Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. August.

The garden is looking a bit battered after the wind and rain that we had,  but there are still plenty of plants to enjoy. And it’s daisy time.

IMG_0600
The discs of sunny Rudbeckia are always welcome. Rudbeckia fulgida. var. sullivantii ‘Goldsturm’  to the left of the picture,  with the brown cones in the centre of each flower, blooms over a long period, it doesn’t need staking and it seeds around generously. What’s not to love?
The Rudbeckia to the right of the picture is an annual: Rudbeckia hirta ‘Prairie Sun’. It is the first year that I have grown this one and I love it. I often find that so-called annual rudbeckias last for a few years and I am hoping that this one will. The next picture is of the tall Rudbeckia herbstonne which I  forgot to stake and it is all over the place, after the high winds that we have had. It still looks good though.
DSC_0009

The first Asters or Michaelmas daisies of the season are the varieties of Aster frikartii. I have two;  Aster frikartii ‘Wunda von stafa’ which is in the first picture and the almost identical Aster frikartii ‘Monch’. These two Michaelmas daisies are my favourites because they start so early and go on flowering so long. They never get the mildew which ruins the look of so many Aster novi-belgii cultivars. Graham Stuart Thomas said that Aster ‘Monch’ is one of the six best garden plants and I certainly wouldn’t be without it.
DSC_0006
The little Crocosmia you can see to the left of the picture is one of my favourites. I only bought it last year so it hasn’t had time to bulk up yet. It is such a lovely colour. It is called Crocosmia ‘Limpopo’. I have mentioned in a previous post that if you have several different crocosmias it is fun to grow some of the seeds and see what you get. I am looking forward to trying some of this one.
DSC_0008
Further on in this bed is a very pretty Scutellaria but unfortunately I have lost the label and can’t remember which one it is. Perhaps someone can help me.
DSC_0021
Quite a few of the roses are blooming again and very welcome they are too. I will not show you all of them but this one: Rosa ‘Summer Song’ is such a lovely colour. David Austin describes it as ‘burnt orange’.
IMG_0603
And while we are on shades of orange I will show you my favourite ginger lily: Hedychium densiflorum ‘Assam Orange’. It was introduced into this country by Frank Kingdon-Ward who found it growing in Assam in 1938. I grow it with ferns; it seems to be quite hardy.
IMG_0623
The Pineapple lily: Eucomis are coming into their own now. I grow the tall ‘Sparkling Burgandy’. I love its tall rosettes of dark foliage. I have never staked it because a stake would spoil its appearance. The wind has blown it to rather a strange angle this year, but never mind, it hasn’t snapped off. and it looks good with the purple leaved Heuchera.
DSC_0024
I keep the neat little Eucomis autumnalis ‘White Dwarf’ in a pot.
DSC_0022
Some nice deep reds are provided by the chocolate Cosmos which really does smell of chocolate. It is not hardy so you have to take cuttings or dig it it up in autumn.  It is called Cosmos atrosanguineus. It comes from Mexico where it is now extinct.  There other dark red shades are provided by seedlings of Dahlia ‘The Bishop of Llandaff’.

The water lilies in the pond are coming to an end but I love this little sedge from Florida with its white starry flowers. It is called Dichroma latifolia. I read somewhere that it is not hardy but it has survived in my pond for 2 years now.
IMG_0637

Now for the shades of pink. Particularly valued at the moment is the Crinum x powellii. I believe it is sometimes called the swamp lily, which is silly because it is not a lily and it doesn’t like water logged soil. At least not in this country. I am told that it is not reliably hardy, but I have never known it succumb to frost and I have been growing it for years.

