chloris says:

    I have quite a few salvias which I forgot to mention. I love them, I don’t think many of them are reliably hardy, although Salvia uliginosa gets bigger and better each year here. I don’ t see why they should be a problem for you because they are so easy from cuttings that you can always have a few in reserve.

  27. bittster says:

    So nice, you really do have all the best goodies in your garden, I’m glad you’re taking the time to share.
    I can only imagine being able to find gentians at the farmer’s market…. we’re lucky to get zinnias!
    -and of course I love the Guernsey lily. Is it potted? It seems to be amongst some equally refined treasures.

  28. Chloris says:

    Thank you Frank. My local farm shop doesn’ t have many plants and most of what they have is common and uninteresting. But now and then they have a few plants of something special.
    The Guernsey lily has to live in a pot because it is the least hardy of all the nerines. I keep most of my nerines in pots anyway as the if the bulbs are congested they flower well.

  29. Debra says:

    Soooo much to love here. Thanks for sharing these lovely things. I am especially taken by the autumn crocus and the Erigeron glaucus ‘Sea breeze.’ They look so light and fresh.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Debra. The Colchicums are lovely but I have mixed feelings about them. They don’ t last long and they quickly dissolve into a soggy heap. In Spring they have such enormous leaves that they mess up your planting schemes. If you have any precious spring treasures they get buried.

  30. I can’t get my tongue around the new name for Asters, therefore Aster it is! Luckily I don’t have that many and those that I do have are not keepers.
    You’ve a veritable rainbow going on there Chloris and you saved the best til last. It’s gorgeous isn’t it? Your Hamamelis looks wonderful it’s autumn colours, you prompted me to have a peek at mine, it’s still green though.
    I see in one of your comments above re taking Salvia cuttings – how do you do yours? Have I left it too late in the year to try?

  31. pbmgarden says:

    Enjoyed having a look around your fabulous garden. The Guernsey lily is a beauty and I so admire your red, near-to-black dahlia collection. Also love the back view of Coreopsis.’Red Shift’ almost as much as the front.

  32. What beautiful flowers you have in the garden at this time of year. We must get some asters for next year. And some red coreopsis. They are lovely. As for the Guernsey lily – it deserves at least two drum rolls….

  33. AnnetteM says:

    You have such unusual plants that I have bookmarked the page to study later. There were so many that I want: the prickly poppy, the red nerine. . . .I could go on. Need to get out and tidy up and rearrange my garden. Hope the damp weather clears soon. Lovely post – thank you.

  34. AnnetteM says:

    I have Erigeron ‘Sea Breeze’. Not sure it is the same plant as yours, but it could be the photo. Mine is quite low growing and not totally hardy. It sometimes gets hit by a cold winter, but always comes back. Mine seems to have about twice as many petals (?) as yours and much thinner.
    Picture here, but not close up.
    https://myaberdeengarden.wordpress.com/category/end-of-month-view/

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you so much for your comment which I found really useful. I felt that this didn’ t resemble the Erigeron that I remembered planting and I was reluctant to call it this. After reading your comment I went out and had another look and whilst I was grubbing around I found a plant nearbye which is clearly an Erigeron.. On further investigation I found another label nowhere near the plant in the picture.But this often happens.Guess what? The plant I showed is an Aster after all. I thought it looked like one. It is Aster amellus ‘Brilliant’. Thank you for helping me sort this out. I have altered the name on the post.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Annette. This Erigeron is nothing like the plant I showed on my post. It is much shorter for a start. I am glad to have sorted it out. Writing a blog makes you much more careful about keeping a note of what you have planted.I used to be a bit careless about it.

      • AnnetteM says:

        Yes I do try to keep labels now, but I am still quite careless sometimes and I am still finding labels – in the ground and even in the compost from years gone by. I am always delighted when I do. But you can bet your bottom teeth if you put a photo up of a plant that you don’t know that someone will always like that one and ask what it is!!! Thankfully there is often someone else that does know what it is. Blogging is great!

  35. The white Colchicum is absolutely stunning! Your garden is full of gorgeous flowers.

  36. Chloris says:

    Thanks Jason. I think the white colchicum is my favourite and it seems to last longer than the others.

  37. Lots of glorious colour! I share your love of asters, and am gradually adding to my collection, very frustrating that there is another name change to adjust to though.

    • Chloris says:

      I just love them and like you add to my collection every year. Which are your favourites?
      As for the name change,, let’ s just ignore it and carry on calling them asters.

Leave a Reply