IMG_0608
The next plant is a tall growing annual Persicaria. This is Persicaria orientalis. It’s common name is ‘Kiss Me Over the Garden Gate’. I usually prefer to stick to the Latin and then we all know where we are, but this is such a fun name. It is probably called this because it can grow six feet tall. It has lovely dangling, shocking pink tassels. I first saw it in Merriments Garden, in Kent, years ago and had to have it. For some reason the seeds are hard to come by. Even if you can get the seeds the slugs love the young plants. I wish I had managed to keep a few more safe from them. A big clump would have looked wonderful.
IMG_0616
In the front garden there are more shades of pink because penstemons and salvias are still going strong. The lilac coloured Tulbaghia violacea has been in flower for ages.
DSC_0036
The purple climber; Solanum crispum ‘Glasnevin’ or the Chilean Potato Vine has been flowering for ages and is coming to an end now. The much more refined white Solanum jasminoides is just coming into bloom. I much prefer it. It has a slight fragrance. It is not suposed to be quite hardy but I have had mine for 4 years now.
IMG_0596
The next picture is a beautiful late flowering shrub; Hibiscus syriacus. This lovely plant always comes into leaf so late that you begin to wonder if it is dead. You have to wait until now for the lovely blooms but they are worth the wait.
Ivan Dickens who used to be chief propagator for Notcutts Nursery gave me mine years ago, when it was a tiny bit of a thing. I thing it was one he had bred himself. I am not sure if it had a name, if it did I am afraid I can’t remember it, but it is such a pretty lavender colour.
IMG_0594
The summer is advancing I am afraid and little Cyclamen hederifolium are coming into bloom now. We expect them in August but I was rather surprised to see this autumn flowering Colchicum showing its dainty head. I felt like telling it to go back, I am not ready for Colchicums yet.
DSC_0031
I am joining in with the meme hosted by Carol at Maydreamgardens where garden bloggers show us what they have in bloom on the 15th of each month. Do join in and go over to see what Carol and other people round the world have in bloom at the moment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. August.

  1. Rose says:

    ‘Prairie Sun’ is one of my favorite Rudbeckias, too. I usually think of it as an annual and plant some seeds every year, but I’m happy to say I had some re-seed this year. Hopefully, yours will, too. Love the Scutellaria! I planted some seeds a few years ago, but none of them survived; you’ve reminded me I should try again. Happy Bloom day!

    • Chloris says:

      I hope my Prairy Sun will stay around too. I am nor sure about the Scutellaria; Bittster thinks it could be a Lobelia and he could well be right. I shall have to do a bit of research. The trouble is I can’ t remember where I got it from.

  2. I love your illustration pushing the wheelbarrow! And your garden looks lovely as well, judging from your selection of flowers. I have been thinking about planting a Rosa glauca which I had in my previous garden, and after seeing the hips in your flower arrangement in the prior post, I think you’ve convinced me it would be a wise move.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you, the wheelbarrow pic came out a bit blurry on Donna’ s website. It is a drawing that my very talented, artist daughter- in- law did for my blog.
      I love the hips on Rosa glauca and the leaves are lovely colour. It seeds all over the place in my garden and I cut some of the plants back so that they regrow with huge leaves.

  3. Annette says:

    Much to love in your garden – I’d like to give Hedychium a try sometime. Where do you overwinter them? I have Eucomis too, they’re lovely. Beautiful combination of Rudbeckia and violet Aster…and Kiss-me-over-the-garden-gate should be grown for its name alone. Enjoy your weekend, Chloris 🙂

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Annette. I leave the Hedychium in the ground, covered in compost. I have several different ones and I have never lost any to winter weather.
      Next year I shall try and grow a bigger clump of the Persicaria but they are caviar to slugs.
      Thank you for telling me that my blog was mentioned in Country Living, I would never have realised if you hadn’ t said. I wondered why I was getting a lot more views.

  4. Alison says:

    That orange ginger lily is fabulous! And the little sedge in your pond has such unusual flowers, love that! I love the name of Kiss Me Over the Garden Gate too.Happy GBBD!

  5. Julie says:

    Even though the rain wasn’t very sociably behaved I am so pleased with the late surge everywhere, Summer Song looks a really beautiful rose, the late blooms are a real bonus. I am not sure why but I cannot see photographs 3, 4 and 5, its probably my slow internet speed. I am not ready for Autumn flowers either, but looking forward to more butterflies when the Asters flower. Have a lovely weekend, I hear there is a cold snap due……

    • Chloris says:

      I checked the photos are there so perhaps it is your internet connection. I have noticed the photos sometimes disappear from old posts but they are usually alright on the more up to date ones.
      I agree about the butterflies on the asters and on the sedums too.
      Oh dear we are not ready for a cold snap, I’ ‘ d better take the hammock down and get out the winter woollies.

  6. Pauline says:

    You have so many beautiful flowers, love your Hedychium Assan Orange, such a beautiful flower. Our Cyclamen started flowering in July, but thank goodness the Colchicum haven’t started yet! Your Persicaria ” kiss me over the garden gate” just has to be grown !

    • Chloris says:

      Hedychium ‘Assam Orange’ is the most eye -catching of the Hedychiums, although they are all lovely and fragrant too.
      My Cylcamen have been flowering since July too but I refuse to croon over them yet. I will pay them more attention in a week or two.
      I don t know why Persicaria Orientalis isn’ t grown more. I hope to have lots next year. I shall feed and water it too so that it will grow really big. It got a bit neglected this year with the drought.
      You have so many lovely things in bloom on your GBBD post Pauline.

  7. Chloris, I like how each of these lovely flowers has its own story, but I am amazed by that ginger lily. What a beautiful flower. I am surprised that it grows in Britain.

  8. Tina says:

    You have so many beauties in your garden! That ‘Summer Song’ rose is exquisite! And the crinums–I love crinum and have some from my mother’s gardens, but they rarely bloom. I also can grow the Hibiscus syriacus–mine was gifted to me by a blogging friend, I planted it in May and have enjoyed two blooms this summer. I don’t blame you for preferring the name, ‘Kiss me over the garden gate’–it is a fun name.

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Tina, I am surprised that your Crinums didn’ t bloom, I thought what they needed is lots of sun.
      I wish I could grow some of the beauties that you grow such as the Caeselpina. What an amazing plant that is.

  9. snowbird says:

    Your burnt orange David Austin rose is the star of the show for me, I bet it has a delightful scent too. Gosh, you have so many quaint plants here, it must be a pleasure to stroll the garden at the moment. Lovely post.xxx

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you.We are looking a bit wind blown down here and I realise just how many plants I haven’ t staked properly, or at all. They are all lying around reproaching me whenever I pass.
      Quite a few roses are having another go this year which is lovely. I am very fond of Summer Song, it is a lovely colour.

  10. linniew says:

    Seems like you keep a lot of ‘annuals’ going for years so yours must be a very hospitable garden. I know you will collect the seeds from that graceful Kiss Me plant and grow a swath of them next year. Our hummingbirds are addicted to those hot pink blooms.

    • Chloris says:

      I certainly intend to have a swathe of Kiss Me Over the Garden Gate next year and I really should plant it by the garden gate. Next year I will keep it well watered and it will grow even taller.
      Humming birds would be lovely but it’ s not going to happen here.

  11. Cathy says:

    A lovely post Chloris. I am so glad you showed us the Dichroma latifolia. I bought this recently on impulse after being told it is hardy and doesn’t like too much water! LOL! I hope it will last another year at least as it is so pretty. The Eucomis are pretty. It seems everyone knows about this plant except me! I have got it on my list for next spring but will have to bring it in over winter here. The Persicaria is gorgeous Chloris. I love the long pink flowers and the way they overhang. And you have lots of other lovely shades of pink too. Thanks for sharing it all!

    • Chloris says:

      My Dichroma is growing in a pot which sits in the water and it is quite happy. I love Euchomis growing in the garden but it looks even better in pots.
      Do you grow Crinums? They should do well with you, you get more sun than us usually. Mine are blooming really well this year , we have had so much sun.

      • Cathy says:

        I had to look up Crinums Chloris – apparently barely hardy here but they do look gorgeous. Have you already shown us a picture of them this year? Would love to see them. 🙂

      • Chloris says:

        My first photo of the Crinum is in this current GBBD. They haven’ t been out for long. I have a white one too but it hasn’ t flowered since we moved here 4 years ago. Maybe it doesn’t like where I put it. They are worth the effort to please them but they have huge bulbs, I don’ t know if they would do in a pot.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Chloris – I did see a “lily” but didn’t put 2 and 2 together! They really are lovely…

  12. rusty duck says:

    The ginger lily is indeed fabulous! And that’s the second crocosmia that I’ve found today that I could love. If it doesn’t turn out to be as invasive as its brethren then that’s a must have.

    • Chloris says:

      I know you have a problem with invasive Crocosmias Jessica. But there are some fabulous ones. Have you seen Emily McKenzie or the yellow George Davison? Or my current favourite Hellfire? And if you have a selection of the best you can try growing your seeds and see what lovelies you get then.

  13. Just lovely blooms and those first few pictures reminding me of a prairie, but I am smitten with the orange rose…just gorgeous!

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Donna, Summer Song is beautiful and I am delighted to see it blooming again now.
      I love all your Echinaceas and Rudbeckias, what a lovely selection you have.

  14. Kris P says:

    Happy GBBD, Chloris! I love daisy season and can only wish a had as many swaths of them as you do. I’ve had mixed luck with Rudbeckias. My greatest success came with R. ‘Cherry Brandy,’ which lasted almost 2 years, flowering off and on throughout that period. I have to hunt some down. Aster x frikartii is also on my wish list as it’s held its own despite rough handling and limited water.

    • Chloris says:

      I have a tall pink Rudbeckia which seeds snd spreads and has has made a lovely big clump. The white one spreads too. All the lovely new hybrids have to be treated as annuals.
      Aster frikartii is well worth seeking out.

  15. Alain says:

    Beautiful selection of plants Chloris. Looking at your Eucomis makes me think I should try it again. I did many years ago but was not successful. I probably was too impatient.

  16. bittster says:

    Really nice chloris, your beds seem to be packed with all kinds of goodies, and I’m impressed as to how you keep the peace and keep the flowers coming. The front bed especially looks like such a flower fest, I think it would take me 30 minutes to just walk up to the door to ring! (don’t worry, you’re safe! I’m still here in Pennsylvania)
    How do you handle the eucomis in pots? I have a short one that always gets lost when I plant it out and I’m considering potting it up.
    Could your scuttelaria be lobelia siphilitica? It’s a native here and for those who don’t like the reseeding sort of plants, they tend to complain about it.

  17. Chloris says:

    Thank you Frank. I plant Eucomis in a gritty compost and keep them quite dry in the greenhouse in winter.
    Thank you for the suggestion about my Scutellaria which could quite possibly be a Lobelia, except it is not very tall and I thought Lobelia siphilitica was quite tall.. I carelessly lost the label. Blogging has made me much more careful about keeping track of what I buy. I can’ t remember where I bought this plant or anything about it.

  18. lizard100 says:

    I’ve just found this get together too. It’s really impressive how many great blooms are in display works wide : )

  19. Flighty says:

    A most enjoyable post and wonderful photos, showing a colourful selection of interesting flowers.
    I like Michaelmas daisies and grow three on the plot, which I’ll mention and show once they start flowering. xx

  20. Everything looks great, Chloris! I’m seeing lots of Crocosmia on blogs this year. I’m going to have to find a place for it!

    • Chloris says:

      There are some great Crocosmias about, I love Limpopo which I have shown and also a new red one called Hellfire. I wouldn’t t be without the yellow George Davison either, or Krakatoa- oh I could go on and on there are so many beauties.

  21. Cathy says:

    Don’t know where to start, Chloris – lots to love! I have made a note of the persicaria with its lovely droopy heads (you are not worried about this one being invasive then?) and confirmed my plan to put my Eucomis autumnalis in a pot (their first year, but in a border – never made it to the blog though, which they would in a pot). I could do with going and checking on my asters – your bed of asters and rudbeckia make a great combination, don’t they?

  22. Chloris says:

    Persicaria Orientalis is an annual and not at all invasive. I would delighted if it would see around but I don’ t think it will. I think I will have to collect the seeds and sow them. It is a wonderful plant if it is kept well fed and watered. Mine would be taller if we hadn’t had a drought this summer. Next year I will keep it well watered.
    I have quite a few different Eucomis in the garden but I think they look great in pots.
    I love Michaelmas daisies and I have quite a lot of different ones but you can’ t beat Aster frikartii cultivars. They start flowering before all the others and go on blooming for ages.

  23. I’m very taken with your Hedychium densiflorum ‘Assam Orange’. Looks like you have it in a good bit of shade. Should I give it a try?

    • Chloris says:

      Yes do. You won’ t regret it, it is gorgeous. I grow it in semi- shade with my ferns but I think it is supposed to like full sun. I don’ t think it is too fussy though.

  24. I don’t grow the annual Rudbeckias, and have wondered if they really are annual. You have so many lovely blooms – I especially love the Eucomis and the David Austin rose. I had the same thought as Frank about Lobelia syphilitica (they actually thought that it cured syphillis at one time – perhaps it’s time for the taxonomists to come up with a new name so as to avoid both false advertising and shocking any sensitive souls out there).

    • Chloris says:

      Thank you Jason, I will investigate and see if I can find out about my plant but I have looked up Lobelia syphilitica and it does look like it. I don’ t know how I could forget a name like that. I don’ t think the name would shock many sensitive gardening souls. Most of us are quite down to earth.

  25. Caro says:

    I transplanted some unknown crocosmia from my mum’s garden last year. My sister kindly put it in several years ago and it needs to be kept in check! It hasn’t done well for me as I sited it under one of the fruit trees, thinking it would be hardy enough to cope but, after a lovely green start, the dry conditions saw it fading early. So hard to know what to put in its place if I move it. Love the name ‘Limpopo’; I may well look out for that one, also the purple Eucomis as this would look so nice in my refurbished hot border (so called because it gets the most sun!). Lovely post, as usual, Chloris.

  26. Anna says:

    As always your blooms are blooming lovely Chloris. I sowed some persicaria orientalis last September to get them off to an early start but sadly they were munched by molluscs in the spring. Will have to have another go. Is that penstemon ‘Garnet’ in the photo underneath the one of the persicaria?

  27. Chloris says:

    Thank you Anna. Slugs just love Persicaria Orientalis they ate most of my seedlings.
    The Penstemon is not Garnet which is much darker. It is Connie’ s Pink.

  28. Christina says:

    The Solanum jasminoides is a real favourite of mine but I must admit I hadn’t noticed that it had any perfume. Mine flowers for most of the year. Usually not in August when its too hot (but this year it hasn’t stopped flowering) and if it is very cold in winter.

  29. You’ve still lots of colour Chloris. I read with interest, and taking note of course re the mildew affected Asters. I have a few and they suffer dreadfully. Will keep an eye out for the one you recommend.
    I am so glad you showed a picture of R. Summer Song. I was going to buy it this weekend but looking at your picture it looks much darker than others I had come across, whilst it’s gorgeous, it’s too dark for what I want to do with it. Back to the drawing board.
    What a stunner the Hedychium is. I’ll bet it’s admired by all that see it.

  30. Robbie says:

    I just wrote you a comment and it disappeared-darn! Well, it was all about how beautiful your garden is:-) I just love the variety of plants you have and how you put it all together. I don’t have a large space so I enjoy stopping by to visit your garden + all of the lovely photos…..I love your tours!
    “Cosmos atrosanguineus. It comes from Mexico where it is now extinct.” I want to squeeze this in one day, but I had no idea it was almost extinct…that would be sad. I love chocolate plants + when they smell like chocoloate well that is even better!

  31. Elaine Sedlack says:

    Hello, Chloris,

    I follow your blog, and you inspire me. I love to garden, and I am soon to retire from my job at the University of California Botanical Garden. Then, I can garden at my own house all day! I would like your permission, please, to use your photo (Hedychium densiflorum ‘Assam Orange’) in a presentation I am making for our local Rhododendron Society chapter about Frank Kingdon-Ward. I will credit you, just please let me know how you would like me to do that. Thank you!
    Elaine

    • Chloris says:

      Hello Elaine, I am delighted to hear that you enjoy my blog. Thank you for asking before you use my photo. Of course you can use my it and I appreciate it if you mention where the photo comes from. It is always nice to think that people learn about my blog.

Leave a Reply

